If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Best scam you ever heard of?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Best one I ever heard of was a couple of guys in the early 90's who sold Irish Pound coins to the English at Cheltenham races for 20 quid a go, they claimed that they were commerative medals of Arkle struck by the Irish Government!:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Found this funny, who needs planning when you can just drive in and out of the main gates.
    An investigation has been launched following the theft of 450 kegs from the Guinness Brewery on Victoria Quay in Dublin.
    180 kegs of Guinness, 180 kegs of Budweiser and 90 kegs of Carlsberg were taken in the robbery.
    A man driving a truck drove into the brewery yard at around 4pm yesterday afternoon and stole a trailer containing the drink, which has an estimated value of €64,000.
    It is understood there were a number of trailers stored ready for delivery in the yard at the time.
    The driver attached one of the trailers containing the 450 kegs to his cab and drove out of the yard through the main gates.
    The robbery was discovered a short time later and gardaí were called. The empty trailer was later discovered in Slane Hill in Co Meath.
    In the run up to Christmas there are usually over 250 truck movements both in and out of the complex every day.
    Detectives are now examining CCTV footage from the Guinness complex and surrounding area.
    Anyone with information on the roughly 40,000 missing pints is asked to contact Kevin Street Garda Station on 01 6669400.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

There's a guy who sits outside my local shopping centre supposedly playing a bodhrán. But anyone looking closely at his feet would see the radio blasting out Irish trad music :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

There's a guy who sits outside my local shopping centre supposedly playing a bodhrán. But anyone looking closely at his feet would see the radio blasting out Irish trad music :D

Is he in Navan??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Mince Pie wrote: »

Is he in Navan??

He is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Person is approached in a car park and is shown a laptop for sale at bargain price. Agrees price and guy says he will get a new boxed one from the car.
    Cash changes hands and guy drives off.
    Victim opens box to find 2 Agros catalogues.

Fairly sure someone tried that scam on me in the carpark in Northwood a while back, pulls up alongside me and the passenger is desperately trying to sell me a laptop saying he just bought it and it was the wrong colour or something. Had been wondering what the exact scam was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

The Irish Gubberment convinced lots of unknowing Irish suckers it would be a great idea to invest in the newly privatised Eircom, making them a killing, which they duly wasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

One that was going on recently. A person goes around pubs buying cigarettes from machines, they note the sticker with the company name (Kelly Vending etc on every machine), its location and if its bolted or just free standing. The next day a fella in overalls and a hand truck walk in with an order book "we're from Kelly Vending to swap (looks at order sheet) cigarette machine under TV for a new model", 99% of the time barman/manager looks at order book and says OK, they unplug the old machine, onto the hand truck and away, never to be seen again. Each machine has €1500 - €2500 in either cash or cigarettes.

Every pub/hotel or premises with a cigarette machine has been warned about this ten times in the last few months, so nobody should be caught out now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Not sure if this is true or not but there was a hacker in the states in the 80's who hacked a couple of banks but he only took 0.0025 dollars but took it from all bank accounts for years, and bank accounts numbered millions.. never caught either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

My favourite prop bet scam -

The folks at Amarillo Slim's country club were utterly baffled when Slim declared that he could drive a golf ball a distance of one mile or more and backed up his claim with a $40,000 wager. After establishing that Slim would attempt the feat hitting from a regulation tee with a PGA-approved golf club (and not hitting it off a mountain, dropping it from an airplane or actually "driving" the ball for one mile inside his car) he got a slew of takers, most of whom thought it would be easy money. Finally, the method to Slim's madness emerged. A crowd of onlookers followed Slim as he drove across town, parked next to a huge frozen lake, and teed up. Slim swung his club and the ball skipped across the ice, not stopping for over a mile and a half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

A2LUE42 wrote: »
    Barman in a real tourist pub who used to hold up a half pint glass to the American tourists anf say 'Pint?'
    How did that work? Americans are familiar with pints, it's litres that they wouldn't be familiar with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭prettygurrly

darced wrote: »

that took me far longer than it should have to get it...i blame my fuzzy hungover head...really enjoyed all the scams though can't think of any myself right now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Not sure if this is true or not but there was a hacker in the states in the 80's who hacked a couple of banks but he only took 0.0025 dollars but took it from all bank accounts for years, and bank accounts numbered millions.. never caught either.

That's a true story. The guys name was Peter Gibbons. He was never found guilty as his office caught fire and destroyed all the evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

that took me far longer than it should have to get it...i blame my fuzzy hungover head...really enjoyed all the scams though can't think of any myself right now!

