Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What will it take to get you out on the street protesting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭N17er

Sorry im too busy in march. April maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Why does the protest have to be in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

Super-Rush wrote: »

I've been to carlow ... that is all !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭The Irish Riddler

its where the head of government is located and the obvious focal point of the march.

Little point marching on the county council in Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

get off our asses

Wait. You have an ass??

Fecking Mexicans with their free fecken donkeys from the social. No wonder the country is in a mess.
    /mumble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Where To wrote: »
    I want free cake

I suppose you'll be wanting to eat it too.....pfft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭N17er

Because protests outside of Dublin generally involve lots of slowly moving tractors and people with buckets collecting money for multi millionaires. embarrassing stuff really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Jesus, these E numbers sound cancerous!

On a Saturday morning you see small badly organised protests that amount to little more than a minor traffic disruption.

That's an early house not a protest.

If the quinns can get 4,000 to show up to a march to stop them being jailed from hiding E500m from taxpayers surely boards can organise a larger march to have more (or some at least) income after mortgage/rent & bills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

alphabeat wrote: »
    * opens fine wine and polishes monocle *
    *brandy at the ready for swirling*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

its where the head of government is located and the obvious focal point of the march.

Little point marching on the county council in Mayo.

I'd sooner march to a ministers house than the Dail.

He/she's more likely to be at home than doing their actual job.

What organisation would you respect enough to support their march?

This one. It's an excellent march. Clap along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

There is a lot of talk about protesting against the austerity measures/increased tax and new stealth taxes/paying E62bn to foreign bondholders/mick wallace getting E42k expenses on top of a E92k salary/household and water charges/welfare tourism ect ect ect.

When Enda Kenny was on the cover of Time magazine (a well respected internationally distributed publication) he was asked why the Irish people were not protesting.

On a Saturday morning you see small badly organised protests that amount to little more than a minor traffic disruption.

There are a lot of people who read boards and this is an ideal place to organise a mass protest that would get the governments attention and make them realise that they can't keep pushing us closer to the edge with each subsequent budget.

We have to stop giving out about all the cuts and get off our asses and make our out of touch public representatives aware of how difficult they have made things for us by bowing to EU (German) pressure.

Are YOU willing to show up to a protest march in Dublin?

Besides a march what else would YOU be willing to do in order to make the government aware they have bled us dry and there is no more to give?

Everyone has to pitch in or it will be too easy to ignore the minority who do speak up.
    Best of luck with that.

Bitterly yours,
    Someone who tried this before and ended up being the subject of ridicule in a national newspaper. And FF were still in power at the time.

Eat more bacon. It tastes really good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

I'm not a recipient of social welfare and don't depend on the government for anything. Should I care about the cuts? pacman

We can organise it for a weekday to get ye out of school for the day. Obviously not the place for a proper discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,392 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Bet this guy is thinking of the Children, also bet it's very hot where he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I'm not a recipient of social welfare and don't depend on the government for anything. Should I care about the cuts? pacman
    Minimum PRSI should be 29%.
    I'm not joking.

We can organise it for a weekday to get ye out of school for the day. Obviously not the place for a proper discussion.

After Hours not place for sensible discussion revelation shocker!

Careful where you throw those toys, that one nearly hit me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,392 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

No but you should damn well care about the cuts to hospital services, transport, etc and the lack of cuts to funding for dead banks and wanker politicans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Cuts are so bad for the smiley face family now, never mind not having a 'pot to p1ss in', these aren't even left with a colon:mad:

OK - on a serious note. Can I ask did you march the night the debate and decision was made about the Bank Guarantee? I did. And I didn't see too many there. And it made fck all difference.

Now you want to march after all the bondholders have been paid and the banks bailed out and the country is screwed.

Well done, too late for me, done and outta here. Screw paying for apathy.

I agree marching has a limited use but it gives people a way to vent and basically make the policians think of the consequences at the next general election.

Besides marching what can we do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

There is a lot of talk about protesting against the austerity measures/increased tax and new stealth taxes/paying E62bn to foreign bondholders/mick wallace getting E42k expenses on top of a E92k salary/household and water charges/welfare tourism ect ect ect.

When Enda Kenny was on the cover of Time magazine (a well respected internationally distributed publication) he was asked why the Irish people were not protesting.

There are a lot of people who read boards and this is an ideal place to organise a mass protest that would get the governments attention and make them realise that they can't keep pushing us closer to the edge with each subsequent budget.

We have to stop giving out about all the cuts and get off our asses and make our out of touch public representatives aware of how difficult they have made things for us by bowing to EU (German) pressure.

Are YOU willing to show up to a protest march in Dublin?

Besides a march what else would YOU be willing to do in order to make the government aware they have bled us dry and there is no more to give?

Everyone has to pitch in or it will be too easy to ignore the minority who do speak up.

There is already a planned national anti austerity protest set for the 24 of November which Il be attending.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=81108423&postcount=9424

Am Chile wrote: »
    There is already a planned national anti austerity protest set for the 24 of November which Il be attending.

http://m.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=81108423&postcount=9424
    I wasnt aware of that. See you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I'd be up for this. Pints afterwards in Dr.Bollocko's house? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

I agree marching has a limited use but it gives people a way to vent and basically make the policians think of the consequences at the next general election.

Besides marching what can we do?

All depends a route of a march and the numbers-my thoughts would be march down some of the busiest streets-march down o connel street,walk as slowly as possible, march over across the on connel bridge, march down the quay to the train station go around the other side and march back up blocking up the some of the busiest roads, march over the connel bridge again, march up to the dail then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Am Chile wrote: »
    All depends a route of a march and the numbers-my thoughts would be march down some of the busiest streets-march down o connel street,walk as slowly as possible, march over across the on connel bridge, march down the quay to the train station go around the other side and march back up blocking up the some of the busiest roads, march over the connel bridge again, march up to the dail then.

Orange is a power color. It is one of the healing colors. It is said to increase the craving for food. It also stimulates enthusiasm and creativity. Orange means vitality with endurance. People who like orange are usually thoughtful and sincere. Lady luck's color is orange.

We could wear orange for lady luck and to show we are thoughtful and sincere.We could bang drums so the politicians are sure to hear us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

the problem with protesting in this country is the ULA or some other group of troublemakers get involved and what starts out as a peaceful march for whatever cause ends up having it's message corrupted and a load of scummers looking to cause trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Marching's been done and it didn't work. We need something new!