Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork City Fire Brigade Recruitment 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 soldier boy

I wasnt "deemed most suitable for appointment":(
    Absolutely gutted would be an understatement.
    Fair play to all that got through,
    there has to be more than 18 going through to medical, sure what if someone fails medical?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Fire1985

there has to be more than 18 going through to medical, sure what if someone fails medical?

Sorry to hear you didn't get through.
    What they do is if someone fails they call in the next person on the panel.
    They wouldn't give say 30 Medicals because the first 18 may pass & it would be a waste of there money.

Hope this helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Papp9

Did many retained lads get posts, anyone from Waterford or Clare, and if so what stations, congrats to all that got in a tough process, but for a job that is well worth the effort, even with all the cuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 gabresha

hi lads,I didn't make it either,got placed 35th on the panel,just to let ye know theses at least 35 on the panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Lezdid

gabresha wrote: »
    hi lads,I didn't make it either,got placed 35th on the panel,just to let ye know theses at least 35 on the panel.

Out if interest did they say they would be in touch if they need more firefighters down the line?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭DOBBER112

That's awful fella...all that effort just to be told that!
    What does that mean exactly? Have you asked them to clarify their response?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 gabresha

Lezdid wrote: »

Out if interest did they say they would be in touch if they need more firefighters down the line?

well they said that Will hang on to the panel for three years,Will use the panel if unforeseen circumstances arise,presume this means failure of medical or early retirements,etc..,but as I'm 35 on the panel they said it would be unlikely that I would be needed..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭Tintin8

Hi lads. I made the panel & I'm delighted. Sorry to those who didnt.Can't wait to get the medical done.

Justme007 wrote: »
    I got through but I really feel for the guys that didn't make it. It's hard to be really thrilled about when you think about the other side of the coin,I was that guy before. The Medicals are on next week I'm doing mine on Tuesday. Well done to who got in and hard luck to all who didn't.

Let us know how u get on at the medical tomorrow!

Anybody doing the medical today?
    If you could let us know what's involved it would be great.
    Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Justme007

Tintin8 wrote: »
    Anybody doing the medical today?
    If you could let us know what's involved it would be great.
    Good luck
    Tha Medicals are very straight forward. Basically an eye test, hearing test,colour blindness,ECG they're just rounding off the corners really.

Thanks a lot.
    Did they say if everything went ok?
    (Eye sight & hearing etc)
    Also did ask when we might find out?
    Thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭anheneti

Sorry for jumping on your thread was there a fitness test done?
    I have one tomorrow but it's for a retained firefighter in Tipperary

anheneti wrote: »
    Sorry for jumping on your thread was there a fitness test done?
    I have one tomorrow but it's for a retained firefighter in Tipperary

Fitness tests were done already, beep test with level 10 being min requirement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭anheneti

Thanks it must be a different test for the retained position so

Thanks a lot.
    Did they say if everything went ok?
    (Eye sight & hearing etc)
    Also did ask when we might find out?
    Thank you
    You'll be told before you leave. The urine sample is tested for drugs and so on but it's also sent away to see if your dependent on alcohol. So you should know almost immediately. Best of luck.

Cheers man. I'm delighted that ill know if I passed before I leave!
    Hope we get the job offers quickly and start training in January.

The only thing that will hold up things is the Garda vetting.
    It's usually a slow process for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Zorroman

Well lads, just said I'd get the ball rolling on a bit of background about myself to future colleagues. I'm 25 years old, from Limerick and with Civil Defence six years. Be nice to hear a bit about yourselves before we meet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

It would have a been a busy day for ye today in cork, huge fire in old Shepard

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/firefighters-battle-major-blaze-at-former-orphanage-in-cork-574032.html

Lads I heard today that its 1-12 on the panel to be trained first. Possibly in march. A cork city ff told me this.
    Granted its not definite. It's a possibility he said .

Lads I heard today that its 1-12 on the panel to be trained first. Possibly in march. A cork city ff told me this.
    Granted its not definite. It's a possibility he said .

March?, why the long wait I wonder?

Lezdid wrote: »

March?, why the long wait I wonder?

I have no idea but he said its only a rumour. He will let me know if he hears anything concrete .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭maddog1983

hey lads anyone know how many passed/failed medical ? did they call many from panel that failed medical?im on panel so just curious to know?

maddog1983 wrote: »
    hey lads anyone know how many passed/failed medical ? did they call many from panel that failed medical?im on panel so just curious to know?
    I didn't hear anything bud, I don't know if anyone would post to the site if they failed the medical , maybe I'm wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭maddog1983

no bother would be interesting to know wouldn't it. i heard of two who failed but thats it!

Do you know what position they were?were they in the top 10? It must have been awful missing out at that stage.

Where did you hear that?

I havnt heard of anyone who has officially passed.
    I was told on the day all was ok but I've not got a email or a phone call to confirm this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 corkbackdraft

Hey Maddog
    Have you really heard of 2 guys whom have failed or are you trying to stir up conversation. I find it hard to believe this information as no positions have been offered as of yet. Also I know the guy whom is number 19 on the panel. Surely he would have been called for a medical if this was the case but he's had no communication.

Hey Maddog
    Have you really heard of 2 guys whom have failed or are you trying to stir up conversation. I find it hard to believe this information as no positions have been offered as of yet. Also I know the guy whom is number 19 on the panel. Surely he would have been called for a medical if this was the case but he's had no communication.

Ye sure none of us have heard anything since Medicals.

Just seen on the telly that cork city get 3000 calls a year. 94 calls on bonfire night