What's the oldest thing you own?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭telekon

I have a Roman dice from the 1st century and a Roman coin from the 2nd century AD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭pawrick

I've a stone I found on the beach, must be at least a few million years old :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

I own a book on Astronomy that was printed in 1919. Pluto hadn't been discovered and it was thought there might be rivers on Mars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

A plot of land, it must be at least 9000 years old. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Pottler wrote: »
    I've a house that was built in 1740. Does that count? Lots of the things inside it are much the same age.. I like old stuff. It's stood the test of time. I also have a clock that came out of Buckingham palace.. and I've a gun and a pit bull, btw.:) Oh, and i forgot, there's a church from 1370 outside, boffins turn up each year to measure it and make sure it's still there. That's quite old in fairness.

Someone was paying close attention to the thread about the girl on Facebook showing off her gains.
    Nicely done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Pherekydes wrote: »
    I have Marcus Aurelius' Meditations. :D
    That's nothing, I've his dole card. Signed and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

I have a fossil I found in a field at the back of my house.
    I thought it was special and sent it off to the National Museum feeling sure that it would open a new epoch in the history of evolution.
    They sent it back, more or less saying, "Thanks but no thanks".
    It's called a crinoid and were apparently quite common 350 million to 320 million years ago.
    It's still lying around here somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I thought it was special and sent it off to the National Museum feeling sure that it would open a new epoch in the history of evolution.
    It's called a crinoid and were apparently quite common 350 million to 320 million years ago.

Like this?
    http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-Ek9rlnwPJG8/TV9yBI8M32I/AAAAAAAAD48/8oErwtNFW9E/s1600/crinoid-fossil-422957-sw.jpg

That's pretty cool to have imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

GreeBo wrote: »
    I have a silver trophy that I won thats 101 years old now. (it was 100 years old when I won it ;)

I thought you said "...that I won when I was 101 years old".
    *makes Specsavers appointment* :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Ah feck off. How are we meant to top that? "I've a piece of burnt space that was found in Leitrim - it's from the big bang apparently"???. :D

Pottler wrote: »
    Ah feck off. How are we meant to top that? "I've a piece of burnt space that was found in Leitrim - it's from the big bang apparently"???. :D

Well, you know what they say?, "If you've got it flaunt it!":cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Ive got a 2nd edition book on electricity by Thomas Edison,in which the author predicts that as many as 6 million light bulbs may eventually be used world wide.

Ive also got an Masters of the Universe bar from 1985 in original packaging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭blue note

skinny90 wrote: »
    I have a Super Nintendo that has never been used,the box has a tear on it but the console is sealed

I can't decide if that's a good or a bad thing.

I have a cello - passed down to me from my mother. Made in 1898, my grandparents bought it for her in about 1969 for about a hundred and twenty pounds. I don't know how they afforded it, it was an enormous sum of money for them, they were far from well off. It must gave been a huge sacrifice for them, but she liked it enough to make a career from it.

My father met a chap in a dump about 15 years ago who was throwing out a cello which he asked to take from him instead. He got that cello restored (took over 4 years, lots of it replaced rather than repaired). I had been learning for years, so when it was ready she took that and I got her one which was slightly bigger, more suitable for a man.

It's worth about 6 grand and for the sadly limited use I get out at the moment I can't justify having something that valuable. But, it's more personal than anything I own, and I can think of no circumstances when I would sell it. I'll hopefully have kids some day and if they want to learn I'll pass it down to them. And if anyone in the family ever sells it, I, my grandparents and my mother will haunt the bejaysus out of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

My navel, pretty sure its the oldest part of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 buzybee

"I've a stone I found on the beach, must be at least a few million years old" - posted by Pawrick. Nice one, man!

All I've got is a photo dated 1892 with my ancestors having a party at their summer house. Group photo with some servants, some "blow in" fancy man with a mustashe, putting his arm over a servant's shoulder, a pregnant woman looking angry at her husband, some babies,that are dead by now, granny in a wheel chair, a priest, whom is the son of the Man of the House ( he doesn't like him very much, as being a priest is not a very manly profession). and the Man of the House himself, laying on the grass, smiling happy and holding his shot of vodka... surrounded by 2 other guys in badly worn shoes. Priceless to me!

Shryke wrote: »

Nowhere near as striking as the one shown in your link, I regret to say.
    It's basically a piece of amalgam type rock with short bits of the stem protruding. None of the long "flowing hair" I'm afraid.
    When I saw it first I thought it was a bit of builders rubble with pieces of threaded bar stuck in it. The "threaded bar" turned out to be the fossilised skeleton of the crinoid.
    If you are really interested I could probably PM you some digitals of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭karl tyrrell

my mother in law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Yer_Wan

My first ever teddy was also my Mam's when she was born, and I still have the teddy. So that's around 50 years or so.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Radio and an Iron ( one that you heat rock with fire)and sewing machine from 1920"s.

Clock from 1930"s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

Omackeral wrote: »
    What is the oldest thing in your house or oldest thing that you own? Do you believe you have anything of substantial value in your possession? Maybe an heirloom passed down through a few generations?

Family members and your virginity are not acceptable answers,by the way :p
    mesolithic flint arrow head.7000 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭TheBegotten

Maudi wrote: »

*Wins thread*
    My grandad's classical guitar from at least the early 70's, which I'm half-way through refurbishing. I've also got some odds and ends from my great-grandmother's house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Maudi wrote: »

Nice! Where did you get it?
    I have to admit to an obsession with Neanderthals. I find it incredibly poignant that there were once other humans and now there isn't. I bought one of their hand axes (common enough) on e-bay once just so I could have something that was touched by them and used 30,000 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

I have an Edgar Allen Poe book from 1933

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

Electric drill what walked out the Avro factory in Manchester around 1942 still works

Pity they don't make them drills with legs anymore! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,931 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Oldest stuff I have that is still in regular use would probably be my hifi. It's all from the 60s/70s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

I have the body of Rudolf Erich Raspe; author of "The Surprising Adventures of Baron Munchausen" which was later turned into a film by Monty Python's Terry Gilliam. The film starred: Eric Idle, Sting, Uma Thurman and Robin Williams.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Adventures_of_Baron_Munchausen

Well he is buried in the same field as my house so I am claiming him.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I have a pet dinosaur.
    Lots of people do. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

probably one of my first albums, nirvana ,nevermind :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

I have a rock!

We have a winner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

I have a violin that is 128 years old. I bought it for just over a grand about 12 years ago