On the phone while driving?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Sure you only need one hand to drive. The other hand is free for texting, holding a phone, having a fag or eating a sambo.

But what if you have to change gears? I hear people say.

Well, that's why God gave you knees... coffee in the right hand, knee under the steering wheel, gear change with the left hand. It's a simple manouvre that really should be part of the driving test.
    The true test is, fag, coffee, phone, steer and change gear, entering a roundabout, with a dodgy clutch. And a broken wrist..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

Handsfree kits arent allowed either btw. I know somebody that got pulled over and penalty points for it. He said "but its on a handsfree kit" and was told it doesnt matter.

Rubbish they are allowed, the offence is holding the phone not talking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

I used to have a bluetooth motor bike helmet. Mental driving a motor bike and talking its so distracting.

I'm getting some string and hanging the phone from the van roof next to my head. Sorted. I shall call it the "Hands free sh1t."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Seems to be the common believe alright. Im not going to take any chances unless somebody shows me that written in the law books though. Not that I own a handsfree kit anyway.

Pottler wrote: »
    I'm getting some string and hanging the phone from the van roof next to my head. Sorted. I shall call it the "Hands free sh1t."

You could just put it on speaker and leave it beside you, lot less trouble.

Seems to be the common believe alright. Im not going to take any chances unless somebody shows me that written in the law books though. Not that I own a handsfree kit anyway.
    The legislation is pretty clear...

.— (1) A person shall not while driving a mechanically propelled vehicle in a public place hold a mobile phone.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2006/en/act/pub/0023/sec0003.html

Edit: Generally if my phone rings, I check who is ringing, and if I know the number, I answer and say "I'm driving, I'll ring ye back". Normally check to make sure no danger around before I answer it though.
    Also what is with the idiots that put their phone on speaker, and then holder it and continue to speak. Mindless idiots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

The amount of people I see on the phone every day is shocking; I commute on my bike so I filter pass lots of cars. On the phone, fixing make-up, even reading the fcuking paper!!!

I often wonder where these people are, because when threads like this pop up everybody always states they never engage in these behaviours.

Odysseus wrote: »
    The amount of people I see on the phone every day is shocking; I commute on my bike so I filter pass lots of cars. On the phone, fixing make-up, even reading the fcuking paper!!!

I often wonder where these people are, because when threads like this pop up everybody always states they never engage in these behaviours.
    Filter??? As in weave unpredictably between cars bumping into mirrors? You sir are one reason we need hands free kits in the first place, bicyclists, just one more thing to run over by mistake.. Can bicyclyiststs use a phone while riding??? Does it not distract them??? Someone dull will be along in a minute to quote the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I voted 'I do it all the time, nothing wrong with it'

But I don't believe there's nothing wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

dar1 wrote: »
    Pc Claire Van Deurs Goss
    4 post and 3 mentions of Pc Claire Van Deurs Goss.
    Someone is an angry man :D

Filter??? As in weave unpredictably between cars bumping into mirrors? You sir are one reason we need hands free kits in the first place, bicyclists, just one more thing to run over by mistake.. Can bicyclyiststs use a phone while riding??? Does it not distract them??? Someone dull will be along in a minute to quote the law.

I thought he meant a motorbike.

biko wrote: »
    4 post and 3 mentions of Pc Claire Van Deurs Goss.
    Someone is an angry man :D
    He has bad memories of "Bros". Matt stole his burd. He has hated the Goss family ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I do it, guilty.
    Sending texts increases your risks of crashing.
    Anything that distracts you is bad.

IMO drinking coffee is probably worse than talking on the phone, is for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I do it, guilty.
    Sending texts increases your risks of crashing.
    Anything that distracts you is bad.

IMO drinking coffee is probably worse than talking on the phone, is for me anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Never. I don't have a phone. I understand you can switch phones off so you would never need to answer one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

I text and talk on the phone all the time while driving (fast), often while smoking and drinking a coffee at the same time. Its called multitasking. Stopping to take/make a call is in my opinion a waste of time.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Feathers

Are they exempt from the hazards too? There's no need for them to be on the (handheld) phone while driving. They, more than anyone else should have handsfree kits installed in their vayhickles.

They, more than anyone else, are likely to have done advanced driving courses. They are also likely to see other motorists around them driving in a much slower and more predictable manner, so I'd say the hazards are less than other drivers.

