Did you go on holidays as a child?

Went to Mosney once or twice. I remember one time but I have a feeling we went twice. This was mid and late 90s, the recession lasted a bit longer in my house. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Occasionally we wouldn't be bet with sticks nd fed coal. So yes we had holidays.

Jaysus we were so poor we brought in the rubbish not out.

Feckin kids these days don't know they were born.

Idle little feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Well Tarquin and I would sometimes summer on the Riviera, where mumsy would rodger the pool boy to within an inch.

Father would be away on safari with the Eton crowd of course.

We spent many a fine day shouting at commoners or shoving cash up polo ponies bums.

Jolly good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭cuana

My family were a bunch of lazy sods, I never went anywhere on holiday as a kid and I'm quite bitter about it :). I recall going for an occasional day out (to Knock, amongst other nightmares) but I never actually spent nights away with family. I'm curious did people of a similar age to me go on hols regularly?

Maybe you should ask why? I know we didn't go on holidays it was the 80's and my parents wouldn't have had the income to bring us away! but we did have fun filled days, fishing, picnics, dips in the freezing bloody ocean BEST MEMORIES EVER

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

We were very lucky and would holiday in Ireland or the UK on alternating years. I realise that my parents made huge saving and sacrifices to ensure we got away for two weeks...

We try to do the same now, scrimp and save all year to get away.. Even during the "boom" we had to save to get away...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

My family were a bunch of lazy sods, I never went anywhere on holiday as a kid and I'm quite bitter about it :). I recall going for an occasional day out (to Knock, amongst other nightmares) but I never actually spent nights away with family. I'm curious did people of a similar age to me go on hols regularly?

I went to Rome :D

Rome around Dublin :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Every summer for about four years the whole family used to go to America. Have an uncle living out there so would visit him, hire a car and travel around for two months. Internal filights from coast to coast too. Managed to visit all the mainland States, most of Canada and parts of Mexico. Thoroughly fascinating experience, and one I'd love to embark on again if I had the time and money. I credit my fascination with all things American, and my love of geography, to those summers spent travelling the States. I'm truly thankful to my parents for providing that experience to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I grew up in the 90s and early 00s and was lucky enough to be brought abroad quite regularly. Both my parents have a huge interest in travel and still go away together a couple of times a year. They like to visit unusual destinations not the package sun holiday kind of thing so I got to see and experience a lot of different cultures which I'm very grateful to them for.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

I grew up in the 90s and early 00s and was lucky enough to be brought abroad quite regularly. Both my parents have a huge interest in travel and still go away together a couple of times a year. They like to visit unusual destinations not the package sun holiday kind of thing so I got to see and experience a lot of different cultures which I'm very grateful to them for.

What's your tally ?? Mine is quite high because I have been on a few cruises, but I have countries like Gibraltar, Haiti and other exotic destinations on my portfolio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I was brought up in England, and each year we would go to Ireland for our holidays. My parents would load the car up with all kinds of crap for our "poor" relations, and this would be gratefully received by the cousins, aunts and uncles. What my parents didn't seem to realise was that the relatives were fuckin loaded and that we were skint. The canny relatives didn't let on, the greedy fuckers.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

As my parents.told us, we don't go on holidays because the holidays come to us.via our grandparents visiting. On the plus side, they paid off the morgage early.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Grew up in Dublin in the 80's but our holidays were generally down to the uncles farms in Cork. Both parents came from Cork farming families. So a few weeks down there in July or August each year was grand. Sometimes it was boring if it rained but you still suited up and went out exploring. Fields, streams, cows, loads of places to climb. Catching frogs was a favouite pasttime too. Local bog girls thought I was exotic too coming from Dublin. And I actually thought they were exotic too with their accents and friendliness not like some of the skangers on my estate in Dublin.
    And the uncle or aunt or me oul lad would take us on day trips in the car out to Youghal or someplace. Anywhere where there were choc-ices or chips and we were grand.

Those were my holls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Tramore
    West Cork
    Dublin

I lived the dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Jaysus! Are you all telling me that the furthest any of you went was England?!
    Half of you must be afraid to say that you went abroad, because there can't be that few who did.
    Well I went abroad once every summer since I was born - different places each time - Greece, Lanzarote, Spain, Italy, Finland, the U.S., France, the U.K., probably a few more - can't think right now.
    Then we would also go on Irish holidays random places too once or twice a year.
    Someone said earlier in the thread that they felt spoiled and they had gone to London - What the hell does that make me then?
    I honestly thought most people went on family holidays.
    It's nice to get away and all, but I think I would have preferred to stay at home and play with my friends all summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Jaysus! Are you all telling me that the furthest any of you went was England?!
    Half of you must be afraid to say that you went abroad, because there can't be that few who did.
    Well I went abroad once every summer since I was born - different places each time - Greece, Lanzarote, Spain, Italy, Finland, the U.S., France, the U.K., probably a few more - can't think right now.
    Then we would also go on Irish holidays random places too once or twice a year.
    Someone said earlier in the thread that they felt spoiled and they had gone to London - What the hell does that make me then?
    I honestly thought most people went on family holidays.
    It's nice to get away and all, but I think I would have preferred to stay at home and play with my friends all summer.
    I think most people just couldn't afford it back then! Especially if there was a few kids in the family!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Went to Waterford to stay with the rellies, that was it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Gee_G wrote: »
    I think most people just couldn't afford it back then! Especially if there was a few kids in the family!