I still don't get it! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

income tax - best scam ever

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I still don't get it! :o

We both put €20 into a matchbox, then you buy the matchbox off me for €30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

ColeTrain wrote: »
    That's a true story. The guys name was Peter Gibbons. He was never found guilty as his office caught fire and destroyed all the evidence.
    I won't "jump to conclusions" on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭DanWall

The Scotsman who purchased a Donkey off a farmer and it died, so he raffled it. When the winner came to collect, he told him it had died and gave him his money back. The farmer asked if he had any complaints, and he said only one, the winner. Turned out it was Gordon Brown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭howyanow

foxy06 wrote: »
    Man walks into a pub with 2 kids and asks the Barman if he does off sales. He gets a few bottles of spirits and some crates of beer. He orders 2 bags of crisps and some lemonade for the kids and said he will leave them there and settle up the lot together. Asks Barman to give him a hand bringing the booze out to his car. Barman ran in to get the last of the items and two lads still sitting chatting away to each other when he brings out the last crate. when he gets back out car is gone. Barman goes back in and two lads still sitting there. He asks where their dad is gone and they reply " he's not our dad he just asked us outside if we wanted crisps and lemonade." Heard this years ago. Not sure if 100% true bit cute git if it was!
    you didnt hear this in Galway by any chance?it happned to a relative of mine in Galway 20 odd years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

bohsman wrote: »
    We both put €20 into a matchbox, then you buy the matchbox off me for €30.

You made it sound more elaborate.

Who would be silly enough to fall for that!?! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

* Start a charity, pay yourself six figures. Give the rest to charity.

* Claim to know about the afterlife. Market it.

* Learn some cold reading techniques and pretend to be a psychic.

* Become a hypno-anything. Charge to help people quit smoking, loose weight, feel better. Also sell tapes and mp3s online.

* Sell products that can't possible work. Magnets that cure cancer or some herbal crap to cure baldness.

* Collect money 'for your religion'

* Sell 'fake' autographed sports memorabilia on your website. Offer a 100% refund for any item that fails verification by an expert. 90% of customers won't pay for an expert to inspect it, if someone does, refund the money.

* Sell open source software on a website. Spam it all over the place. So long as you include the original source, you aren't breaking the law, and anyone stupid enough to pay for it isn't going to figure it out.

* Buy a receipt printer. Use it to create receipts that appear 100% authentic to use for whatever you can imagine. For example - most places will only exchange software/media for the same title. So you buy some new game, install it, then take it back saying there is something wrong with the disk and you want an exchange. They'll give you a new copy of the game - but they'll almost always give you a new receipt or draw/mark up your old one. Then you go home and recreate the original receipt. Now you return to the store (preferably a different branch of the same store) with the unopened game and the receipt. Then tell that store your Grandmother got it for you not realizing you already have it. Be sure to point out you haven't opened it. Now you get your money back or a store credit and you repeat.

* If you don't use wifi or if you have an extra (or just fancy) router - you can give out free wifi. Without encryption, if you live in the city, it won't be long before people start to connect and use it. Naturally, you'll be sniffing their traffic and collecting username/passwords, performing MITM attacks on HTTPS and logging all of it. It's insane how many people will connect to an open network and then think that as long as they see 'https://' they can do anything and be safe. They'll gladly say 'OKAY' to any certificate warnings that pop up and do online banking and everything else you can imagine - all on your network.

* Get a legit student-id when you aren't a student (so you can get student discounts). There are lots and lots of universities all over the world that are now offering online degrees. Many of them are also traditional universities. If you have a student's name and id number; you can fax in a request and include your picture and ask them to mail an ID to you. Granted, you need some information and some balls to do it; but it absolutely does work. The best part is - they charge the student's account that you are faking! I know the specifics of one university where this would work - but I'm sure lots of others are the same.

The downside is, you are sending in a picture of yourself for it to look real. Anyway, take your fake student id, print out a fake class schedule, and get yourself a 100% legit student travel card. Enjoy discounts on everything.

* Get a friend (who is in on the scam) who is going out of town and has his own place. While he's gone (perfect alibi), you 'break in', take pictures of the place, and list it on Daft.ie or some other website. List it at a reasonable, but low price to get lots of interest. With the rental market how it is, you'll have a lot of interest (assuming your in a city). People will show up with money in hand to secure the place. Anyway, people will say, 'We'll take it' and you'll say, 'Okay - sounds good. I'll just need your deposit...and you can move in anytime after Monday.' Then you take their money and write a rent-receipt, give them a copy of the lease to 'look over' and sign and say you'll be there on Monday (or whenever they want to move in) to sign the lease.

