Gardai Harrasing Busker in Templebar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Retired guard by any chance? You seem to love them, and anything they do right now.

Do you think they'll take you back? Maybe you can knock some sense in to all these fresh new guards...

A shame, that is.

No. Would never have been suitable for that job in fairness. I had too short a fuse. I do however recognise the difficulties of their job as I live in a tough border area where i ran a wee business during the Troubles and would have had to shut only for the help I got from a few of them. Only ever met one that I had words with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,329 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Got to love all the keyboard warriors on here. We don't know the circumstances, so how the **** can ye pass comment. Also he legged it and resisted arrest.

BTW its a pain in the arse for them to use Pepper Spray, if its deployed, the Canister must be retained as evidence and a full report filled out, they're not going to use it (in 99% of cases) for no reason.

But its good to see that Garda/Public Sector bashing is alive and well on AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

But they didn't remove their numbers, they are quite visible in the video provided by the OP.

On After Hours you are allowed to twist things to suit your argument :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Spiritual wrote: »
    I know four people that joined the Gardaí, all four were assholes to begin with. Thy are now just assholes in uniforms.

And thats the thing people who defend the gardai relentlessly need to remember.

In this life there are nice people and bad (or decent people and pricks i really should say) If a right wanker becomes a gardai think he will suddenly and magically stop being a wanker? nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

GrumPy wrote: »
    Love how the camera man sounds like an absolute knackbag.

What has that got to do with anything?

In this life there are nice people and bad (or decent people and pricks i really should say) If a right wanker becomes a gardai think he will suddenly and magically stop being a wanker? nope.

And if he doesn't join he will still be one too.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Mark Mc wrote: »
    Got to love all the keyboard warriors on here. We don't know the circumstances, so how the **** can ye pass comment. Also he legged it and resisted arrest.

BTW its a pain in the arse for them to use Pepper Spray, if its deployed, the Canister must be retained as evidence and a full report filled out, they're not going to use it (in 99% of cases) for no reason.

But its good to see that Garda/Public Sector bashing is alive and well on AH.

If we applied them rules here there be no After hours or maybe even no Boards :);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

No. Would never have been suitable for that job in fairness. I had too short a fuse. I do however recognise the difficulties of their job as I live in a tough border area where i ran a wee business during the Troubles and would have had to shut only for the help I got from a few of them. Only ever met one that I had words with.
    Dealing with actual troublemakers is what they should be doing though, rather than harass and potentially arrest and/or attack ordinary citizens who do not deserve it.

Sure I'm from a rough area myself, and I've seen them deal with people decently (a minority number of guards, but they were sound out), and be pure bastards with most others (the majority). I've seen too many guards power tripping to let this stuff go lightly, as they should be the protectors of the citizens, not doing the sort of stuff they do in that clip, and many others available online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

Míshásta wrote: »
    Thanks for letting us know the results of your scientific survey an Gárda recruits.

Can't believe I put a síne fada in 'Garda' :o

Sorry Guard, I won't do it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

And if he doesn't join he will still be one too.:)
    Yeah, but if he tries to pepper spray me then, I can crown him and not do time.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

An if you don't know now you know buska.

Pottler wrote: »
    Yeah, but if he tries to pepper spray me then, I can crown him and not do time.:)
    Then just buy him a few pints to say "ah well, ye had it coming :pac:". An asshole in a uniform, is still as asshole hehe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Míshásta wrote: »
    I didn't see anyone being beaten up on that video. And I wouldn't really accept the foul-mouthed drunks as credible witnesses.

I did see what appeared to be a man blowing smoke into a guard's face. But maybe 'twas just the angle of the camera shot.

I'd like to see some of ye guys trying to keep order on Dublin's streets late on a Saturday night.

Don't worry, the penny will eventually drop about the police brutality I was refering to.

And why would you like to see some of us keep order on the streets of Dublin? Do you think that is a reason for allowing guards to act/behave /be like scumbags? :confused:

Pottler wrote: »

I wonder what the effect of pepper spray is. Does it just make your eyes water or is it painful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,650 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

gardai never fail to make things worse, do they like making work for themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,329 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

I wonder what the effect of pepper spray is. Does it just make your eyes water or is it painful?

