Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5yr old girl missing in Wales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭peking97

She was seen getting into his car. There were other people outside with her who witnessed her getting into his car.

I understood that the vehicle was originally described as a *light-coloured van* whereas the impounded one is navy blue. No??

peking97 wrote: »
    I understood that the vehicle was originally described as a *light-coloured van* whereas the impounded one is navy blue. No??

And the witnesses are all five years old? Not arguing your point, but I'm sure there is plenty the police know and aren't sharing, with reason. Doesn't the suspect also own a light coloured van? I seem to recall he owned both vehicles.

All the same I know there is something that isn't adding up here, whether someone else was involved or the mental state of the suspect which hasn't been disclosed. I don't hold out much hope that April is alive but one can hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 rathanker35

Mate, this isn't an episode of Columbo where you just say whatever comes into your head as you munch on popcorn - a five year old girl is missing, feared dead.

Decorum, show a little.
    Decorum?..... The world is bigger than ireland! I'll fecking pray a few hail mary's for you tonight!!
    Isn't it about time someone opens there gob without a catholic priest or jimi saville member entering!....trust me..I dont munch on popcorn all day...and who is Columbo?
    Decorum!...There is probably quite a few five year old children been murdered throughout the world tonight......in fact everytime I blink a child has died!
    What shall we do? Twitter? Facebook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Anyone know why the jeep was in the garage?

Brown paper over the front of it?

They gave out the reg so why would the police put the paper over it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

I wasn't blessed to have have a child of my own. But, and no BS lads, I've been talking to my friends and workmates about this over the last few days. A 5 year old, and in my terms, is a baby (and i have a few nephews and nieces that fall in that category)...and for what whatever reason, has just...(ye know). I couldn't, in my worst nightmares, in my most extreme of imagination or nightmares..try to consider what has happened to that child.

From what I've seen...if the "accused" has commited the most dispicable, the most evil, the most....(now is where I am could use language that would guarantee my banning from boards), cruelest act. Jesus Christ, I'm passed beyond wondering what a human being is capable of doing... but a 5 year old child...is there any fooking hope?!?!?!

dave1982 wrote: »

Blood stains!...They hit April while she was riding around on her bike!

Ha! some cheeky bitch called me Columbo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

dave1982 wrote: »

It was being worked on it seems
    Mark Bridger’s left-hand drive Land Rover Discovery was seized at Dovey Autocraft garage in Machynlleth. Times reporter Tom Farmery says it was having work done on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Rathanker, what the hell is wrong with you?

Witnesses must forgot they knocked her down and shethen got up and willing sat into the car?

New account to come troll on here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

ottostreet wrote: »
    Rathanker, what the hell is wrong with you?

Trolling

Using this thread to have a laugh. Leading us to think he knows 'mark' and 'scott' personally. The laugh is on him the saddo. A child is missing, we are discussing it and all he can do is take the pᎥss

Again, just go to bed, jesus. Are you forgetting that these people are real people, their five year old daughter is missing without any trace, they may never see her alive again or ever know what happened to her. This is their kid they're missing, the child they are nurturing to grow up, to go to school, to pass exams and go to college, to choose a career, to find a partner, to have kids or whatever, you realise April is not "just" a five year old child but an actual human being with all of the faculties you seem to be devoid of, her own brain, her own unique personality and a future.... I'm going to bed now before you drive me mental, troll is definitely trollworthy by now. But come on... this is a LIFE we're talking about, not a character on TV.

Goodnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

rathanker35 will not be around for a couple of days to reply, so no point replying to his/her posts. Wasn't much point before the ban either, but I digress.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

argosy2006 wrote: »
    '' its ok i know them''

What 5 year old could made that remark.
    Sounds made up or dragged out of the young witness ,

' what happened !!! tell me ! Well'

' i dunno''

Tell me '' !!

'' not my fault'''

'' what happened, where is she''

'She said its ok i know them''

Bit like that,
    You know kids,,

The child was questioned by experts in that field. They would have to be extremely careful in what and how they questioned her as anything that looked the slightest bit coerced could be thrown out in court

More importantly though, at the time there was a chance April was alive, so they needed answers to be as accurate and truthful as possible if they were to have any chance of finding her quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Halloran springs

While I completely agree with rathankers ban, I think people are missing his point about what a media circus this whole case is becoming...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

While I completely agree with rathankers ban, I think people are missing his point about what a media circus this whole case is becoming...

Plenty of posters have made the point about what a media circus this has become.

Indeed, it's par for the course these days.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Halloran springs

K-9 wrote: »

Plenty of posters have made the point about what a media circus this has become.

Indeed, it's par for the course these days.
    Fair enough but I think boards.ie even on,a much smaller scale than twitter and Facebook has certain obligations when it comes to discussing this case. I mean 95% of this whole thread is armchair detective work! Leave that to the professionals. The other 5% consists of posts like "the poor girl, her family must be going through hell" which obviously nobody in the world will disagree with. .

I know I don't have much say in the running of boards but there's a strong argument to lock this thread until the facts are out.

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

I've no problem with people speculating as long as it's within the realms of plausibility but not so public; I guess... depends on how other users react to a users post moreso, maybe? because that's what could really offend I reckon. But only with the sensitive nature of the thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Has there been any updates today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Has there been any updates today?

No, usual searches going on and a police press conference due today sometime between 3 and 5.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 85 ✭✭Madam Marie

I mean 95% of this whole thread is armchair detective work!

Don't think anyone really minds the armchair / keyboard detective type posts (or at least they don't appear to) once that is, those posts are respectful and deal with the facts. What got up everyone's goat (it's mixed metaphor day on AH after-all) was suggesting specific events happened, in a matter of fact way, when there was not even a shred of evidence suggesting that any of them were even a possibility, let alone actual occurrences. Twas ramblings of what ya might expect to heart if you locked a pothead in a room with some of the finest Moroccan Black , and an Agatha Christie box-set. I'm just surprised he didn't pin it on the butler.

A fingertip search by police forensic teams is under way at the home of the man arrested on suspicion of murdering five year old April Jones.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/crime/9591337/Police-search-home-of-April-Jones-suspect.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

A profile of the suspect

The 46 year–old is closely associated with the Bryn–y–Gog estate where April Jones lived with her family. He is known to have had a number of relationships in the district and fathered six children. Up until two years ago, he was living with a local woman named Corinna Robinson, but they split up and neighbours said he had moved in with another woman on the estate.

Seems like a very tight knit community

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rockbeast

Boombastic wrote: »
    A profile of the suspect

The 46 year–old is closely associated with the Bryn–y–Gog estate where April Jones lived with her family. He is known to have had a number of relationships in the district and fathered six children. Up until two years ago, he was living with a local woman named Corinna Robinson, but they split up and neighbours said he had moved in with another woman on the estate.

Seems like a very tight knit community

Perhaps too tightly knitted. IMO there is more to this picture than meets the eye. Time will reveal all I guess/hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

If this guy is not charged or found to have no involvment his life is destroyed now. This is what really annoys me about the media. They seem to latch onto somebody and print and display his name and image. I think this is totally wrong until they are charged and found guilty.

If you recall the woman who was murdered in London last year, the media latched on to her eccentric ex-lecturer and not only mentioned his name but showed photographs and filmed him leaving his house etc. As it turned out this guy had nothing to do with it but his name will be forever associated with the case. :(

It seems to be more prevalent in the UK but maybe it is just as bad here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Do they have to let Bridger go at 5 today?

Yep unless they charge him, in which case that they do charge him not sure what happens then. Straight to prison bail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

Fair enough but I think boards.ie even on,a much smaller scale than twitter and Facebook has certain obligations when it comes to discussing this case. I mean 95% of this whole thread is armchair detective work! Leave that to the professionals. The other 5% consists of posts like "the poor girl, her family must be going through hell" which obviously nobody in the world will disagree with. .

I know I don't have much say in the running of boards but there's a strong argument to lock this thread until the facts are out.

Basically Boards is my first source for news worthly stories & discuss what's happening in the world, rather than being fed news, in the most part conspiracies and fabrication & trolling is dealt with very effectively, unlike the likes of Sky-news-entertainment were fabrication or unhumanlike actions can go unchallenged, I dislike when mainstream media which preys on monsters cross the line by becoming monster-like.
    ---
    This story makes me question how far along the evolutionary ladder we have gone, hopefully we are still stuck between Ape & Man but if Man is the final outcome of our evolution then maybe the best thing is our extinction, & let some other a nobler species have a go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Why is this story getting so much coverage? It's everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

MJ23 wrote: »
    Why is this story getting so much coverage? It's everywhere

Are you serious? It's about a five year old girl who has possibly been abducted and murdered and you're wondering why it's getting coverage??