Boris Johnson - I don't get it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Wot? No wiff waff?

They mocked him but he was right about the Olympics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Jorah

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Must. Resist. Godwin!

Behind the bumbling facade he's a competent politician, not someone I'd trust though and doesn't have any great love for London. He's being groomed as a potential celeb PM candidate should Labour find anyone with a bit of spark and charisma (unlikely).

You should read his book about London. He loves the city and its history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

peil wrote: »
    What's wrong with Michael D?

You mean aside from him being a tosser?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

For somebody who people are saying is no idiot, you have to admit he does say an awful lot of idiotic things.

I have yet to see a high profile politician who hasn't put their foot in it at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Lapin wrote: »
    I have yet to see a high profile politician who hasn't put their foot in it at some stage.
    It's regular with him. Just like it was with George W Bush.
    What's your take on Bush?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

Notebook He's a bit like the political version of Jedward.

Public imagine aside, whatever constitutes being a good mayor would be, is he one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

It's regular with him. Just like it was with George W Bush.

I have fond memories of George W.

He gets a lot of the blame for certain policies implemented by the previous administration.

A highly unintellegent politician.

But comparing Boris Johnson with George W Bush is not comparing like with like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Reindeer

Bush makes Boris look like freakin' Socrates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

He's a really cute hoor who is very good at playing the eejit. The only thing really going for him is that Cameron is such an inept tosser.:)

The only worrying thing is that he just might become the Tory leader and perhaps PM one day, but I suppose Sir Humphrey will see to it that he doesn't rock the boat too much.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Here's an extract from an opinion piece I read by Suzanne Moore for the Guardian back in September. It's a good read on Boris.

"Undoubtedly Boris is brilliant and funny and clever. Before he was so powerful he would liven up many a boring debate on the euro with the admission that he had gone into a deep trance. Detail is not his forte; the big picture, the grand symbolic gesture, is. His outbursts of honesty hide his imperial attitude. They hide his utter ruthlessness and the fact that he a politician, not a gameshow panellist.

His record shows that he is not above betraying people he has worked for, in one way or another. He promised more than he can deliver. He did not deliver the Olympics but is sucking up vast amounts of credit for them. His hack trick of winging it has come into its own. The level at which he needs to be in control is frightening and that control combined with his intellect is what makes him a superb writer. The clownishness masks the absolute need to win. Once he got me into a party. Some Tory do, not his party, let me make that clear, and he said I could stay for 20 minutes. I was happily chatting as I knew many people there when he whispered after exactly 20 minutes: "Your time is up." That's bonhomie for you.

Petty but telling, I felt, and not in the least shambolic. If you don't know his core of steel then rewind the tape of the conversation he had with self-confessed "potential psychopath" Darius Guppy. Guppy is after a telephone number for someone who has too much information on him. "If this guy is seriously hurt, I am going to be ****ing furious," says Boris. Guppy reassures him it won't be "intensive care". Just cracked ribs. Nice."

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2012/sep/12/boris-johnson-no-laughing-matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Must. Resist. Godwin!

Behind the bumbling facade he's a competent politician, not someone I'd trust though and doesn't have any great love for London. He's being groomed as a potential celeb PM candidate should Labour find anyone with a bit of spark and charisma (unlikely).

True but at least he's over the pond instead of here.

I can laugh at London all I want :)

DyldeBrill wrote: »

I can laugh at London all I want :)

But London will always have the last laugh.

Greatest city in the world.

Lapin wrote: »
    A highly unintellegent politician.

But comparing Boris Johnson with George W Bush is not comparing like with like.

Yeah, a grade A moron

Bush attended Yale University from 1964 to 1968, graduating with an A.B. in history. In the fall of 1973, Bush attended the Harvard Business School, where he earned a Master of Business Administration. He is the only U.S. President to have earned an M.B.A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Yeah, a grade A moron

Bush attended Yale University from 1964 to 1968, graduating with an A.B. in history. In the fall of 1973, Bush attended the Harvard Business School, where he earned a Master of Business Administration. He is the only U.S. President to have earned an M.B.A

An educated moron, then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭latenia

Yeah, a grade A moron

Yale has a notoriously low failure rate, particularly amongst students from 'elite families.' Remember how Mr Burns was almost able to get his moron son enrolled-that was satirical of how it's quite possible to buy your degree there. Anyone with the cash can get a Harvard MBA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭garbanzo

Not too fond of the Irish by all accounts !

latenia wrote: »
    Yale has a notoriously low failure rate, particularly amongst students from 'elite families.' Remember how Mr Burns was almost able to get his moron son enrolled-that was satirical of how it's quite possible to buy your degree there. Anyone with the cash can get a Harvard MBA.