Naturally, you take their money. With any luck you'll get quite a few people paying deposits or parts of deposits and expecting to move in. All the information you give them is fake and when they come back to the house, your friend is there and says he knows nothing about anything. Gardia gets called and they conclude someone broke in, take a description, make a report, and you and your friend are off the hook. Avoid your buddy's house for a while after that. Split the money 25/75 in your favor. Don't repeat with the same guy though.

If you have serious balls, break into someone's house while they are away and do the same thing.

* Identity theft

* Get some really cheap knock-off merchandise - then make up a story how you are a delivery guy/warehouse guy and it a surplus showed up, but you'll be in a mess if they find out you signed for too many. Whatever. Let people think you are stealing it and selling it too them at a good price. (This sounds ridiculous, but it was very successful in the US (http://pdxkaraokeguy.hubpages.com/hub/I-Fell-Victim-to-the-White-Van-Speaker-Scam)). In fact, you are selling low quality junk to people who don't know any better but won't mind paying cash, in a hurry, because they think it's 'hot'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Know of one where they catch the shop just ad they take a regular delivery. A shop with a few branches around town. As soon as they spot the real delivery been made they go up just as the driver leaves and before they have a chance to pu away the stock. Claim the wrong delivery was made. They gave you the stock for shop of the same name around the corner. I have your delivery. Let me take that stuff and ill bring the correct stuff into you now. Person in the shop hands over the goods expecting the Guy to come back but doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭mayotom

kowloon wrote: »
    No idea who I heard this from and can't remember the details, but it's a funny scam.

A company supposedly selling sex toys and the likes take orders from people but reply to the person ordering to apologise for not having whatever item in stock. A full refund is given but in the form of a cheque which has the name of the company on it. Something along the lines of 'The anal perversion company' or whatever. Person decides not to go through the embarrassment of cashing the cheque for what's a modest sum anyway.

A mate of mine registered the website bluemovies.com about 15 years ago, on the landing page there were several provocative photos, and basically you could buy a 3 hour film for 10 pounds. When you finally have your 3hr movie downloaded(all day, mid 90's internet connection) .
    Basically the the customer gets a 3 hour video of blue paint drying. They did offer a refund to the people who complained and would issue the refund by cheque in the same way as above, the cheques were rarely cashed. They cleared over 100k in a week before getting shut down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭mayotom

A regular one down here is when a car is advertised for sale at an unusually low price, so that they get a lot of interest, I know a guy who got tricked a few weeks ago.

He called the number and arranged for the owners of the car to come and meet with him for a test drive. The buyer saw the car and agreed to the €900 price and cash was handed over, all of the documentation was signed at the local bar and keys handed over, then the new owner agreed to having a beer with the seller and they chatted and got on quiet well, then the Seller lets it be known that he has 4 almost new tyres at home that would suit the car and he would never use them because his new 4X4 has bigger wheels, He says he will go back home and get them the buyer agrees, but holds onto the paperwork and one key. The seller gets back into the car with the €900 and is never seen again. It turns out the car had false plates to match the false documentation that the buyer now has.

Police have been aware of the Scam for a while and suspect the group are based about 2 hours drive away, and have been doing this in cities all around the region

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Psychic Readings Live.. TV3 nightly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Heard of a lad who lived over in London in the 1960's who made a fortune selling blue and purple Smarties wrapped in tinfoil to mods.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

True story .

Mate of mine fancied himself as a bit of a del boy .
    A traveller he kind off knew pulls up in a car .
    Hes driving around all day trying to find a fella that was gonna buy this bag of phones off him . He proceeds to show me mate the phones after a bit of chitchat . Mate asked how much they were . Yer man gave a real knockdown price . Me mate freaked he didnt see him before the other fella thats giving the traveller the run around . Traveller says he agreed to sell to the other fella but if he cant find him by tonight he will sell them to my mate .
    Me mates runs around all my friends . Everyone threw a few quid in thinking they were getting cheap phones .
    Traveller turns up later but this time with a couple of other intimidating looking travellers .
    Traveller hands over the bag and my mate delightedly hands over the money after thinking they were going to mug him .
    He comes back to one of friends
    houses pulls out the bag opens it up and its full of rocks .
    The best part was as he opened it he said to one of the lads look what Im after getting for xxx amount of money .
    Other lad looks in the bag and says " what rocks ?"
    Was about 15 years ago I still laugh at it .

Not all travellers are bad . I used traveller alot there but it was just so youd remember who who was .