dubs who have never been out of Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

What do you mean fake stories??????;).... i always love going to the country and seeing how they wear the clothes that where in fashion in Dublin 4 years ago:D:D:D:D:D:D
    Pyjamas?

Now I'm off to listen to some 80's pop music we got here last week:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭Gurgle

What do you mean fake stories??????;).... i always love going to the country and seeing how they wear the clothes that where in fashion in Dublin 4 years ago:D:D:D:D:D:D
    True, there's been a seismic shift in Dublin fashion.
    How can the poor country girls possibly know whether to put on pajamas, tracksuit or leggings and muffin top when they're running out for fags first thing in the afternoon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

So country folk have this "fashion" to look forward to in 2016?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭suzie987

Ders more to Oireland Dan Dublin?

I assume you mean DUBLAND . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

FatherLen wrote: »
    i am from Dublin and i have traveled most of the country and i loved every county so far but in nearly every town i have been to i have been chastised for being a dubliner. i have been beaten to a point where i needed to go to hospital because of it. i have been called names and treated like an outsider. all because i am from dublin.
    i don't blame people for not leaving dublin because sadly it is the rest of the country Vs dublin.

in any county ive been i have gotten a bit of slagging for being from dublin but that's all it was, its light hearted and i went along with it. even down in kerry a few weeks ago i got on very well with the regulars in a pub in ardfert. they treated me and my wife like locals even though we got a gentle slagging about being dubs
    we laughed, they laughed and everyone got on grand.

i would imagine you are either going to the wrong places when in the country or you bring trouble on yourself

FatherLen - where you wearing a tracksuit/pyjamas and sovereign rings? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

Boombastic wrote: »
    ha no i would understand/deserve the abuse if i was but as usual i was wearing jeans, t-shirt and probably cons/dc's/boots

and a sports cap at a 45 degree angle

ha no i would understand/deserve the abuse if i was but as usual i was wearing jeans, t-shirt and probably cons/dc's/boots

The might have thought you were from the future;):D

No but i wouldn't say the Cassock warmed him to the youth either.:pac:

i think you've been telling a few tall tales

ive never heard of anyone being beaten up just for being from Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i think you've been telling a few tall tales

ive never heard of anyone being beaten up just for being from Dublin

i wish i was but unfortunately i'm not.

this being the internet, whether you believe me or not is up to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

i wish i was but unfortunately i'm not.

this being the internet, whether you believe me or not is up to you.

The fact you have hassle in every town kinda makes it seem like you bring it on yourself, maybe you are trying to be funny with the country jokes and its not working.
    Do you try tell jokes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

Being a Dub exiled in Galway. I don't get much hassle because Galway is a cool town open to all sorts. But it is fact that Dubliners do get grief for being from Dublin. I've seen it myself and it's not because the Dubliners were out for trouble. There is a strong anti Dublin element amongst many people. It's very common for people to tell you straight to your face how much they hate Dublin. Which I consider very rude because I for one wouldn't go somewhere and tell people their boring, scruffy boring little town is a s***hole.

As for not leaving Dublin, yes well many people don't bother. But that's true of many counties in Ireland. I don't know why anyone hasn't mentioned Cork. Most of them only venture as a far as Kerry. It's actually more common than many people realise. Many people would never even venture to Dublin if it wasn't for the likes of the Airport, concerts, Croke Park etc.

We all love to think how cosmopolitan and well travelled we are these days. Not everyone is like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Why would you leave Dublin so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭greenpilot

i am from Dublin and i have traveled most of the country and i loved every county so far but in nearly every town i have been to i have been chastised for being a dubliner. i have been beaten to a point where i needed to go to hospital because of it. i have been called names and treated like an outsider. all because i am from dublin.
    i don't blame people for not leaving dublin because sadly it is the rest of the country Vs dublin.

