Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

12 weeks in Jail for offensive web posts about poor April Jones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

MagicSean wrote: »
    How about her family? Or all those people out looking for her?

He wasn't jailed because he upset someone. He was jailed because his actions resulted in a breach of the peace. That is one of the limits placed on free speech. Ireland is even stricter. See section 7 of the Public Order Act.

So because a mob of scum turned up his door threatening violence over a bad joke, he's at fault? Sounds logical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

If Britain is veering towards being a fascist state, wouldn't people be out protesting? Trying to stop it? The UK prime minister does not seem like the dictator type.
    Re only material that harms others being that which warrants punishment: where should the line be drawn? Would cruel and tasteless in light of a missing/murdered child not be deemed harmful? Not saying prison is warranted at all but there's too much reference to a freedom of speech, which is mythical in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Crucify him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

There's nothing wrong with Islamophobia. Being a Muslim is a lifestyle choice, not a permanent condition like Downs syndrome or autism. Muslims ARE NOT A RACE and should be open to criticism. This pussy-liberal attitude is the reason why that Norwegian guy went nuts and killed a load of future left wingers. This will happen in Britain and I look forward to it, the West needs a wake-up call and stop suppressing its own people just to appease Muslims, ethnics and multiculturalists.

People preach hate towards Christians all the time but as soon as it's done to Muslims, it's a big problem. The left wing in the West is always criticizing Christianity and you don't see Christians holding effigies.

Savage and the Dutch politician didn't preach hate, they said they hate Islam, not Muslims. I am of the same opinion, I hate the religion, not the people.

ALL religions should be open to criticism.

You're getting a bit confused.

Muslims are adherents of Islam. You can't (well, you can) say you hate Islam and not Muslims - they are one and the same thing. That's like saying you hate Catholicism but not the exponents of Catholicism, Catholics. People are the religion especially if they are practicing the religion and not just mouthpieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭FrogMarch

Madam_X wrote: »
    If Britain is veering towards being a fascist state, wouldn't people be out protesting? Trying to stop it? The UK prime minister does not seem like the dictator type.
    Re only material that harms others being that which warrants punishment: where should the line be drawn? Would cruel and tasteless in light of a missing/murdered child not be deemed harmful? Not saying prison is warranted at all but there's too much reference to a freedom of speech, which is mythical in the first place.

Okay, fair enough. But where should the line be drawn. In this case, it's as disgusting and depraved as you can get and the guy is a complete scumbag. Or perhaps he's just a young misguided idiot? Or perhaps he's mentally ill and needs help? I mean... how can we all be so quick to judge?

Again though - I'm not sure how genuine this who case is. I find it hard to believe that it's actually true and not a media invention to try and prevent this type of thing. Once again, I shall grab my tinfoil hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Not to wider society, no. It's not an offence to offend someone's sensibilities. It's also worth remembering that it's almost certain that her parents heard about this through the media. Instead of leaving well enough alone, they felt the need to stoke the moral outrage of the moronic to sell more of their ****roll to idiots. This joke has no bearing on the outcome of the girl's case. Anyone with a shred of intelligence could tell this was an attempt at humour, there's no incitement to hate anyone or cause harm to anyone in what he said. Those that couldn't tell this was humour, or an attempt at it, also shouldn't be allowed to get away with their Neanderthal ways of justice. We shouldn't be letting society's lowest common denominator dictate what is and isn't admissable as humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭Heckler

Google "british assault suspended sentence" and read some of the first page results stories and then tell me this guy deserved jail time.

He was an insensitive idiot and stupid to boot for posting on his facebook but he does not deserve jail. This is a slippery slope.

The law is a mob-pandering ass. Self-satisified tabloid readers back slapping each other on a job well done while awaiting the next story they can get outraged about.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/magazine/4719364.stm

The same ilk. Morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,237 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Meanwhile, Justin Lee Collins gets 120 hours community service for harassing his girlfriend for months.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2012/oct/09/justin-lee-collins-guilty-harassing

It seems the UK courts prefer handing out custodial sentences to those who tell offensive jokes :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

token101 wrote: »
    So because a mob of scum turned up his door threatening violence over a bad joke, he's at fault? Sounds logical.

I agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭donegal_man

I don't agree with the rationale behind his sentence however given that there was a lynch mob hunting maybe he's better off in prison. He gets a safe place to hide until the fuss over his actions die down and the idiot squad get a chance to cool down and feel that they have achieved something without actually doing him any physical harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,605 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

If posting offensive things on the internet is now a crime, why aren't those who own Sickipedia in prison?

After all, he read it there, and reposted it, so how come he did something wrong but they didn't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,238 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

NIMAN wrote: »
    If posting offensive things on the internet is now a crime, why aren't those who own Sickipedia in prison?

After all, he read it there, and reposted it, so how come he did something wrong but they didn't?

The only reason things happened as they did because he posted it publically on facebook, as himself.

But of course if it was posted on here. User would probably be banned. That would be it.

• MagicSean wrote: »
    How about her family? Or all those people out looking for her?

He wasn't jailed because he upset someone. He was jailed because his actions resulted in a breach of the peace. That is one of the limits placed on free speech. Ireland is even stricter. See section 7 of the Public Order Act.

So you post something on Boards people don't agree with and 50 people go to your house and start throwing bricks through your windows and making death threats - would you be happy to go to jail? If not, you're a massive hypocrite. I'm pretty sure that if I were to go through all your internet posts and everything you'd ever said in public, I'd find something offensive.

Do you really think mob rule is the way to go? Why don't we start burning people at the stake while we're at it?
    CJC999 wrote: »
    I have absolutely no sympathy for him, in fact..Fuck him, he doesn't deserve his freedom. He thought he was a smart arse making sick jokes about missing and presumably dead children, so fuck him.

Yes because an ill-advised joke definitely means you deserve 3 months in prison. :rolleyes: Bit of a perspective failure there, when people commit GBH, arson and other serious crimes and get off with a slap on the wrist or a bit of community service.

IMO, anyone who seriously thinks a JOKE posted on someone's own Facebook page should result in a jail sentence has serious issues of their own to address.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Yes I absolutely do know, because my kids are not raised to be insensitive idiots, simple. I'm an attentive parent & doubt they will manage to become that in my back either, if that was ever a possibility.

Are you insinuating that parents of children who make stupid jokes raised their kids to be insensitive? That they are not attentative?

It's very possible that they will turn out to be the complete opposite of what you intended.

There's absolutely no possible way for you to tell how your children will end up. You have no way of telling what personalities they will have when they are older.

I have witnessed this so many times before, "My little lad is such an angel"... it's hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Disingenuous to say it's merely something people disagree with, and a joke - subjective. Prison though - really crazy.

• Are you insinuating that parents of children who make stupid jokes raised their kids to be insensitive? That they are not attentative?

It's very possible that they will turn out to be the complete opposite of what you intended.

There's absolutely no possible way for you to tell how your children will end up. You have no way of telling what personalities they will have when they are older.

I have witnessed this so many times before, "My little lad is such an angel"... it's hilarious.

Indeed.

And let's not forget that jokes are jokes. Some of the nicest, soundest, kindest people I know in the world have the most shocking sense of humour. Paedophile jokes are not uncommon in my circle of friends. Do I think for one minute that any of them would harm a child? No. In fact, it's the people I know who go out of their way to be offended by everything who are actually the worst people in reality. People who live for appearances and wouldn't lift a finger to help you if you had a problem.
    Disingenuous to say it's merely something people disagree with, and a joke - subjective. Prison though - really crazy.

Yes, jokes are subjective. If you don't find it funny, you don't laugh. If it's really bad, you might challenge the person and ask for an apology. You don't report the joke teller to the police.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32 tom.padraig

Lets see how much of a troll he is when the screws on Cellblock H snigger and let the other inmates know why he is in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,226 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Lets see how much of a troll he is when the screws on Cellblock H snigger and let the other inmates know why he is in prison.

Yeah, the righteous & upstanding members of society that they are. I'm sure they'll teach that silly teenager a lesson in telling jokes.

No. In fact, it's the people I know who go out of their way to be offended by everything who are actually the worst people in reality.

^ That. That is the reality of things.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32 tom.padraig

This guy will be remembered for decades by his family, friends maybe even his own grand children for his voile comments that gave him 14 days in jail.

