bad crop of maize-help

• 08-11-2012 11:51PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭

hi there.this year the maize was very bad..i have some photos al the maize was sown under plastic and seeds were very expensive.some spots were just bare and others grand.can anyone tell me whats wrong or is this a normal/standard crop this year?
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

hi there.this year the maize was very bad..i have some photos al the maize was sown under plastic and seeds were very expensive.some spots were just bare and others grand.can anyone tell me whats wrong or is this a normal/standard crop this year?
    thanks
    its the gamble u took last spring when u sowed it ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Chrissym90

Ireland no country for maize..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

i have seen a cousin of mine plant in the open back in 2008 on 20 may and he got a good enough cheap crop

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭owelfisherman

hi there.this year the maize was very bad..i have some photos all the maize was sown under plastic and seeds were very expensive.some spots were just bare and others grand.can anyone tell me whats wrong or is this a normal/standard crop this year?
    thanks

[MOD]
    Post merged into original thread.
    [/MOD]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭Rovi

Maize has always been a marginal crop here in Ireland, in spite of advances in sowing technology and the development of varieties (a bit) more suited to our climate.
    Most years, it will give acceptable/good/excellent results, but a bad year like this one really knocks the stuffing out of it.
    I'd suspect there'll be a good bit less sown next year.

hi there.this year the maize was very bad..i have some photos all the maize was sown under plastic and seeds were very expensive.some spots were just bare and others grand.can anyone tell me whats wrong or is this a normal/standard crop this year?
    thanks

[MOD]
    Post merged into original thread.
    [/MOD]
    Thanks im not very good with these pics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

thanks

I've seen worse this year and other years. The cobs don't look too bad though it's a while since I had anything to do with maize. Have you had much frost? The more you've had the sooner you need to harvest. In a year like this where not much starch is being laid down the value is in the green material sugar rather than starch and after frost this sugar just starts to disappear. Also the longer it's left after frost you start getting fungal growths on the plant which can interfere with ensiling. I used to be a bit of an expert on growing bad crops of maize. spent 10 years banging my head off a stone wall growing the stuff. Got probably 3 good crops, 3 appalling ones and 3-4 that covered their costs, changed to wholecrop after that. We're only hundreds of yards from the south coast but just too high. Less than the 300ft but this close to the coast aspect makes a huge difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Lofty0990

Soil Compaction? i.e. mostly on headlands of continously sowed fields? Been there have tee shirt and hat! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

looks like compaction and water logging and maybe a bit of pest damage on picture 41 (second last and last ) maybe even spray damage. Was there any spraying carried out post drilling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

looks like compaction and water logging and maybe a bit of pest damage on picture 41 (second last and last ) maybe even spray damage. Was there any spraying carried out post drilling?

yeah looks like compaction and ponding to me too. are these around gaps or was there a lot of loading in this area last year? and fecking rabbits, clened out my headlands of beet this year. Also could be down to the drill too did anything come in these areas at all? i know i had patchs in crops a few years back after the drill got blocks and started to skip, another year a sone jammed the turning chain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

I don't mean to be smart, but this is really a grass and turnip country with little sprinkles of wheat here and there. All machinery off land by end of October. Well that's my little rant over with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭stop thelights

thanks

As was mentioned already compaction, watterlogging also looks like plastic could have blown off soon after seeding? Grew maize ourselves this year, good crop. It all comes down to a good site and setting it in time!

Is this your maize? was it set late where abouts in the country is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭stop thelights

I don't mean to be smart, but this is really a grass and turnip country with little sprinkles of wheat here and there. All machinery off land by end of October. Well that's my little rant over with.

:pac::pac: made me laugh, a fella near us made bales yesterday. Knocked down with a few days. Nice leafy grass although a bit wet alot better stuff than must of the grass put in this year! Oh and no damage to the field either!

Lads im in kildare.so it seems its down to compaction.it was harvested over a week ago jus put it up now
    ofm