Facebook ordered to close page

• 30-11-2012 02:28PM
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/1130/belfast-high-court-facebook.html

I can see where the court in Belfast is coming from, but in all honesty, should they close down the page that monitors Peadofiles. If I were a parent of a child abused by a peadofile, I'd rather put them in a 6ft box instead of seeing them behind bars.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

One false accusation by the facebook page could end up with someone's life ruined if it were taken seriously.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

Monitoring peadofiles is one thing, a witch hunt is completely different. This kind of thing has no place on Facebook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Itzy wrote: »

I can see where the court in Belfast is coming from, but in all honesty, should they close down the page that monitors Peadofiles. If I were a parent of a child abused by a peadofile, I'd rather put them in a 6ft box instead of seeing them behind bars.

No, I mean, online, anonymous groups of people deciding to take the law into their own hands!
    What could possibly go wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Yes they should ban such pages. I rememember a few years ago the News of the World published pictures and addresses of supposedly convicted paedophiles, several people were badly attacked, homes were damaged and one person was killed I think, problem was there list was not accurate and many of the people "exposed" were innocent.
    All done to sate the bloodlust of the masses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Yes they should ban such pages. I rememember a few years ago the News of the World published pictures and addresses of supposedly convicted paedophiles, several people were badly attacked, homes were damaged and one person was killed I think, problem was there list was not accurate and many of the people "exposed" were innocent.
    All done to sate the bloodlust of the masses!

There was this incident as well -
    Self-styled vigilantes attacked the home of a hospital paediatrician after apparently confusing her professional title with the word "paedophile", it emerged yesterday.

Dr Yvette Cloete, a specialist registrar in paediatric medicine at the Royal Gwent hospital in Newport, was forced to flee her house after vandals daubed it with graffiti in the middle of the night.

The word "paedo" was written across the front porch and door of the house she shared with her brother in the village of St Brides, south Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I have to say the knuckle draggers have absolutely ruined Facebook, everytime I pop on there is a new page, get ask.fm shutdown and save our children, let's post up statuses on a special Larry Murphy page stating that he is in such and such a place create hysteria even though he hasn't been in the country for more than three weeks since he got ****ing out. Like this if you are against abortion, like this if you want this baby to survive cancer. It all ****ing disgusts me and the above is no different. All in the name of the children, well I don't know but as far I am concerned liking a picture on Facebook is not going to better the lives of any children but maybe if you ****ed off fb for a few hours and spent time with the ones you actually have you could make an actual difference. But of course there is no like for that :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Gyalist wrote: »
    There was this incident as well -

You always have to bear in mind how stupid people are in general

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 558 ✭✭✭OurLadyofKnock

In the USA some muppet discovered one living on his street. Went around his house and gunned him down in front of his wife and kids at the dinner table.

The guy when he was 18 had sex with his 16 year old girlfriend and went to jail. They married when he got out. That was the wife who watched her husband slain by the "hero".

Too many lunatics out there who think they are heroes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

What is it about people who want to 'monitor' paedophiles that prevents them from spelling it correctly ('pedophile' also acceptable) and why does it always go with an underlying wish to find them and kill them by mob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    I have to say the knuckle draggers have absolutely ruined Facebook, everytime I pop on there is a new page, get ask.fm shutdown and save our children, let's post up statuses on a special Larry Murphy page stating that he is in such and such a place create hysteria even though he hasn't been in the country for more than three weeks since he got ****ing out. Like this if you are against abortion, like this if you want this baby to survive cancer. It all ****ing disgusts me and the above is no different. All in the name of the children, well I don't know but as far I am concerned liking a picture on Facebook is not going to better the lives of any children but maybe if you ****ed off fb for a few hours and spent time with the ones you actually have you could make an actual difference. But of course there is no like for that :rolleyes:
    You do realise that you can just de-friend anyone that posts this type of shit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Absolutely disgusting page. All it does is give people a chance to name the wrong person. Not to mention the fact that it won't just "protect the kids", it'll also give the faces and names of people to the vigilante type which is never really a good thing.

Sorry for this very, very long quote but someone on the page actually posted this. It stood out since it seems to be one of the few of its type.

I have worked a lot with severely sexually abused children and still, several years on, I look after a couple of them now that they are vulnerable adults, and among my closest friends. It's hard going and I live with the shadow of their abuse every day and the ongoing problems associated with that such as drug abuse, depression etc. So this is an issue very close to my heart. However, I have just read that this site is being closed down- and that is a very good thing. Sites like this promote vigilantism and vigilantes are usually those who get on their moral high horse without any real understanding of the issues at stake and with no real interest or understanding other than having a bandwagon to join. The law is there for a reason- to protect all. Vigilantes may well cause a paedophile to go to ground if they feel that they are in danger. In fact the chances are that they are being well supervised and controlled if they have had a conviction.

A higher than average proportion of the children who are abused go on to become abusers. There is a very good chance that the offender being named or harassed has themselves been the victim of serious abuse. Now imagine that you had cared for that person as a sexually abused child. How would you want them treated as an adult? You would want them to be helped or to be harassed and bullied.
    As a carer of sexually abused children you become very aware of why their abusers have done what they have done, and you start to have an understanding of them and are inclined to, yes,condemn what they have done but also to understand why and how damaged they are too.
    If you want to do some good in society then go out and volunteer to become a friend and mentor to a young person that has suffered abuse, or to a prisoner freshly released. Bet you won't though, that's not the easy option, getting on a facebook bandwagon is.
    Just look at the terms that are being banded around here- freak, perv, paedo, typical tabloid sensationalist rubbish read by those who have very little understanding of the issues and who are perhaps even less willing to make a positive contribution.

