How Ireland treats its Asylum Seekers exposed by the Guardian

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

Chinasea wrote: »
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2012/oct/03/asylum-seekers-ireland-magdalene-laundries

The above link is from The Guardian outlining the hideous way we manage the asylum seekers that end up on our shores. I find it shameful. In particular the paragraph I have extracted below.

Unable to access education, employment or frequently even to cook for themselves, asylum-seekers are accommodated and fed, and granted an adult weekly allowance of €19.10 (rates that have not changed in real terms since their introduction over a decade ago).

Walk around O'Connell street at 3pm any week day and look at the amount of Africans hanging around the gpo in brand new clothes and 150 euro Nike runners, I call bull****. They must do shift work :rolleyes:
    Careful, they might be legal residents via our lovely Irish born child rule back in the day.( whether they are Irish, or their sibling is) They may no longer be asylum seekers.

So if they or mammy work,thus what they were is none of our business, however if Mr social welfare funds such tastes ......

XWho knows they might be fake Nike......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Shouldn't they be claiming asylum in the first country they land?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

I've said this before, The minister for justice at the time 2008 approx said he had a confidential report on his desk saying up to 80% of asylum seekers are bougus. I tend to believe that as most travel around,over and trough at least a dozen countries to get her, African or not.

wprathead wrote: »
    ffs
    so what, black people automatically equal asylum seekers?
    even though I know to expect it, still amazes me how these threads manage to bring out the knuckledraggers

Ignorance masked as political correctness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

not yet wrote: »
    I've said this before, The minister for justice at the time 2008 approx said he had a confidential report on his desk saying up to 80% of asylum seekers are bougus.

He was probably just appealing to the knuckle-dragging portion of Irish society looking for handy votes.. similar to those that rear their filthy heads here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I would imagine 90% enter claiming asylum regardless of what part of Africa they are from.

Instead of using your imagination, why not just look up the actual figures? Asylum seekers only form a small percentage of [African] immigrants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

I read the guardian a lot and I have to say its got a rather strange attitude to Ireland (the Republic, the north and Henry McDonald (an ex sticky) has its own strangeness) perhaps because it looked to Ireland as an example in the boom, I mean their complaining about the 19 euro a week which I admit is very little, but if you think of the UK welfare rates that people have to feed and clothes themselves on and the recipients of which are UK citzins its a bit hypocritical

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Boombastic wrote: »

No. Dublin regulation.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Instead of using your imagination, why not just look up the actual figures? Asylum seekers only form a small percentage of [African] immigrants.

Link please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭LeBash

bbam wrote: »
    They should all be shipped back to wherever they came from.
    No.
    The cases found not to be genuine should be sent back.. the decision process just needs to speed up. Seriously some of these people need our help, surely we're not so inward looking that we can't see that.

It is the illegitimate asylum seekers that are slowing the genuine cases up to be fair. When someone can have something in the region of 15 appeals based on proven lies the genuine people are going to suffer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Biodegradable Bellend

That's just a small percentage too many as far as I'm concerned. Send them all back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

not yet wrote: »
    I've said this before, The minister for justice at the time 2008 approx said he had a confidential report on his desk saying up to 80% of asylum seekers are bougus. I tend to believe that as most travel around,over and trough at least a dozen countries to get her, African or not.

But the mistake that many make is to equate this 80% figure with 80% of African immigrants.

As mentioned before, in this and other threads, asylum seekers form only a small percentage of total immigrants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

latenia wrote: »
    Another well informed individual

Thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

asylum-seekers are accommodated and fed, and granted an adult weekly allowance of €19.10 (rates that have not changed in real terms since their introduction over a decade ago).

They are better off then our own homeless as we come close to winter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Meh, obviously the numbskull contingent here are barely even worth acknowledging, but this stuff about "we" Irish and what "we" should feel "shame" for etc is just yet more self loathing.
    Ireland is a pretty good place to be an immigrant/asylum-seeker, it is not a rabidly racist society - no matter how much self loathing types want it to be.

wprathead wrote: »
    Walk around O'Connell street at 3pm any week day and look at the amount of Africans hanging around the gpo in brand new clothes and 150 euro Nike runners, I call bull****. They must do shift work :rolleyes:

ffs
    so what, black people automatically equal asylum seekers?
    even though I know to expect it, still amazes me how these threads manage to bring out the knuckledraggers

whether you like it or not, the stats from dept of justice for the past 15 years would make it on a balance of probabilities that their parents were part of that system, they themselves might b Irish citizens. Oh and before you off on one, the stats for work permits are easily accessible on the net too. Hey maybe they had eu citizenship from other countries.

Maybe engage the auld brain before running your mouth off seeking to protect them. I would not say that 90 % of Africans or their families came by asylum originally , complemented by 'marriage' or births. But I would be more than dighted to successfully prove that these so called knackers have made a valid point. You wan to live in ignorance fine but don't spread it on this site, at least have evidence to back up what you say.

Not even the refugee NGOs would dare come out an say that th perceptions raised by other posters was incorrect.

The following can be found on dept of enterprise , refugee appeal and refugee commissioner websites,

Stats as to country and year of applications when status was granted or refused for the last 15 year's ie refugee status (tells you who came from where) and work permits/green cards.

Justice website INIS.gov.ie have similar stats for visa ans student visa applications.

According to supreme court cAses of bode/dunno, over 17,000 adult availed of inc 05 scheme, (many Chinese ans other Asians too, it only refers to adults, non Irish children, naturally allowed to stay and register themselves once they turn 16). This figure would have gone up circa 2000 more after dimbo case. In light of zambrano a possible another 1000 individuals.

