199 different nationalities now in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

But I could defend it all day, and still you'll dumb it down

anyone who has gained citizenship, is Irish. And god help me if I ever witness my greatest fear, an Irish national in particular being subject to attacks or jibes I will intervene whilst remembering how I didn't want racism at home in the first place.

In the last 12 months, off the top of my head, I can think of three racially motivated attacks in Dublin alone that left four migrants dead. The two Polish guys stabbed outside the house in Dublin, the Polish guy murdered on his way to work in the fish factory, and the Nigerian cab driver attacked about 8 or 9 months ago. Racism is alive and well here like every other state in the world!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Get realistic with this, please.

I am realistic. You're the guy with his head in the clouds nattering on about 'defending the aryan race'. You didn't say defending the Irish now you said you were defending the aryan race.

That choice of words speaks volumes about the attitudes you hold and the underlying beliefs I'd say.

Anyway - I'm off out. I look forward to reading your attempts at replies later on. Be sure to clumsily use lots of big words as you've been doing. I know you think it adds weight to your argument and makes you look intelligent but it just makes me chuckle, it's like a baboon trying to use a typewriter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

El Weirdo wrote: »
    They really aren't racist comments.

And there my friend is the problem, too many people are to willing to jump on a comment and play the racism card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Clareboy wrote: »
    Now that we have opened the flood gates to foreign immigrants, the Irish will have to emigrate to find jobs. Talk about a distorted labour market. We have have screwed up big time! I really pity the young Irish people of today as they will have to compete with all those non-Irish immigrants in an ever shrinking labour market. Talk about committing national economic suicide!

Yep it's the non nationals' fault. Not the banks', property speculators', and governments' fault, it's the fault of the likes of Ibrahim who works in Spar for minimum wage.

Nodin wrote: »
    Yes, and the problems caused by Corkonians not integrating have troubled us to this day.

I think you'll find it's everyone else who has failed. Don't even stock Tanora FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

dey tuk r jobz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

I'll just say one thing...Your not Irish unless your grandparents are Irish..A piece of paper received at a event in Cork or Dublin to mark you being part of "the new Irish" does not count. That is my personal opinion.. and i am entitled to that, you do not have to agree...that's why it's called my opinion :)

I'd say more but i like AH and don't want a ban :pac:

I'll just say one thing...Your not Irish unless your grandparents are Irish..A piece of paper received at a event in Cork or Dublin to mark you being part of "the new Irish" does not count. That is my personal opinion.. and i am entitled to that, you do not have to agree...that's why it's called my opinion :)

Its your opinion, but it is legally wrong and that is what is called a FACT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Nodin wrote: »
    If you're defining Irish by "white skin", I'd say wisdom either passed you by or ran you over.

Lol, I agree.

Also the poster forgot to specify that this "whiteness" that he so loves and protects is actually...a little bit more like a be-freckled, pasty, beefy in the sun and white and wobbly in the winter marshmallow with bad dress sense and a tendency to talk A) through one's nose, B) with marbles in their cheeks or C)like they just swallowed a pat of cow sh1te :o

Us beautiful, white Irish with our surreal, magical er...whiteness... :/

You think this is USA? France?? massive continents in emselves almost

Ha ha! France is not almost a continent in itself. You need a serious lesson in Geography son.
    Its your opinion, but it is legally wrong and that is what is called a FACT!

That's the first time I've ever seen someone use FACT! in a manner that's entirely correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

Clareboy you do know that many of those nationalities are the spouses of Irish citizens,perfectly entitled to be here and contributing to the country with there culture and positive attitudes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Clareboy wrote: »
    Oh yes, the Irish have immigrated in the past but now they have to leave because the most of the jobs have been given to the non-Irish. We did not have that situation in the 80s or in the 50s.

I take it maths isn't your strongest point. But here's a thought: take the total population of Ireland, subtract the number of foreigners and those unemployed and it's fairly obvious that 'most' of the jobs are not given to the non-Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,834 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Slurryface wrote: »
    The number of foreign nationals living in Ireland jumped 30% between 2006 and 2011, official figures have revealed today.

