Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,325 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Yeah it's a good one since the virtual machine means once some hardware has a virtual machine your code should run. Some nice open source libraries as well.

It's a good one to start with as well. Once you get the basics it seems all that changes from language to language is the syntax unless you are going lower level to the likes of C++ and the likes.

PHP, javascript and HTML 5 are next but hopefully by the end of the course I'll be making stuff in XNA, Objective C or Unity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭ghostchant

My programming education was all over the place, from BASIC to C++ to Matlab and a bit of fortran. Matlab was perfect for me during the PhD since I'm comfortable making horribly inefficient algorithms that work, I leave it to computer scientists to optimise since I'm crap at that :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,460 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Check out this thread guys. Don't let anyone into your house, even if they do have an ID badge!

(I wouldn't myself, but it seems my girlfriend isn't as wise...she's been well and truely told off :pac:)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056807305

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

o1s1n wrote: »
    Check out this thread guys. Don't let anyone into your house, even if they do have an ID badge!

(I wouldn't myself, but it seems my girlfriend isn't as wise...she's been well and truely told off :pac:)

Strange man, do you have his contact details/name etc. Contact the ESB and out him.
    Alternativly put his name and number on a gay website and let the LOL's roll in..

One question though.... Are you a good man?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Jesus man thank god yer misses is ok. Did Electric Ireland contact the Gardai? Not just a sackable offence imo, he should be reported incase he tries something worse in his next job.

No way in hell any of those door to door sales folks would be allowed set foot inside my house.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,758 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I wonder if the had of been answered by Retr0 in a frock, how the ensuing conversation would have gone down...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Wow, what a freak. They've got a real bad rep from what I've read before, asking to see peoples old bills to 'see how much they could save them', while secretly noting down some personal details & signing customers up without their consent...getting paid their commission & leaving the customer to sort out the mess. Not sure how much it goes on now but a spate of it happened before I read here on boards.

As for that w@nker who was in your house...a swift uppercut to the jaw would leave him reconsidering his approach...well now I suppose he can re-evaluate his sales pitch while he's standing in a dole queue...the freak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,460 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Cheers lads! Gave me a well needed chuckle about the whole thing. I was up to 90 about it on Friday and over the weekend as you can probably imagine.

Haven't told herself I got the chap let go. She's a bit of a softie, would probably start feeling guilty and rationalizing the situation as as 'misunderstanding'.

Misunderstanding me arse, he was just lucky I was all the way out in Sandyford!

They're sending out an all for 1 voucher to make up for it. Because I called up, does that make it mine? Or does the missus own it as she was the one traumatized?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

I must admit they're pretty good deal with on the phone. Had to call them up last week as you can't pay a bill online with a Visa card for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

They're sending out an all for 1 voucher to make up for it. Because I called up, does that make it mine? Or does the missus own it as she was the one traumatized?

If hmv take them then use it to buy a WiiU

She would only have spent it on pantry stuff anyway

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Just Java at the moment to get the basics.

Where are you doing the course and did it cost much.

I am researching weather or not i can program Boulder Dash for the Videopac.

Has to be done in asm and compatible with the 8048 architecture

So from what ive studied im fcuked

Only have 2KB to play with and not a clue how to make it :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Retro get yourself one of these and get stuck in !!

http://excamera.com/sphinx/gameduino/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,325 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Sparks43 wrote: »
    Where are you doing the course and did it cost much.

Webelevate Digital Skills Academy. It was free to dole birds like me. You get a higher diploma from DIT from it so it's not a mickey mouse course.
    Retro get yourself one of these and get stuck in !!

I'd rather not learn assembley and the RAM and clock cycle management that goes with it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

I'd rather not learn assembley and the RAM and clock cycle management that goes with it :)

But that's the best part :) You can program the arduinos in C quiet easily.

Webelevate Digital Skills Academy. It was free to dole birds like me. You get a higher diploma from DIT from it so it's not a mickey mouse course.

Wow are you getting your notes in paper or digital form?

If its digital can you email them to me looks interesting.

As for asm i have stripped down an old Videopac game to have a look at the code and tbh i havent a clue what it means:eek:

But i will learn

Rockford needs me :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

tbh that sounds like a pretty decent course.
    I'm faffing about with java myself , just doing night courses at the mo (so it'll take me about 8 years to catch up with you :))

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    Been watching season 8 and 9 lately and the rot was all ready creeping in but the there was absolute stone clone classics like Cartridge Family and You Only Move Twice...

