IRC Suicide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

just reading the sun at lunchtime and i noticed this story has been printed over with the irc logs aswell. (page 25)

jesus h christ :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,775 ✭✭✭JohnK

The brother of 21-year-old Brandon Vedas, who killed himself in front of a webcam after being urged to take drugs in a internet chat room, has told the BBC of his campaign to make chatrooms safer.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/technology/2773547.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

I dont know whose the bigger moron, Ripper or the utter ****tards in the room with him. All it could have taken was one intelligent person amongst them, and ripper would still be alive today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,775 ✭✭✭JohnK

To be honest I find that doubtful. Even if somebody had told him to stop chances are that that person would have been shouted down. Added to that, Ripper was trying to prove himself as can be seen from his comment “I told u I was hardcore." I don’t think he would have been easily dissuaded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Auburn

Those people in the room with him probably just thought he was bull$hitting. Sounds like he did similar things before. Sad story.
    Originally posted by logic1
    Desensitisation.

I agree. Nothing much shocks people anymore, even murders and stuff on the news. Five minutes later and they've forgotten all about it. People are becoming more and more indifferent to things because of the media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Clintons Cat

When someone stands on a ledge,
    Sometimes an idiot is going to shout JUMP
    Welcome to the Jackass Generation
    Guarunteed Idiots Online
    24/7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Koopa

im such a callous bastard, i read that thing a few weeks ago when i was bored, concluded "so what?" because ****loads of young people overdose on drugs/alchohol every day, just because this guy does it on irc hes a hero? why should we care? what i mean is, sure, his friends should care, but we're not his friends, why should we be especially touched by this? its a pity he died at such a young age, but loads of people die in much worse ways (and drug overdose is like one of the most comfortable ways to die, compared to being shot or dying of cancer or something)
    dont blame the guys on irc for not doing more, they arent his babysitters, what if they had called the cops on him, he could have gone to jail for possession of drugs - it was his own choice to take the drugs, his irc friends werent even sure if it was a hoax or not. blame society for not educating him of the dangers properly (obviously), but loads of people die from overdosing every day, whats so special about this guy?

im bored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by eth0_
    he was just some fu<ktard with a big bag o' drugs trying to be cool..

being cool on irc.
    oh sweet irony.

well, thats another fúckwit out of the gene pool.
    has anyone contacted the darwin awards yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

I don't think the channel is reflective of IRC people in general.

Take IOL for example. (Note: Story was told to me by IOL person so factual or not I don't know :) )

On IOL IRC someone just before logging off said something along the lines of "I've had enough I'm ending it all" and logged out. One of the people in the channel thought they meant they were committing suicide, so they contacted the police/IOL and were able to track down who the person was to check up on them. Turned out he meant he had enough of IRC and was going to bed.

The point being there are people out there that take it seriously. All the fuknuts in the channel were probably either stupid beyond compare or didn't realise what was going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Kastro

i dont know why but i wanna see that video.. its not that i like disturbing images.. its just loads of ppl have seen it an im curious to see it.

i take it you mean the chechynan soldier video? :/

its really not anything to want to see, its absoloutley foul..

but if you really wanna freak yourself out the name of the video was face of death or summin like that :(

but i highly advise against watching it if you plan on keeping your stomach intact!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Originally posted by Lemming
    Off topic, but in relation to the above quote, an image is bad enough. I was shown an mpeg clip of some "propoganda" footage of checyan rebels slitting the throat of a young, terrified russian soldier they captured.

The mpeg was only a few seconds long, but I can still picture it now. F*cking sick.

Poor kid was terrified, bound, and lying on the ground and they just plunged a knife into his throat and sawed it open :(

Something I never, ever want to see again /shudders/. How people can enjoy watching this sh*t I have no idea!

lemming i saw that about 3 days ago...and since i havnt been able to get it outa my head....how i wish i hada been told what it was b4 i clicked it : / really really disturbing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lorax

I saw that video of the russian officer being executed too..
    Its the sickest thing ive ever seen in all my life and the music too just makes it even worse :(
    My god its sick, you might be tempted to download it out of curiousity but DONT.. trust me its not worth it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Mystic Fibrosis

That chechnyan thing....I dont see why that disturbs people. I mean, I think about that all the time, just like walking down the street and just imagining myself killing everyone. Im not trying to sound "ard" or any of that crap but its something I like to entertain....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lorax

Originally posted by Mystic Fibrosis
    That chechnyan thing....I dont see why that disturbs people. I mean, I think about that all the time, just like walking down the street and just imagining myself killing everyone. Im not trying to sound "ard" or any of that crap but its something I like to entertain....

