Free food and Coffee for the Gardai in some establishments.

18910111214»

• Administrators Posts: 56,583 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Boombastic wrote: »
    Parent A brings a box of maltesers
    Parent B brings a bigger, more expensive box of chocolate
    Parent c Brings a more expensive gift
    Parent D out does the Jones' and brings a bigger more expensive give
    Parent E, knows their child may fail and that the teacher has direct responsibility for marking so gives a more expensive gift......................

Now if you'll excuse me I have to go down to the local town planner to give them a gift for rezoning my land all the good work they do:)
    I am willing to bet that this has NEVER happened. Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Odysseus wrote: »
    You think that is acceptable/OK/funny? Why is it needless to say? I used to get my lunch is a few shops where they had accounts and they never engaged in behaviour like that.

Anyway I think this is a bit of a tall tale, or does that deli keep a selection of foodstuffs just out of date on display?

It was a hot counter. You know the sausages and stuff that are crisp hard because they have been there so long. Why would i make up a story so innocuous up like that. If i were making up a story i would have said the girl at the counter stuck the roll down her pants for a few seconds and then spat on it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Thread is on its last legs. That's the end of bringing in a box of chocolates to teachers at the end of the school year apparently.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Japer

Gandr wrote: »
    ive been out socially with Gardi,we used to go to nightclubs for free,hotel concerts,cut price takeaways,free drinks in most local pubs.im over 6ft tall,thse people thought i was a Gardi also and i got the same perks.

And at the end of the day, who do you think pays for all the "free" perks / corruption?

Japer wrote: »
    And at the end of the day, who do you think pays for all the "free" perks / corruption?
    Not you, so I wouldn't worry yourself.

timmywex wrote: »

The guard planner / local politician got a coffee / meal brown envelope

So do all the begrudgers....

a) Expect the gard planner / politician to just leave the coffee brown envelope ( or week in the auld apartment in Portugal ) that he/she wants?
    b) Take it for free?

Im going to say take it for free considering he/she even offered to pay for it
    fixed that for you. If one worker gets perks so should another.

awec wrote: »
    Not you, so I wouldn't worry yourself.
    yes me, me and everyone else who does not get the free coffee / booze / meals / brown envelopes.

Nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Why do cops in Ireland get free food anyway? Is it a fear thing?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

K-9 wrote: »
    Thread is on its last legs. That's the end of bringing in a box of chocolates to teachers at the end of the school year apparently.

This was an utterly stupid thread. 100% anti Garda.

All Emergency Service Personnel get discounted coffee in some petrol stations. If people have a problem with it make a complaint to the relevant petrol stations.

Why do some people offer a cup of tea to Emergency Service Workers??

Some old granny's give a cup of tea to Gardai they see walking past their house, or who call in to make sure they are ok and have actually talked to somebody that week.

If there is a house fire in an estate the odd time somebody brings a tray full of cups of tea to the firemen putting out the fire.

One weekend when I was working with a mountain rescue team searching for a presumed suicide victim and we met in a pub car park, guess what?

The landlord invited us all in for a hot cup of tea... on the house!!!!

Shock horror.

All those people are looking out for themselves....The country is corrupt from the bottom up! :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭patwicklow

Well i would not begrudge them a coffee and a snack they work hard enough dealing with all sorts this day and age one tough job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

some people seem to have no common sense at all. how can you compare a Garda getting a cup of coffee to a politician receiving a brown envelope. do you think a Gardai would abuse their authority for a cup of coffee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Turner wrote: »
    This was an utterly stupid thread. 100% anti Garda.

All Emergency Service Personnel get discounted coffee in some petrol stations. If people have a problem with it make a complaint to the relevant petrol stations.

Why do some people offer a cup of tea to Emergency Service Workers??

Some old granny's give a cup of tea to Gardai they see walking past their house, or who call in to make sure they are ok and have actually talked to somebody that week.

If there is a house fire in an estate the odd time somebody brings a tray full of cups of tea to the firemen putting out the fire.

One weekend when I was working with a mountain rescue team searching for a presumed suicide victim and we met in a pub car park, guess what?

The landlord invited us all in for a hot cup of tea... on the house!!!!

Shock horror.

All those people are looking out for themselves....The country is corrupt from the bottom up! :rolleyes::rolleyes:

In fairness I havent seen it happen. I dont particualry have a problem with it but I do see a problem with unconditional respect been shown to any group in society. That in itself causes problems.

. do you think a Gardai would abuse their authority for a cup of coffee?
    Just one cup of coffee and a snack bar per day could be worth 600 - 700 euro a year. Get stopped by the Garda on the way home from the pub slightly over....ah sure off home with ye.....a bit over the speed limit, a verbal warning....no seat belt, never noticed;)
    Would you bite the hand that fed ye? No, thought not.
    Some planners have been influenced for less.

Just one cup of coffee and a snack bar per day could be worth 600 - 700 euro a year. Get stopped by the Garda on the way home from the pub slightly over....ah sure off home with ye.....a bit over the speed limit, a verbal warning....no seat belt, never noticed;)
    Would you bite the hand that fed ye? No, thought not.
    Some planners have been influenced for less.
    I am willing to bet that people don't get away with drink driving, speeding or no seatbelt just because someone got a free coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Must throw in a €500 note in the box of chocolates to those teachers, and here ends this this thread.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.