Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Lowry - 2019 Champion Golfer of The Year (note first post please for posting guidance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,931 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Shane didn't contribute to the ruination of the country.

i think he was joking - but the scars run deep. :mad::(:eek::)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

After waiting for most of the day and not commenting further about the accusation of bullying insinuated by another poster which has been allowed to remain on this thread, can any of the mods please clarify that its acceptable for posters to make very serious accusations on this board and be left unchallenged?

People get infractions for messing around but this is deemed acceptable?

GreeBo wrote: »
    That's just bull to be honest. Its nothing to do with conforming or anything like that.

- He is overweight.
    - Its unhealthy.
    - His fitness would be increased by being lower.
    - His back, knees etc would all benefit from his carrying less weight.

There is no bullying of Shane here at all and frankly I find it quite disgusting that you would bring that into the conversation, given the week thats in it.
    To be honest, the closest thing to bullying on here at the moment is people having a go at others for stating the obvious regarding his weight.

What would it take Shane to do , for you to say , ok his weight is not an issue ?

Being too thin is unhealthy
    Too much fitnees work , injures some golfers (Tiger)

And, i wouldn't be undermining people concerned about bullying, it is one of the biggest bullying issues for kids. (that is not aimed at you).

The thanks to Bluefoam there says that the tone of this is out of order.

And it is a love in, who else in Ireland can claim that these days, in sport or anything.

Keep it up Shane.

Jaysoose wrote: »
    Ive reported this post, im not being accused of bullying wether directly or indirectly in this fashion and to be honest your so far out of line with this its beyond comprehension.

Its truly depressing that to try and get your point across you stoop such levels and throw out accusations like this.

There is no such thing as indirectly being accussed. There only is, if you want to be accused.

It takes strong people to stand up against the crap being said here about Shane - fair play all the thanks to Bluefoam.

Anyway - if he needs to lose a few pounds he will know, not a load of hackers on here - he is working flat out to stay with these guys. He is doing something right - so trust him. he will see what he needs to do way ahead of any sideline pundit.

Losing weight could help him, but at that level a slight change to his practice or training could have an irreversible impact. Never change anything when it is that good. Look at the leaderboard. The players on it, please Shane, do not even change your socks. You could end up like bloody Camilo Vagas - then Ireland ends up nowhere in golf again.

There is no such thing as indirectly being accussed. There only is, if you want to be accused.

It takes strong people to stand up against the crap being said here about Shane - fair play all the thanks to Bluefoam.

Anyway - if he needs to lose a few pounds he will know, not a load of hackers on here - he is working flat out to stay with these guys. He is doing something right - so trust him. he will see what he needs to do way ahead of any sideline pundit.

Losing weight could help him, but at that level a slight change to his practice or training could have an irreversible impact. Never change anything when it is that good. Look at the leaderboard. The players on it, please Shane, do not even change your socks. You could end up like bloody Camilo Vagas - then Ireland ends up nowhere in golf again.

Your entitled to your opinion, ive no issue with shane and hope he gets to the top of the game and have said this many times. As it happens i agree with a lot of what is being posted.

Fair enough - but don't be pulling a race card to what Bluefoam said. Lads and their weight is a big deal for young people in school etc.

It is a pitty the route this has been pushed during the best few weeks of ANY Rep. of Ireland golfer since Paddy and he was an aberration for say 10 years.

I'm over the moon about this.

By the way he is on TOP of his game. What the hell else could he do.

Fair enough - but don't be pulling a race card to what Bluefoam said. Lads and their weight is a big deal for young people in school etc.

It is a pitty the route this has been pushed during the best few weeks of ANY Rep. of Ireland golfer since Paddy and he was an aberration for say 20 years.

Im sorry its come to this aswell and as for pulling the race card its not on what was posted or it would have been dropped already.

Anyway this is my last post in this thread and i wish the best of luck to shane of course.

Im sorry its come to this aswell and as for pulling the race card its not on what was posted or it would have been dropped already.

I was using the race card as analogous - But we are getting into Mod stuff here.

I can't see what you are saying about being accused - but that is all subjective - like the weight issue.

But it has now been shown that the overwhelming majority agree the weight is not an issue at the moment, there is a real possibility that people would use the weight thing for their own purpose. You see it in life when people use other things to get one over someone.

People who support Shane have the proof of his results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭MP62

Wow this is an epic storm in a teacup thread.
    Fellas getting thick over nothing.
    (x) thread delivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Is Lowrys Weight the new Rorys Nationality?

