Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭cashback

At this rate he could be "Three-o Walcott" by the end of the season.

Somebody been watching Peep Show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

It's hard to believe we're 2 points behind Spurs despite us only losing 3 and hem losing 5. 6 draws for us though. It's really not good enough to be drawing so often if we want this top 4 finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

keano_afc wrote: »
    A kitten with ebola has more fight in it than we do these days. Another toothless performance. We have a striker who's strengths we dont play to, a passing game that has been stinking in the last 2 games and no options on the bench. Sorry state of affairs.

Don't agree with the lack of fight. The defending had plenty of teeth tonight. What was missing was crisp accurate passing.

cashback wrote: »
    Somebody been watching Peep Show?
    ****in right.
    Galvasean wrote: »
    It's hard to believe we're 2 points behind Spurs despite us only losing 3 and hem losing 5. 6 draws for us though. It's really not good enough to be drawing so often if we want this top 4 finish.
    I said at the start of the year that wins are what we need, not being unbeaten for a while when presenting no threat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

21 points out of a possible 42 = 50%.
    Not good enough for Arsenal. We are dire lads. Going absolutely nowhere.

While I'm not happy with that return

We played 14games 8 of them away

We're after been to both Manchester clubs. Liverpool Everton and stoke

All tough away games so hopefully we can get going with some home games coming up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Two home games next. Let's hope for better performances.

While I'm not happy with that return

We played 14games 8 of them away

We're after been to both Manchester clubs. Liverpool Everton and stoke

All tough away games so hopefully we can get going with some home games coming up

Trouble is we're getting to the halfway point of the season so that tough fixtures thing doesn't hold much water. 5 wins in a row now would bring us to 35 points at the halfway point. The 5 teams we haven't played include Swansea and Newcastle and away to Wigan and Reading and apparently draws away to **** teams like them is good.

Buttonftw wrote: »

Trouble is we're getting to the halfway point of the season so that tough fixtures thing doesn't hold much water. 5 wins in a row now would bring us to 35 points at the halfway point. The 5 teams we haven't played include Swansea and Newcastle and away to Wigan and Reading and apparently draws away to **** teams like them is good.

We're looking average at best it's gonna be a big struggle to get top 4, we need a top of the range signing to push us on in January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Two home games next. Let's hope for better performances.

We'd want to buck up what with Swansea suddenly finding their form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,134 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Realistically who could we sign that would turn around our season? I have a terrible feeling that we aint gonna be playing Champion League next year :(

Quazzie wrote: »
    I have a terrible feeling that we aint gonna be playing Champion League next year :(

Looks like we're gonna have to win it this year to get into it next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,781 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The way we are playing there are not too many teams who will fear us.
    We seem easy to defend against and we are creating very little.
    We are also at full strength now too apart from Diaby who we never really have for long anyway.
    So how do we turn this round?

Quazzie wrote: »
    Realistically who could we sign that would turn around our season? I have a terrible feeling that we aint gonna be playing Champion League next year :(

Gzote

The way we are playing there are not too many teams who will fear us.
    We seem easy to defend against and we are creating very little.
    We are also at full strength now too apart from Diaby who we never really have for long anyway.
    So how do we turn this round?

Somehow try create more chances were terrible in the final third
    Start playing to griouds strengths would be handy too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,781 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Somehow try create more chances were terrible in the final third
    Start playing to griouds strengths would be handy too

We cannot cross for nuts though. I can't understand how the manager hasn't got them out on the training ground crossing balls for hours, or is he blind. It's just not good enough. We pose no threat from dead balls or crosses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Realistically there's not a hope I could see us landing Gzote - he'd be too expensive besides Dortmund are looking a stronger team than ourselves at the minute. I think we need to play to our strengths. Get someone in who can actually cross the ball instead of throwing central midfielders or strikers out on the wing. Also a proper dm would not go astray. We keep buying players and then playing them out of position. That needs to change.
    Thought Sczesny played well tonight - some great saves in the 2nd half. Vermaelen also played well - he was committed.

We cannot cross for nuts though. I can't understand how the manager hasn't got them out on the training ground crossing balls for hours, or is he blind. It's just not good enough. We pose no threat from dead balls or crosses.

We put in one good cross tonight and giroud nearly scored, they should do nothing else between now and Saturday except practise crosses :)

Ha. I said that last week and the week before. Won't happen though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Mr pedantic again - off the top of my head, Wilshere's against Montpellier, 2 goals from corners against Reading, 1 against Fulham and Man City, Walcott's cross for Mertersacker against Spurs. We were poor tonight and against Villa on Sat but we're not doing too badly with our crosses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

The main problem we are having is we have no one to win the ball back.

We only get the ball when the other team take their final pass of their attack and they get a chance or a defender intercepts.

We need to win the ball back higher up the pitch. We are really missing song I think.

The midfield is too light weight and they are all too similar.

greendom wrote: »
    Mr pedantic again - off the top of my head, Wilshere's against Montpellier, 2 goals from corners against Reading, 1 against Fulham and Man City, Walcott's cross for Mertersacker against Spurs. We were poor tonight and against Villa on Sat but we're not doing too badly with our crosses

Maybe so but I wonder what percentage of goals we get from crosses.
    Regardless of that our crossing is dire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Ive said it before and ill say it again, not getting Champions Lge football next season could be a blessing in disguise in that it will give the club a kick in the bollacks to get the finger out. Were just a club going through the motions the past 5 years and I can see nothing changing if we keep qualifying for the Champions Lge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Barlett

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Ive said it before and ill say it again, not getting Champions Lge football next season could be a blessing in disguise in that it will give the club a kick in the bollacks to get the finger out. Were just a club going through the motions the past 5 years and I can see nothing changing if we keep qualifying for the Champions Lge!

