Should ridiculous references to God and menage a toi be removed from constitution

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Furious_George

bobs knobs wrote: »
    What is DEFAMATION?
    The taking from one’s reputation. The offense of injuring a person’s character, fame, or reputation by false and malicious statements. Tlie term seems to be comprehensive of both libel aud slander. Printing Co. v. Moulden, 15 Tex. Civ. App. 574,41 S. W. 381; Moore v. Francis, 121 N. Y. 199, 23 N. E. 1127, 8 L. R. A. 214, 18 Am. St.Rep. 810; Hollenbeck v. Hall, 103 Iowa, 214, 72 N. W. 518, 39 L. R. A. 734, 04 Am. St.Rep. 175; Mosuat v. Snyder, 105 Iowa, 500, 75 N. W. 350.

Read more: What is DEFAMATION? definition of DEFAMATION (Black's Law Dictionary)

What the hell are you on dude. You do realise this is an irish site yeah? Lay off the crack or pcp or whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Firefox11 wrote: »
    Well they have God and a large arsenal of nuclear weapons on there side so No.

Lots of countries have nuclear weapons "on their side". The Russians for example have even more than the U.S.

And why would a just and fair god take sides? (if he/she/it existed that is). And just because lots of Americans believe in a fictitious god that they think is on their side doesn't make it so I'm afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 bobs knobs

What the hell are you on dude. You do realise this is an irish site yeah? Lay off the crack or pcp or whatever

great... until you need not to be singled out. no defamation in ireland why don't we gaybash aswell then or just be racist or whatever. you realise the irish constitution protects free speech so do you want to ban that beacause it doesn't suit you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

The constitution should be something we all buy in to. Its idiotic to have religion in the constitution, especially one specific religion.
    But, let's get it out of schools first!

great... until you need not to be singled out. no defamation in ireland why don't we gaybash aswell then or just be racist or whatever. you realise the irish constitution protects free speech so do you want to ban that beacause it doesn't suit you.

I was referring to the fact that you were quoting american cases of law on an irish site and also to the fact that you were claiming defamation of character on an internet site where you are clearly using a pseudonym and are anonymous.

am i a real person or cleverbot ffs. law is international, i think they call it human rights or something..... writers have pen names defame one of them for the craic. BTW NO-ONE is anon here. read the faqs

cool njoy the lawsuit. Im bored of you now. goodnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

If you can get an international court to hear a case of defamation against bobs knobs, fair play!

Sometimes I wish I had a pokéflute! :rolleyes:

Which reminds me ...
    1ZRed wrote: »
    Hotdog down a hallway..
    When the hotdog's a cocktail sausage, hallways everywhere! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

If you can get an international court to hear a case of defamation against bobs knobs, fair play!

Which reminds me ...

Whatever helps you sleep sleasy, ya size queen ;):p

Which reminds me ...

yer f'cked alright but it's not my fault. god bless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

Bloodwing wrote: »
    I'd rather see religion removed from our schools, legal system and medical system first. It's a lot more important than the preamble of the constitution.

It is an emergency that it be removed from law, education, health and the constitution.

Religion is a personal thing that belongs in the homes and churches of those who choose to follow it.

Socially accepted delusional ideation has no place in publicly funded institutions.

Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    It is an emergency that it be removed from law, education, health and the constitution.

Religion is a personal thing that belongs in the homes and churches of those who choose to follow it.

Socially accepted delusional ideation has no place in publicly funded institutions.

i think it should be banned from boards.ie too.

If you think that why are you looking at and posting on a thread about the subject. Clearly a troll going by your prior input to the conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

NAZIS!

I just wanted to get that out of the way.

Carry on.

If you think that why are you looking at and posting on a thread about the subject. Clearly a troll going by your prior input to the conversation.

maybe you're a troll if that's what an opinion is worth!! ffs go outdoors and talk to real ppl stop being a keyboard chuck norris. would u say that to my face if u met me (non confrontational) are you that rude or do i have to re-learn how to speak just to be pc ffs.. cop on pleeeeease!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Socially accepted delusional ideation has no place in publicly funded.

Can you remind me exactly why I am "delusional" again?