Feathers wrote: »
    They, more than anyone else, are likely to have done advanced driving courses. They are also likely to see other motorists around them driving in a much slower and more predictable manner, so I'd say the hazards are less than other drivers.
    Almost all true, apart from the bit after "They, ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I was going to say you can't miss me as I ride big bikes, headlight always on, loud pipe, then I thought about all the times I heard "sorry mate I didn't see you.

I don't use one myself, but you can get a hands free fitted into a helmet. Fcuk I don't even get any music to listen to. Apart from when I'm on the vespa, my other bike range from 400cc-650cc, they give me enough power to get away from anyone I see on a phone, doing make-up etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Feathers wrote: »

I was speaking to a guy who worked for a company who had a contract to install tracking devices in Garda squad cars, so their movements and location could be monitored. The devices were installed, at great public expense, and unceremoniously "uninstalled" by gardai within the day! I guess some people don't like to have their movements monitored too closely.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Feathers

Almost all true, apart from the bit after "They, ...

I'm not saying it's safe for them to do it, but are you saying that you don't notice other drivers driving more carefully when the cops are around? If so, surely it must be statistically safer for them to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The number of guards who use their mobile while driving is astonishing.
    I keep noticing that too, it's crazy how often I see a guard driving while on the phone. I don't see how they've any excuse, if it's official business surely it would be coming through the CB radio? So I'm guessing these are mostly private calls.

I use my phone while driving very rarely and when I do I usually have to hang up because I can't hear anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Mr Keek

I use my phone, but always with a bluetooth ear piece, so easy and only cost about €20, my phone car charger charges the ear piece so hardly any clutter in the car.

Just switch on blue tooth as i walk to the car, and flick on the ear piece before the seatbelt goes on, the phone and the earpiece pair automatically. It only takes seconds....therefore i have zero sympathy for people who get done for use of mobile phone.

I believe the Guards should also be bound to this particular rule at least, its proven that it is unsafe. We all hear the ad about being 5 times more likely to be in an accident when using a phone. Being on duty doesnt make it acceptable. Its their job to assist with the health and safety of the public. They are putting themselves and other road users at risk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭burgermasters

Handsfree kits arent allowed either btw. I know somebody that got pulled over and penalty points for it. He said "but its on a handsfree kit" and was told it doesnt matter.

the law states that you cant hold the device in your hand while driving you CANNOT be done for talking on hands free kit as it is like being done for talking to a passenger the is sitting beside you while driving.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I always do this.

Checking the news, e-mail, reading websites etc... while in traffic.

Very rarely text while actually moving, I can see how it could easily cause a crash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Nope, never! There is no phone call that is EVER going to be that urgent that you can't pull over or call someone back.

You never know what emergency there might be. And using the phone for calling emergency services or gardai while driving is not illegal.

I have seen people pull into the hard shoulder on motorways to use the mobile. That is more dangerous than just continuing on the motorway while using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

I cannot understand people who think that they are not breaking the law by Holding the Phone in their Hand and Think its ok because its on Loudspeaker.
    C'mon get with programme, a twenty euro bluetooth earpiece is a lot cheaper than the fines and the penalty points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

Is it an offence to stop in the hard shoulder and take / make a non emergency call ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

1) Garda vehicles are not fitted with handsfree kits, they should be but they aren't so maybe complain to Mr. Shatter about that one?

2) There are some calls that Gardai would prefer not to broadcast all over Tetra and therefore phone the info rather than radio it (my OH has a Tetra unit that broadcasts the entire Division at once on it (though i'm fairly sure he can select just his own station he seems to have it on county wide all the time) would you want sensitive info broadcast to 20+ stations 100+ Gardai

3) I've never actually messed with a Tetra radio but the old radio required you to hold down a button to talk (and keep holding while broadcasting) at least the phone doesnt need that

4) Most Gardai are actually trained to a higher level of driving than your average Joe Soap. (The Chiefs permission is gone the way of the Dodo (around here anyway))

On topic
    I have a Parrot CK3200 in my car which activates automatically when i turn on the engine & have auto answer set up for the phone when on handsfree
    Hubby has a snazzier version in his car but same set up so we only use handsfree when driving my phone is generally in the handbag on the floor, on silent so i don't get distracted by texts