Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,221 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Closed Accounts Posts: 922 ✭✭✭MyBrokenKnees

He has to stop talking the talk and concentrate on managing the football team now. When he is walking the walk then he can talk to the press when he has something to back up all the talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 922 ✭✭✭MyBrokenKnees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,221 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

:pac: - Dailyfail - EXCLUSIVE: Man City on Sterling standby after winger falls out with Rodgers

Some poetic licence with that headline!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2241227/Raheem-Sterling-wanted-Manchester-City.html

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

I'm starting to get a bad feeling about all this Sterling stuff. I don't think it's going to end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

I'm starting to get a bad feeling about all this Sterling stuff. I don't think it's going to end well.

Ah I wouldn't read too much into , the way I see the agent is doing his job by putting out the feelers to bag a couple of grand extra a week for Raheem . All agents do it look at Gaston Ramirez he was linked with us and Spurs and he ends up at Southampton :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

K-9 wrote: »
    I'm not going to get into a debate about Maxi now, he's gone though he'd have been handy to have around for Suso and Sterling

Aquilani anyone? West Ham will not be paying £18 Million for Carroll, whatever about reading articles I'd prefer to hear from people with inside knowledge of the deal. There were reports he'd have had to score a certain amount of goals, that would appear more logical and rational and after 1 goal he isn't going to satisfy terms like that.

Id have kept Bellamy if that was possible, its not even close between the two.

Everyone knew the score with Aquilani's deal, we spent the year adding up his games hoping he would make 25. Ive not read anything about Carroll scoring goals being part of a price ever, you are the first to point that out to me. Ive not seen it anywhere. Every news article has the same story on Carroll, the loan fee varies from 1m -1.5m. The fee if they stay up is 17-18m. And thats probably why their never was any intention to bring him back unless there was a dose of the plague at the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

daithijjj wrote: »
    Id have kept Bellamy if that was possible, its not even close between the two.

Everyone knew the score with Aquilani's deal, we spent the year adding up his games hoping he would make 25. Ive not read anything about Carroll scoring goals being part of a price ever, you are the first to point that out to me. Ive not seen it anywhere. Every news article has the same story on Carroll, the loan fee varies from 1m -1.5m. The fee if they stay up is 17-18m. And thats probably why their never was any intention to bring him back unless there was a dose of the plague at the club.

Definitely was commented on the superthread daithi, come on, use your common sense, Carroll has to have an incentive in the deal, so has West Ham.

All Liverpool want is, "we'll loan you this lad who scored 4 goals or whatever it is and give us £18 Million for him".

Deal agreed, YEAH RIGHT.

It was reported he'd have to score a certain amount of goals, commented on this thread because people wondered at him having scored 9 goals, the clause is 10 and Liverpool might gain more from his scoring his 10th goal than Liverpool winning.

Seriously, use your cop on, stop reading too much twitter and tabloid nonsense. West Ham will not pay £18 Million for Carroll unless it is based on form so, will be written into the contract.

Carroll never scores again, the Hammers will pay up £18 Million. I've a bridge to sell as well daiihi.

He's a donkey, doesn't matter if you think he'll go onto score goals. Cost £35 Million, scored a few goals in the 2 years since. If you paid £18 Million then i'd be laughing.

People laughed at the Bent signing but apparently Daithi thinks Carroll is worth Bent money.

What reason? Not performance anyway, just Liverpoool paid £35 Million.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Definitely was commented on the superthread daithi, come on, use your common sense, Carroll has to have an incentive in the deal, so has West Ham.

All Liverpool want is, "we'll loan you this lad who scored 4 goals or whatever it is and give us £18 Million for him".

Deal agreed, YEAH RIGHT.

It was reported he'd have to score a certain amount of goals, commented on this thread because people wondered at him having scored 9 goals, the clause is 10 and Liverpool might gain more from his scoring his 10th goal than Liverpool winning.

Seriously, use your cop on, stop reading too much twitter and tabloid nonsense. West Ham will not pay £18 Million for Carroll unless it is based on form so, will be written into the contract.

Carroll never scores again, the Hammers will pay up £18 Million. I've a bridge to sell as well daiihi.

He's a donkey, doesn't matter if you think he'll go onto score goals. Cost £35 Million, scored a few goals in the 3 years since. If you paid £18 Million then i'd be laughing.

People laughed at the Bent signing but apparently Daithi thinks Carroll is worth Bent money.

What reason? Not performance anyway, just Liverpoool paid £35 Million.

Show me anything that backs up your point about goals scored in the loan agreement other than the voices in your head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Show me anything that backs up your point about goals scored in the loan agreement other than the voices in your head.

It's an option to buy deal no?

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2012/aug/30/andy-carroll-west-ham-united-liverpool

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/liverpool/9510316/Andy-Carroll-leaves-Liverpool-to-join-West-Ham-United-on-season-long-loan-deal.html

Paid loan and they pay his wages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

I honestly think Carroll will leave Liverpool permanently at the end of the season for around £12m. I don't know if West Ham will pay that but I think somebody will.

I've nothing other than press reports and comments on here.

All you've said is you've press reports.

So., stalemate old chap. Unless you've exclusive pictures of Carroll's contract.

