Squatting a house in a ghost estate?

• 31-10-2012 08:44PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 144 ✭✭

Squatting a house in a ghost estate.
    Anyone up for it?
    Reading about that man who was awarded the NAMA house has given me some ideas..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭TheBody

Squatting a house in a ghost estate.
    Anyone up for it?
    Reading about that man who was awarded the NAMA house has given me some ideas..

Do I get the master bedroom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

If you're going squatting in your dress without knickers you'll get a helluva draft....probably catch a uti....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 144 ✭✭3GAINSBOROUGH

wexie wrote: »
    If you're going squatting in your dress without knickers you'll get a helluva draft....probably catch a uti....

Never had one, but take your word for it though (I am sure you have had many).

TheBody wrote: »
    Do I get the master bedroom?

Why not? May as well squat a large house and live in some style.
    I was thinking one of the Celtic Tiger mansions would do, say 7 bedrooms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Never had one, but take your word for it though (I am sure you have had many).

Actually never had any, mostly because I'm not a crossdressing troll...

OK I might be a troll sometimes, but a cross dresser? No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I know most people will be joking - but I've given it some serious consideration.

I don't see much of a downside, provided your willing to live that sort of lifestyle. I feel like the worst that will happen is I'm told to leave. Big deal. And there is a good chance I'd save lots on rent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

How do you plan to cook food and heat the house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭TheBody

You could always just burn down the neighbouring ghost houses for fuel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Ask one of the developers if you can live in the house and in return you will protect the estate from thieves and bandits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I would be scary tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

Probably easier ways of getting a free gaff in ireland.....;)

Or buy it on the cheap and pretend to the neighbours that you are squatting there, just to annoy them (further):cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

or at best chapped lips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Damn these contacts,I thought I read Scatting in a Ghost Estate,poo,poo,poo,poo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Feck op, If you're fit to squat a house this belongs in the powerlifting forum. squatting in a house on the other hand....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The idea is to find some deserted Georgian pile that the owner has forgotten about. Not some half finished fire trap in the middle of Leitrim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

anncoates wrote: »
    The idea is to find some deserted Georgian pile that the owner has forgotten about. Not some half finished fire trap in the middle of Leitrim.

Most of those are stripped of the lead of the roof and have no fireplaces, so bring an umbrella and a portable heater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

They should open the NAMA houses to anyone that want's one and scrap rent allowance, sounds fine to any reasonable person but what about all those poor property investors getting the taxpayer to pay there 2nd mortgages through RA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

What if you get devoured by the Ghost??

An electric oven.
    An electric oil heater.

UCDVet wrote: »
    I know most people will be joking - but I've given it some serious consideration.

I don't see much of a downside, provided your willing to live that sort of lifestyle. I feel like the worst that will happen is I'm told to leave. Big deal. And there is a good chance I'd save lots on rent.

Agreed.
    Say the Guards come to visit. If there is no damage to the property, one cannot be charged with criminal damage or burglary.
    One can only be charged with trespass. In order to be lawfully evicted, a District Judge would have to hear the case in court then grant an eviction order.
    One can claim adverse possession in the meantime, and await the months before the court case; living rent free.
    Worse case scenario you save the rent for the months you get away with it prior to eviction.
    Best case scenario the Judge rules in your favour; as in the case of the NAMA property squatter.

Remmy wrote: »
    Feck op, If you're fit to squat a house this belongs in the powerlifting forum. squatting in a house on the other hand....

I would have termed it adverse possession in my original post, but I thought people like you would have to Google that to know what it means.

anncoates wrote: »

I fancied Abbeville (Charles Haughey's old mansion), but Camelot Properties are looking after it with Property Guardians though.

They should open the NAMA houses to anyone that want's one and scrap rent allowance, sounds fine to any reasonable person but what about all those poor property investors getting the taxpayer to pay there 2nd mortgages through RA.

Closer to reality than you might think.
    Many of the NAMA owned ghost estates are going to be handed over to local County Council's for social housing. The unfinished ones will be bulldozed eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

I would have termed it adverse possession in my original post, but I thought people like you would have to Google that to know what it means.

Yep I would have no clue what those big words mean. Thanks for dumbing it down for me.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I have to admit that I am surprised this thread has lasted this long.

Great contribution.

How about squatting one of the vacant Castlemoyne houses, but without the 2500 Euro per month rent?
    http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1252072
    There are still around 20 vacant in that ghost estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Closer to reality than you might think.
    Many of the NAMA owned ghost estates are going to be handed over to local County Council's for social housing. The unfinished ones will be bulldozed eventually.

I suspect there'll be a catch but here's hoping! And if it's gonna be happening there hurry the **** up RA must be costing the country a fortune to the benefit only of property investors and also keeping a false floor in the rental market.

I like the thread, i've often wondered what would happen if you just start squatting in one of these NAMA places. I'd imagine what's holding a lot of people back is the damage they feel it might do to their reputation. That guy that has done it (fair play to him) has attracted a lot of attention to himself, which a lot of us aren't comfortable with.

I think the vast majority of people would see that there is nothing morally wrong with squatting in a NAMA house but we're just afriad to raise our heads above the parapet.

I suspect there'll be a catch but here's hoping! And if it's gonna be happening there hurry the **** up RA must be costing the country a fortune to the benefit only of property investors and also keeping a false floor in the rental market.

I like the thread, i've often wondered what would happen if you just start squatting in one of these NAMA places. I'd imagine what's holding a lot of people back is the damage they feel it might do to their reputation. That guy that has done it (fair play to him) has attracted a lot of attention to himself, which a lot of us aren't comfortable with.

I think the vast majority of people would see that there is nothing morally wrong with squatting in a NAMA house but we're just afriad to raise our heads above the parapet.

Agreed.
    There is also a common fear of eviction, but in reality the Gard's don't evict squatters, the Judges do after a Court hearing. It could go either way, but if the squatters intentions are to live peacefully and do the property up rather than trash the house; then the Judges tend to look more favourably on them.
    The way I see it is rent free living, pure and simple. If NAMA have vacant property then why not use it until its sold? Heating the properties and keeping the rats out is actually better for the properties then leaving them to deteriate while empty. I am on the dole, so have nothing to lose really. I would prefer to squat an empty house rather than claim rent allowance. I don't see squatting an empty house owned by NAMA as a drain on the state in the way rent allowance is.