Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Portfolio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭turbobaby

Zignals have yet to add RMP, so I just replicated my trades using HRN.

Here's the screenshot!

20121110145210zignals.png

• Site Banned Posts: 7 house_speaker

turbobaby wrote: »
    Thanks for your comments Arrow. Plucky Devil, I'd rather you keep the non constructive feedback to yourself.

I have said time and again that these stocks picks are highly volatile and it will only take one successful drill (HRT), one mill permit (CMB) or one arbitration finding (OXS) to send my portfolio flying. At that point the personal abuse will be gone and I will be receiving private messages again!

Losing 60% with a diversified portfolio of less risky stocks would be more worrying, however give the nature of these event driven stocks I have picked, I am not too worried.

I played the game badly earlier this year, jumping from one high risk stock to another as I had too much spare time on my hands and was reading about 'the next big thing'. That was a lesson learned.

I will do my best to get a screen shot up today to show my performance to date.

As you said arrow, others are losing money and hiding it from public view!

except you wouldnt have lost 60% of your capital in a well diversified portfolio , not even in 2008 during the crash

... and a well diversified doesn't have the potential to multiply in the space of a couple of weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

I didn't mean you Turbo,i see you've done your research,You may have the patience to wait but you may run out of capital,could these shares not be traded nearer to these 'events',the same way as a straddle trade on NFP Friday,or simular ?
    I wouldn't attempt to trade the way your trading because i like consistant safe returns with as little risk as i can get away with ,your also trading only 4 shares with 100% of your capital,average 25 % risk per share,i use 2 %,maybe your as good as Buffet, he reckons you only need to diversify if you dont know what your doing:rolleyes:.
    With that type of money/risk management,your sooner or later going to end up in the poor house.
    I'm not trying to piss you off but these are the facts as i see them,good luck and i hope this all pans;) out for you,because theres loads on here (and in Ireland in general) that get a hardon seeing other people fail.

Regards......

No worries, but it's clear you haven't read the whole thread, as I said that once I hit my 100k target I will change my approach away from high risk and a highly concentrated portfolio.

No,i havn't read all your thread,good luck anyways.

• Site Banned Posts: 7 house_speaker

turbobaby wrote: »
    ... and a well diversified doesn't have the potential to multiply in the space of a couple of weeks.

speculation only brings rewards for a finite length of time , eventually your luck runs out, its usually insiders who make away with the prize when it comes to high risk obscure bets like gambling on exploration companies etc

i speculated on the penny share miner patagonia gold in mid to late summer , i bought 10 k worth @ just below 20 cent a share , i sold out at 27 .50 less than ten days later , made 3 k , the stock eventually touched 30 cent for a half a day and is back at 22 cent this past month

i speculated on solomon gold a few weeks later, the stock was pumped by 20 % one day to over 8 pence , i bought 2 k worth @ 7.19 ,eventually sold @ 4 pence , i lost 900 pound or thereabouts , current price is 3.50 p , my point is , you will only make money on theese buys with a once in a blue moon stroke of luck , most all of the time , the few with inside knowledge pull the rug out from under the bulk of investors before the big new becomes public , for every apple , their are hundreds of tech companies which never became more than penny shares

I know all that to be fair and I've send many times that it's high risk and not an advisable approach to take etc.

I am comfortable with the risks.

Let's just wait for the "events" to occur to see if my stock picks are good or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,196 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Why is Turbobaby banned? I dont see anything in his last posts to warrant it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭kerosene

Thargor wrote: »
    Why is Turbobaby banned? I dont see anything in his last posts to warrant it?
    i was wondering the same. he recieved a lot more abuse than he ever dished out. he was definitley one of the more interesting posters on this board and on the gambling forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭martyoo

Doubt he was banned. Aren't some users allowed to change the title under their username?

No option to send him a PM anymore = Banned Id assume.

