Did anybody on here ever tell their boss to go

• 27-09-2012 11:06PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭

Did anybody ever tell their boss or manager to fcuk off , or do they know somebody that did? I don't mean as a joke, I mean the real .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Yes. But it doesn't have the same effect when you work for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭skepticalone

I am the boss , im ****ed off and ****ed over by govt depts regularly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Neadine

I did, a number of years ago, thick arrogant prick that he was.
    He pushed me too far one day, and I told him exactly what I thought of him and told him he as a horrible, ungrateful person and impossible to work with.
    I then got a call from his wife who totally agreed with me.
    Went and packed up my car that even, drove, got on the boat and came home!!!
    I was kinda liberating!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

I knew a guy who worked for Hertz in Cork Airport for about 6 months.

Did the interview, got the job - all was rosy. Do you have a full driving license? - "'Course I do Boss - I'll bring it in on Monday". After being asked countless times he eventually got pissed off with the job (moving lots of new expensive cars around the country) and stapled his provisional license and his uniform to the Bosses door, with a little FU note.

Legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I have done much, much worse than that. Doesn't everyone?

(I do tend to forget other people don't work in tattoo parlors...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I did, by accident, I called his number, got the voicemail, thought I hung up, actually hadn't. Gave a full and frank account of what I thought of him to the windscreen, heard the "beep" of the voicemail length ending..... he was not impressed, so I repeated it to him, live this time. Worked for myself ever since. Best voicemail ever, IMO. Didn't seem that way at the time though, in fairness..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

I had a friend that told his boss in a pub to stick his job and stormed out, only to have to creep back in meekly about 10 seconds later and say "just getting me coat". It ruined the whole telling off the boss scenario.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I'm not in the habit of talking to myself OP. . . . . yet.

My boss was "very disappointed in me" and I told him I was equally disappointed in him. He told me not to bother showing up for work the next weekend, and I told him I had no intention of it.

He treated all his staff like sh*t anyway, and he's been in the news a lot in the last few years, only last week I heard he'd been arrested again. Couldn't happen to a nicer guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭ManOnFire

did it once when i was much younger and it ended up working,after a cooling off period of a few days she apologized to me which i couldn't believe! have much greater respect now because of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭sonic85

Neadine wrote: »
    I did, a number of years ago, thick arrogant prick that he was.
    He pushed me too far one day, and I told him exactly what I thought of him and told him he as a horrible, ungrateful person and impossible to work with.
    I then got a call from his wife who totally agreed with me.
    Went and packed up my car that even, drove, got on the boat and came home!!!
    I was kinda liberating!!

did ya give her one? wouldve been the perfect way to get back at him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,101 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

As a teenager I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Neadine

sonic85 wrote: »
    did ya give her one? wouldve been the perfect way to get back at him!

Funnily enough NO. Might have something to do with me being female, and straight, and not wanting to ever again me near anything that prick has had contact with.
    But when I told her what an impossible prick he was she completely agreed with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

No, but I've often felt like saying it to employees.

Do your fooking job and stop moaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

That's interesting , I never thought of it like that, how many boss,s out there have wanted to tell their staff to f off , because they let them down or took the pee , but couldn't because they're in a position of authority

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Lucky enough to have a boss that actually doesnt treat me like a cúnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

That's interesting , I never thought of it like that, how many boss,s out there have wanted to tell their staff to f off , because they let them down or took the pee , but couldn't because they're in a position of authority

Employees have all the rights, employers have very few.

