Worst teacher you've ever had?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

An Irish/Religion teaching nun, who if there is a god is going to hell, the **** she said to kids was despicable, i dont mean foul language but horrible disgraceful insults to 9 and 10 year olds.
    I dont know if shes dead or what but i would happily dance on her grave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 marilynhappy

I'm going to be a boring voice in the middle of this but-

I am reading this out of a sense of interest, but also as somebody who has worked as a teacher (some of you may have also- don't know- not trying to be presumptous)
    But, I would have to say - it looks much easier on the outside than it really is, working on the inside. It is easy to criticise.

Teaching is ridiculously hard work and very difficult to get right. Faced by up to forty individuals at any one time, having a finite amount of time to cover a topic, facing students with more difficulties than before, adhering to the management. Some new, young teachers struggle for hours and pay. They can be paid less than unqualified people in less skilled jobs. If you are a secondary school teacher, you change class every forty minutes and must adapt to the next group very quickly. You can face abuse from students, if you are unlucky.

I'm not making excuses. Teaching is tough work.

I was the first to criticise teachers when I was in school. You know the type-smart, sarcastic, thinks they know more than a lowly paid and qualified teacher. That was me. Then (through a series of events and choices) I was the teacher. I suddenly realised that it was harder than anything I had done before.

I strongly believe most teachers are doing their best. They are human and I think people should remember that or get up and teach themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,652 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Okay people, can we please refrain from using actual names in this thread? Probably best for all concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

I went to a school somewhere in Cork when I lived there for a few months. The Biology/Chem teacher was sooooo clueless that she didn't know what fruits were seedless or what did they call them yellow things that said 'Calor' on them or what colours are peppers. Anyway I was new in the school and she wanted to make an impression on me that she is strict and knows her stuff. She asked me questions that weren't really neccessary but having done the LC already, I was well able to answer them.
    So, time went on and we had weekly tests in which my lowest score was 97%, this was better than her 'pets' that she could confide in and she got more and more agitated with me. One day, I didn't come to school and the next day these were her exact words, ''You can't be comming in and going out whenever you fecking like ta, enough with this bull****....you're gonna fail my mocks in Feb and you'll be fecked outta my class''. Needless to say, I told her that she needed to act more like a teacher and never went back since and the best part is that I moved out of Cork and didn't have to go back there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

Had one in 1st/2nd class primary, abusive, sawn-off little ginger who used to pick one kid in the class and just use them as a fall-guy for the entire year. I mean full on psychological torment, calling them stupid, singling them out for little punishment exercises, always asking them questions when she knew they wouldn't have an answer and then ridiculing them. She managed to have an entire career up to retirement without any formal action taken against the little biyatch.

Every once in a while, she'd pick the wrong person to abuse:

When my little Bro was going through her class, she started this **** with him, I was two years ahead at this stage, so I didn't know much about it until after a few times of being sent for because he'd stormed out of class or been put in the hallway for giving it back to her, I figured something was up...Then one day it came to a head, she raised a hand to him, and he gave it right back to her, kicked the shins of her, Principal was called, they had a big blue in front of the entire class, he ended up storming out of there F'ing and blinding all the way, I had seen the entire thing, relayed back to the parents who came in an laid down the law, threatened legal action and INTO on her, she left him well alone after that, but he was 6 bloody years old...ended up having to go to a counsellor to get him to settle back in.

