Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cars ‘made’ in Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 2 mikeconno

O'shea's on the Naas road used to assemble the early Skoda's. Major quality issues and poor sales meant they didnt last too long.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 mikeconno

gfwd wrote: »
    Buckleys assembled Rootes cars at Shanowen Road in Santry, later becoming Chrysler and finally Talbot. The factory buildings still stand pretty much as they were back in the 70s/80s and it's now Santry Garda Station.

Booth Poole also assembled MGs at Islandbridge and Hinos were assembled near Cloghran up until around 20 years ago by Harris's.

Google Street View is great for finding these places as they stand now. Even better if you can find an old shot of the factories as they were back in the day to do a then and now comparison!

I was fortunate to drive the final build of Chrsyler Avenger estates out of the Santry site one evening and drive them back to Windsor Motors Rialto. There were a bunch of us in similar cars and if typical youthful enthusiasm we raced back but none of the cars would go over 60 MPH.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 captainchaos

mikeconno wrote: »
    O'shea's on the Naas road used to assemble the early Skoda's. Major quality issues and poor sales meant they didnt last too long.

Thought O'Shea's actually did Polski Fiat!

I remember they always had a few on display as well as Zeoter tractors!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭Blue850

From 1975

Image-1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭Blue850

P O W E R. 0 - 70 in under a minute :D
    Image-2.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭w124man

O'Shea assembled Diahatsu Charades as well

• Registered Users Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Was there much local content in the cars or were they completely assembled from kits?

How much assembly actually took place here?

Were there any notable companies involved in parts production or reworking?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Triplex in Tipperary supplied shamrock etched glass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭GCU Flexible Demeanour

Solair wrote: »
    There was also associated industries like Dunlop tyres and various other smaller companies supplying into the car production facility.
    That just reminded me that there's a plaque on the wall of a building in Upper Stephen Street, marking the site of the world's first pneumatic tyre factory.6391004-Where_the_first_pneumatic_tyre_factory_once_stood_Dublin.jpg
    1586615_4cda32ce.jpg
    Like some have said, it's strange to think of industrial plants being located right in the middle of Dublin. But that's how it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Wicklowandy

Love the 'rimbellishers' on that skoda advert....:)

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭offalyred

Alesbury wrote: »
    Yes I unearthed one about a month ago...if you mean pics of the Alesbury car. Using I/cafe as laptop broken, but will upload in the next week. If you mean pics of the Shamrock, I don't have any.....I just know about it and saw pic on the internet last week

Just wondering if you ever posted that pic anywhere. I have trawled the net but cannot find a pic anywhere. I am from Edenderry btw.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭w124man

offalyred wrote: »
    I am from Edenderry btw.

Wont hold that against you! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 22 hiltan

Which company start manufacturing tires after Dunlop means second one?

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Alesbury

Hiya offalyred

Finally I am in a position to send you a foto of the Alesbury car. I had only a grainy foto of it, but now I have had it enhanced and greatly-enlarged. I will scan it to my email tomorrow or Sunday, and will upload it for you then. Hope that suffices. I was actually displaying it IN Edenderry last Sunday at a meeting, and 30 copies of the foto I had printed, were ALL taken by people attending the meeting. I ALSO have a foto of Daniel Alesbury, who built the car, driving a DIFFERENT car that he owned several years earlier....the FIRST car in Offaly (the 6th car in Ireland). It was taken in late-1897 or early 1898

Best wishes

Nigel Alesbury Reid

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭offalyred

That's brilliant Alesbury, Looking forward to seeing any photos you have of Daniel Alesbury and/or his cars.

Offayred

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

PanhardPL wrote: »
    Does anyone remember this Garage,
    IMGvowwo6.jpg

Don't know of the garage,but I knew a gentleman from Botanic Road,Glasnevin who had two fine examples of M.Panhards moteur.

His name was Jack Cuddihy,and he had a green 4-door saloon plus a rather swish white/cream 24CT Tiger,which went like stink.

From memory Jack worked for the Dept of Defence on Parkgate Street and was well versed on Panhard Armoured Car bits n pieces.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 bigmark39

The panhard was a very good car for its time, well engineered and held the road better than most. Their flat twin engine was a cracker.

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭11wingnut

I remember them cars in glasnevin in the early 80's
    That garage in lucan also assembled Messerschmidt cars

• Registered Users Posts: 1 SEANLINE

Brittains in Portobello/Ringsend assembled Morris.
    Buckleys in Ringsend; Hillman, Humber, Talbot & Riley
    Summerfields of Lwr. Baggot Street assembled RHD Chrysler (American model), RHD and LHD Plymouth and some DeSoto.
    McCairns on the North Wall and later Santry, assembled Vauxhall and Chevrolet.
    Caveys on Camden Street assembled Jaguar.
    O'Neills on Pleasants Street assembled Dodge.
    Nugents on Parnell Street assembled Peugeot
    Assemblers Garage on Townsend Street assembled RHD Hudson
    Ashenhurst Williams Talbot Place- Leyland/Citroen
    O'Shea's in Cork assembled Opel &Dodge
    Grange Motors in Deansgrange assembled Mercedes although I am unsure when they stopped.
    Booths Stephen Street assembled Wolseley & MG
    Brittains in Portobello/Ringsend assembled Morris
    Lincoln & Nolan on Baggot Street assembled Austin.