Carroll will not fetch £18 Million from West Ham if he sits on the bench to May 2013 or is injured to then. Go on Daithi, argue we'll get £18 Million for Carroll sitting on his arse.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Blatter wrote: »
    I honestly think Carroll will leave Liverpool permanently at the end of the season for around £12m. I don't know if West Ham will pay that but I think somebody will.

I'd say it is top price. If somebody is willing to pay that much, fair play, and I do think in the right team he will score goals, but £12 Million is top dollar atm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

I still can't get my head around Rodger's idea of letting him go. OK, he thought he'd get a replacement in by the end of the window and the situation was horrifically misjudged. Still, even if another forward was brought in, there was still plenty of room for him in the squad. His performances were pretty good (even if his goal return wasn't) towards the end of end of last season and he made a decent impact for England at the Euros. He was just starting to find his feet at Liverpool and then he's booted out.

I feel a large reason as to why Rodgers wanted rid of Carroll was not primarily because of his ability but because of what he symbolised at the club. He was the £35m flop whom there were question marks about after every game and was constantly ridiculed by the media and rival fans.

Carroll stood for everything that was perceived to be wrong with the previous regime and Rodgers just wanted rid at all cost so he could truly start afresh. Fair enough if you have the firepower up front to cover the loss, but it was a pretty stupid decision to make when the forward options are looked at now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

I still can't get my head around Rodger's idea of letting him go. OK, he thought he'd get a replacement in by the end of the window and the situation was horrifically misjudged. Still, even if another forward was brought in, there was still plenty of room for him in the squad. His performances were pretty good (even if his goal return wasn't) towards the end of end of last season and he made a decent impact for England at the Euros. He was just starting to find his feet at Liverpool and then he's booted out.

I feel a large reason as to why Rodgers wanted rid of Carroll was not primarily because of his ability but because of what he symbolised at the club. He was the £35m flop whom there were question marks about after every game and was constantly ridiculed by the media and rival fans.

Carroll stood for everything that was perceived to be wrong with the previous regime and Rodgers just wanted rid at all cost so he could truly start afresh. Fair enough if you have the firepower up front to cover the loss, but it was a pretty stupid decision to make when the forward options are looked at now.

He didn't rate him, and was not going to play him. Rather than let an asset's value decrease by sitting him on the bench with the occasional 30 minute appearance, he loaned him to a club where he will play week in week out. Where hopefully his value will maintain and we can recoup the biggest sum possible.

Its basically an exercise to sell him for the highest price possible. No point paying the lad 2-3 million a year sitting on his arse, and then maybe recoup 5-10 million on him.

Loan him to West Ham who will pay his wages and possible spend 15-20 million on him.

The lad isn't good enough and he is showing this at West Ham. But his nationality and aversion to the odd England cap means he will still be sold for more than he was ever worth.

Will go down as one of the clubs more shameful signings.

Stupid, well Downing is still here an according to Daithi, Fulham laughed at Henderson in comparison to Dempsey.

All the surmising everybody wants, we don't know Carroll's, Henderson's or Downing's market value,

Dreamy, Snoozey value £45 Million, paid £71 Million with snigger, add ons.
    Realistic price £30 Million, we'll throw add ons in.

Imagine getting a Downing or a Cole, like a Daewoo or Hyundai car, a pal for life, get used to it. Stuck with him for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,982 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I would say that at least 80% of pool supporters had enough of Andy Carrol. The Lad just does not suit a Top 4 side. I know Liverpool are far from that at the moment but why should Rodgers play to his strenghts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Dreamy, Snoozey value £45 Million, paid £71 Million with snigger, add ons.
    Realistic price £30 Million, we'll throw add ons in.

Imagine getting a Downing or a Cole, like a Daewoo or Hyundai car, a pal for life, get used to it. Stuck with him for life

I was agreeing with alot of your earlier posts but you lost me here. Did you just down a bottle of mouth wash or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

No point him staying if he was never going to play, bad for us and bad for him, regardless of what price was paid for AC its just a move that didnt work out for whatever reason, its football and it happens and i dont know why people are so obsessed about it.

Our downfall with buying AC was that you should never buy a injured player and esp at that price reason being that the price paid is going to put preasure on the player to instantly provide results and if he is injured then the time scale is warped, time to recover, time to bed in and time to find a place in a new system, poor Andy was always fighting a losing battle.

Prior tp joining LFC and injury he looked quite sensational for NUFC, still a club should never buy a player because of half a seasons form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Should be interesting in here if we don't win today. I watched Southampton against West Brom a few weeks back and they were absolutely abysmal. Funnily enough in terms of how they play, a worse version of us right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,701 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Should be interesting in here if we don't win today. I watched Southampton against West Brom a few weeks back and they were absolutely abysmal. Funnily enough in terms of how they play, a worse version of us right now.

They are not a premiership side. Definitely will be relegated with games to spare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

Here and the other sites, could be the end of the internet if we lose.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

We should carve them up easily enough, the lads just need to be able to finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭PRAF

Tomorrow isn't it?

PRAF wrote: »
    Tomorrow isn't it?

No. Today @ 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

He had mandatory press conferences. He has to say something to be fair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Southhampton were excellent against Newcastle.

Off to Anfield today for this.

Predicting a nervy pool win.

2-1 Suarez with both.

I'm thinking if we don't win today this thread will hit 10,000 by tomorrow night.

But if we don't win today then we might as well just give up.

No disrespect to Southampton and all that balls.