What a little Nazi, thinking back on it, we should have put the law on her, probably would have saved a whole generation of kids having to deal with the little cnut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Maths teacher. She hated me and made me do Ordinary Level for LC, told my parents I was "useless" at math. I failed the mock exam, got some grinds and got an A in the exam, now doing my degree in maths nearly 20 years after leaving school but better late than never.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

eviltwin wrote: »
    Maths teacher. She hated me and made me do Ordinary Level for LC, told my parents I was "useless" at math. I failed the mock exam, got some grinds and got an A in the exam, now doing my degree in maths nearly 20 years after leaving school but better late than never.

i had that with my technical graphics teacher, he didnt like my older brother so instantly took a dislike to me and made me do ordinary level even though i was more than capable of doing higher.
    also had him for woodwork and when he asked me how i got on in the exams i answered 'got an A' 'sure thats easy in ordinary level' was his answer. 'I did higher woodwork, Sir' was mine.
    prick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

had a English teacher in 5th year that was only there for the year and i'd say it was her first year teaching because u she couldn't control the class but nether could are normal teacher nether because we were the worst class in the hole school and i was best in the class because no one else did anything but i did noting too, all i did all class was take the piss out of my friend cause he kept saying well

but the worst teacher i had was my 3rd year maths teacher just a clues idot at doing is job but very sound outside of school, but one day he was out of the class and we through an apple into his fish tank and he didn't notice it all class we got of soct-free
    Your English is terrible.....Is that because you did nothing too??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Dewey collins

Your English is terrible.....Is that because you did nothing too??

ya but the funny thing everyone in the class past the leaving :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I'm going to be a boring voice in the middle of this but-

I am reading this out of a sense of interest, but also as somebody who has worked as a teacher (some of you may have also- don't know- not trying to be presumptous)
    But, I would have to say - it looks much easier on the outside than it really is, working on the inside. It is easy to criticise.

Teaching is ridiculously hard work and very difficult to get right. Faced by up to forty individuals at any one time, having a finite amount of time to cover a topic, facing students with more difficulties than before, adhering to the management. Some new, young teachers struggle for hours and pay. They can be paid less than unqualified people in less skilled jobs. If you are a secondary school teacher, you change class every forty minutes and must adapt to the next group very quickly. You can face abuse from students, if you are unlucky.

I'm not making excuses. Teaching is tough work.

I was the first to criticise teachers when I was in school. You know the type-smart, sarcastic, thinks they know more than a lowly paid and qualified teacher. That was me. Then (through a series of events and choices) I was the teacher. I suddenly realised that it was harder than anything I had done before.

I strongly believe most teachers are doing their best
    . They are human and I think people should remember that or get up and teach themselves.

This is what I dont understand. I want to work in scientific research and have done all my life. I'll defend constantly scientific research as a worthy endeavour but I know there are terrible scientists out there and it would be impossible to deny that.

The problem I have with some teachers is that they see an attack individual teachers as an attack on all teachers. You are shooting yourselves in the foot by doing that. Surely it would be in the teachers best interests to get rid of the bad ones too.

I'm sure teaching is a hard thankless job and not something I could do but we're talking about teachers who are alcoholics or some who tell students certain info is only for the a-students. This is unnacceptable and I dont see how it amounts to trying ones best.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,246 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

A teacher called Hitler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

humberklog wrote: »
    A teacher called Hitler.

BOOM ! Game over, lets wrap it up. Locky la thread ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭iDann

My English teacher who asks the students to spell a word. He also stutters :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Had a right sausage for an Irish teacher. 40 odd years old and would dress like she was still 21, even occasionally her tight jeans would split on the side and you'd see her flab hanging out between the tears like melted cheese in a badly put together quarter pounder.

She had it in for me for some reason, asking me in front of everyone in the class was I being bullied by a scrawny fella in the class, did I have mental issues, etc.

One day we were told to write down some text off a book which meant everybody was quiet doing their thing as she sat up at the desk. Next thing, the hag goes:

Hag: "Do you know what, Duggy? Somebody has been writing things about you on the tables!"

*Entire class turns around to me*

Me: "Errrrr.................ok?"

Classmate: "What did it say, Miss??"

Hag: "...................I'm not going to say, it's juvenile!"

*Everybody goes back to writing, sniggering and looking back at me*

Hag: ".............But you know what I can't stand, people writing that: "Such and such is gay"..............."

*Entire class erupts in laughter, my face has developed a new shade of red*

Me: "OH FOR FÙCK SAKE!!"

