The Online Dating Thread 3..**READ 1ST POST Oct 2012**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

crapmanjoe wrote: »
    Really? i sometimes say something along the lines of "you have a nice smile" - wouldnt consider that creepy

But maybe it explains my low reply rate

I do that sometimes too. Tell her she has a nice smile. The odd time I'll get a reply thanking me for it. Although like you, I have a low reply rate too. Maybe I should change my strategy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Strawberry Fields

I set up a profile on tagged for a nosey, within the first few pages of search results I counted 6 profiles where women were using pics of models, one profile of a 41 year old woman in Dublin actually used 7 different models as her pics:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭foxinsox

I also set up an account on tagged..

to see what it is all about..

It is a bit scary..

I haven't a clue what I'm doing, so many buttons!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Okay... I'm going to make a profile on tagged. Let's see how much porn I'm sent this time >.>

It seems some of the profiles on tagged are private..

If any of you are on there and have figured out how it seems to work..

Please share any tips etc..

I'm afraid to do anything in case I press the implode button :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Stepho

OK - out from a long term relationship nearly 2 years ago, and been dating on and off since then.. the usual, met them in pubs etc... nothing serious... dates here and there...

so anyway, been reading some of the threads (you guys are so funny).. and been recently trying the on-line dating for last 2 or 3 months... well, I really seem to attract the wrong types at the minute.. from the moment they see I'm French, they all seem to presume I have a french maid outfit hanging in my wardrobe (well ok I do, but that's really for after a 3 or 4 dates later kinda thing...:-)... or the ones who seem genuine and who I message don't message back... argh...

Stepho wrote: »
    OK - out from a long term relationship nearly 2 years ago, and been dating on and off since then.. the usual, met them in pubs etc... nothing serious... dates here and there...

so anyway, been reading some of the threads (you guys are so funny).. and been recently trying the on-line dating for last 2 or 3 months... well, I really seem to attract the wrong types at the minute.. from the moment they see I'm French, they all seem to presume I have a french maid outfit hanging in my wardrobe (well ok I do, but that's really for after a 3 or 4 dates later kinda thing...:-)... or the ones who seem genuine and who I message don't message back... argh...

Want me to take a look at your profile and see if maybe there's anything on it that might be attracting that sort of thing? Feel free to PM me a link if you'd like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Stepho

Cheers Lynda... I'll see how I get on... maybe a few decent ones will start mailing me...

It's all about perseverance really.. going on dates, giving everybody a chance etc. Been on few dates, but I didnt feel things went so well that I wanted to meet with them again or vice-versa.

Thing is, I havent put up my pic on my profile... do blokes rarely check profiles (hum, read: "read profiles") that dont have any pictures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭enviro

foxinsox wrote: »
    It seems some of the profiles on tagged are private..

If any of you are on there and have figured out how it seems to work..

Please share any tips etc..

I'm afraid to do anything in case I press the implode button :D

You can still add them as a "friend" They will receive the request and accept if they are interested. Maybe that's not how the button should be used... but it works for me so I'll continue to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭enviro

Stepho wrote: »
    Cheers Lynda... I'll see how I get on... maybe a few decent ones will start mailing me...

It's all about perseverance really.. going on dates, giving everybody a chance etc. Been on few dates, but I didnt feel things went so well that I wanted to meet with them again or vice-versa.

Thing is, I havent put up my pic on my profile... do blokes rarely check profiles (hum, read: "read profiles") that dont have any pictures?

A picture is a must imo, if you are serious.

Oh sweet jaysus..

Please help me..

I'm on tagged.com

WTF?

Why are people buying me as a pet..

Seemingly I'm now worth millions of dollars and seem to have 48 pets?

Jaysus and I thought dating was bad..

What have I done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

Oh sweet jaysus..

Please help me..

I'm on tagged.com

WTF?

Why are people buying me as a pet..

Seemingly I'm now worth millions of dollars and seem to have 48 pets?

Jaysus and I thought dating was bad..

What have I done?

That's hilarious :D

mood wrote: »
    That's hilarious :D

I'm now worth $81 million..

Honestly this is scary.. I haven't a fecking clue whats going on..

Other news, I've been proposed to by a 24 yr old guy from Tunisia.

I'm now worth $81 million..

Honestly this is scary.. I haven't a fecking clue whats going on..

