Gardai Harrasing Busker in Templebar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭james142

Yet the only thing most people here slagging of the garda here would do before sh!tting their pants at 3 in the morning while your house is being robbed would be to call the garda. Bet you wouldn't be saying anything about them then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

james142 wrote: »
    Yet the only thing you would do before sh!tting your pants at 3 in the morning while your house is being robbed would be to call the garda. Bet you wouldn't be saying this then.

Overtime you learn its the last thing you would think about doing ;) Because the time they get there its the next day.

Plus if anyone tries to rob my house, which has happened before, YOU MAN UP AND PROTECT YOUR FAMILY AND THINGS.

You don't hide under the bed with your balls tucked into your stomach, your missus must be so proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

james142 wrote: »
    Yet the only thing most people here slagging of the garda here would do before sh!tting their pants at 3 in the morning while your house is being robbed would be to call the garda. Bet you wouldn't be saying anything about them then.

and they would also expect that the guards to treat the burglar with respect and courtesy and kindly ask him to desist his illegal activities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,017 ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Most people don't seem to realize that Templebar is a residential area, despite its many bars & clubs.

Precisely this, I lived in Temple Bar for 2 years and some of the bands with amps were so loud you could barely converse with someone in your home. It was like living inside a drum the noise was so loud. I used to always ring the Pearse St Garda Station and only rarely was any action taken. It is also quite likely these blokes were asked to move on, did not and so got arrested.
    It is great to see the guards enforcing this law, the noise pollution those amps make really do stress you out if you live just above them, not to mention the people who work in shops where noisey buskers play the same 3 tunes every day... And before people come out with the usual who chooses to live in Temple Bar, many people do due to the convenience of it being in the city centre. Just because it is a noisey spot with a few pubs and clubs does not mean buskers can have free reign playing loud outdoor concerts day in, day out. The same way someone living beside a pub or night club should not have to put up with noise pollution from the venues, regardless of its location

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Shít video. The tossers shouting from the side to tell the Garda how to do their job, the tosser that filmed it, the twats shouting "ah heyor" (I can't wait until that not funny quote dies a death), The busker that thinks he has a mass following that will follow him to jail....

The list is endless in that shít video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    Overtime you learn its the last thing you would think about doing ;) Because the time they get there its the next day.

Plus if anyone tries to rob my house, which has happened before, YOU MAN UP AND PROTECT YOUR FAMILY AND THINGS.

You don't hide under the bed with your balls tucked into your stomach, your missus must be so proud.

Out of interest, where did you purchase your cape?

MagicSean wrote: »

No cape , I just prefer to make sure my family is safe instead of running to the wardrobe to have a **** in my pants while I send the missus downstairs.

But you might get one here

http://www.buysuperherocostumes.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Police brutality my arse.

Brave of you to share your private fantasies so publicly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

I wonder what the effect of pepper spray is. Does it just make your eyes water or is it painful?

It's a right hoot!
    Remembering the time i got pepper spray in my eyes still raises a chuckle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

The active ingredient in pepper spray is capsicum. It's a lipophillic (can dissolve in fat) compund found in certain plants found in north and south america. It would hurt like feck.

blade1 wrote: »
    It's a right hoot!
    Remembering the time i got pepper spray in my eyes still raises a chuckle!

+1 to that.

We were minding a house for a few hours while a funeral was on, I noticed a pepper spray in the fruit bowl thing, picked it up and pressed it, and a dribble came out.

I mean a tiny dribble and **** me after about 10 minutes the whole room felt like hell and me and the girlfriends eyes at the time looked like that scene in total recall.

Funny though, but not to be messed with

+1 to that.

We were minding a house for a few hours while a funeral was on, I noticed a pepper spray in the fruit bowl thing, picked it up and pressed it, and a dribble came out.

I mean a tiny dribble and **** me after about 10 minutes the whole room felt like hell and me and the girlfriends eyes at the time looked like that scene in total recall.

Funny though, but not to be messed with

Question 1: Why was there pepper spray in the fruit bowl?
    Question 2: Why did you and you'r girlfriend spray yourselves in the eyes with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

In the keyboard shop :pac:

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Question 1: Why was there pepper spray in the fruit bowl?
    Question 2: Why did you and you'r girlfriend spray yourselves in the eyes with it?

