Trial by Internet - Amanda Todd

• 16-10-2012 05:37PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭

Some of you may have heard the story of Amanda Todd, the 15 year old Canadian girl who was found dead on October 10 after killing herself to escape cyber bullies.

Today an internet hacking group named 'Anonymous' posted a video online naming a man which the group claims posted the topless pictures of the girl online, which led to Todd's suicide.
    The video claims the man is a 32-year-old former Facebook employee from British Columbia

This video has sparked outrage among the 'supporters' of Todd with people saying this man should 'sleep with one eye open' and that he will be 'punished'.

This video has 27,000 views in it's first day and is gaining a lot of publicity, the last person I'd want to be at this moment is the man named in the video who a lot of people are already assuming guilty of bullying this girl.

What's your view on this "trial by Internet"

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2218532/Amanda-Todd-Anonymous-names-man-drove-teen-kill-spreading-nude-pictures.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭shinikins

What's your view, OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Wasn't there another story a few days ago about a journalist threatening to unmask a member of Anonymous and he begged and cried like a little bitch that yer man didn't go ahead with it.

The world is full of retards. Personally I couldn't give the tiniest of shites what happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭PC CDROM

Death by Fire for Her!!!!!

no wait...

Death by Fire for Him!!!!

That it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

It's hardly ''anonymous''. Everyone knows Stephen Hawking's voice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

No. Just.....no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Sometimes I wish the internet wasn't here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Wasn't there another story a few days ago about a journalist threatening to unmask a member of Anonymous and he begged and cried like a little bitch that yer man didn't go ahead with it.

The world is full of retards. Personally I couldn't give the tiniest of shites what happens

Was that not Violentacrez, the reddit mod who ran such lovely subreddits as :

• Chokeabitch
    • Niggerjailbait
    • Rapebait
    • Hitler
    • Jewmerica
    • Misogyny
    • Incest
    • Creepshots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

If you have proof of something then go to the cops, don't go posting videos online.

Who's to say if they've got it right? They could easily ruin a guy's life because they want to be vigilantes and wear a mask from a sh*tty film and talk like Stephen Hawking.

"But who polices the police?"
    "I dunno - Coast Guard?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

At what stage is the irony of revealing another's identity via the internet from behind a mask lost on these people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Is that the same Anonymous who bullied the fk out of an 11 year old and her Dad a couple of years ago?
    They done goofed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Anonymous needs to follow through with some things. They always threaten people but rarely do anything about it.

Where's the fun in that?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

This is Amanda Todd's video. (Quite upsetting)

Based on that, if Anonymous HAVE found him then I couldn't care less what happened to him. What an animal. Seeing as he spammed the picture to several students in several schools when Amanda was moving around schools, it probably wouldn't be too hard to track him down from that.

B0jangles wrote: »

• Chokeabitch
    • Niggerjailbait
    • Rapebait
    • Hitler
    • Jewmerica
    • Misogyny
    • Incest
    • Creepshots

Could have been, I dunno. All these stories about victims of abuse and the faux white-knights of the internet looking for revenge have all melded into one big annoying and repetitive tabloid-esque story in my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Based on that, if Anonymous HAVE found him then I couldn't care less what happened to him. What an animal. Seeing as he spammed the picture to several students in several schools when Amanda was moving around schools, it probably wouldn't be too hard to track him down from that.

But why should we take their word for it? If they have proof they should send it to the cops investigating her death.

Could have been, I dunno. All these stories about victims of abuse and the faux white-knights of the internet looking for revenge have all melded into one big annoying and repetitive tabloid-esque story in my head.

To be honest, I'm 100% behind the outing of the reddit guy, he actively promoted grotesque invasions of other people's privacy for "teh lolz", seems only fair that he should have a (lesser) version of the same thing done to him.

This thing though, this is different - did this guy actually do what they are accusing him of? At this stage it barely matters, the internet is going to come round to his house and f*ck him up regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

This thing though, this is different - did this guy actually do what they are accusing him of? At this stage it barely matters, the internet is going to come round to his house and f*ck him up regardless.

They could have the wrong person and could have ruined this guys life. If it isn't him that put those pictures up, what happens if he commits suicide because of people harassing him.. Then this Anonymous group will be no better than the person/people who bullied Todd

It's a serious accusation to make

To be honest, I'm 100% behind the outing of the reddit guy, he actively promoted grotesque invasions of other people's privacy for "teh lolz", seems only fair that he should have a (lesser) version of the same thing done to him.

