Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there a high level of violent behaviour in GAA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I dunno about it being highly violent, but it's definitely more physical than the majority of other sports in the world, and the way it's reffed is far more lenient than other sports, for example how many times has someone had a sly slap or whack of a hurl during a match? Or when there's a bunch of lads battling to pick up a ball and sticks are flying in.

It's what makes the sport imo though, if we were to make it so that there was less contact, the speed was slow down completely and it wouldn't be anywhere near as captivating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

NIMAN wrote: »
    I am a casual watcher of GAA.

This last week I have read stories of a guy basically ripping the scrotum off an opponent, and now the Dublin hurling manager getting into a fist fight on the pitch.

Add these to the pitched battles between 20 players at club level you occasionally see.

Why is there so many incidents like this? Is the disciplinary procedures too soft?

When you look at the actual number of incidents versus the massive number of games that are played week in week out the number of incidents is tiny.

Each incident is unacceptable no doubt but in the scheme of things 99.9% of games go off without incident

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

Actual violence very rare, mainly agreesion for show, handbag type stuff. Big men with team mates and referee there to stop things, real violance not an issue. It is seen as issue as most spectators never experience real violence either to they do not know what to compare the pitch issues to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

I think people watch too much PL soccer where a grown man is down crying for 10 minutes because someone touched his handbag. GAA football and hurling are aggressive games so of course there is going to be a bit of ruffage from time to time.

Go hard or go home...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Dont think the GAA is over-violent..

In fact, I think the sport would lose out if it lost some of its aggression and passion..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Exd7nqV5-cE
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HgF_jfNnBlo&feature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBXWY9YTd6o
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xOUN8-9xTw0

Third one is particularly interesting. Is there a problem with violence in the GAA? Its all relative I suppose. Judging by these above, particularly the third video, I’d think not! Rugby violence appears however to be condoned at best, celebrated at worst by the "boys" in independent newspapers whereas GAA fights receive front page coverage-whether its a Wicklow junior B Football match or an All Ireland Hurling final. These clips are more violent than anything I have experienced at GAA games. I'd suggest asking the same question on the rugby forum, reaction might be interesting!

The difference here being, that in Rugby the perpetrators are punished rightfully so in those instances, and alot of those clips are years old, when rugby violence was much more prevalent. It has been cleaned up a lot due to the threat of sanctions, and furthermore there are no instances in your clips of managers or fans entering the field of play and assaulting other managers or players.

The GAA violence is in the here and now. In physical sports like the GAA sports, or rugby or ice hockey there will always be times when cooler heads will not prevail, and players will engage in violence, but when management enters and assaults another manager or coaching assistant, or fans enter the field and assault a player, then that's when something needs to be done.

Even a few years ago the Aussies were being called thugs and all kinds of names when their players engaged in violent conduct in the International series, but now it's GAA players involved in that same behaviour, that attitude changes.

Screams of hypocrisy to be honest.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

The difference here being, that in Rugby the perpetrators are punished rightfully so in those instances, and alot of those clips are years old, when rugby violence was much more prevalent. It has been cleaned up a lot due to the threat of sanctions, and furthermore there are no instances in your clips of managers or fans entering the field of play and assaulting other managers or players.

The GAA violence is in the here and now. In physical sports like the GAA sports, or rugby or ice hockey there will always be times when cooler heads will not prevail, and players will engage in violence, but when management enters and assaults another manager or coaching assistant, or fans enter the field and assault a player, then that's when something needs to be done.

Even a few years ago the Aussies were being called thugs and all kinds of names when their players engaged in violent conduct in the International series, but now it's GAA players involved in that same behaviour, that attitude changes.

This recent enough for you?

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/rugby/2011/1130/1224308349019.html

Lucien Harinordoquy walked onto the pitch early in the Top 14 league game when his son clashed with a pair of Bayonne players. He then attempted to punch one of them, Jean-Jo Marmouyet, in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

^^^^^^^ And that incident will be punished accordingly I should hope. I don't mind players sorting out their differences, as I said, in physical sports, it happens sometimes. But when someone off the field of play gets involved, then that crosses the line. I'm not saying it doesn't happen in other sports, I just think it seems to be occurring very frequently lately, or else is just being reported on more often in the media lately with GAA sports.