Wasn't my house so have no idea why??

that's the thing we didn't spray it in the eyes at, it was like it was leaking slowly and the air in the room just filled with the **** and burned the eyes of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

poolboy wrote: »
    Bullish!t I've seen Spanish Dutch British and German cops deal with night time situations like this and I promise you, you would not stand for long filming and abusing them for doing their job
    BULL****!..They would never be so stupid as to get themselves into such a situation as we see here, and if by some bizarre chance they did the crowd would not just film their numbers but would go ballistic.

Wasn't my house so have no idea why??

that's the thing we didn't spray it in the eyes at, it was like it was leaking slowly and the air in the room just filled with the **** and burned the eyes of us

You sure it was pepper spray? Sounds more like CS Gas

Pretty sure but was a long time ago.

All I know is it stung real baaaaaad. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭jasonmcco

This behaviour by Garda has been going on for as long as i can rememnber and its the peoples fault coz we put up with it.

Too many laws telling individuals what they can and cant do.

Only justification for stopping a busker should be under noise pollution laws which guards should have to measure with a calibrated device which they can use as evidence.

A law which says it's illegal for an individual to sing in a public place is a disgrace. Mind your business and stop trying to shape society. No one is forced to pay a busker.

Garda are not as vigorous when it comes to protecting the victims of abuse by our clergy.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murphy_Report

Status of the Garda investigation

Representatives of victims of abuse are quoted as saying that the status of the investigation conducted by Ireland's police service, the Garda Síochána, must be fully scrutinized by the Dublin commission. "It is a huge concern that, given the resources that were provided to the gardaí when the investigation began four years ago, it hasn't produced anything of substance," said Colm O'Gorman, director of the victim-support charity, One in Four.[10]

On 18 September 2006, an article in the Irish Independent stated that a four-year Garda inquiry into allegations that the Catholic Church covered up child sex abuse in the Dublin Archdiocese had failed to produce sufficient evidence to lay charges against any senior Church figures. Journalist Dearbhail McDonald wrote that "Twenty detectives have been assigned to the so-called 'God Squad' since 2002. But despite evidence that priests were transferred to other parishes, where they continued to abuse, and despite public admissions by senior figures that not all relevant information was passed to the civil authorities, no charges will be laid against senior members of the church."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭djor88

Stupid video, they were antagonising the Gardai from what you can see here, I'd love to see how any one of that crowd would act if they were wearing the uniform and surrounded by that many people shouting abuse, refusing to comply with them. You never see the full story from this, only when it kicks off and something happens that the "knackbags" don't like. They hadn't a clue what they were talking about

jasonmcco wrote: »
    This behaviour by Garda has been going on for as long as i can rememnber and its the peoples fault coz we put up with it.

Only justification for stopping a busker should be under noise pollution laws which guards should have to measure with a calibrated device which they can use as evidence.

A law which says it's illegal for an individual to sing in a public place is a disgrace. Mind your business and stop trying to shape society. No one is forced to pay a busker.

Garda are not as vigorous when it comes to protecting the victims of abuse by our clergy.

Representatives of victims of abuse are quoted as saying that the status of the investigation conducted by Ireland's police service, the Garda Síochána, must be fully scrutinized by the Dublin commission. "It is a huge concern that, given the resources that were provided to the gardaí when the investigation began four years ago, it hasn't produced anything of substance," said Colm O'Gorman, director of the victim-support charity, One in Four.[10]

On 18 September 2006, an article in the Irish Independent stated that a four-year Garda inquiry into allegations that the Catholic Church covered up child sex abuse in the Dublin Archdiocese had failed to produce sufficient evidence to lay charges against any senior Church figures. Journalist Dearbhail McDonald wrote that "Twenty detectives have been assigned to the so-called 'God Squad' since 2002. But despite evidence that priests were transferred to other parishes, where they continued to abuse, and despite public admissions by senior figures that not all relevant information was passed to the civil authorities, no charges will be laid against senior members of the church."

