Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

If terry starts I would put gervinho up front, terry will thrive on the physical battle with giroud

Whereas he won't need to do anything at all with Gervinho.:D
    No seriously, Walcott might get a start so i'd stick Gervinho on the left, Walcott on the right and podolski up top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,468 ✭✭✭DenMan

If Terry appeals the ban would he be eligible for Sunday? I think so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

DenMan wrote: »
    If Terry appeals the ban would he be eligible for Sunday? I think so!

His ban doesn't start until either after his appeal period is up or after his appeal.Whichever occurs.

Whereas he won't need to do anything at all with Gervinho.:D
    No seriously, Walcott might get a start so i'd stick Gervinho on the left, Walcott on the right and podolski up top.

I would leave the podolski and Gibbs combo alone
    Good call re Walcott, but if he is to start would drag put him on the right to pin Ashley cole back who will be afraid of his pace
    And then gervinho up top his movement and pace would cause terry all sorts of problems hopefully more of an end product this time

We also released our finanical results
    We're fcuking rich :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

Link please?

Good call re Walcott, but if he is to start would drag put him on the right to pin Ashley cole back who will be afraid of his pace
    And then gervinho up top his movement and pace would cause terry all sorts of problems hopefully more of an end product this time

I'm not so sure, Podolski and Cazorla will surely be earmarked more by the Chelsea manager.
    Which could be a good thing for Gervinho.:)

Link please?

http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/arsenal-holdings-publishes-financial-results

I'm not so sure, Podolski and Cazorla will surely be earmarked more by the Chelsea manager.
    Which could be a good thing for Gervinho.:)

I still think we beat them 2-1 very confident here

no mention of wenger saying jack will play 60 mins on Monday

I can't be the only one excited by this, can I :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

You should check out the Swiss ramble on twitter he after saying that without player sales AFC lost 31m before tax

It's refreshing reading in terms of the attitude many clubc have this days towards money.

As a united fan, I wish we didn't have those two spongers sitting on the club like it's a magic cash cow that can eat debt all day long, and still smile for the cameras.

City and Chelsea are in completely different boats. I hope the FFP rules are enforced properly in the coming seasons, although I don't see it happening.

Anyway, it's good seeing that a very decent team can be put together with a sensible business model behind it!

You should check out the Swiss ramble on twitter he after saying that without player sales AFC lost 31m before tax

Yeah I follow him, that post was more of a joke
    We still have 150m cash reserve, excluding this summer profit and property sales

He said it looks like wenger have 40m to spend in jan taking everything into account

It's refreshing reading in terms of the attitude many clubc have this days towards money.

As a united fan, I wish we didn't have those two spongers sitting on the club like it's a magic cash cow that can eat debt all day long, and still smile for the cameras.

City and Chelsea are in completely different boats. I hope the FFP rules are enforced properly in the coming seasons, although I don't see it happening.

Anyway, it's good seeing that a very decent team can be put together with a sensible business model behind it!

From what I read if FFP is introduced utd will by miles and miles ahead of everyone else with the brilliant commercial deals ye have

Yeah the clubs with the most fans and the best structures in place will be the ones that fare best I've heard. Arsenal will be fine anyway. It's clubs like Man City, who have money behind the club, but not enough fans or business deals worldwide who will be curtailed.

From being in the states last summer, Chelsea have a lot of fans over there. Drogba in particular was very popular!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

We'll improve our commercial deals massively in the next few years. That should be a big help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

It's clubs like Man City, who have money behind the club, but not enough fans or business deals worldwide who will be curtailed.

From being in the states last summer, Chelsea have a lot of fans over there. Drogba in particular was very popular!

Meh, business deals are easy to do once you've enough cash behind you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

Its hard to see fair play rules being strongly enforced anytime soon doesnt it?

It would make transfer feadline days a bit more tame though?ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭danlen

TBH I don't see how FFP can be enforced in a strict enough fashion for it to make any noticeable impact. There are just too many loopholes and ways around directly violating the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

danlen wrote: »
    TBH I don't see how FFP can be enforced in a strict enough fashion for it to make any noticeable impact. There are just too many loopholes and ways around directly violating the rules.

have to agree with this. But I do think that there's trouble coming somewhere down the line with regards to finance within football and certain clubs - Arsenal due to prudent finances and United (due to their revenue generation - If only they could get rid of those leeches the Glazers) will be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭dfbemt

no mention of wenger saying jack will play 60 mins on Monday

I can't be the only one excited by this, can I :)

Will be great to see Jack back.

Arteta, Jack, Cazorla and one other from a decent pool is a great midfield.

C'mon Jack. With you all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

did you ever wish you had a life lads instead if you just looking at this stupid thing day after day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

batistuta9 wrote: »
    did you ever wish you had a life lads instead if you just looking at this stupid thing day after day?

I often thing of what could have been accomplished if we had productively used all the man-hoursthathave been spent on boards.

The arsenal super thread alone probably could have cured cancer by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

gosplan wrote: »
    I often thing of what could have been accomplished if we had productively used all the man-hoursthathave been spent on boards.

The arsenal super thread alone probably could have cured cancer by now.

We could have cured cancer, but then again, we wouldn't have a deadly Arsenal thread.

six of one, half a dozen of the other.

We'll improve our commercial deals massively in the next few years. That should be a big help.

There's room to generate about 30m per annum, when you consider we have sponsorship of the jersey, manufacture of jersey and stadium naming rights to auction.

Liverpool got 25m for the jersey deal (warrior?), United got 20m for the TRAINING KIT deal.

We're going to be rich. Rich I tell you.

batistuta9 wrote: »

Says the man on here before 6 in the morning. :D

http://swissramble.blogspot.ie/search/label/Arsenal

Link here to our commercial income - we are way behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

I think we should start singing "you're not financially solvent anymore" to the city and chelsea fans; it will really affect them.