Justice does or at least had the stats for nationalities availing of inc and do still have stash for marriage to eu nationals, not just Africans mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

smash wrote: »
    I've met loads of Nigerian princes through email.

If you've a problem with them, stop spamming them. :pac:

I would imagine 90% enter claiming asylum regardless of what part of Africa they are from.

Why don't you do the same too! Where is your back up for this ? I'm am sure any member of the gnib would find that rather amusing.

You taken into account other family members who come after wards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Some good points raised in the article but it's ruined by its appeal to emotion and spurious comparisons to things like the Magdeline Laundries.

If things are so bad here for asylum seekers then why are the majority of people housed in Mosney so reluctant to be more incorporated into wider communities?

Things could be done a lot better here, the process is ridiculously slow, but it's nowhere near as bad for people as that article makes out. And of course since it's seen as racist now you can't make any logical argument about the fact most genuine asylum seekers could not afford to make it as far as Ireland without passing through other 'safe' countries along the way.

The reason the UK grants asylum to 4 times more people than us is because they have certain arrangements with countries that they are currently at war with. A far greater % of the UK's (compared to our own) asylum seekers are from Afghanistan and Iraq.. that's not coincidental.

Besides it's not like Chinasea to post stuff about how awful the Irish are. Living up to his own worst nightmare as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

PapaQuebec wrote: »
    You obviously dont read the Grauniad regularly!

I read the article last night via the Grauns iPhone app - dreadful soppy piece - and an insult to all those who endured the Magdalene laundries!

What the fcuk is the Grauniad ????
    If you are referring to The Guardian then you really should pay more attention when you are regularly reading it.

@ PapaQuebec.Apologies...a quick google shows me what you meant.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

smash wrote: »
    Free food, somewhere to live and a bit of cash.... They get enough!

Most of them down want handouts, they want opportunities to provide for themselves and their families. :rolleyes:

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    If you are referring to The Guardian then you really should pay more attention when you are regularly reading it.

As they say on Boards.Fr...

*le sigh.....

Why don't you do the same too! Where is your back up for this ? I'm am sure any member of the gnib would find that rather amusing.

In that 90% Im taking into account asylum seekers, offspring and family members that may have joined them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Biodegradable Bellend

mgbgt1978 wrote: »

Shure everyone knows The Grauniad.

Nodin wrote: »
    Boombastic wrote: »

No. Dublin regulation.
    Dublin regulations only deals with people who actually applied for asylum in another country, not dimly pass through another country! If you bothered to read and understand the rules you would not be making such an ill informed comment. Moreover those regulations are in bad need of reform since th problems in Greece and Italy. Moreover, in the case that the rules apply, a state must operate ite powers to return them within a short space of time. Failure to do so means that the person is their problem.

Asylum rules themslves will look at why by failed to apply in first safe country.

This issue was confirmed along time ago on this site. Why are mods allowing the repeat of such ignorance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Besides it's not like Chinasea to post stuff about how awful the Irish are. Living up to his own worst nightmare as usual.
    Lol. Bet (s)he's Irish too - but of course an exception, not like all the horrid other Irish people. :)

Exactly, what tf is the Magdalene Laundries mentioned for? Are "we" supposed to be "ashamed" of that phenomenon which took place long before most of us were born?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭lightspeed

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2012/oct/03/asylum-seekers-ireland-magdalene-laundries

The above link is from The Guardian outlining the hideous way we manage the asylum seekers that end up on our shores. I find it shameful. In particular the paragraph I have extracted below.

Unable to access education, employment or frequently even to cook for themselves, asylum-seekers are accommodated and fed, and granted an adult weekly allowance of €19.10 (rates that have not changed in real terms since their introduction over a decade ago).

Do you feel as outraged about the homeless irish people who have not been given nearly the same accommodation and help?
    The whole refugee situation is nonsense. The reason I say that is because they have not yet changed the environment in the countries their fleeing. The rapists and war barons and corrupt politicians are just replaced with more rapists, war barons and corrupt politicians. How can I not be outraged and annoyed when I see refugees come to the country despite the fact that we are bankrupt and live off of our citizens through generous housing, and benefits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Fall in asylum seekers related to the recession 4 Jan 2012

Just 1,250 applications were received last year, barely a tenth of the peak recorded a decade ago.

Two-thirds of failed asylum seekers had used false identities 21 May 2012
    Cross-checks carried out by gardai using British fingerprint records revealed that about 1,300 out of 2,000 failed asylum seekers investigated were known to Britain's Border Agency under a different name.

Edit: we need a taxi driver to tell us how he brought different adults with the same kids to claim the social :)

Dublin regulations only deals with people who actually applied for asylum in another country, ............ ignorance?

Still the charmer, I see.

In that 90% Im taking into account asylum seekers, offspring and family members that may have joined them.
    As I have said earlier, and iinviting others to look a the evidence that I have marked out, from stat websites, while it is not 90% of them, it would at least be 50 %. It would not be unreasonable for an ordinary Joe, depending on the African state (let us remember south Africa however,) to assume, even wrongly, that at some point, one of their family members cAme via the asylum process , in the last 15 year's, whether successful or not.

It is not a nice thing to say, but, there is accuracy in it, that not even the NGOs could possibly deny( I am not saying 90 %)

So, in line with the work permit stats and asylum stats,(which may not include the child in it, until recently as children are now processed individually,)( I don't think they have stats for each country on leave to remain ans sp) care to offer an attempt to backup your argument,