That's being going on for years. It's not so,ething that has been dealt with yet. I personally am aware that vicitms will eventually name the names of the gaurds that covered up the abuse not sure how I feel about that to be honest.

We've been rumbled, and not by just anyone..
    We have been discovered by a Uniquely talented individual. A man who's intellect precedes him everywhere he goes. A man who is so intelligent, that the World's elite superbrains, call him, when they have a problem that they need solved....

He can Guarantee almost anything in a whim..

http://i.imgur.com/RzkiU.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭jasonmcco

djor88 wrote: »
    Stupid video, they were antagonising the Gardai from what you can see here, I'd love to see how any one of that crowd would act if they were wearing the uniform and surrounded by that many people shouting abuse, refusing to comply with them. You never see the full story from this, only when it kicks off and something happens that the "knackbags" don't like. They hadn't a clue what they were talking about

You seen the garda being over the top and heavy handed and still side with them.Peoples misplaced faith in garda is what allows them to behave so disgracefully.

I trust the crowd who were there and they were definitely on the side of the victim.

Oh yeah and Rodney King well he was probably scum in you eyes i suppose.

You seen the garda being over the top and heavy handed and still side with them.Peoples misplaced faith in garda is what allows them to behave so disgracefully.

I trust the crowd who were there and they were definitely on the side of the victim.

That was Rodney King?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

1) you cant have a congregation for a public concert anywhere and at anytime you so please

2) when given lawful instruction you face being arrested for failing to comply (section 8 of the public order act)

3) resisting arrest is unlawful

so what offences did the gardai commit?

none that I see

Ha ha ha .... 'Coz It's the exact same..
    The "Crowd" are all singing along with the Busker in the other video and look like they're his friends.. So they wouldn't be biased at all.. No chance..

The "Victim"... :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Míshásta wrote: »
    There was a lot we didn't see there. Why was he being arrested? Are the Guards just going to leave someone off because he resists arrest and runs away. The guy with the camera was not just filming and he was being provocative. Insulting the guards and using fowl language isn't going to calm the situation.

That clip was just ****-stirring - somebody with a gripe with the guards.

Seems to me there should have been at least one more arrest for interfering with police acting in the line of duty.

The baying drunks in the background did nothing to ease the situation either.
    You are hardly a guard are you?

Just from watching the video a second time it seems there are actually two people arrested. The guy who ran to the bridge is actually a second fella who tried to stop them arresting the first guy. He's wearing completely different clothes. That's why only two Gardai chased him. The other two were with the first guy.

• Site Banned Posts: 33 yard_king

donvito99 wrote: »
    Why is he a wanker though? They're doing jobs that involve arresting people, hitting people if its called for who resist arrest and so forth.

It is a thankless job.

never understood the phrase , its a thankless job , to me a thankless job is one you dont get paid for , guards are very well paid

• Site Banned Posts: 33 yard_king

guards have always shown deference to powerfull figures and institutions , they are insiders and are motivated by who is complaining or who is being complained about

cardinal brady is roundly condemned for not having gone to the guards in 1975 , two things would have happened had he done so

the guards would have done nothing

brady would have spent the rest of his days working as a missionary rank and file in nigeria

anyone who expects the guards to row in behind radical opposition to traditional power structures and institutions is indeed naive

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 65 ✭✭Ottway

People seem to be confusing the chap that recorded the video (sounds like a lovely gentleman) with the busker himself. It's a pity they didn't arrest the former from what I can see from the video, as surely he was guilty of obstructing Gardai in their duty. The busker though, seemed to do very little wrong. People speculate that he must have said something, but that did not appear to be the case at all.

Why the need to drag him up off his seat by the collar when seconds before we see him conversing with Guard. No matter what was said to the Guard in those two to three seconds that the camera pans away, nothing justifies the action of those Guards.

If he said something that he needed to be arrested for, then surely the Guard just had to tell him that he was under arrest and explain just what for, ask him stand up and then, if he refuses, use force as once a person is under arrest, Gardai then have the power to tell them what to do but not before as you don't have to swing out of someone in order to arrest them.