Have all of those subreddits been removed now? Does Reddit itself bear no responsibility whatsoever for allowing that stuff on its site in the first place?

If the guy was breaking any laws then it's the police that should be dealing with it imo, not journalists, anonymous or the busybody public-at-large. The same goes for the story about the girl that ended her own life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

• Chokeabitch
    • Niggerjailbait
    • Rapebait
    • Hitler
    • Jewmerica
    • Misogyny
    • Incest
    • Creepshots

Gawker ran a story unveiling him, Reddit...the bastion of Free Speech with it's fights against the likes of Sopa and ACTA then removed all trace of the article from reddit, made posting the link a banable offence and basically tried to shut down all conversation about it.

So yeah, Free Speech for them, **** you for everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Lollers

This kid was teenager and this Dick spread her picture around the net because it was there. Please die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

People need to educated their children on the dangers of using the internet, but all evidence should be handed to the Gardai to be filed away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Surely, the police will look into this at this point. There are multiple charges that could be leveled against someone sending nude pictures of a 12 year old across the internet.

Have all of those subreddits been removed now? Does Reddit itself bear no responsibility whatsoever for allowing that stuff on its site in the first place?

If the guy was breaking any laws then it's the police that should be dealing with it imo, not journalists, anonymous or the busybody public-at-large. The same goes for the story about the girl that ended her own life.

Reddit's admins adhere to a very "hands off" - style, it took serious campaigning and media outing for them for them to finally crackdown on the paedophile subreddit "Jailbait".

I've heard it said elsewhere that they happily used Violentacrez as a sort of tongs with which to handle the really vile material in order to distance themselves from it while still maintaining the idea of 100% guaranteed free-speech.

It appears they misinterpreted "free speech" to mean "consequence free speech"

Lollers wrote: »
    This kid was teenager and this Dick spread her picture around the net because it was there. Please die.

How do you know it was the guy being talked about in the OP? Do you really trust the investigations of a group of unknown people enough to wish harm on him? Seems kinda extreme to me.

Also, she posted the picture to the guy in the first place. Not that it excuses his actions in any way, but the picture certainly wasn't 'just there'... she willingly shared it with others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Lollers

How do you know it was the guy being talked about in the OP? Do you really trust the investigations of a group of unknown people enough to wish harm on him? Seems kinda extreme to me.

Also, she posted the picture to the guy in the first place. Not that it excuses his actions in any way, but the picture certainly wasn't 'just there'... she willingly shared it with others.

but I think she was a vulnerable teenager. I think there must be something deeper going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

I hope it really it is the right guy and TBH I can't really be too upset over what anonymous are doing. What he did was fcuking nasty.

I can forgive other things a lot easier - people make mistakes and do stupid things all the time, but doing something systematic is evil. Once something is done systematically - abuse, bullying etc., the damage done is horrific.

It is same as the difference between manslaughter and murder. There was intent, repeated intent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Anonymous are just full of crap really! even when they're out doing good, It's just because they see themselves as these great mercenaries. When all they really are is pimple faced, insincere hypocrites who live in Mammy's basement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

No, she did not. She flashed on webcam, she did not send him him any pictures. She was 12 and with friends..easy for something like that to happen with dares etc.

What he did with that photo was set up facebook accounts pretending to be a new student at each school she moved to, and then spam the photo to all of those students after ingratiating himself with them. How can she be in any blamed for the actions of a complete psychopath? She was not even of the age of a rational adult at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

This is Amanda Todd's video. (Quite upsetting)

Based on that, if Anonymous HAVE found him then I couldn't care less what happened to him. What an animal.

Agree.

Many seem fixated on Anonymous here, Anonymous isn't the issue. The kunt who destroyed that young girls life is the issue. When you behave in a manner which is beyond the parameters of common human decency. Then you deserve a fate which is outside the parameters of said decency. I can only hope that the sick, slimy bástard who's responsible, meets a fate befitting his actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

My general opinion on this is if the guy is guilty, was behind the torture of this girl and used the internet to do it...well, the internet leading to his own destruction is certainly a fitting end.

Many seem fixated on Anonymous here, Anonymous isn't the issue.

Yes it is. It's what the thread is about.

A group of faceless randomers have released the name and address of someone that may not even be guilty of anything, and threatened him with violence. They should have just reported it to the police rather than do it publicly and prejudicially. That doesn't help anyone, and could in fact be detrimental to the case and investigation overall.