And there you have nailed it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

bluecode wrote: »
    Being a Dub exiled in Galway. I don't get much hassle because Galway is a cool town open to all sorts. But it is fact that Dubliners do get grief for being from Dublin. I've seen it myself and it's not because the Dubliners were out for trouble. There is a strong anti Dublin element amongst many people. It's very common for people to tell you straight to your face how much they hate Dublin. Which I consider very rude because I for one wouldn't go somewhere and tell people their boring, scruffy boring little town is a s***hole.

As for not leaving Dublin, yes well many people don't bother. But that's true of many counties in Ireland. I don't know why anyone hasn't mentioned Cork. Most of them only venture as a far as Kerry. It's actually more common than many people realise. Many people would never even venture to Dublin if it wasn't for the likes of the Airport, concerts, Croke Park etc.

We all love to think how cosmopolitan and well travelled we are these days. Not everyone is like that.

Ah don't start the Cork basking sheite again.

I'm from Cork but live and work in Dublin, I love living in dublin its great and gives me more employment opportunities then in Cork. I also love going home to cork for visits.
    There were 115 people in my final year class in College in UCC and of that only about 10 people are in cork, the rest are in Dublin, London or emigrated to Canada/Austrailia.

I think if you like travel then do if you like staying in your local then do that. each to their own.

I my time out of college, I've been lucky enough to live and work in Abu-Dhabi, Luxembourg, Zurich, Edinburgh and now back in Dublin.
    I love travel, but there are friends of mine who still live in Cork and don't like to travel they are still cool people.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,207 ✭✭✭✭Berty

There are people like this all over the country who have never left their own county. We took our nephew to Euro Disney once and even Shannon aiport, 20kms from his house, was the furthest he had ever been. :rolleyes:

I leave the county every single day as a Rep and I meet people who might not leave the county for one year to the next and the actually ask me "pick me up xx in galway" or whatever. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Undercover Elephant

I once had a meeting with some lads from Limerick. The secretary who was arranging it had never been out of Dublin, and as it turned out had a pretty shaky grasp of geography beyond the Pale. Her idea of "half way between the two" was Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

hiram wrote: »
    Met a dub today in Westport who claims to have left Dublin on the train for a visit for the first time..great..but.. unusual? I know most people outside the pale have visited Dublin at some stage, but I found this most unusual. Guy was in his 30's.

Did he say that he played football for Dublin? :D

* Only joking!! :p

I once had a meeting with some lads from Limerick. .

Did they have a horse outside?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Thud

Ah heere, leavrr it ou!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

I've been as far as Fairyhouse, but I've never been to Meath:)

lol

I've been to Paradise but I've never been to me. :D

lol

I've been to Paradise but I've never been to me. :D

Ah here leave itra out, that's the culchie version;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's a city thing, you'll find the ame in London, Birmingham or Seattle.

There's plenty of people in my town that have never left and never will now that I changed the ropes in the dungeon to chains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Londoners are particularly blinkered and ignorant as regards this type of thing, some of them think Coventry is in the North of England

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

On the other side of the coin you have Dubs who couldn’t get out of it quick enough. Now living in soulless housing estates in Meath, Kildare and Wicklow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭youreadthis

dd972 wrote: »
    Londoners are particularly blinkered and ignorant as regards this type of thing, some of them think Coventry is in the North of England

Most have actually left London though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

I was talking to a girl a while ago who went up to donegal for the weekend (first time out of dub) but had to go home after the first night as she missed her mother :pac:

I couldn't hide the look I gave her, no matter how much I tried

This reminds me of something I heard discussed on the radio years back regarding city dwellers presuming themselves to be more worldly wise than their small town counterparts. The gist of it was that the opposite is generally true. A city dweller can go to college, get a job etc without ever leaving Mammy whilst someone from 'up the country' is more likely to have to move out for work and definitely so for college.
    In my own circumstance i have lived in 6 different Dublin addresses, in Galway, london and three small irish towns and move away from Mammy at 19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,214 ✭✭✭afatbollix

My misses is a teacher in London in Vaxuhall which is where MI5 is based right by the river not a great area or school, She bought a group of 7 year olds to the science museum and when they were crossing the Thames a few pipped up whats that Miss?? Little did the knew they lived less than a mile from the Thames. Shocking.