Its bloody painful, also very disorientating

Dealing with actual troublemakers is what they should be doing though, rather than harass and potentially arrest and/or attack ordinary citizens who do not deserve it.

Sure I'm from a rough area myself, and I've seen them deal with people decently (a minority number of guards, but they were sound out), and be pure bastards with most others (the majority). I've seen too many guards power tripping to let this stuff go lightly, as they should be the protectors of the citizens, not doing the sort of stuff they do in that clip, and many others available online.

In fairness we don't know what happened beforehand or what complaints they got about that guy.
    I'm always suspicious of someone being on hand with a camera and trying to direct the process too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

Just to add. There are good Gardaí out there. There was a Garda in the town I grew up in who was an absolute gentleman. One of the first things he did when he was station in the town was to start a youth club. He used to joke that at least for a few hours a couple of nights a week he knew where we were and what we were up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

As with most police brutality videos posted here, I don't see the brutality. The gentleman who was busking was, as far as I can see, not the second one who was hauled away, that gentleman had obviously done something off screen.

In fairness we don't know what happened beforehand or what complaints they got about that guy.
    I'm always suspicious of someone being on hand with a camera and trying to direct the process too.
    True, we shall have to wait and see if anything comes of it. Those guards handled it very badly though, and could have diffused the situation in a much better way than they did. The first thing they should have done was to disperse such a big crowd, then deal with the smaller number in a less hostile manner. Everyone could have walked off, without any bother at all.

Ah well, I'm sure there'll be another thread about gardaí mishandling a situation in the near future :p

True, we shall have to wait and see if anything comes of it. Those guards handled it very badly though, and could have diffused the situation in a much better way than they did. The first thing they should have done was to disperse such a big crowd, then deal with the smaller number in a less hostile manner. Everyone could have walked off, without any bother at all.

Ah well, I'm sure there'll be another thread about gardaí mishandling a situation in the near future :p

Correct. I told you that you were cut out for it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Why is he a wanker though? They're doing jobs that involve arresting people, hitting people if its called for who resist arrest and so forth.

It is a thankless job.

Correct. I told you that you were cut out for it. ;)
    Shure I'm like yourself, too old for that carry on :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

Thanks, I couldn't follow the video properly at all so hadn't a clue what was happening.
    You would think in this day & age guards would know better. I don't know anyone who doesn't have a video on their phone, something like this happens & there's usually 7 or 8 people recording it.

Here's a question, do guards get any PR training as part of their course?

Whilst I'm sure they would prefer not to be filmed I doubt they would give too much of a cr@p about the old iPhone heroes
    Unlikely to be any reprisal and the the second guy that they chased and hit was also seen lashing out at them on camera so not really much of a case tbh

They probably do get PR training alright but I'm not sure what PR guru has experience of dealing with drunken wazzocks in Temple Bar. I guess the gardai go more for the if in doubt lash out frame of mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Your man must be able to queue hop in the local donut shop

My man doesn't eat doughnuts.

Laneyh wrote: »
    Whilst I'm sure they would prefer not to be filmed I doubt they would give too much of a cr@p about the old iPhone heroes
    Unlikely to be any reprisal and the the second guy that they chased and hit was also seen lashing out at them on camera so not really much of a case tbh

They probably do get PR training alright but I'm not sure what PR guru has experience of dealing with drunken wazzocks in Temple Bar. I guess the gardai go more for the if in doubt lash out frame of mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

This is disgusting.
    Imagine there is a thread in emergency services (sorry on phone so can't link) about arming all of these shower of sh1tehawks.
    They always go on about the tiny %age of bad cops but it is a lot more than tiny.

Perhaps so but the scumbag:non scumbag ratio in Dublin City Centre isn't great either.
    I hope I never need the assistance of the Gardai or inadvertently encourage their wrath but it seems like the whole thing could have been avoided had the guy just cleared off / stopped busking or whatever when asked.

Just because some guy on the video says there was no antisocial behaviour occurring doesn't mean I necessarily believe it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Spiritual wrote: »
    My man doesn't eat doughnuts.

Hmmm quite