Feile. And all things Feile.

• 15-10-2012 01:24PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭

Myself and a friend were talking about the Cavan Fleadh, shehad been this year.

I remarked it sounded like Feile in Thurles, however she was too young to have attendedthen.

So I got to talking about Feile and what it was like, what Iremember of it (?!?!?)

I never purchased a ticket but I went twice, just hangingaround the campsites, and drinking in Thurles.

What were your memories and experience….good and bad.

Do you think that they were more innocent times?

If they moved Oxegen to a town like Thurles now, would therebe wide spread mayhem…

....or am I being an ol’ cantankerous git?!??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,320 ✭✭✭weiland79

The first lady i ever had 'relations' with i met in Thurles. We had pitched our tent in someones backgarden, i think we paid them something like a tenner a night to do so.

We didn't have tickets either, so spent the weekend 'relating':pac: in the tent.

I did however manage to score a wristband and bunked into rage against the machine.

good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Dueling Banjos is the only tune you need for a Feile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I remember watching the news after the bombings in Omagh. It pictured the main street, with bodies everywhere, people holding each other up, the place a complete wreck.

During the broadcast, a friend walked into the room, took a quick glance at the TV and said - in total innocence - "Is Feile back on this year?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭TheFruitarian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Who or what is a Feile?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

LordSutch wrote: »
    Who or what is a Feile?

An opportunity for boggers to try make themselves feel important

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

It was great, I went twice. It was all very innocent when you look back on it, but we thought we were wild. The second year someone ripped my armband off mid mosh (by accident) and I went and cried to the security guard so hard he gave me a second one. I can't even remember any of the bands, except James. And this English freak show troop featuring a man who swung an iron out of his willy (attached via a hook in the head of his penis). Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

By boggers I presume you mean those not living in our junkie infested capital?

LordSutch wrote: »
    Who or what is a Feile?

It was a 3 day music festival held in Thurles in the early/mid 90s. A bit like Oxygen, but with fewer scummers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

Those poor poor people at the end of that clip. Being forced to pass the time observing the song and the band and even applauding at the end cos none of them appear to have a camera phone to view it through. Heart breaking scenes looking back at 1991 now. And at 2.22 theres clearly a plume of cigarette smoke. JESUS MOTHA... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭FANTAPANTS

i remember house of pain 1 year but it was a bit of a blur!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,075 ✭✭✭gman2k

It was a 3 day music festival held in Thurles in the early/mid 90s. A bit like Oxygen, but with fewer scummers.

I remember getting of the train in Thurles around midday Friday, and there were two guys on the street outside buckled beyond belief.
    One was slumped down on the ground against the wall, and the other was standing over him, pi$$ing on his head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭keith_d99

Feile 90.jpg

Feile 92.jpg

Feile 93.jpg

May jog a few memories.

Started in Thurles 1990, finished in Cork in 1995 (Stone Roses, Blur, Orbital with an epic set to finish it, Underworld, Leftfield ... even Kylie played - joined on stage by Nick Cave).

Moved to the Point after that I think.

Was at all the outdoor ones from 1990 to 1995.

No gourmet food stalls back then ...... breakfast was queueing in somebody's hallway in Thurles for a homecooked £5 fryup!
    A crazy mix of acts down the years .... Anything from Primal Scream to Bryan Adams?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭TheFruitarian

keith_d99 wrote: »
    Feile Line Ups

Christ, looking at those really does show good music was back then as almost all those bands would sell out gigs if they played today. Compare that to the this year's Electric Picnic for instance where you will be lucky if in 20 years anyone remembers even 20% of those that performed, let alone would be willing to pay and see them in 2032.

It was great, I went twice. It was all very innocent when you look back on it, but we thought we were wild. The second year someone ripped my armband off mid mosh (by accident) and I went and cried to the security guard so hard he gave me a second one. I can't even remember any of the bands, except James. And this English freak show troop featuring a man who swung an iron out of his willy (attached via a hook in the head of his penis). Good times.

The Jim Rose Circus sideshow!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Mammanabammana

Ah that poster for August 1 1993 brings me back - I had headed down for the day to see Madness, arrived during a blistering Sultans of Ping set, stayed for Squeeze, disappeared for the next few acts, caught a great Madness set, stuck around to watch Chris DeBurgh cos the train wasn't for another hour or something and had the unexpected bonus of an Irish dancer who came on for Patricia the stripper and cavorted around topless, much to the outrage and moral indignation of the redtops the following weekend...bizarrely, it all seems quite innocent looking back at it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭RayCon

Feile 90.jpg

Feile 92.jpg

Feile 93.jpg

May jog a few memories.