Yes, I agree that abusers need to be closely monitored to protect society but that is generally done very successfully by those with expert knowledge, not hysterical tabloid readers who are in it for their own perverse form of gratification.

Reloc8 wrote: »
    What is it about people who want to 'monitor' paedophiles that prevents them from spelling it correctly ('pedophile' also acceptable) and why does it always go with an underlying wish to find them and kill them.

I think the same reason for queer bashing. It is called projecting. If you want to kill someone for something there is an element of the accusers who are hiding their own pathology.

For instance, the biggest vigilates are the ones who leave their children while they go to the pub without a babysitter, provide no love to their own children, show no interest in their emotional or nuttritional well being.

But they are the first to join the witchhunts for "the children!"

Animals these people are and the poster is correct, Facebook is a cesspool of these creatures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

meoklmrk91 wrote: »

funny, i never see any of that on facebook.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

El Weirdo wrote: »
    You do realise that you can just de-friend anyone that posts this type of shit?

Believe me I have tried, actually considering dropping fb and would have had a long time ago only for the fact that the fecking thing is so handy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

funny, i never see any of that on facebook.....

Never come across it myself either. Odd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

Isn't there some organisation in NI that get paid to monitor paedophiles. I think they also look after investigating crime and so forth. Oh yes that's it the PSNI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Facebook is for stalking your ex, not stalking a peado... unless your ex is a paedo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

In the USA some muppet discovered one living on his street. Went around his house and gunned him down in front of his wife and kids at the dinner table.
    Not surprised about this at all. They have a national register open to the public here. You can type in your address and get pictures of offenders near you, their names and their crimes. It's extremely disturbing, it would make anyone paranoid and my first thought on seeing it was "how does this not encourage vigilantism?"

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    Not surprised about this at all. They have a national register open to the public here. You can type in your address and get pictures of offenders near you, their names and their crimes. It's extremely disturbing, it would make anyone paranoid and my first thought on seeing it was "how does this not encourage vigilantism?"

There is also an argument that it allows a kind of social networking for sex offenders.

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »

One of the very many reasons the USA is a dysfunctional society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Sorry? The UK and France have also done this. As for the US being a "dysfunctional society" I'd love to know what you base that on.

MadsL wrote: »
    Sorry? The UK and France have also done this. As for the US being a "dysfunctional society" I'd love to know what you base that on.

Massive recidivism, no universal health care, broken education system, endemic and institutional racism...

Where has the UK made sex offenders public?

Death Penalty, Patriot Act, Largest Prison Population on Earth, Gitmo, 43 Million People on Foodstamps...

That's off the top of my head. These things are very very bad.

I am well aware Ireland is a dump so not talking sides.

Massive recidivism,

no universal health care, broken education system, endemic and institutional racism...

Where has the UK made sex offenders public?

http://www.homeoffice.gov.uk/crime/child-sex-offender-disclosure/
    Death Penalty, Patriot Act, Largest Prison Population on Earth, Gitmo, 43 Million People on Foodstamps...

That's off the top of my head. These things are very very bad.

I am well aware Ireland is a dump so not talking sides.

Apparantly I wandered into a bash America thread, how unusual on AH :rolleyes:

Massive recidivism,
    60% compared with the UK's 50%. Not 'massive' comparatively

no universal health care,
    Obamacare

broken education system,
    A higher literacy rate than say Italy.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_literacy_rate

endemic and institutional racism...
    Get back to me when Ireland elects a Traveller as Taoiseach.

Death Penalty,
    I personally oppose it, but the US is far from the only country that has executed offenders, including Ireland.

Patriot Act,
    I suggest you take a look at your own Criminal Justice Acts and the powers of the Gardai...

Largest Prison Population on Earth,
    Cut to threads on AH complaining about scumbags getting off with a slap on the wrist.

Gitmo,
    Compared to the UK with Terrorism Act 2006 holding suspects for 28 days without trial - Gitmo is a military detention centre designed for interrogation of combatants outside of the legal system, and to be closed in this term by Obama. The UK managed to design such provisions within the legal justice system, and came close to being able to hold anyone for 42 days without charges.

43 Million People on Foodstamps...

Lol, love this, that's 14% of the US population, compared to over 50% of the Irish population receiving Welfare payments. and almost one third of total expenditure in Ireland going on welfare.

So feel free to lecture the US about dysfunctional :rolleyes:

Why so touchy? Ireland is a dump and I have no problem saying that.

Obama promised to close Gitmo in the first term. He actually made it bigger. He won't close it. He'll change the name to FreedomCamp or something.

The Garda can't arrest and kill people in other countries without trial.

I would vote for Traveller for President just for the Craic of it. Most of us would. Be a laugh to see them strip the wiring out of the Aras when his term is up. That would be a scream.

Why so touchy? Ireland is a dump and I have no problem saying that.

I'm not being touchy, I'm just sick of casual, uninformed America bashing on AH. Much of the time it's the same old myths being regurgitated.

I can't help seeing the irony in you claiming the US is "dysfunctional" because 14% are on food stamps when half the Irish population claim welfare.

I never said Ireland was not dysfuctional.

A lot of Irish people like America, they have been there on holidays and lots have lived there.

I like the USA people and visiting the place. But I am aware of how messed up it is on so many levels.

I feel safer with the dusfuctionality of Ireland is all.

Being poor here sucks, being poor there is potentially a death sentence.

Hardly the same thing...

Edited in light of pulling thread off topic - sorry.

I never said Ireland was not dysfuctional.

Oh, I see. It is Ireland you were having a go at when you posted...

In response to a single idiot killing someone. Well Done. Slow Clap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Can we get back on topic now?

/mod