Hag: "What's so funny!?! It's not funny bullying people at all!!

*Class laughs even harder*

Hag: "Stop laughing and get back to work!!"

*Class eventually settles down, though people are still sniggering and staring at me*

Hag: "..............and Duggy, don't you ever dare curse in my class! How............dare...........you!"

*Class bursts out laughing again, I start banging my head off the table in hope I'll kill myself*

Cùnt of the highest order, my sister had her a few years beforehand and was treated the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Had a right sausage for an Irish teacher. 40 odd years old and would dress like she was still 21, even occasionally her tight jeans would split on the side and you'd see her flab hanging out between the tears like melted cheese in a badly put together quarter pounder.

She had it in for me for some reason, asking me in front of everyone in the class was I being bullied by a scrawny fella in the class, did I have mental issues, etc.

One day we were told to write down some text off a book which meant everybody was quiet doing their thing as she sat up at the desk. Next thing, the hag goes:

Hag: "Do you know what, Duggy? Somebody has been writing things about you on the tables!"

*Entire class turns around to me*

Me: "Errrrr.................ok?"

Classmate: "What did it say, Miss??"

Hag: "...................I'm not going to say, it's juvenile!"

*Everybody goes back to writing, sniggering and looking back at me*

Hag: ".............But you know what I can't stand, people writing that: "Such and such is gay"..............."

*Entire class erupts in laughter, my face has developed a new shade of red*

Me: "OH FOR FÙCK SAKE!!"

Hag: "What's so funny!?! It's not funny bullying people at all!!

*Class laughs even harder*

Hag: "Stop laughing and get back to work!!"

*Class eventually settles down, though people are still sniggering and staring at me*

Hag: "..............and Duggy, don't you ever dare curse in my class! How............dare...........you!"

*Class bursts out laughing again, I start banging my head off the table in hope I'll kill myself*

Cùnt of the highest order, my sister had her a few years beforehand and was treated the same.

Sounds sexy, she hasnt got a number has she? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

My business studies teacher used to smell us if we were late to class, to make sure we weren't smoking.

He used to borrow our pens and put them in his mouth, or pick his ears with the lid.

He bent over the table in front of us once, so someone put tip ex on his trousers, he wore them for the next two weeks. We thought he just alternated the same type.

Had an Irish teacher that everyone called spits, and he answered to it as well. You did not want to sit in the front row in that class.

Our art teacher used to slap our arses when we bent over the bench, he taught my aunts as well and did the same.

Our English teacher was so gullible. You could say any excuse for being late or absent, or not having homework for a different class. She would always sort it.

Our principal was the worst. Having an affair with one of the teachers and then he ended up splashed all over the papers for stalking and harassing another one. SUch a twat. But he fell down the hill once during a fire drill and gave us all a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

I had an English teacher who hated me and had it in for me , She always found a reason to give out to me . The year I was doing my Leaving Cert she picked on me to the stage of where she told me I would fail higher level english . This happened everyday of the week until one day I got so annoyed and told her to f*** off . She dragged me up to the top of the class and started shouting at me . She then started giving out to me for looking down on her because she wasn't even 5 foot tall . So I dropped to my knees in front of the whole class and then she went nuts and threw me out and I never had to go back to her class again . She was in the school the day I was getting my Leaving Cert results and it was great to rub it in her face that I had got a B3 . I was well able for the work it was just for some reason she had it in for me .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Ehrmantraut

I had a teacher who always gave us homework and punished us if we didn't have it done. Detestable stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

One of mine was found with large quantities of child porn on his computer. That's pretty bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Not me, an uncle of mine. Years ago there was a game of football going on at break time that my uncle had no part in. The ball hit and broke a window and bounced to within 5 feet of my uncle. The brother in charge blamed him and when he wouldn't admit it made him kneel in marble chippings(like what's on a grave) that were a border around the school.