And many people within the GAA community seem to not necessarily endorse it, but certainly not regard it with the seriousness it deserves.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

^^^^^^^ And that incident will be punished accordingly I should hope. I don't mind players sorting out their differences, as I said, in physical sports, it happens sometimes. But when someone off the field of play gets involved, then that crosses the line. I'm not saying it doesn't happen in other sports, I just think it seems to be occurring very frequently lately, or else is just being reported on more often in the media lately with GAA sports.

And many people within the GAA community seem to not necessarily endorse it, but certainly not regard it with the seriousness it deserves.

It is serious, and should be clamped down on. And anyone who takes GAA seriously will say the same. But as i said earlier the amount of actual incidents relative to the thousands of games played each week is tiny.
    You may not even have 1 serious incident per thousand games.
    Thats less than 0.1%. Pretty safe sport overall.

On the positive side you have loads of people, kids especially, getting great exercise, having fun, making friends and learning skills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

Firstly - On the two incidents mentioned by the OP..

The Scrotum incident - That is just utter savagery - There is no two ways about it. Not even related to sport. I wouldn't normally be in favour of Sports cases ending up in the criminal courts, but this is one of the rare cases where I would agree - He should have been criminally tried for assault (Although I think he was - and it failed)

The incident in Clare at the weekend - Was wrong - I wasn't at the match, but from what I have heard, the match was an excellent match betwen two minor match teams that was marred by fighting between team mentors & spectators. It was wrong and I do believe that there will be some fairly hefty suspensions dealt out.

To answer the general question - Does the GAA have a problem with violence.... Yes - Even 1 incident like the above is a problem.

Is the problem any worse than Rugby or soccer - No.

I lived beside a Junior Soccer pitch in Limerick and I used to stroll over and watch games at the weekend and I saw plenty of dust ups. They most certainly were not any less regular that I see in the GAA.

I went to see my local Rugby team a good bit too over the years. I'd have to say the level of off the ball stuff I saw at the rugby was probably a bit less than Soccer or hurling. Maybe with the very physical nature of the game, players managed to get their frustrations out within the lines of the law.

But you would never read anything about the Rugby or Soccer Dust ups at club level - Even in the local papers. There wouldn't even be a reporter at it. Particularly Soccer - Sure Sligo Rovers won the League last week and there was hardly a blip about it in the papers - And that's very wrong - But it's a fact. I'd say there was more written in the Irish Papers about John Terry than Sligo Rovers the week they won the title.

On a personal level, after playing Adult hurling (mainly at junior level) for almost 20 years, the first time I experienced it myself was only a few months ago. It couldn't have been a more meanlingless match - Bottom of the table Junior C league clash on a Tuesday night.... The full back out of the blue gave me the butt of the hurley in the neck. I was feckin shocked to be honest. I didn't know what to do to the short little pr1ck.

I though for a sec about hitin' the deck and gettin' the refs attention but decided I'd probably only end up lookin like an awful ape and he wouldn't be sent off because the ref had seen nothing.
    Then I though about hittin' him a righ wallop back. But I thought knowin' my luck, I'll end up getting sent off myself - And I was enjoying the match.

So I told him he was short fat !*&@^#~ and I got on with the game. We bate hoors by 2 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,095 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    the GAA has more adult teams that play competitive games than any other sport in Ireland. most soccer games are 5-a-side. most rugby games are underage.

Any facts to back that claim up with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

jordainius wrote: »

The talk of the Anthony Daly incident is stupid. That was one snapshot which didn't show what happened before or after the incident. For all we know Daly was defending himself yet some people have made their minds up based on that photograph despite the fact that they know nothing about the incident...

The snapshot seems to be fair. The row allegedly started when Tommy Howard, Clarecastle selector jostled a Kilmaley player, Niall Romer (Kilmaley manager) took umbrage and jostled Howard, Anthony Daly and another selector joined in attacking Romer and knocked him to the ground.
    Other Kilmaley mentors were not around so Kilmaley supporters including a relative of Daly's went in to help the outnumbered Romer, who himself has a ban pending for behaviour towards a referee in a previous game.
    Daly let himself down in a big way and had no business getting involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

M three wrote: »
    It is serious, and should be clamped down on. And anyone who takes GAA seriously will say the same. But as i said earlier the amount of actual incidents relative to the thousands of games played each week is tiny.
    You may not even have 1 serious incident per thousand games.
    Thats less than 0.1%. Pretty safe sport overall.