Total numbers increased by 124,624 over the five years to April 2011.

The Central Statistics Office also revealed that 544,357 non-Irish nationals were living in Ireland at the time of the census in April of last year, from 199 different nations.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/number-of-foreign-nationals-living-in-ireland-up-30-in-last-five-years-569329.html

Wow, haven't we really become a melting pot!:)

There is only something like 207 in the UN if we get people from the rest we can have the UN here

Gotta catch 'em all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Not only are they eating our swans, they're eating our mushrooms.:eek:

I was down the forest yesterday and came across a couple of Poles picking what I have always called "aul poison mushrooms". One of the Poles told me the yellow ones were called peepers nick or something and that they were delicious. I said: "Enjoy" and mentally added "at least once".:)

I bet one of the countries missing from the list is the Vatican State, what with its small population and low birth rate and all ...:D

Ellis Dee wrote: »

I was down the forest yesterday and came across a couple of Poles picking what I have always called "aul poison mushrooms". One of the Poles told me the yellow ones were called peepers nick or something and that they were delicious. I said: "Enjoy" and mentally added "at least once".:)

I bet one of the countries missing from the list is the Vatican State, what with its small population and low birth rate and all ...:D

We had one in the papal nuncio but we kicked him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

not yet wrote: »
    And there my friend is the problem, too many people are to willing to jump on a comment and play the racism card.

its a general theme on boards and in society that if you slag off anybody that is not the same as you, then you're racist.

its quite sad actually.

its a general theme on boards and in society that if you slag off anybody that is not the same as you, then you're racist.

its quite sad actually.

Yes your right slagging off people for being different to you is quite sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

Ellis Dee wrote: »

we have even given up picking blackberries. fair play to them for picking mushrooms.

its quite sad actually.

People should be allowed slag anyone.

However I would point out that they 'defending the Aryan race' and talk of 'purity' on this thread are most definitely the sort of conversations that pillow-wearing yokels in America would partake in regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

notnumber wrote: »
    I hear Im a (borderline) racist now..fecking greeks.
    I meant we are getting pissed on by the economic situation we find ourselves in and I thought it was a rather typical AH joke.
    It was pretty obvious! :confused:

Pretty obvious to normal folk can be blindingly hard to find for some more mentally-challenged folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 steel header

Yes your right slagging off people for being different to you is quite sad

We had an Australian in our town when I was home last spring. He was just passing through on his holidays. He was wearing a pair of shorts and runners with no socks!!! If this wasn't bad enough he also had on one of those baseball caps. Shook the town up something awful. Their still talking about the harmless Aussie egit that was in Joe's last April.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭EdanHewittt

Do studies show they have integrated yet?

Or is the coveted "melting pot" more like a tossed salad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,341 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Do studies show they have integrated yet?

Some are, some aren't.
    Or is the coveted "melting pot" more like a tossed salad?

...and scrambled eggs? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I'll just say one thing...Your not Irish unless your grandparents are Irish..A piece of paper received at a event in Cork or Dublin to mark you being part of "the new Irish" does not count. That is my personal opinion.. and i am entitled to that, you do not have to agree...that's why it's called my opinion

An opinion based on bollocks, however, is often referred to by another name.

Sure we know that. Ye just usually hang around threads like this and thank the posts of those racists who at least say what they mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I'm an immigrant.

I personally think Ireland would be a better place with more strict policies limiting immigration, even though it would mean that I wouldn't be able to live and work here.

Just my honest opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

UCDVet wrote: »
    I'm an immigrant.

I personally think Ireland would be a better place with more strict policies limiting immigration, even though it would mean that I wouldn't be able to live and work here.

Just my honest opinion.

So you think we should withdraw from the EU free movement zone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Is Vatican considered an actual nationality? I doubt there are any native Vaticans, most are priests and cardinals from around the world. The head of state is a German. And I doubt too many women live there so birth rate must be close to zero.