Most embarrassing text you sent to the wrong person?

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I've sent texts to the wrong person a few times alright but nothing major. Only once it was a little embarrassing but not a big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

I never send texts to the wrong person, but on some occasions I wish I did. Like when you send the ex a drunken text telling her how great she is and how much of a fool I was BLAH BLAH BLAH there the texts I wish went to another number, even my Dad... blasted drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭kevmy85

Two different stories here:

1) My old boss/advisor and I were texting each other about a lift I was giving him to the airport for a conference. Had everything arranged when I get another text from him, obviously meant for his wife. Lots of x's and o's and love's but thankfully nothing dirty.
    He texted me back immediately apologising but I'd say he was fairly embarrassed. The first part of the drive was pretty quite...

2) Two text conversations on the go at the same time, one to the gf and one to a good female friend of mine. Texts meant for the gf go to the friend, thankfully she just laughed and sent back wrong number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

This is weird cause I actually only sent this text last night to my aunt.

Good evening just thought I would let you know that even though you are a great cu.nt you are gonna be a great cu.nt again. I'm pregnant.

Lets just say I was mortified.
    God damm smartphones

Reminds me of this:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

I've gotten random texts off people before. One read something like "well, are you looking forward to Ciaran and Orla's wedding? Hope Sandra won't be a bitch!"... Very intriguing! :D

Another one said "Oh Aine, let's open that bottle of wine. Been too long xx". So I texted back saying I wasn't Aine, and the girl texted back asking was I a girl and if I was would I be up for some "fun"! (I am not making this up). I made my excuses and declined...

I usually put kisses at the end of my messages, and I sent one to my driving instructor with a kiss on the end- CRINGE!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I just remembered! I got one once something about going in to the town tonight to break into a few cars - but it was written in teenage boy bravado text speak.
    Maybe I should have called the guards?
    I didn't though, I just wrote back saying wrong number.

Another time years ago, someone I didn't know wanted me to meet them outside Tower Records - I wrote back saying I would, but I don't know them.
    Thus followed a few hours of flirting before I got bored and just ignored the texts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

A few years back I started driving lessons with a guy who my friend had recommended.

She joked before I met him about him being a bit of a 'silver fox' - the kinda guy your mother would fancy. Prob early 60s, white hair, friendly face, great craic. I was early 20s.

Got on great and on the way home sent her a jokey text saying 'RIDE!'...
    Didn't realise the mistake I had made until I got a text from him about 30 seconds later....":)"

:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Hazys wrote: »
    Not a text but the worst thing i have down on my phone was accident send 100+ friend requests on the Facebook app in one button press to all my phone contacts :(

There is a feature on the iPhone app where you can sync your phone contacts and it matches phone numbers in you contacts to FB profiles...but there is an "Add All" button which when showing my buddies i hit by accident....sending facebook requests to people at work, ex's, girls i met at a bar whos number i got but never called, my plumber, my hairdresser, neighbors, etc....SOCIAL MEDIA SUICIDE!!!

The amount of awkward PMs i got was insane.

Randomers from the bar "Who are you? How do i know you?". Lots added me and removed me once they had no clue who i was.

Ex's who accepted, were either like "Oh hi, surprised you contacted me, how or you?" or decline the request, making the me look like i wanted to get back in contact and turning me down then, awkward either way.

I now friends with a lot of people from work and neighbours who i never ever wanted to add.

My plumber rejected it...making it too awkward for me to call him up for some work, so i had to find a new plumber lol.

Just as an fyi, there's a button in the Google+ app called something like "upload all phone photos to Google+"

I can see that being an embarassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Been the receiving end of getting wrong texts a fair bit but no embarrassing one's at least!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

I managed to get a hold of my friends phone while in a hostel. I switched contact details of his girlfriend to my name and text him saying 'I'm pregnant'. He was yapping away on the top bunk when I replaced his phone and then it went off....que complete silence. I could only bare it for a minute because I felt so bad / wanted to burst out with laughter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Not exactly the same thing, but when I was 15 I was texting this guy off my dad's phone, and he had written back but I had left the phone down and gone up to my room to get something.
    The text was something about slathering me in his man milk!
    When I came back down, my dad was on the phone yelling and cursing and going crazy at this guy "My daughter is only 15 - You'll be getting a visit from the police" etc...
    The guy was terrified, and all he could say was "but I'm only 15 too".
    I'm with your dad on this one. That guy sounds like a little sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭IrishCule

TheDoc wrote: »
    Thats epic!

I'd a booboo like that a few months back. We had an e-mail chain going around that was a collection of Patrick Stuart memes and pictures.

I wanted to include a mate, but Outlook auto filled a high profile executive at one of my clients.

I literally shat my brick and had one of the lads in IT try a recall which failed. So I'd fully expected to be packing my bags, and received a reply from him shortly after, of the Patrick Stuart facepalm :D

I want to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Once was meeting a friend called John in the local pub and had my ex husband also called John saved into my phone.

I text ex hubby saying "waiting for you in the ......."

Realised my mistake and then text my mate John saying "sorry that message was meant for my friend"

Confusion.

Also in email accidentally sent my uber religious aunt a funny email about Jesus loving you but everyone else thinks your a c.unt. She was not impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

I'm with your dad on this one. That guy sounds like a little sh1t.
    Still, I wanna know if he got his wish :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭JamieKCCO

People have to give you their numbers before you can mix them up

...so no, that's never happened to me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

I was watching Superbad one night and realised a friend of mine looked like McLovin. So i sent a text which I thought was for another friend saying "Oh my god you are right Daniel is the spitting image of McLovin." Realised as soon as I sent it that I sent it to Daniel