Seek help... immediately..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

quote:
    Originally posted by Mystic Fibrosis

quote:
    the music too just makes it even worse----

well you have been a bit de-sensitize0rd
    ...and thats ok...but not understanding why it upsets other people is just rediculous.....

what was the music like? i had my speakers turned off thank god.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Mad_Patrick

As for as the guy who topped himself on the net, I say good, the world is better off without people going into chat rooms threatening to kill themselves. I would have egged him on, teased him into taking more. If there are copy cats, great. The gene pool is that little bit cleaner now. Anyone who wants to cry about it should find someone a little more deserving of sympathy, they're easy to find. The Russian soldier thing is VERY bad, but the most disturbing thing I've seen is the black and white mpeg where this guy in a suit holds a press conference, takes a gun out of a paper bag, puts it in his mouth and pulls the trigger. A close upon his face shows a river of blood running from his nose. Proper fu(ked. The saddest part is that he already mucked up the gene pool by having kids. Its on punchbaby.com somewhere if your curious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

hmmm looks like that guy who killed himself has earned a nomination for the Darwin Awards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

Hey Mad_patrick hope you never have someone close to you commit suicide but if it did happen you'd change your tune fairly quick.

Anyway its a pity this lad died but all you little gomps coming on saying the world is a better place should really consider pulling your heads out of your arses.

IRC isn't all evil remember reading a story somewhere where a lad was having a heart attack at his computer. He logged into his regular chat room and mashed the keyboard. One of the people there knew where he lived and that he had a heart condition. She rang 911 and saved the lads life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by Thorbar
    Hey Mad_patrick hope you never have someone close to you commit suicide but if it did happen you'd change your tune fairly quick.

Read the logs, he didnt commit suicide. He killed himself accidentally in a massive show of stupidty and bravado

I TOLD YUO I WAS HADCOER

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Mad_Patrick

If someone close to me did top themselves it doesn't change the fact that it is the most selfish, cowardice thing they could do. And if someone close to me killed themselves accidentally trying to impress some chick in a chat room by ODing on something I will put my hands up and say that that is a supid thing to do to the extent that the world is better off that he didn't have kids to carry on the trail of stupidity he laid
    its a pity this lad died but all you little gomps coming on saying the world is a better place should really consider pulling your heads out of your arses.
    We are alot better without him and if you think otherwise you are the one with his head up his ass. You got toput things into perspective man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭*NemesiS*

Was at a LAN leechin a few months back and saw these two clips in a seperate folder, pulled em across and watched one, it was a video of a young woman sitting bound to a chair facing a camera with a gun to the side of her head, you could tell by the expression on her face she knew she was about to die, it was horrible, then the guy pulls the trigger and literally blows her head open, blood sprays all over the wall behind her, it was seriously shockin, i opened the second and what i gather it is is the soldier clip as all i saw was this guy on the ground with a boot on his head, a knife comes to his throat, at that i just turned it off, i knew what was coming and tbh i dont need to see that ****! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭cartman

i came across all them Faces of Death videos one night and i downloaded about 30 of them...
    saw the one with the guy gettin his neck split.. didnt find it dat disturbing saw the papper bag one was a bit weird after you see the blood pour outta his head saw the little kid gettin hit by a train that was bad too but sh*t if ye wanna look there are thousands worse ....

kazza

i really dont see the fascination in watching all those "faces of death" videos personally. Whats entertaining about watching people squal for there lives? losing there lives through physical and mental anguish/pain?

maybe im just not a morbid person but people who can watch that stuff (and even more sick, some people who even enjoy watching it) just disgust me.

Im not saying that you enjoyed it cartman but people out there do, if they didnt then these videos wouldnt exist in the first place.

Do people really get kicks out of watching others go through such pain and suffering? :(

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,029 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

wow thats f""cked up:(
    Though if someone was going on like that,I didnt really know them and I was in the irc room I would think it was a joke or that the person was some sad fool(no disrespect meant)
    If I knew them though would have an ambulance there whether I knew if it was a joke or not and it would be there tough luck if it was!
    This world gets more messed up everyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

Originally posted by *NemesiS*
    Was at a LAN leechin a few months back and saw these two clips in a seperate folder, pulled em across and watched one, it was a video of a young woman sitting bound to a chair facing a camera with a gun to the side of her head, you could tell by the expression on her face she knew she was about to die, it was horrible, then the guy pulls the trigger and literally blows her head open, blood sprays all over the wall behind her, it was seriously shockin, i opened the second and what i gather it is is the soldier clip as all i saw was this guy on the ground with a boot on his head, a knife comes to his throat, at that i just turned it off, i knew what was coming and tbh i dont need to see that ****! :(

The first one you mentioned is a fake.

you have to remember though that the "shroomery" irc network was a place for people who took drugs to chat to each other about there experiences. It wasnt your typical gaming irc network or this "a/s/l bollocks" you get on yahoo etc..

which may or may not make the whole ordeal sadder. Im only mentioning this as alot of people seem to think this was your typical yahoo chat where he just threw up a webcam of him taking copious amounts of drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭*NemesiS*

Originally posted by Frank_Grimes
    The first one you mentioned is a fake.

You might be talkin bout a dif vid i dunno, but theres no way that was a fake, if you saw the video im talkin about you'd know why, you couldn't possibly act the expression on her face as she begged for her life, i never saw anything like it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

Nemmy...it were fake...it had me for a while

the consistency of blood splattering on the wall was all wrong...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

From what I can remember, she was kind of smirking before she started talking too.