"Sounds like somebody's livin' in the past...contemporize maaaan!!

tumblr_m6177gAmod1rp7p4po1_1280.png

Seriously though, you're totally right. Up to season ten was the golden age of the show. The rot HAD started to creep in, there was far more filler in every season but still a few absolute classics. You only move twice is probably in my all time top 5 shows, and hank scorpio is my all time fave non-recurring character. Seasons 2 or 3 to 8 or 9 were pure comedy genius.

So anyway, i've been living in flat pack kitchen building hell for the last while and haven't been online much lately. I've just read the last week or so of posts in this thread, and i'd just like to make the following points:

1. The RAGE are a bunch of w*nk*rs. De-friended on facebook for their smartarsed attitude.
    2. Seriously FFS, are we still giving creedence to the "videogames cause violent behaviours in kids" sh1te? lazy, sensationalist daily mail copy and paste "journalism" aimed at gullible parents...Zero credibility in the underlying report...selective reporting...Ignore,ignore, ignore.
    3. Dodgy electric ireland rep?? FFS. Tell your lady not to let anybody into the house when she's alone. People are crazy sometimes. Well done for having the guts/stubborness to report it.
    One last thing, anybody know how long i should be waiting for an ebay delivery from hongkong? I've been waiting for a Buffalo USB SNES pad for 4 weeks now. They've already refunded my postage for the delay, but the package was sent ages ago. Now my item is stuck in the ether somewhere between Hong Kong Post's useless tracking system and An Post's equally useless one.

I just want my stuff :mad:. Ebay sucks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Did anyone else see where Rage put up a picture of a bunch of Gamecube games and asked who had completed them all?

I had a look at the titles in the photo and said I was never able to beat the last boss in Animal Crossing.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,617 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Ah zombie KK Slider - only fightable at 6 AM on the 6th of June during the sixth year of every decade. If you try to cheat the system clock, the mole deletes your save file.

You unlock a potted plant for your house when you decapitate him.

o1s1n, tell your missus never to let strange men into the house. She got away lightly. It could have been worse, it could have been me.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,758 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

O1s1n, given what Retr0 just said, better tell her not to let any unconvincing women into the house either!

Just been playing Rage for the last few hours, not sure if I'll be investing much time in it, it's Fallout 3 lite, but with better graphics and with an inexplicable racing game bolted on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

o1s1n, tell your missus never to let strange men into the house. She got away lightly. It could have been worse, it could have been me.
    ^ this is true, Retr0 asked could he see if my TV was 50hz ... and I let him into the house ...
    th_chiyo-chanabouttocry-1.gif

Really Nintendo?

229355.jpg

You get this if you make a WiiU profile for a minor.

Holy nonresizables batman!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 nexlar

Amazing....!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

Really Nintendo?

229355.jpg

You get this if you make a WiiU profile for a minor.
    So...you really don't want to keep screaming, bigoted 12 year olds out of online games, do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

read on another thread they needed a 5gb "update" for the WiiU already :cool:

There are a ton of truly mad things that Ninty have done with the new machine,
    1- If you want to play Wii games you can, but can only play them on the TV and you will have to change the resolution of the WiiU to 480p or it will be all messed up.
    2- If you are moving your purchases from the Wii to the WiiU you have to specially format an SD card and put it into the Wii and transfer the titles s. l. o. w. l. y. over to the card, then the same s. l. o. w. process onto the WiiU.
    3- You can only transfer things onboard the Wii itself so if you have a lot of games on the SD card to start with they'll have to be moved to the Wii memory proper before being transferred onto the transport SD card before being uploaded to the WiiU.
    4- Apparently you will be then only authorising the WiiU to then download the whole game anew from the interweb, the SD card is only really an authorised licence of your purchases, so more waiting for each game to download.

These are all great reasons to wait for a couple of months or so, until they figure a way to do it better, in particular getting a next manufacturing run WiiU where the infernal 5gb download is preinstalled!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

You've to provide a credit card for authorization on Xbox live minor accounts too when your creating them, though nothing is charged. Nothing too out of the ordinary there.

The Wi -> WiiU transfer process is cumbersome because its a security vulnerability to transfer content from one machine to another, its how the PSP was hacked first. Everything has to get encrypted I'd say which is why it takes a while. I'd expect them to streamline the process with a new app or somesuch eventually.

PS3 users should be no strangers to massive downloads, plus there are reports now its actually 2GB not the full 5. Also, the servers were very likely getting hammered on launch day, making the update take far longer than it normally would.

None of those are good reasons to wait a few months. What is a good reason though, is that its a launch console. Avoid Avoid Avoid...try tell that to a 10 year old gamer though!