Warning letters me hole, if you can't do your job or miss every second monday, you don't deserve your job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

No but I stomped my foot and gave him the Nazi salute. Actions speak louder than words.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Yes, I used to work in a corner shop during school around 7 years ago. You know the ones with the family home in the back. Anyway shopowner and wife were crazy and used to call me rhubarb because I have ginger hair. He used to crud flem on the kitchen table and expect me to to clean table with it as said it was the best cleaner. He also was too lazy to go upstairs and pissed in a drain in the kitchen. This man was about 70 and used to bring me into sitting room as well and tell me to sit down so he could abuse me for a while. I only laughed it off cause I was 15 and pay was good and got 35+ hours a week even when school was on. Sometimes when customers were in the shop he'd stand grunting in front of the till and they'd get freaked out and leave and then give out to me for not serving them. As long as he didn't put his hands on me I wouldn't give a feck what he said to me. Theres tons of other stuff as well but too much to write here!!! Anyone one day I put the cigarettes in the wrong place to stack away, grabbed me by the neck and told him to shove his job up his arse and go **** himself and was suing him. Next day he rang and apologized and said sorry that he's dying of cancer and has six months to live and it will never happen again. I think if anyone here is from Kilkenny they will know the shop I'm on about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

Many, many times I've told my various bosses to get stuffed, eff off, whatever.

Most memorable one was working in "Crazy Prices", Tesco as it's called now, I was leaving anyway for another job and with a week left to go, I was put on trash compactor duty (a new made-up job specially for me, lovely!), so I marched into the managers office, ripped off the jumper, ripped off the trousers, and walked out through the store and the shopping centre half naked!

Working for myself nowadays, so much easier than dealing with some people's need to "knock you down a peg or two!" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭sonic85

what? surely thats what being in a position of authority means? in my place of work most of the supervisors are lazy pricks and they let the other lazy pricks under them get away with murder. its fooking ridiculous really

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Many, many times I've told my various bosses to get stuffed, eff off, whatever.

Most memorable one was working in "Crazy Prices", Tesco as it's called now, I was leaving anyway for another job and with a week left to go, I was put on trash compactor duty (a new made-up job specially for me, lovely!), so I marched into the managers office, ripped off the jumper, ripped off the trousers, and walked out through the store and the shopping centre half naked!

Working for myself nowadays, so much easier than dealing with some people's need to "knock you down a peg or two!" :rolleyes:

That is the stupidest thing I ever heard. You gave up your reference because of something minimal as that? It just sounds like you don't like working for other people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭MadMardegan

I tell my boss to go **** himself regularly.

I work for my brother though so it's a bit different...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Yup, walked out of a job on a complete prick of a manager once, best feeling ever.

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

No, but I told him to fcuk himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Oh many times!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I tell my boss to go **** himself regularly.

I work for my brother though so it's a bit different...

Nepotism!

I walked out of a place after taking a lot of abuse. One of the best decisions I've ever made.
    Since then I've heard that every single person I had a problem with have been pushed out of the place or moved to elsewhere, so I know I wasn't nuts.
    I hear things are better their now but it's a bit late for me.
    I had words with the boss before and after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

areyawell wrote: »
    That is the stupidest thing I ever heard. You gave up your reference because of something minimal as that? It just sounds like you don't like working for other people

Seventeen years ago? Yeah, I wonder if I should go back and ask for one now! :pac:

If you read my post, you would've seen that I had another job already, I informed my manager, who then put me standing beside a stinking trash compactor for what would've been a week if I'd stayed there. I'd have had no problem with it had it been an actual job that somebody did trash compactor duty, but it wasn't. It was a made up job that he had made up on the spot because I was leaving.

If you allow yourself to be treated like shìt, then don't be surprised when you are indeed treated like shìt. I've worked for many employers since that I still have fantastic relationships with to this day, just this one particular individual was all.

You're right about one thing though- being self employed is a thousand times more fulfilling than working for somebody else. A thousand times more headaches too, but swings and roundabouts! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

My little bro did nothing in a job I got him for 3 months. He sat in the jacks smokin weed all day . The bossd knock on the door and hed roar **** off im havin a ****e . When he finally got sacked he intimidated the boss with his motorbike helmet .
    Most uncomfortanble moment ever . Turning up for work the next mornin and the boss askin you out for lunch tryin to get info whether his life was under threat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Hey Micky

So you're a Boss. Well whoopdewhoo

Fuck Off