Worrying That I'm Beginning To Suffer From Short Man Syndrome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

GreeBo wrote: »

The length of your pun doesnt matter...but it would have be better (for the rest of us) if it was funny.
    Don't get short with me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Jelly 292

I'm 5'7, never bothered me at all, I got two arms, two legs and I'm basically healthy in body and mind. That's a lot to be thankful for imo. Of course I'm unemployed with no girlfriend and cant play sports :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It's not the size but what you do with it. That saying has no meaning here.

Why would you measure you height on a regular basis, do you think that it's actually going to change???

5'7" isn't that small and I don't think any thing to be conscious of but measuring your height in the morning and again in the evening us something to worry about and perhaps you should seek help in relation to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Pulsating Star

Well technically I'm less than 5'8, 5'7 1/2 is what I am right now, and its my minimum height which is supposed to be your official one.

On another note are rugby crowds taller? Or is it just D4 people?

You are on the level with me so;)
    I also suspect taller people seem to get on disproportionly well in work careers, for example it often struck me watching city of London commuters. In factory work situations supervisors appeared to subconsciously give taller folk more responsible or "suitable manly" type roles, but maybe that's My biased viewpoint but i think its natural to appoint folk to roles where they would not appear "silly" Then again when one gets to the super successful the shorties get back in the frame eg Bernie Ecclestone etc.
    It also appears that succeeding generations are getting progressively taller.
    It's all about having confidence In yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

5'7"-5'8" is hardly short!

Stop thinking so much OP. Unlike weight, you can't change how tall you were genetically programmed to be so just learn to live with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Another thought....

These days it officially doesn't matter. Minimum height restriction (Guards) has been done away with. As has the maximum height restriction (Bus Conductor doesn't exist as a job any more).

This is a good thing on many levels*.

*unintended 'levels' pun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,717 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Stop thinking so much OP. Unlike weight, you can't change how tall you were genetically programmed to be so just learn to live with it.

aw jaysus, he's not fat as well is he... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I'm 5.8 which is tall for a girl

Everytime you feel bad about your height or lack of just repeat this mantra to yourself

I am not short I am fun-sized

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

5'8''?

has there being a 'thinly disguised' post yet?

lukesmom wrote: »

Everytime you feel bad about your height or lack of just repeat this mantra to yourself

em, couldn't 'fun' size be, well, misinterpreted?

I mean bouncy castles are fun-sized. Foam hands are fun sized. etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

lukesmom wrote: »

Jayzus, same height as myself, we're a match :D

gurramok wrote: »
    Jayzus, same height as myself, we're a match :D
    (dude, heads up, she has a son, ok? named Luke)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

I wouldn't class 5' 8" as short.

ArtSmart wrote: »
    (dude, heads up, she has a son, ok? named Luke)

How da phook do you know, bleein internet stalkers :P :)

tan11ie wrote: »
    I wouldn't class 5' 8" as short.
    (psst - neither does the Op. shussh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    If you've measured yourself twice a day it has become a serious issue for you.

Most people don't see height, or weight or whatever. Just shallow people. And honest people.

I notice height, because I have to bend down to hear what the small people are saying. I notice peoples weight too. It's not being shallow, it's being observant.

I'd say average height for a guy in Ireland is around 5'8-5'9 so you're not far off that OP. Most Irish girls are around 5'5-5'6. The tall girls you saw were probably wearing heels.

Larianne wrote: »
    I notice height, because I have to bend down to hear what the small people are saying. I notice peoples weight too. It's not being shallow, it's being observant.

I'd say average height for a guy in Ireland is around 5'8-5'9 so you're not far off that OP. Most Irish girls are around 5'5-5'6. The tall girls you saw were probably wearing heels.
    LOL.

classic.

Larianne wrote: »

On this point, I find most girls aged 30 or under to be quite taller than average. Ya know most seem to be 5'10 or taller. Something happened since the mid 80's for women coming of age to be so tall, there are just many more of them taller than in the previously generation, maybe its diet or just being raised alongside giraffes :P

On this point, I find most girls aged 30 or under to be quite taller than average. Ya know most seem to be 5'10 or taller.