I am sure he is 100% genuine and not after a EU passport or money to come visit you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Oh Prince Ali Ali-Ababwa, will you ever learn? :pac:

Some *ahem* STRANGE people in the POF new users section now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

I just logged in to check my mails and I got a mail from a woman who is pregnant offering me fun !!! No why she is pregnant :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭magneticimpulse

Todays news article on the woman who was raped after an online date has definitely scared me about going to meet random strangers...even thou i have gone on quite a few online dates...it does make you think twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭riveratom

Had a date earlier, lasted all of two hours! I know it's a school night and all, but still!

I think it went perfectly fine, just wasn't a whole lot there I don't think. She is pretty nice looking, maybe she could be interested in nothing too serious.. :)

My non-OD but still online development has turned sour, with the guy being a douche to me for the majority of the time since he told me he liked me. Since I don't really like mind games, I told him where to go. :)

I think I should just go out and pick someone up in a bar. So much easier than doing it online.:pac:

Todays news article on the woman who was raped after an online date has definitely scared me about going to meet random strangers...even thou i have gone on quite a few online dates...it does make you think twice.

Todays news article on the woman who was raped after the pub has definitely scared me about going to pubs...even thou i have gone to quite a few pubs...it does make you think twice.

It looks to me like the media are trying to whip up a bit of hysteria by accentuating the online dating aspect of the story. I'm willing to bet that lot more people get raped leaving bars/clubs etc. but there tends not to be such a tendency in the media to vilify such places. The 'internet boogeyman' phenomenon is out in force.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Is there any real point to filling out your interests/about section on POF? I've noticed on many women's pages that they don't put more than a few sentences. I feel like I put up a thesis and maybe people glance over it and just go TL;DR.

Galvasean wrote: »
    Todays news article on the woman who was raped after the pub has definitely scared me about going to pubs...even thou i have gone to quite a few pubs...it does make you think twice.

It looks to me like the media are trying to whip up a bit of hysteria by accentuating the online dating aspect of the story. I'm willing to bet that lot more people get raped leaving bars/clubs etc. but there tends not to be such a tendency in the media to vilify such places. The 'internet boogeyman' phenomenon is out in force.

Apparently most rapes are carried out by people the victims know. I can't remember the stats but it's a very, very high percentage. That said you still need to be careful. I remember some woman on one of the OD threads said her friend who is a member of a dating sites who meet a guy alone in a public place and brings here along. Yet she seemed to have no problem going back to his place to sleep with him hours later!!! She had very odd ideas about safety IMO.

What a fruit cake over the whole friend thing , as mentioned above though it could happen at any time or place because lets face it there are sick people out there . The only reason it hit the news so hard is down to the fact it happened through OD .

I know :rolleyes:

She kept insisting that her friend* was more safety conscience that I was when I explained that I have no problem meeting a OD date on my own but only in a very public place and I would NEVER go home with one within hours of meeting.

* She was talking about herself as she way to opinionated about it all to be talking about a friend :rolleyes:

I know :rolleyes:

She kept insisting that her friend* was more safety conscience that I was when I explained that I have no problem meeting a OD date on my own but only in a very public place and I would NEVER go home with one within hours of meeting.

* She was talking about herself as she way to opinionated about it all to be talking about a friend :rolleyes:

Well to me she sounds deluded and if she is willing to sleep with men after a first date it is a bad thing for other women because men will expect all women to do that . It is women like her putting other women in danger because when predators hear how easy it is to bed a woman from OD dating more of them will sign up .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Augmerson wrote: »
    Is there any real point to filling out your interests/about section on POF? I've noticed on many women's pages that they don't put more than a few sentences. I feel like I put up a thesis and maybe people glance over it and just go TL;DR.

Probably don't get any mail then! If its too long it can get glanced over but if its too short then it kind of says 'can't be bothered'

Well to me she sounds deluded and if she is willing to sleep with men after a first date it is a bad thing for other women because men will expect all women to do that . It is women like her putting other women in danger because when predators hear how easy it is to bed a woman from OD dating more of them will sign up .

I agree she sounded totally deluded.

However, I don't agree with the rest. A predators maybe less likely to try to target women via OD as there would a technological trail of their contact with potential victims.

Anyway, with OD as with real life you need to have your wits about you and be careful. Trust your instincts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

That is the biggest pile of unadulterated drivel I've ever heard in my life.

So women who engage in casual sex are endangering all other women in the world, ever? And men are so easily led that they assume that because *some* women are happy to sleep with men on the first date, that all other women they meet subsequently will do the same?

Please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Tagged...

*shudders*

I used that site a few years ago. It's an absolute cluster fúck of a site to use. It's like Bebo... with extra cleavage.