There are other later plants and ones I have left out.
    Its hard to imagine Motor Assembley Plants in the centre of Dublin!
    Between 1946 and 1950 Dodge cars were assembled by O'Mahonys Garage on Glasheen Road in Cork just 100 yards from my home.If i promised to behave myself they would let me inside the plant to watch the work.The only colour I ever saw was BLACK, but there I saw flashing traffic indicators for the first time, an improvement on the old semaphore type.I also heard about FLUID DRIVE which was part of the Automatic transmission.They used to do about ONE per week.

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

SEANLINE wrote: »
    Between 1946 and 1950 Dodge cars were assembled by O'Mahonys Garage on Glasheen Road in Cork just 100 yards from my home.If i promised to behave myself they would let me inside the plant to watch the work.The only colour I ever saw was BLACK, but there I saw flashing traffic indicators for the first time, an improvement on the old semaphore type.I also heard about FLUID DRIVE which was part of the Automatic transmission.They used to do about ONE per week.

Thanks very much for the info- I had never before heard of O'Mahonys Garage assembling Dodge, it must have been amazing to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭unfit2006

We have an old flathead 6 cylinder Spitfire engine lying in the corner of the garage that came out of an old Dodge or Chrysler of that era or maybe even a few years earlier. They were popular enough as hackney cars in Ireland apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

unfit2006 wrote: »
    We have an old flathead 6 cylinder Spitfire engine lying in the corner of the garage that came out of an old Dodge or Chrysler of that era or maybe even a few years earlier. They were popular enough as hackney cars in Ireland apparently.

That flathead engine was used largely unchanged in Chrysler products until 1960, long after GM and Ford had switched to overhead valve six cylinders.

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭unfit2006

The one we have here was coupled to a fluid drive box in it's day as far as my dad can recall.
    The engine itself is some lump of iron to look at. I can only imagine what engine and box removal must have been like using a block and tackle.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭B2AUDI80

The Chico mentioned earlier in this thread was built in what eventually became the Fruit of the Loom factory in Buncrana , it seems there not a lot of survivors in Ireland, they could rot impressively too!!! An uncle had one laying in his yard til the late 90s when it was eventually scrapped, in hindsight it shouldve been saved

Anyone know of any others surviving out there??

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭Alfonzito

My dad worked at the Brittain Assembly Works for a time in the 30's

• Registered Users Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

B2AUDI80 wrote: »
    The Chico mentioned earlier in this thread was built in what eventually became the Fruit of the Loom factory in Buncrana , it seems there not a lot of survivors in Ireland, they could rot impressively too!!! An uncle had one laying in his yard til the late 90s when it was eventually scrapped, in hindsight it shouldve been saved

Anyone know of any others surviving out there??

There is a surviving (fully restored) Chico in Limerick.
    (The owner is a member here and will give more details
    if he wishes to do so).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭hi5

Was there one featured in Irish vintage scene some time back?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

SEANLINE wrote: »

That garage is still there, it's seen a lot of different motor trade uses over the years, at one time Ryans made tubular tables and chairs there.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,895 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

baalthor wrote: »
    They actually started off making tractors in the 1920s. All for export to Britain as very few Irish farmers could afford a tractor.
    When the Sierra was launched there was much excitement because some of them would be built in Cork.
    However it turned out to be the last car made there as the closure happened soon after.

Spotted a Cork-made Fordson in Western Oz, a long way from home.
    Don't know how much thievery was as rampant as the urban legends make it out to be, sort of like that Johnny Cash song about an assembly line worker who makes a car for himself from purlioned bits.:pac: Interestingly, during the War Of Independence and the burning of Cork, Fords sent out photographers to document any damage that may have happened to the plant.

As an aside, Raleigh had an assembly plant in Dublin and bikes turned out there had the 'Raleigh - Nottingham England' badge for a while until they forced them to fit a badge with a blank area where the uk plant name would have been.

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

I went to the Ford plant in cork for a Summer job - must have been 1982. Didn't get it but I can recall a sea of MK3 Escorts out back and 90% of them in red. A few years later and I was on a "Hide the unemployment numbers" course in FAS with a few ex-Ford lads. They were full of tales of how they avoided doing anything resembling a day's work. From what I remember, there was a pretty poisonous atmosphere between management and workers by the time the place was closed down.

Re: Hillman Avengers. My dad had one on order (navy blue estate) but it fell off the transporter on the way down to Cork and was written off so he had to wait a month or so for another one.