No. I'm almost 5'10" and I'm usually the tallest girl in a room/bar/whatever.

OP don't worry, I have loads of friends who are fellas and are your height and get on just fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

On this point, I find most girls aged 30 or under to be quite taller than average. Ya know most seem to be 5'10 or taller. Something happened since the mid 80's for women coming of age to be so tall, there are just many more of them taller than in the previously generation, maybe its diet or just being raised alongside giraffes :P

You know, I think girls are becoming taller. I'm 5'10 and a half. I went back to college as a mature student and there is a good few girls in the class my height or even taller. Whereas when I went to college first time around (12 years ago) there was only one other girl in my class the same height as me.

But the majority are little 'uns. :)

Lia_lia wrote: »

No. I'm almost 5'10" and I'm usually the tallest girl in a room/bar/whatever.

OP don't worry, I have loads of friends who are fellas and are your height and get on just fine!

Maybe I should of given an percentage ;)

I'm in my thirties and i've noticed many girls younger than me(without heels) are taller, the more younger they are the taller they seem to be. Looks like about half are quite tall, at that 5'10" mark. Same for fella's as well, I think its a generational thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

One of the most charismatic and coolest guy I came to know was only about 5'7ish.
    He was a really nice guy, extremely popular with the ladies and everyone loved him. He did lots of sports and lots of cool adventure type stuff too.

I will agree lately people seem to be a lot taller. About 70% of the Irish guys I know are at least 5'10" and the majority are over 6' tall. And also at least 50% of the girls I know are around 5'10" as well while the majority are at least 5'5"-5'6". Probably something to do with the modern diet I guess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Probably something to do with the modern diet I guess...
    Or the bonkers shoes all the young wans are wearing these days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Everyone loses some height at the end of the day, due to gravity squeezing some fluid out of the discs in your spine. You are tallest in the morning (when the fluid is reabsorbed into the discs), shortest at night.

Yes I know that but I have better things to do than compare my day height to night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

5 8" is small? Feck i better start stretching. im aiming for 6 2". Anyone got a stretching table?

Thanks. now i realize im feckin tiny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I'm about 6'1 / 6'2 so it's not a problem I've had to think about. But two of my best mates are about 5'6 and 5'8 and it doesn't seem to have any effect on their confidence or lifestyle, so I'd say don't bother worrying about it OP!

They're both very confident lads who get a ton of respect from everyone who knows them, one of them is in a high earning job and is bloody good at sports, so it definitely doesn't hold them back. You're never going to change it, so if you let it get to you you're only shooting yourself in the foot.

Being tall(ish) isn't all its cracked up to be. I've another mate who is 6'5, so there's always going to be someone around who makes you feel small. Not to mention shorter people live longer on average, so look on the bright side!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Well technically I'm less than 5'8, 5'7 1/2 is what I am right now, and its my minimum height which is supposed to be your official one.

On another note are rugby crowds taller? Or is it just D4 people?

it's tiered seating. The people behind you aren't taller, they're just higher up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Not to mention shorter people live longer on average, so look on the bright side!

Do they? I must admit I haven't heard of that one yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Do they? I must admit I haven't heard of that one yet!

Here is one example of a paper on it.
    However, animal and human data suggest that larger body size independently reduces longevity. Therefore, the promotion of greater height and lean body mass in our children needs to be objectively evaluated by the medical profession before it becomes the norm.

Certainly people who are abnormally tall often die young of heart failure, but apparently longevity is reduced even for taller people in the "normal" height range.

Obviously other factors on when you die are going to have a MUCH GREATER influence, but I'm trying to give the lad something to feel positive about. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 490 ✭✭doomed

Don't worry OP

Hitler was 5' 8"
    Stalin about 5' 6"
    Mussolini 5' 6"
    Emperor Hirohito 5' 5"

We expect great things from you