I was at '91 (you didn't list that poster :() ... I remember Ride, That Petrol Emotion, The Pogues, The Farm, The Happy Mondays, The Mock Turtles, Frank Blank ... dont remember much else ... 'cept the Hari Krishna tent in the racecourse campsite

RayCon wrote: »
    I was at '91 (you didn't list that poster :() ... I remember Ride, That Petrol Emotion, The Pogues, The Farm, The Happy Mondays, The Mock Turtles, Frank Blank ... dont remember much else ... 'cept the Hari Krishna tent in the racecourse campsite

Don't have that one .... was probably the best lineup of the lot! All the best indie bands at the time all played the Friday night.

Correct .... Hari Krishnas used to even hand out free food?!?
    While they were chanting on stage in the tent .... their tent poles were pulled up and everything from their mirophones to their sandals were taken (and subsequently given back).

Silent raves in the stand of the racecourse too

gman2k wrote: »
    I remember getting of the train in Thurles around midday Friday, and there were two guys on the street outside buckled beyond belief.
    One was slumped down on the ground against the wall, and the other was standing over him, pi$$ing on his head.

Ok, fair enough. I meant more that there were no knives and people off their heads on yokes (I don't remember any violence anyway). There was prodigious drunkeness though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭GirlatdRockShow

My granny used to live in Thurles and let people camp out in her garden and garage. A four year old me use think it was great craic altogether.....looking back now it probably wasn't the most suitable place for me to be!

The Jim Rose Circus sideshow!!

That's right, I couldn't remember for the life of me :). It was eye opening stuff back in the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Christ, looking at those really does show good music was back then as almost all those bands would sell out gigs if they played today. Compare that to the this year's Electric Picnic for instance where you will be lucky if in 20 years anyone remembers even 20% of those that performed, let alone would be willing to pay and see them in 2032.

Plenty of bands there who wouldn't fill a small garage if they were playing today. Also, some of those headliners are beyond awful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭TheBoss!

RayCon wrote: »

Black Crowes played that year also.

Don't remember much else.

Got knocked down when I was drunk by a Hi Ace, but wasn't a bother on me and just got up and walked on to cheers from hundreds of people :)

The heat that year was special, fcuk me. I remember the queues at Thurlus swimming pool was for miles.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

That is a pathetic post. Really it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Ah, back in the day, when people felt they had to pretend to like the Hothouse Flowers, just because they came from the same country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭bijapos

Feile was essentially a continuation of the legendary Lisdoonvarna festival and then Siamsa Cois Lee. Never went as I emigrated the year before that but I heard great things about it. I recommended it to a couple of German mates who were heading here on their hoilidays one summer, they were part shocked part elated at what they saw, changed their minds for ever!
    Feile 90.jpg

Feile 92.jpg

Feile 93.jpg

May jog a few memories.

Started in Thurles 1990, finished in Cork in 1995 (Stone Roses, Blur, Orbital with an epic set to finish it, Underworld, Leftfield ... even Kylie played - joined on stage by Nick Cave).

Moved to the Point after that I think.

Was at all the outdoor ones from 1990 to 1995.

No gourmet food stalls back then ...... breakfast was queueing in somebody's hallway in Thurles for a homecooked £5 fryup!
    A crazy mix of acts down the years .... Anything from Primal Scream to Bryan Adams?!?!

Thanks for putting up the posters, excellent line up. Mad too the prices and how the success of the event lead to "inflation" in the prices: £29 in 90', £39 two years later and £45 the year after. Still cheap compared to €200 for the Electric Picnic just over a decade later.

The stuff like camping in people gardens and people making a few bob serving breakfast wouldn't last today either. The organisers would have the HSE clamp down on them in the name of Health & Safety to protect the people who pay crazy money to have a food stall at their own events.

A more innocent but not always a worse time back then, though I think today it wouldn't be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Sarn

I only made it to the one in 1994 (Blur, Crash Test Dummies, House of Pain, The Prodigy, Bjork, The Cranberries).

The few memories are as follows:

Arriving in Thurles to see the shops boarded up and lads sitting on the top of the sign to Dublin in the centre of the town.
    Making my way to Semple stadium, every step accompanied by the crunching sound of empty beer cans littered along the way. Walking face first into the turnstile on the way in, my friend cracking up laughing at me...and then doing the same thing.:D

Some bands playing.

On the way back some poor, pissed bastard lying on the ground pissing all over himself saying "would somebody help me" repeatedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Thinly veiled "Anyone who posts on this is over 30" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I was there in 1990, 1991 and 1992. I got very very drunk each time. I had tickets each year but didn't see many of the bands due to my drunkeness. Good times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

I was at the very first one. During (I think) Deacon Blues set some nutter decided to go climbing about in the rafters of the stand i was in and fell. Brought the entire place to a stand still...he lived...