Reilly conveniently knows developer who owns the sites of new PC centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Gerry Adams was in the 'RA though. Won't somebody think of the childer?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Boombastic wrote: »
    HEALTH Minister James Reilly has admitted he has a connection to a well-known property developer who owns the site in his constituency where a controversial health centre will be built.

So this crap is still going on. No vested interest then Reilly? Why has Enda not ousted this gombeen and why are all the others standing behind him?

Is it time that this government where pushed to fall? I certainly have lost all confidence in them they are corrupt and are taking us all for a ride
    This isnt funny anymore but..

HE FIXED THE ROAD!!!!!!!
    Really. They (politicians in general) just do ****e like this. They keep their heads down for a few day til the kerfuffle dies down and then just carry on having gotten away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I personally would have no problem if a politician was to stand up and publicly state that the decision they are about to make is based on what is best for the country and they are 100% sure it's morally correct and they will stand over it all the way, but there is a conflict of interest on their behalf.

A correct decision is a correct decision but FOR F**KS SAKE be open and transparent about it.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

Time for this fat, dirty-headed, corrupt gombeen to go. It's one thing after another with him and I hate the thought of what state the health service will be in if he's there at the end of five years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Biggins wrote: »

I would love to hear of it was some other unknown underling which made the decision (which would let him off the hook?) or did he have the ultimate say?

Of course it was some underling and not the great Dr. Himself;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Boombastic wrote: »
    Of course it was some underling and not the great Dr. Himself;)

I suspect thats one defence we might eventually hear.

...Mr Murphy had said he had seen the Minister on television when asked if he knew him.
    LINK LINK

Call me a non-believer but...

http://imageshack.us/a/img31/8643/oopsr.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I'm honestly more shocked that this crap still comes as a huge shock to so many people. "Politician does somthing apparently dodgy". Well I never. I for one am shocked. All you need in this country is a serious face and the ability to brass-neck your way and not lose the head or let any innapropriate words slip out. Those are fatal. Being acused of Utter strokery is just normal and a minor hurdle to overcome, "sure they'll all forget in a week or two lads...." and we do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

I could explain to you what exactly is going on but it is too complicated to explain fully as its loggeraridmic or some such thing that is way above all your heads :rolleyes:

from the Irish times http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/1004/breaking33.html

Earlier Minister for Children Frances Fitzgerald defended Dr Reilly and said she was confident once all details emerge people will accept that he has done nothing wrong.

She conceded that the details “may not seem clear now” but said this would change. “There is no personal gain for him. There is no impropriety in relation to the lease, the land, the particular site we’re discussing today. That will emerge more and more as the details of the decision making around that emerge,” Ms Fitzgerald said.

“I would be very confident that once the details around that particular decision emerge that it would be understood by people and it will be accepted.”

Yeah, I am sure they are all hoping that we forget this by next week so as they don't have to "reveal the details"

By the way, I thought Vincent Brownes show last night was one of the funniest things I have seen in a while. FG threw in a backbencher to defend Reilly and he was literally eaten alive, Uncomfortable was not even the word, he looked like someone that was hoping a hole would open up so as he could disappear :)

I could explain to you what exactly is going on but it is too complicated to explain fully as its loggeraridmic or some such thing that is way above all your heads :rolleyes:

Thanks for not being condescending!

How many versions now have we had from Reilly and the government?
    Forgive us for being slightly sceptical - its just one thing after another with this man (and this government)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,079 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Biggins wrote: »
    I suspect thats one defence we might eventually hear.

His underling, Roisin Shorthall a minister of state, proposed the original criteria which resulted in the selection of 20 Primary care centres to be prioritised.

This doesn't leave very much room for Reilly to blame an underling when he used his executive power to overturn the decision of a minister of State

Ban billionaires

Akrasia wrote: »
    ...This doesn't leave very much room for Reilly to blame an underling when he used his executive power to overturn the decision of a minister of State

True!