On the positive side you have loads of people, kids especially, getting great exercise, having fun, making friends and learning skills

I agree with all that. so now you have my answer as well MOSouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

I believe that GAA violent incidents are certainly more highly-publicised than either rugby or soccer. I would contend in addition however, that one of the main problems the former organisation has is the seemingly lack of willingness of pundits and commentators alike - unless they are Australian of course, to condemn outbreaks of violence, mostly relatively minor, but sometimes even particularly serious incidents.

The amount of times I have seen a pundit defend an outrageous bit of foul play with soundbites such as 'He's generally not a dirty player' or 'That was very much out of character for XY, who is a lovely lad normally' genuinely astonishes me. Plus the same group of people get very hot under the collar if there is any hint at 'taking the manliness out of the game,' I mean how better to show your macho credentials by throwing a blindsight punch at an opponent?

This is something you would very rarely see in rugby or soccer, where although many violent incidents do take place, they are widely criticised. I do not know enough about the GAA to make a clear evaluation regarding why the attitude of 'as long as it happens on the field of play, it's part of the game, just get on with it' exists. Perhaps the relative small world in which GAA participants exist dissuade noted commentators from wanting to be seen as a grass, fearing severe condemnation of one player may lead to an awkward social event the following week, where the two individuals might be sitting opposite each other.

Whatever the reason may be, I have noticed for many years a clear reluctance from those at the top to even admonish foul play at times. I am sometimes surprised the guards do not get more involved than they do, as some of the assaults would not escape punishment normally in a million years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

I think alot of GAA players would be embarrassed to report an on-field incident to the Gardai.

Its widely understood that whatever happens on the pitch stays on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭afro man

dirtyden wrote: »
    You obviously dont follow GAA.

No to much violence for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭JazzyJ

I think alot of GAA players would be embarrassed to report an on-field incident to the Gardai.

Its widely understood that whatever happens on the pitch stays on the pitch.

Maybe in the past but not any more. When lads are having to pay out upwards of €10,000 in medical bills because of off the ball incidents, they're resorting to the courts.

I certainly wouldn't hesitate if some cnut crossed the line with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

JazzyJ wrote: »
    Maybe in the past but not any more. When lads are having to pay out upwards of €10,000 in medical bills because of off the ball incidents, they're resorting to the courts.

I certainly wouldn't hesitate if some cnut crossed the line with me.
    No lad pays medical bills, the GAA's insurance covers that.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I wouldn't classify GAA as any more violent/rough than any other sport, yes there is times when there's some bad press, but every sport has those. Also, for "dirty, off the ball incidents", every sport has stuff like that, for example, dodgy stuff on the bottom of the ruck, the fact is that GAA sports are the most widely played games in Ireland so there will always be reports of incidents. I would say there were more incidents on 5-aside pitches this week than on GAA pitches :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

There are certain clubs though, that have more than their fair share of incidents over the years. It's no coincidence that Clarecastle are in the news again. Remember the Ballybrown munster club match, the Wolfetones U21 match....:D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I think that's a little unfair on the Magpies, they might have a few incidents alright but they are also 1 of the biggest clubs around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

I don't know Clareman. They certainly have more than their fair share of incidents over the years. Their Junior C Semi-final this year against Feakle had to be abandoned.

That siad - I've never had any trouble with them myself. Always found them a sound aul crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭thesultan

GAA players don't show the same respect as rugby players do but when a fight and normally a heifty fist fight breaks out in rugby it gets little attention. the Mirror had the Daly fight front page before the US storms. GAA gets too much bad press but players and fans get off alot lightly. Inter County players would miss nothing when suspensions would be cut to play for the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭freddiek

hurling people have that extra wildness about them I think, which contributes to incidents such as that in Clare

its a price we have to pay in return for being able to enjoy such a thrilling sport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

freddiek wrote: »
    hurling people have that extra wildness about them I think, which contributes to incidents such as that in Clare...
    True !!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Tommy Murphy

Only people who are not involved in the sport or who don't attend Gaa matches get excited when they hear about the odd melee. What they don't understand is that a lot less would be thought of a player or mentor if they backed away from a row, rather than defend his team-mate and by extension the pride of his parish. He would probably be banned from his local, ignored for a few days by his mother and have no chance of finding favour with the local ladies if he pulled out of a tackle or put the white flag up in the event of a bit of pushing and shoving. It could wreck his life for a Gaa player perceived as 'windy.' Anybody easily shocked or frightened at the sight or sound of a bit of knuckling should desist from buying newspapers, watching television or bothering with the internet from mid September to the end of October, when the temperature heats up in club games. That'd solve it.