Like all trolls empty vessels trying to make the most noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

This guy will be remembered for decades by his family, friends maybe even his own grand children for his voile comments that gave him 14 days in jail.

Like all trolls empty vessels trying to make the most noise.
    You'd know sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

The fact somebody can be given 12 weeks inside for something so stupid worries me tbh. The PC brigade and the moral highgrounders need to get a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

in own view,a better punishment woud have been to give him some community service working for a support charity/organisation who support the families of murdered children.
    it might have given him a beter understanding of what they go through and how his humour woud be taken,this woud have a far more lasting effect on his thinking than a prison term will.
    jailing him will just make him resentful of the law and no doubt encourage him to make offensive jokes without seeing the consequence it has on other people.

her body hasnt even been found yet,she is a disabled young girl,people are naturaly p-d off that some guy has the disrespect to make light of the probable murder of a very vulnerable person which is still very raw and no doubt painful for some; in peoples minds.
    he shoudnt be jailed for it but he shoud have had consequence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,196 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Blatter wrote: »
    The fact somebody can be given 12 weeks inside for something so stupid worries me tbh. The PC brigade and the moral highgrounders need to get a life.

The fact that there are people who have twisted little minds that think it's ok to make jokes about murdered children would worry me more.

I had to google this Frankie Boyle guy, Why would anyone pay a red cent to hear him make a joke about M McCann?

This thing that nothing should be off limits for comedians is bollocks IMO, who wants to hear jokes about rape and murdered kids?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

The fact that there are people who have twisted little minds that think it's ok to make jokes about murdered children would worry me more.

I had to google this Frankie Boyle guy, Why would anyone pay a red cent to hear him make a joke about M McCann?

This thing that nothing should be off limits for comedians is bollocks IMO, who wants to hear jokes about rape and murdered kids?

Does a stupid/distasteful joke about something that you have no personal connection to really upset you that much?

I honestly pity you if it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,196 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Blatter wrote: »
    Does a stupid/distasteful joke about something that you have no personal connection to really upset you that much?

I honestly pity you if it does.

I jut think it's weird that people joke about such things, I guess thats really far out thinking on my part.

Thanks for the offer of your pity but I'm grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Scary times we are living in where governments will pander to the brain dead majority in order to score brownie points with them.This nineteen year old lad wrote a joke that some people consider to be in poor taste on the internet and is sleeping in a prison cell tonight because of it.

In a world not dictated by cretins,everyone of those vigilante mouth breathers who turned up at the lads house baying for blood should have been arrested for breach of the peace.Ridiculous.We are living in the age of cynical media created hysteria and mass stupidity.

Can't wait to hear what Doug Stanhope will make of all this.

who wants to hear jokes about rape and murdered kids?

Some people do. And you know what, they're not hurting anyone. Take a look at one of Frankie Boyle's DVD's and have a look at the number of celebrities filmed in the audience. And I"m not talking Jordan here, you're talking respected athletes, politicians, etc.

Self-righteous indignant thought police frighten me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

If someone was put in jail over an offensive joke on Facebook, how long will it be before there is jail-time for bad spelling or txt spk.

That would be an escalation I would be willing to accept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

dj jarvis wrote: »
    tails_naf wrote: »
    CCTV is for your security (though they can also record sound on each street corner) you say . I'm sure 'for your own good' or a variation on them was used by every police state there ever was!
    oh they can new thing they are working on in the UK is this ,
    do you know the cats eyes on the motorways and a roads in the uk? well , they are mounting ANPR software to mini cams fitted into the cats eyes why you might ask ?
    revenue generation and intelligence collection , revenue from speeding fines along with no tax and insurance , they will be able to time your average speed and tell if your speeding for that road - BAM - 60 quid fine they are also hooking the same system into the city mounted CCTV systems ,
    along with your " smart " phone they can track you , so you are tracked in work , traveling to work , and online at home :eek:
    to me it looks like the UK get a massive hard on for these kind of gadgets , thing is
    it could have saved this kid possibly

They've been talking about this for the last 20 years and although the technology has been around for at least that amount of time, I have yet to see it used.

There is, of course, the congestion charge cameras and anpr police vehicles (both of which are in use here as well) but other than technology companies talking about what their gadgets can do, those are the only cameras in use of this type.