Yeah, you see I was an only child for the first 9 years, and then there were 2 babies - neither of which cost much, if anything to bring anywhere for the first while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Munstermissy

We had a caravan in Ardmore, co Waterford late 70s/early 80s, 6 kids in total. The minute we finished school all packed into the car (cortina) and off we went for the summer, 4 in the back, one on the handbrake and the youngest on my mothers lap, different time then, lol.. 3 days before we were due back to school, we packed up for home. No tvs, DVDs, DS lites, etc, we gallivanted for the summer.

First time abroad, I went au pairing for the summer in Madrid to improve my Spanish for the Leaving, I was 16. I doubt many parents would leave their teenagers off to Spain for the summer now. Good times then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    As my parents.told us, we don't go on holidays because the holidays come to us.via our grandparents visiting. On the plus side, they paid off the morgage early.
    That's what mine did as well. Old lad would earn £100, £85 would go to mortgage. What was left we lived on, which meant biscuits were a huge luxury, bus was the car and Oxfam was the Penneys. Literally. My kids would stab me in my sleep if I even tried living like we lived, they've foreign hols every year, often 2 or 3,and regard it as totally normal. I blame the parents, personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Was lucky enough to go away every year as I was growing up. When I was fairly young we went a few times to a place in Wales called Pewelli (I'm 100% sure that's spelled totally wrong!) Looking back now it was pretty much a shít hole but I have great memories of that place.
    Then my parents saved their asses off all year to bring us to Florida every year for about 12 or 13 years and Spain a few years too. We didn't have a lot of money but my parents always saved hard to give us a holiday every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Tope

I was a kid in the 80s; we never went abroad but used to go visit relations in Down and Cavan for a week or two every summer (I'm from Dublin). I was perfectly happy with that, loved going down the country and running around on my granny's farm and playing with my cousins.

A lot of kids I knew went on foreign holidays every year though, your typical two weeks in Spain usually. I thought that was the height of luxury. But it never occurred to me that I was deprived or anything, I was always mad excited to go visit my granny!

Finally when I was 16 my mum brought me and my sister on a trip to Florence because she'd always wanted to go but my dad couldn't stand hot weather. That was my first time on a plane and I was ridiculously thrilled - I still love flying now, the novelty has never worn off! Kids these days don't know they're born etc. etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭xavier8228

We went with my mother to Boyle, Co Roscommon every year for 4 nights leaving our dad at home with the two oldest kids. I know it may sound incredibly cool but..

We lived in Sligo! (1/2hr away) :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

xavier8228 wrote: »
    We went with my mother to Boyle, Co Roscommon every year for 4 nights leaving our dad at home with the two oldest kids. I know it may sound incredibly cool but..

You win, I bow down to the crappiness of your hols!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Chucken wrote: »
    The only holiday I had with my parents was when I was 15.
    I screamed bloody murder at the thoughts of spending a week with them on my own, so 2 friends came along with me.....to a caravan...in Lahinch...in October :(
    xavier8228 wrote: »

Mine beat that..I didnt even get to leave the county :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

I grew up in the early 80s. We went a few times to Lough Derg (the big one on the Shannon, not the religious one), and once to Knock in Co. Mayo. That was it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Holiday???? Sure who would get in the hay, silage and turf if we all went swanning off on a 'la-de-da' holiday every summer.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Went on my first holiday in 1997 to Majorca. During the Celtic Tiger I went on holidays twice a year with my family to sunny resorts. Now I just go places myself, never with the family or families money. I guess im still pretty young and only in my 20's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

What's your tally ?? Mine is quite high because I have been on a few cruises, but I have countries like Gibraltar, Haiti and other exotic destinations on my portfolio.

Just counting here in my head and I visited 17 countries altogether with my parents. Some of the more unusual destinations would be Wyoming in the States, Montevideo in Uruguay, Hanoi in Vietnam and the Cayman Islands.

A cruise is something I'd love to do, I was looking up Arctic cruises only recently, a real trip of a lifetime I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Fluorescence

I was quite fortunate. We went to Bundoran for weeks every summer to stay with family there. We went on a ferry once to France to stay in one of those UK camping holiday sites when I was around 11 or so (c 2003). We also went to the USA four times, to visit family over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I was born in 1990 and we would go on at least 1 holiday a year, I have 1 sibling. Usually 1 in summer and then a trip to New York just before christmas. I used to love that when I was a kid, such a great city so magical at christmas, haven't done that in a few years though. Bloody recession. But now I'm not really interested in holidaying with my family anymore, cos they're old and boring.