No.
    An MBA anywhere is expensive but they don't just give you the degree when you hand it over, you work for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

garbanzo wrote: »
    Not too fond of the Irish by all accounts !

Only the self appointed Larndarn Murphia who he thought were dining at the tax-payers expense (they were'nt as it happened)

http://www.newstatesman.com/blogs/the-staggers/2012/03/irish-mayor-dinner-johnson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

Was he not involved in a threat to some man's safty or something??

There was a recorded phone converstation were someone getting beaten up was discussed with Darius Guppy another nutter.

' In 1990, he undertook to beat up a tabloid journalist who had been attempting to smear members of his family.[8][18][19] During a telephone call he asked Boris Johnson to provide the journalist's address. The address was never provided, and the attack never took place, but a tape of the conversation was leaked to the press.

He is not brilliant but not stupid..the expectation is so low he looks better..but the thing is men can have a type of hubris that makes them fail to see their real stupidity so they feel they must fake it to appeal or to get off lightly.

He is not very honourable at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

The really startling thing about Boris Johnson is how much his success in politics has depended on the media. About 10 years ago, he was regarded as a slightly eccentric Tory from Central Casting who could be relied upon to represent a very threadbare right-wing corner of Have I Got News For You. From there, he became almost a national treasure in the UK where they seem to love this bumbling shtick, and once he had the profile, it was only a hop, skip and a jump to being elected London mayor.
    His career will make a fascinating case history for some young politics student.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Yeah, a grade A moron

Am I the only one not impressed when someone says they have an M.B.A ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Boris Johnson = one man with one vision = one great 'New Bus for London' AKA the Borismaster/ the Boris bus :))

Irish fella (LBC Radio) interviews Boris about his new bus > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7p_2q-o49pU&feature=player_detailpage

Boris is great, he's a breath of fresh air, he is very intelligent, and most importantly of all, Londoners just love him.

Ding Ding, all aboard now please! http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/files/2011/12/borismaster.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

My view on Boris, at least he ain't ken, and as I walk everywhere these days he doesn't get a chance to annoy me. (Only thing the Mayor of London gets to look after is transport)

He play well in London but will never make PM

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭Sorcha16

. I know he's highly intelligent having been schooled in Eton and Oxford and all that

Attending prestigious, private schools is an indication of wealth, not intelligence.

Boris Johnson has done nothing to justify his political position and is only there because of who his family are. He is another prime example of nepotism and how far coming from the right family (His father worked for the World Bank and is a former MEP and his grandfather was a European Human Rights Commisioner) and attending the right schools will get you in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭GSF

Reindeer wrote: »
    Bush makes Boris look like freakin' Socrates.

http://www.veoh.com/watch/v16911257FWbB4Wcc?h1=After+Rome%3A+Part+1
    He covers Socrates in his BBC documentary "After Rome"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

So I just don't get it. Is he secretly very intelligent? He must have a brain somewhere in that head....right?

The man is eccentric. Very much so. Mad hatter kind of personality.

He is also very intelligent, and thats what endears him to the british public.

Fun loving, but with a no-bull**** attitude when it comes to politics. Straight talkers in that field are few and far between, and you should treasure them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Emeraldy Pebbles

It's an act. But he wouldn't get away with such an act if he wasn't upper class, he'd just be considered an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

GSF wrote: »
    http://www.veoh.com/watch/v16911257FWbB4Wcc?h1=After+Rome%3A+Part+1
    He covers Socrates in his BBC documentary "After Rome"

That was pretty interesting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

The really startling thing about Boris Johnson is how much his success in politics has depended on the media. About 10 years ago, he was regarded as a slightly eccentric Tory from Central Casting who could be relied upon to represent a very threadbare right-wing corner of Have I Got News For You. From there, he became almost a national treasure in the UK where they seem to love this bumbling shtick, and once he had the profile, it was only a hop, skip and a jump to being elected London mayor.
    His career will make a fascinating case history for some young politics student.

You don't become mayor of London just be being on TV a few times.

I was amazed when Boris got in, Ken Livingstone was very popular (if not a tad egotistical) with the average Londoner and I thought a bumbling posh boy would have no chance. What surprised me was the people who voted for him, it wasn't just the Pimms brigade from Fulham, it was a very broad range of people from all sorts of different back grounds.

Most people who met him talked about how likeable and knowledgeable he was and how he was quite happy to say things they way they were.