Man who disrupted boat race is jailed for 6 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Deport him.

Dr House rowed in the boat race I'll have you know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Here's one of those Oxford-scarf-wearing brats ruining a game of soccerball
    (Horrible music)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭Terrontress

It's interesting that most people will accept this as fair, were happy that David Gilmour's son got a year for swinging off the cenotaph and that man who wrote something on his t-shirt about the dead police officers got a custodial sentence.

But they seem quite hacked off at the Pussy Riot sorts being jailed for running in to a church and screaming some nonsense.

They all don't seem very dissimilar to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Pussy Riot were pretty much jailed at the behest of Putin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭Terrontress

mike65 wrote: »
    Pussy Riot were pretty much jailed at the behest of Putin.

Whereas Gilmour's son was jailed at the behest of the newspapers.

I am not saying one is right or one is wrong but there seems to be a big fuss in the UK about Pussy Riot when their own justice system is not averse to jailing people for offending the sensibilities of the majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

I didn't care about Pussy Riot initially, but when Madonna started mouthing about them, i hoped they got life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

This thread is about an offender getting jail time? Do the crime, do the time. His choice to be an idiot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Good result I say dear chap. High jinks of this order have no place at Henley.

Henley ?

I take it geography isn't your strong point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Community service would have been better. Why waste tax payers money on a non violent offender like this. Madness that he finds himself up shits creek without a paddle.

Those sentences are reserved for the likes of Justin Lee Collins who systemically abused his girlfriend for a number of years... nowhere near as bad as some eejit getting in the way of a row-boat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Allyall wrote: »

Could they not just restart it? It doesn't have to be immediately....
    Also, Usain Bolt running in the Olympics 100m WORLD event, is not nearly the same as two teams in London.

Anne Molyneux- Circuit Judge (crime)

No. The tide is too fast to race outside of the very small time window just around high tide. And they can't just arbitrarily close the Thames to do it on another weekend. Once it was stopped, that was it. The hard work of 18 people ruined, the year of work for nothing, 'cause of one selfish twat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

And the nomination for the most 'ill thought out and pointless' post of the year goes to -
    why would anyone care about a load of billionairs racing in rowing boats? they should go to jail too haha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 179 ✭✭King Of Wishful Thinking

Again, it all just comes down to money - has fcuk all to do with anything else.

The guy disrupted a prestigious event and so the judge is showboating (forgive the pun) in an obvious effort to appease those who were put out by the event having to be delayed.

Six months in prison for delaying a race is a total and utter nonsense, considering the amount of suspended sentences that get dished out over here regularly for vicious assaults and the like.

Can't for the life of me understand how anyone could it is justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

why would anyone care about a load of billionairs racing in rowing boats? they should go to jail too haha

No chance of any hyperbole then ....... ? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Disrupted a boat race ?

That's a paddlin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Fcuked up a national event that a bunch of people have trained for to be a twat.

Good enough for him.

With the crimes that go unpunished you think that this deserved a 6 month jail sentence?

If is had been a race between two lesser known universities nothing like this would have happened.

Money certainly talked in this instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Kurz wrote: »
    Six months is a stupid amount of time for this, any amount of prison time would be stupid for such a nothing-offense.

This is the fascist police state of England :)

Yeah sure ....... :rolleyes:

Again, it all just comes down to money - has fcuk all to do with anything else.
    Ahhh so financial crimes by bankers should be ignored because it's only about money .... yeah ... we can go with that ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Spot on, public nuisance me hole. The race was restarted 30 minutes later and now gets 6 months to ponder it. Pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I stopped reading after "In a period where many people have died following benefit cuts". Talk about hyperbole. Many people die after benefit increases and many people die after benefit stays the same. In general many people die regularly.

In fact, i make this post after many people have died since my previous post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Wonder what the Leeds fan who assaulted Sheff Wed Goalkeeper Chris Kirkland tonight will get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

kfallon wrote: »
    Wonder what the Leeds fan who assaulted Sheff Wed Goalkeeper Chris Kirkland tonight will get?

Leeds will be fined £40,000,000 either way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

kfallon wrote: »

I'd guess a year or more. Deservedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

There I was , having a bit of a swim - next thing two big fecking boats full of oars and things, and I end up in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,008 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

kincsem wrote: »
    This thread is about an offender getting jail time? Do the crime, do the time. His choice to be an idiot.

their was no crime, no he shouldn't be doing any time either, waste of time money and resources again, offending the upper class and the daily male readers is no reason for jail time, if we jailed people for being an idiot we'd most lightly have had everyone in jail at some stage, not surprised though people agree with it, they think jail should be used to sort out all problems mean while theirs no space for actual criminals.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

their was no crime, no he shouldn't be doing any time either, waste of time money and resources again, offending the upper class and the daily male readers is no reason for jail time, if we jailed people for being an idiot we'd most lightly have had everyone in jail at some stage, not surprised though people agree with it, they think jail should be used to sort out all problems mean while theirs no space for actual criminals.

If someone ran onto the pitch in the All Ireland Football Final and nicked all the balls so the game had to be stopped for 30mins as a protest against something or other he didn't like about the GAA would you feel the same?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

CatFromHue wrote: »
    If someone ran onto the pitch in the All Ireland Football Final and nicked all the balls so the game had to be stopped for 30mins as a protest against something or other he didn't like about the GAA would you feel the same?

Do you think they'd get six months in jail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

how much time...will he actually do......

there lies the farce........the law was broken......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

how much time...will he actually do......

there lies the farce........the law was broken......

He shouldn't do any time. The farce is that the inheritance class in the UK make a mockery of the law. If this man disrupted a boat race between Hull Polytechnic and Bromley Technical College then he would have gotten a warning and maybe a fine.