Had this conversation earlier today, this is the problem . When we sit down and look back our last four seasons have been pretty much identical no great cup run, or league challenge just hanging onto the coat tails of the top tier each year.

We don't play brilliant football anymore, Carzola has been decent but not amazing . We have a lot of good players but no one world class.

We need a tall, strong midfielder but we've needed that for a few years now.

The reality is unless we break wage structures, spend money we won't compete . Financial fair play won't change that, not when City can sign a 400 million sponsorship deal.

Even if Wenger wanted to go down the youth road he'll still have to break the wage structure if he wants to keep them as he found out with the 2008 team.

The choice simply is spend money if you want to compete or settle into life outside the elite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Mickeroo wrote: »
    I agree they're the bigger club but Wigan are in 15th and City are in second whereas at the moment Everton and Arsenal are two big rivals for 4th place playing each other with only a point between them. On paper its a more competitive game with more riding on it, which should mean more neutrals watching. I wouldn't expect Man City v Wigan to get precedence over two teams battling relegation either if you get what I mean.
    Lads what are ye blabbering on about, tee tv rights are sold in such a way that every team has to be shown a certain number of times, it has feck all to do with the respective matches and this decision was taken back in July/August.
    But if you look up sky fixtures for the year it won't list what their showing for the whole season.They seem to pick which ones they want to show?

They don't list the fixtures for the whole season as they won't know what games exactly they'll be able to show. Right now the TV fixtures are done up till the end of January.

The post below from this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056576464 explains the packages & the choice of picks associated with them, it's for the new TV deal though & i think for this TV deal the midweeks aren't a separate pack & in with some sunday 4pms, it gives an idea though of what it's like regards how TV coverage of games work

but it's likely to do with quotas why the game or tootenham-l'pool wasn't shown
    p.oconnor wrote: »
    From a few pages ago,

Package A: 26 at Sat 12.45pm
    - 13 1st picks
    - 13 4th picks

Package B: 16-18 at Sat 5.30pm; 6-7 at Sun 12pm or 1.30pm/2.05pm; 2-3 Bank hols
    - 22 3rd picks
    - 4 5th picks

Package C: 26 at Sun 1.30pm/2.05pm
    - 13 2nd picks
    - 13 3rd picks

Package D: 26 at Sun 4pm/4.10pm
    - 20 1st picks
    - 6 4th picks

Package E: 18-22 at Mon 8pm; 4-8 at Sun 4pm/4.10pm or Sat 12.45pm
    - 12 2nd picks
    - 10 4th picks
    - 4 5th picks

Package F: 12 at Sat 5.30pm
    - 8 2nd picks
    - 4 4th picks

Package G: 10 Midweek and Bank hols; 2 at Sat 12.45pm
    - 5 1st picks
    - 5 2nd picks
    - 2 5th picks

Club Quotas (in alphabetical package order):
    Maximum: 5, 5, 5, 5, 4, 2, 2 (Total = 28)
    Minimum: 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 0, 0 (Total = 5)

Pick totals:
    - 38 1st picks
    - 38 2nd picks
    - 35 3rd picks
    - 33 4th picks
    - 10 5th picks

Sky gets B, C, D, E, F.
    BT get package A, G

... BT have possibly secured some big fixtures with the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

greendom wrote: »

I think we have improved too but the amount of opportunities we get into for crossing and produce a balloon effort has been criminal for a long while.

Still we are improving, I think we are realizing now how good giroud is with his head so that's been emphasized definitely more as the season goes on. If RvP was there we would be looking for cut backs etc along the ground. It's a nice change I think, just taking a while for us to get used to this crossing business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Don't we have enough in the bank to allow us to miss out one year? The board won't give a fcuk assuming we get back in the following season. We'd need at least two years out for anyone on the board to care and only then it'll be because they are getting less money.

Liverpool missed out on Champions League and haven't really come close to getting it back yet. Miss out once and it could be a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

even if the money is to keep things ticking if the CL is missed one season, god knows how many or who would be sold to compensate the fact though

a few seasons out of the CL could expose arsenal as the ultimate house of cards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

I'm not sure if Galvasean was being ironic earlier when he said we need to get our act together because Swansea have bucked up their ideas. I hope so.

I'm the most optimistic man you'll meet when it comes to the Arsenal, but it's worth noting that after we "fell apart" at the start of last season, the worst start to a season in living memory, we still had 36 points after 19 games. It'll be interesting what our tally is after 19 this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Ive said it before and ill say it again, not getting Champions Lge football next season could be a blessing in disguise in that it will give the club a kick in the bollacks to get the finger out

Dunno about that. It hasn't seemed to have done much for Liverpool except make them play more Premiership games on a Sunday tbh.

Arsene Isn't the disciplinarian that he once was, the players know that and know that poor performances will be tolerated as long as the status quo is maintained.

Saying that, tonight wasnt a bad point at all it appears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,579 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Point away to Everton is decent, but not good enough considering we drew with Villa and with the form we're in you wouldn't be surprised to see Swansea beat us either.