This thread needs to go on a diet :)

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    Is Lowrys Weight the new Rorys Nationality?

This thread needs to go on a diet :)

I'm going to put 5 stone on as a test and move to Belfat - sorry fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭h2005

Great to see him playing so well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭Su Campu

Bill Werbuinik was a healthy sportsman. His weight and his 18 pints a day did him no harm :rolleyes:

Su Campu wrote: »
    Bill Werbuinik was a healthy sportsman. His weight and his 18 pints a day did him no harm :rolleyes:

Here we go again.
    Who - who. What did he win ?
    When was that again ?
    Was he a drug addict ?

Was that a pub game then ? :rolleyes: Sure did you see Shane get four pints on the 10 th today, Aftershock, then a Red Bull. No wonder he finished poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭Su Campu

Here we go again.
    Who - who. What did he win ?
    When was that again ?
    Was he a drug addict ?

Was that a pub game then ? :rolleyes: Sure did you see Shane get four pints on the 10 th today, Aftershock, then a Red Bull. No wonder he finished poor.
    It was a tongue in cheek comment.

article-0-0855134B000005DC-907_306x389.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,520 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

The lack of any coherent counter argument really says it all for me.
    The fact that the best argument so far consists of "but people thanked my post!" And thats enough for some people to ignore what it's plainly obvious to anyone with eyes is quite sad.
    /thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cornerboy

It is a pitty the route this has been pushed during the best few weeks of ANY Rep. of Ireland golfer since Paddy and he was an aberration for say 10 years.

By the way he is on TOP of his game. What the hell else could he do.

What is a Rep. of Ireland golfer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭wilfitz

I think it's time we all moved on from this lads. Some feel Shane's weight is an issue and some don't. At the end of the day Shane is playing great golf at the moment and I'm sure everyone here hopes that Shane continues to play well and make the top 50 and possibly go on to be one of Ireland's greatest sporting heroes. I firmly believe he has what it takes and if I was honest I'd say yeah he prob does need to lose a bit of weight (dont we all) but this is no reason for him not to be one of the best.

Another good day for the Irish golfer.
    4 under par 68 for -10 after 2 rounds. This puts him in T5, 6 behind runaway leader Louis Oosthuizen but only 1 shot off 2nd place. Mickelson & Els still to finish and could affect this position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Super golf just the one bogey
    Keep it up for the weekend

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,893 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Another clip of him here, finishing with a birdie this morning.
    Oosthuizen has played the par 5s in 11 under the first two days!!!!

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,773 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Good chance of moving into the top 20 in the Race to Dubai.

Should be playing with Dufner and Johnson tomorrow if Els pars the last.
    Would be a good group for him as you couldn't get 2 lads anymore laidback :D

Even better, Johnson bogeyed the last so he could be out with Phil :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Hope he keep's this run going, a top 10 would look like a poor finish with 2 rounds to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

slave1 wrote: »
    Another clip of him here, finishing with a birdie this morning.
    Oosthuizen has played the par 5s in 11 under the first two days!!!!

Great stat on that clip

-53 for his last 4 European Tour Events... Super stuff

Hope he keep's this run going, a top 10 would look like a poor finish with 2 rounds to go.

If he stays in the top 10....it will be a very good performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭big_drive

How would a top 10 finish this weekend improve his world ranking anyone know?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,893 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

It's hard to predict because his rise in the world rankings is also effected by how others around him perform on the week and their drop in points on previous events.
    Last week he got 13.44 ranking points for a 5th, if he gets the same again then this 13.44 will be divided by the number of tournaments he's played which is about 52 so he will add 0.25 onto his ranking points which would lift him from 2.26 points average to 2.5 points average.
    2.5 points currently lies 47th in the world.

All depends though......

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

big_drive wrote: »
    How would a top 10 finish this weekend improve his world ranking anyone know?

Here are last year's results for ranking points:

http://www.owgr.com/events/events_scorecard.sps?EventID=4694

A approx 10th place would get a min of 10 points.

currently he has 115 so add 10 to get 125.

Divide by 52 (worse case) events will get 2.40.

Which is the current score of Cabrero Bello in 50th overall.

Anything higher than 10th should be high 40's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,773 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Saturday Tee time Irish time

2:15 am
    MICKELSON, Phil
    DUFNER, Jason
    LOWRY , Shane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,520 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Saturday Tee time Irish time

2:15 am
    MICKELSON, Phil
    DUFNER, Jason
    LOWRY , Shane

Jaysus could that group be any more relaxed?