He was then brought to the principals office so that he'd miss the bus home and had to walk 4 miles home. When he got home and told the story my grandfather got into his car and went to the house all the brother's lived in beside the school and asked for the brother responsible.

When he came to the door my grandfather punched him straight in the face and told him he'd kill him if he ever done it again.

Best thing was the brothers said they'd get my grandfather done by the police and have my mother and uncles sent to a home. Local cop was my grandfather's cousin who told the brother there'd be more of the same if he touched my uncle again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Every teacher I had was worse than the other, so it's hard to find the worst one. They all spent their time asking questions. They were supposed to be teaching so how come they had to ask questions?

It depends on the questions they were asking. Eliciting information is generally a great teaching tool, as you remember something you produce yourself compared to something you're told by a teacher. It's particular useful in languages, and not done nearly enough in language-teaching in Irish schools.
    A good teacher is always asking lots of questions: either getting you to reveal what you know, or asking the right questions to help you figure things out yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

We had one prick of a teacher who used to downright bully the kids, and swing at them, throw things etc, he never actually hit anyone, he deliberately missed but you'd be afraid he would. Was a ****e teacher who just read from the book too, and used to have a projector and would put up slides with maths problems, he'd make us do them for hours and he sat there and changed the slide every 10 mins and if you didng have them them all done you were screwed

Anyway one day he was picking on this lad (had him in 5th class) and he was crying his eyes out standing up at the top of the class and he started his usual swings at him, over his head, either side, but a young priest who was in the school for some reason was walking past the open door and saw it - came in and yelled at the teacher, told him to get out to the corridor and he spent the next 20 minutes out there ripping him a new one

Went back to being an arse a few months later but the priest had no shortage of volunteers when he came looking for altar servers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

In 1st and 3rd year, I had a Home Economics teacher from hell.
    She regularly singled me out for bashing (verbally, not physically, mind) and there was one set of rules for me and another for the other girls.
    For example: Back in secondary, I was something of a walking cliche of an emo kid- ie: black hair dye, depressed, prone to writing crappy poetry, art student and something of a wallflower.
    For most of the 1st year I had her, it was torture as she'd force me to sit up front of the class and yell at me constantly if I dare ask her to repeat a sentance which was often considering I'm a deaf kid.
    I recall the rules they had regarding makeup, jewelary and nail polish. Up until my 3rd year I was a bit of a wimp and tried my best not to upset the apple cart. The only piece of jewelary I wore was a small pewter pendant with a dragon on it that I wore largely hidden under my shirt collor.
    I didn't wear make-up as it was against the school rules nor did I wear nail polish yet I was CONSTANTLY told off over my appearance and my dragon necklace was regularly confiscated yet there were girls in my school who regualrly showed up caked in a metric ton of make-up, fake tan and nail polish, wearing more bling than Mr. T and with their skirts so high I could almost see what they had for breakfast yet she never once batted an eye lash over their blantant disregard for the rules.

It was torture being her student but I got a slight reprieve when I got a different Home Ec teacher for 2nd year.
    3rd year came around and despite applying for the advanced art class, I wound up in Home Ec again with this utter bullying **** of a teacher. In 3rd year, I was a bit more confident and I took no crap off her. I stopped doing my homework, acting like a little bollix and class and I stopped turning up for them unless we were doing a cookery practical.
    It got so bad that that I was in detention so much that the principal was called in. Luckly, she took pity, seeing how miserable Home Ec was making me and finally put me in the advanced art class.

Still had to do a Home Ec practical for my Leaving, tho. I took great satisfaction in the fact that, after two years ofg having my cooking criticised, the independant examiner asked for second helpings of my macaroni and cheese. :D

Another teacher I had trouble with was my remedial maths teacher.
    Though not on the same scale as my Home Ec teacher in terms of being vindictive, she was OCD about timekeeping and would punish anyone who turned up late with extra homework. She also had no concept of personal space boundries and would lean RIGHT INTO YOU when look over your work. She was also severely lacking in basic personal hygine and stunk to high heaven of stale sweat.