It seems like empty rhetoric rather than anything of substance or of value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,369 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

philologos wrote: »

I do not know WHY you are delusional so I can not answer that one but I can certainly tell you why we would judge you to be so.

It is because you base your entire world view on claims that are not just a little but ENTIRELY unsubstantiated in any way whatsoever. At this point subscribing to the notion that there ís a god is no more or less delusional that subscribing to the notion that homeopathy can cure or even slow cancer.

Hope that helped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

Given the children's referendum, you'd honestly imagine that the liberal left would have no real issue with empty rhetoric rather than anything of substance being included in the constitution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Even allowing for the Zeitgeist that prevailed when it was drafted, it does seem rather odd that a country's constitution states, as a fact, that a deity, for the existence of which there is not and could never be any testable proof, actually exists and certain obligations are imposed on citizens as a consequence of that.

On the other hand, the whole constitution is out of date and totally unfit for purpose anyway, and I suppose that sooner or later we'll get a new one that is more attuned to the world in which we live, so I see no point at this stage in tinkering with all that religious hoopla in the preamble.

When and if we get round to drafting a new constitution to replace the current political manifesto cum religious tract hybrid, it should certainly allow for freedom of religion, because I suppose some people will always need some totem pole or fantasy to give meaning to their lives and save them from having to think.

Here is an example from the Constitution of Finland, which entered into force in 2000. Religion is first mentioned in Section 11, well after the sections dealing with fundamental rights and freedoms that have a bearing on the real world.
    Section 11 - Freedom of religion and conscience

Everyone has the freedom of religion and conscience.
    Freedom of religion and conscience entails the right to profess and practise a religion, the right to express one's convictions and the right to be a member of or decline to be a member of a religious community. No one is under the obligation, against his or her conscience, to participate in the practice of a religion.

The underlining is mine.

Those who eventually set about drafting a new constitution for Ireland (it took the Finns about 25 years in all) will hopefully look at recently adopted constitutions from other modern countries and consign Dev's document to history, where it well and truly belongs.

An English translation of the full Constitution can be read here:

http://www.finlex.fi/fi/laki/kaannokset/1999/en19990731.pdf

No I can't because I don't know what it is you believe. Assuming however that you are Catholic, I would start with transubstantiation. Belief in such a thing most certainly fits with the definition of delusional ideation as described by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, the tool used by the psychiatric profession to diagnose such disorders. Believing in virgin births, 'miracles, creation over the scientific evidence of evolution..... If I continue I'll be here all day.

I'm an evangelical Christian. However I hope that people will see horribly bigoted views such as Christians having mental disorders for what they are.

By the by believing in a creation does not of necessity mean denying evolution. There are Christian evolutionary biologists.

You may not deny it but there are plenty who do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Should ridiculous references to God and menage a toi be removed from constitution

yes yes yes, jesus christ, yes.

who would say no to that?

I'm an evangelical Christian. However I hope that people will see horribly bigoted views such as Christians having mental disorders for what they are.

If all you have to put up with because of your beliefs are bigoted views you are incredibly lucky. I would be delighted to put up with the bigoted views of others in exchange for not having to put my son into a school which is going to attempt to indoctrinate him with what I believe is delusional ideation.

And I'm sorry but I have to add that if by Evangelical Christian you mean the lot that roll about on the floor speaking in 'tongues'. I rest my case on psychosis right there.

That's Pentecostalism. I don't subscribe to that theology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Because everything you believe is the truth of reality, but speaking in tongues is just crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

jasonmcco wrote: »
    CONSTITUTION OF IRELAND – BUNREACHT NA hÉIREANN CONSTITUTION OF IRELAND
    In the Name of the Most Holy Trinity, from Whom is all authority and to Whom, as our final end, all actions both of men and States must be referred,
    We, the people of Éire,
    Humbly acknowledging all our obligations to our Divine Lord, Jesus Christ, Who sustained our fathers through centuries of trial,

This is not a joke it really does say this.
    This has to face a legal challenge from Irish people of different beliefs.How can atheists accept this?

This has to be removed to spare us from ridicule.

Secular and free society my arse!:mad:

pmcmahon wrote: »
    Republican thread coming in 10..9..8..7..6.....

Wat? Are they still around? :pac: