Child Allowance - What's it there for ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Ghandee wrote: »
    A well looked after, well fed child, highly increases its chances of going on to be a well educated, well qualified, high earning adult in later life, contributing greatly to the tax coffers.

Think of it as an investment by the state. (in most cases)

Well since you're making a statement that well fed kids are more likely to go into further education.

I'll just point out that 1 in 4 nine year olds are obese.

http://www.nationalchildrensresearchcentre.ie/project/view/35
    Over one in four (26%) Irish 9-year olds are either overweight or obese. Accurate estimates of the changes in childhood obesity over time are necessary to help develop appropriate measures to tackle the problem of childhood obesity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Well the uniform is pretty cheap .. your kids only have to wear one set of clothes for the whole year. Over here they wear normal clothes so its a lot more expensive.

Why are you paying a voluntary contribution if you can't afford it ?
    Voluntary contributions are a disgrace, schools not only threaten parents by telling them that their child's place in the school isn't guaranteed unless they pay hundreds of euro every year, but when I went to school the principal used to come to class and call out the names of non-payers ffs.

Re the uniform, you realise kids still need everyday clothes for after school right? The uniform is just an added expense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

kceire wrote: »
    yeah, and €280 still gets you a **** car. Would it even get you into a new Yaris or auris?
    I see where you're going wrong there. Try used, used is where it's at at the mo. BTW Starbel, that's the most mature thing I've ever heard. Ours goes on laboutins, apparently. Which is not quite so mature. I will go nag the wife..:D I have a suspicion that ours keeps the local glamourpuss hairdresser looking glamourous.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Well since you're making a statement that well fed kids are more likely to go into further education.

seemly its the same for the UK
    It's a good question. Just over 33% of 11-year-olds are now overweight or obese and among four and five-year-olds it's 22%, according to the most recent figures from the National Child Measurement Programme, which assesses the height and weight of primary children in England. The figures are similar in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-19661085

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A well looked after, well fed child, highly increases its chances of going on to be a well educated, well qualified, high earning adult in later life, contributing greatly to the tax coffers.

Unfortunately it probably ends up in the tax coffers of some other country though.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭RaRaRasputin

I put it in my kid's Post Office account. At the current rate, by the time she's 16, there'll be around €26k in savings.

You, my dear, are the prime example of a person who is not in need of financial aids for their spawn but I am sure that you will now stomp and scream and maybe (or hopefully) tear yourself in two. If you manage to guess the fairy tale you'll win a prize.

A tip...you may use google because I am sure you'll be STUCK otherwise and I don't want to ruin your weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Lol, not tonight Keith.

I'm tired.

A well nourished kid, is not necessarily an obese kid.

An undernourished kid, in the depths of poverty, usually/statistically does not go on to third level education.

You're in the mood for an internet argument, right?

Sadly for you their are flaws in your arguments, big ones too.

Nah, not really, they would need to have normal clothes anyway, so they can just wear them.

Interesting .. Expats abroad complain about the exact opposite, its costs more because the kids are wearing clothes the whole day and clothes wear out.

Plus its a nightmare with kids when they get to that stage where certain runners / clothes are in.
    its called Voluntary, but its mandatory in reality ;)

Sorry its not ... the voluntary payment has been around a long time. You don't have to pay it.
    Ask your father or grandfather do they rely on the state pension. And tell them its scrapped because theirs simply not enough tax payers in the system to support the OAP.

We all use public service that we havent paid for personally so your argument their is a fail im afraid.

Grandfather never trusted the state pension, he invested in a private pension.

I don't take state benefits into account when calculating my living costs.

Lol, not tonight Keith.

I'm tired.

A well nourished kid, is not necessarily an obese kid.

An undernourished kid, in the depths of poverty, usually/statistically does not go on to third level education.

You're in the mood for an internet argument, right?

Sadly for you their are flaws in your arguments, big ones too.

Naw not really .. you made a statement .. I posted a link to a credible source. :pac::pac:

You, my dear, are the prime example of a person who is not in need of financial aids for their spawn but I am sure that you will now stomp and scream and maybe (or hopefully) tear yourself in two. If you manage to guess the fairy tale you'll win a prize.

A tip...you may use google because I am sure you'll be STUCK otherwise and I don't want to ruin your weekend.

On the Shrooms mate, yeah?

Naw not really .. you made a statement .. I posted a link to a credible source. :pac::pac:

Your source had absolutely zero relevance and credibility in linking third level education, and 'obese kids'

What had that got to do with anything, (beyond trolling) beats the shyte right out of me.:confused:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Interesting .. Expats abroad complain about the exact opposite, its costs more because the kids are wearing clothes the whole day and clothes wear out.

yes same as uniforms. They wear out too i would imagine.
    Plus its a nightmare with kids when they get to that stage where certain runners / clothes are in.

that happens in Ireland too ya know.
    Sorry its not ... the voluntary payment has been around a long time. You don't have to pay it.

Sorry it is, when the time comes and you grow up and have a family, you will understand ;)

Fair play to him, more should do the same. I assume he hands back the State Pension or does he use it to top up his Private Pension?
    Does he accept the free medical card? and bus pass? or hand them back too?

most peole dont either, so your with the masses there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I think every child should be entitled to it whether it's put in savings or not. We use it to pay towards bills and clothing for kids or whatever they need. We'd be lost without it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

My parents used to use our child benefit to pay for flights for family holidays to the USA. Good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

You, my dear, are the prime example of a person who is not in need of financial aids for their spawn

I love this country.

A family is set upon for saving money.

Burn them all!

How do you know this familys circumstances? Perhaps they are prudent, perhaps they live a frugal life. Dont drink, smoke, or píss their wages up against a wall like so many do.

Do you not save? That is their savings, they could lob it in out of their wages? What exactly is the diference.

Tell me why a working person is any less entitled to the childrens allowance than a person out of work because im a fúcking well sick of bleeding through my salary every month. Take my CB you can take my fúcking job.

yes same as uniforms. They wear out too i would imagine.

Just going on what expats say, apparently it turns into a competition and parents end up with a school wardrobe.
    that happens in Ireland too ya know.

Course it does, but not in school, only really an issue when it comes to PE Class.
    Sorry it is, when the time comes and you grow up and have a family, you will understand ;)

Nope its not, I know of people that haven't paid the 'voluntary' contribution, some out of principal, some because they can't afford it.
    Fair play to him, more should do the same. I assume he hands back the State Pension or does he use it to top up his Private Pension?
    Does he accept the free medical card? and bus pass? or hand them back too?

Why would he hand it back, as long as the river flows then fine. But he wouldn't be stuck if it wasn't there in the first place.

He hasn't availed of the free public transport because it doesn't really exist where he lives.

He drives himself around.

He has private health insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Well unless you just appeared on earth this evening, you have benefited from the state in the past (probably from my hard earned bucks and the taxes I paid on them) and are presently benefiting in the form of tax reliefs and credits.

You are very naive to think that you have everything sussed out to a t until you pop your clogs, heavens forbid something out of the ordinary should happen to you.

Means testing it is the only fair way to go about it, but I would be of the opinion that the income limit would have to be set to a fairly low point in order for it to be worthwhile for our great leaders.

On the Shrooms mate, yeah?

No of course not, I would never take anything like this.
    Let's see when the appalled are going to rise up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Yet another thread in AH giving out about children. Shock horror!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Just going on what expats say, apparently it turns into a competition and parents end up with a school wardrobe.

Course it does, but not in school, only really an issue when it comes to PE Class.

My kids go/went to a non-uniformed primary school. Pain in the bloody arse having no uniform but worse than having no uniform is having the ones in secondary school where they have be bought from a certain outlet. Nothing wrong with the cheapie ones - much easier to find the money to replace items as they wear out or begin to look too shabby.

They don't have uniform shoes at the primary so it is a runners/trainers fashion parade and whoever says that kids that age don't notice is mad. Even the boys from about 7 or 8 up will comment on clothes and runners that the others are wearing. My kids would go into school delighted with a new hoodie or pair of track bottoms and would come home and tell me that they had been slagged off for wearing Pennys or Dunnes.

I used to want desperately to go in and beat the ****e out of the little ****es. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

Nah, not really, they would need to have normal clothes anyway, so they can just wear them.

its called Voluntary, but its mandatory in reality ;)

Ask your father or grandfather do they rely on the state pension. And tell them its scrapped because theirs simply not enough tax payers in the system to support the OAP.

We all use public service that we havent paid for personally so your argument their is a fail im afraid.
    i dont use public service that i have not paid for yet,
    but i do expect my pension, since i did work since i was aged seventeen and paid into the public purse,
    my grandfather reared my father without the benefit of medical card or childrens allowance, and he did a good job, and my own old man did the same for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

it is not the states responsibility to feed and look after our children, it is we who brought them into this world to look after their needs.

themadchef wrote: »
    I love this country.

A family is set upon for saving money.

Burn them all!

How do you know this familys circumstances? Perhaps they are prudent, perhaps they live a frugal life. Dont drink, smoke, or píss their wages up against a wall like so many do.

Do you not save? That is their savings, they could lob it in out of their wages? What exactly is the diference.

Tell me why a working person is any less entitled to the childrens allowance than a person out of work because im a fúcking well sick of bleeding through my salary every month. Take my CB you can take my fúcking job.

That is a sad existence indeed. Maybe had you worked harder for a better education you would have gotten a better job and wouldn't struggle that much with your wages/life. If you did what you wanted don't whinge.

CB is there to help you tackle bringing up a kid. If you can afford to put every single payment aside you obviously aren't in great need for it.
    So who actually needs the payments? Some people who actually can't afford to buy simple things such as nappies or extra food or contraception so this disaster won't repeat? Or the one who can put it aside?

I don't think I'll ever understand why people need the need to procreate like rabbits when they know they don't have the means to afford the extra humans in their family...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Is it me ... or has recession just brought out the begrudgery in people? Of course boards.ie is by far no official survey of the general opinion. Its only a demographic. But you get alot of "cut them!!!!" threads.

All threads have the same common theme of "someone else" - its never "I" or "we" its always cut or takeaway from someone else. Its "them" that are the problem :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

phasers wrote: »
    What would those be exactly? and more importantly what wouldn't be included?

Well let me see

- They would be Vouchers (ie Not Cash)

- They would be for recognised Child expenses (eg Nappies Not Vodka)

Should be fairly straightforward imo.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Kids, this is why you should stay away from drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Feck off, it's "child benefit". The child will benefit. What's your problem? Too literal? I care less what they do with it, it's Mammy money, so let the mammies take care of it. It ends up back in the economy anyway, whatever way you look at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Kids, this is why you should stay away from drugs.

I hope little johnny doesn't blow the €26,00 on coke and hookers as soon as he gets his hands on it;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

That is a sad existence indeed. Maybe had you worked harder for a better education you would have gotten a better job and wouldn't struggle that much with your wages/life. If you did what you wanted don't whinge.

CB is there to help you tackle bringing up a kid. If you can afford to put every single payment aside you obviously aren't in great need for it.
    So who actually needs the payments? Some people who actually can't afford to buy simple things such as nappies or extra food or contraception so this disaster won't repeat? Or the one who can put it aside?

I don't think I'll ever understand why people need the need to procreate like rabbits when they know they don't have the means to afford the extra humans in their family...

Firstly, i am very well educated, thank you very much.

I am paid well, i am however all but raped with taxes and various charges as are all other working people.

These "disasters" you refer to will be wiping your asre in your old age, running the country, and keeping the lights on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

goat2 wrote: »
    which means it should be scrapped, due to mammies now being allowed to work, if they want to work,

And if the mammies do work, they must pay extortionate amounts of money for childcare.