Funnily enough, though, I've regularly run into my old maths teacher outside the school and she has an altogether sunner deposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

In school I was having a few problems and wasn't sleeping well. I dozed off in class for a second and the teacher threw a whiteboard marker at me. I threw it back at him as hard as I could and narrowly missed. I was sent outside but then told to just go home. Nothing was done about it thankfully.

We had an alcoholic PE teacher who would drink at his family pub between classes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Alcoholic tech drawing teacher who would come in at the start of every class, hand out a badly photocopied question with half the diagram missing off the page, walk out, come back in with 1 minute to go and tell us to leave. I failed my mocks like nearly everybody else, got grinds for the last 10 weeks and got a B1 in honours.

Alcoholic art teacher, but he was sound enough, despite the odd flinging of chalk.

Nervous-breakdown-at-any-time science teacher, each class of his was absolute chaos. Apparently a smart man but had no clue how to handle 20 rabid young lads. They'd blockade the door with desks before he'd arrive, constant heckling, hide his stuff etc etc

Irish teacher that would reward you with a high mark if you simply copied the bit out of the book that had the same word that was in the question.

Vice principal spent any classes we had with him talking about fishing. Thankfully they were mostly religion classes.

I used to arrive in at 11am EVERY morning, timing it for the little break bell, not a word said.

Joke of a school, not long after I left only around 10% of a year did the LC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Every maths teacher I had, bar one.

A religion teacher who insisted on interrogating us, Gestapo fashion, as to what the sermon was about at Mass.

An oul bat of a primary school teacher who had no qualms about using the 'bata', a foaming-at-the-mouth RA supporter with the men of 1916 and the Sacred Heart hanging in the classroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Our rancid bitch primary school principal used to have us reciting prayers seven times a day:

1. Before lessons
    2. After first "sos"
    3. The Angelus at midday
    4. Grace before meals at lunchtime
    5. Grace after meals
    6. After second "sos"
    7. At home time.

She was an absolutely vile woman, one who would go out of her way to belittle anyone that was brighter than her own kids (who were grand, actually, not little shíts at all!) A total bully who was supposedly "religious" - eating the statues in church at any opportunity and waffling on about Padre Pio. She stank of mothballs as well.

Prayers and endless tables of Irish verbs are all I remember about lessons in 5th and 6th class. Very little time was given to English or Maths (especially the latter) so many of us found ourselves way behind in Maths when starting secondary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

I had so many bad teachers in my secondary school , really a good teacher was a beacon

I was ' educated ' in 70's England when you didn't need a degree to be a teacher and really it was the domain of people who in the words of my father ' couldn't do a real job '.

Some examples , the computer science teacher ( this was very early days for the subject ) who could not spell computer ' comuter ' .

The music teacher who had basically given up on us all , asked as a class to pronounce composers names such as Elgar etc , as most of the class got this wrong he said , I can't teach you so forget it and basically ignored us for the next year , I found that rather annoying considering I knew how to pronounce them and had already taken a number of music exams but he was uninterested.

I could go on.

However I had a physics teacher who really saved the day as far as I was concerned , I bless him every day .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,848 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

5th and 6th class in primary school, kept writing me up for stuff and not giving him straight answers in school, when it was cos the fkr couldn't understand a cork accent in kildare.

I still see him around my home town from time to time.... i'd love it if he ever says anything to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I sat at the front in Science Class was nearly killed twice by the Teacher who decided to show us how certain toxic gases were made then when all went títs up, he bailed out of the room leaving the class choking (he never got a fuse for the fume cupboards).

He took off another day from the podium and ran down the back off the room then shouted "ye lads in the front better duck" just as a glass jar over a bunsen burner exploded leaving me and two other lads with minor burns and another with a lump of glass stuck in his head.

He retired about 3 years after I done the leaving cert but not before another giant fúck up with chemicals that led to the entire school being evacuated and 3 Hazmat units of the Fire Brigade cleaning up his mess.