That is very strange. Don't see what he could have been banned for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

Disappointed to see turbobaby banned, fair play to him for putting his portfolio up here leaving himself open to all sorts of jibes, would be interesting to see how he gets on with it. Anyway good luck to him, never nice to see anybody losing their money, hopefully he will have the last laugh

He's only gone for a month apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Static M.e.

(No idea why he is banned, I am very sure that the mod had a reason)

I think this is one of my favorite threads on Boards these days. I think he is great to be coming on here and laying his trades out for the world too see and critique.

Even IF he loses all his money, and I sincerely hope he hits the jackpot, he has pointed out a number of times that he is playing a very high risk game and he is comfortable with that.

He knows that this isn't the best \ safest trading strategy and I think he is very aware of what is he doing. But I don't really see anyone else coming on here and laying out all their trades and the high and lows associated with them. Its not like posting on boards will actually affect the stock price so I think its a very ballsy move on his part. If I was down 60% I would find it very difficult to keep posting and take the abuse. There have also been a lot of people offering sound advice which is great to see too, a lot more people read this thread then post in it.

I wish there was more threads like this one. Hopefully we will see turbobaby back soon with a good update on his stock picks!

(I'm not referring to anyone in particular here, just a general comment, I also don't have thread..)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 TheGoldRush

I heard from TurboBaby that he picked up €1,000 worth of shares in a company he has previously held, Oremex Silver, at 7c per share. He has reason to believe they may be shortly awarded surface rights for their 50 million ounce silver mine in Mexico.

Market cap currently $10m so it's another small cap explorer.

Looking at the other shares, there's been no big price changes, so news must still be pending.

Why has he been banned ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 TheGoldRush

He abused somebody via PM.

Is that a bannable offence ?

Apparently so.

Someone was taking the mickey out of him because of his portfolio. Very bad form!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Fitz123

Pity, while I may not of entirely agreed with all Turbobabys investment decisions, you have to admire him for posting them here, and then defending them to people who solely wanted to take the mickey. Those exact same people would have been fawning all over him if his choices had paid off.

Here's to Turbobaby coming back and posting here again.

• Site Banned Posts: 47 Me Tilty

I heard from TurboBaby that he picked up €1,000 worth of shares in a company he has previously held, Oremex Silver, at 7c per share. He has reason to believe they may be shortly awarded surface rights for their 50 million ounce silver mine in Mexico.

Market cap currently $10m so it's another small cap explorer.

Looking at the other shares, there's been no big price changes, so news must still be pending.
    Re-regging is also a bannable offence. I have just reported you. Farewell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭kilburn

I enjoy following turbobabys threads and posts hopefully he is allowed to return soon

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 77 ✭✭collymcd

Same here. Bring back Turbo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭delad

He made a snide remark about how I lost money, I reminded him he's lost a lot more than me. Then he sent me an abusive pm which I won't repeat here. Then he re-registered, trawled through all my posts and sent me a pm about a personal issue I had about 6 months ago. The guy seems to be obsessed with me, its all very creepy.

delad wrote: »
    He made a snide remark about how I lost money, I reminded him he's lost a lot more than me. Then he sent me an abusive pm which I won't repeat here. Then he re-registered, trawled through all my posts and sent me a pm about a personal issue I had about 6 months ago. The guy seems to be obsessed with me, its all very creepy.
    Agreed. I can see how TheGoldRush rereg of Turbobaby dug up a 9 month old thread you started about your moob issue. He then pretended to have the same problem to get at you. A snide move indeed,sneaky too. Permanent ban more than justified

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,376 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

kilburn wrote: »
    I enjoy following turbobabys threads and posts hopefully he is allowed to return soon

Because turbobaby re-regged as TheGoldRush and posted here while banned, neither will be making a return to Boards.

Zaph wrote: »

Because turbobaby re-regged as TheGoldRush and posted here while banned, neither will be making a return to Boards.
    The correct move

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

As a casual observer of this thread Im disappointed with the outcome. This guy was a bona fide contributor on a niche topic, not easy to come by. Cant imagine he would want to come back now so "well played" all involved, is there an emoticon for a slow clap??