Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saying "Thanks" to the bus driver:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

No
    I always thank them, it's just polite. Usually they say bye or whatever. When I was in Dublin last year I noticed nobody did it and when I thanked the bus driver he just looked at me as if to say "what a tit" and looked back at the road. Do people not do this in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Do you say thanks to the driver upon disembarkation? Maybe it's me, but I find it absolutely cringe worthy when people alight from the bus and walk past the driver without acknowledging the driver. I make it my mission to say it every time I pass him.

Yea always thanks the bus driver. Even more cringy than someone not saying thanks is someone just throwing the change in the slot withouth even acknowledging the bus driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    I always thank them, it's just polite. Usually they say bye or whatever. When I was in Dublin last year I noticed nobody did it and when I thanked the bus driver he just looked at me as if to say "what a tit" and looked back at the road. Do people not do this in Dublin?

A large proportion of people thank the bus driver in Dublin.

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

No
    Always.. acknowledge the driver. automatic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

You must be an Ian Dury fan!

me too

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

No
    LordSutch wrote: »
    You must be an Ian Dury fan!

me too

ah, Ian Dury! my greatest fan, and PR agent kept me on the circuit for years n years to come, he did...

catch me tonight; welsh people.. at bar Snowdonia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

No
    Always! Make eye contact and say "Thanks. Bye."

When I first started getting the Luas I said thanks to the doors a few times out of habit. I like to think they appreciated it though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

No
    Do people still get the bus? Heaven forbid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

I don't say thanks to the bus driver for the pure fact that if I did that job it'd annoy the hell out of me. Every single person getting off and saying thanks. I'd feel as if I'd have to acknowledge every single one of them. It would also annoy me with the people who say it because they think it'll make my day any better. It wouldn't, at all.

Also, the bus driver gets paid to drive the bus, the amount of people that say thanks to him everyday, I bet he doesn't even notice it.

Don't get me wrong, I hate bad manners but like I said, I bet he doesn't even notice. And if you're saying it to feel better about yourself well then that defeats the purpose really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

No
    UCDVet wrote: »
    To each their own....but it seems awfully childish to thank the bus driver. Think of how frequently the bus stops and how many people get on and off. Does yer man really need to hear 50 'thank yous' per hour?

Has being thanked too much ever been a problem for anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

No
    I always do too and to the flight attendants when getting off the plane etc. Just asked my son and he says he thanks the bus driver of his school bus everyday. It has paid off in that one of the drivers who lives nearby now collects him at the front gate or drops him off there when he is driving instead of making him walk a short distance to the bus stop!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

No
    yes i do thank him.
    i tried thanking a pilot once to,but got arrested for trying to gain entry to the cockpit, oh well.

i wonder if the junkies thank the bus driver and if so how do they do it.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭delad

Lukebray wrote: »
    I don't say thanks to the bus driver for the pure fact that if I did that job it'd annoy the hell out of me. Every single person getting off and saying thanks. I'd feel as if I'd have to acknowledge every single one of them. It would also annoy me with the people who say it because they think it'll make my day any better. It wouldn't, at all.

Thats why I don't say hello to the receptionist at work, I think it must be so annoying to be distracted from your work hundreds of times a day to acknowledge people who say hello and goodbye to you.

As for bus drivers, I never thank them. 99% of bus drivers are absolute bastards of the highest order, I'd rather walk than have to thank any of them. There are one or two decent human beings who are bus drivers but the vast vast majority of them are scum.

And if anything, they should be thanking me when I get off for using the bus and therefore keeping them in a job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

No
    Slurryface wrote: »
    When they stop charging I will say thanks, until then he/she is only doing what I paid them to do.
    When was the last time a bus driver said thanks to you?

Do you get a taxi and hand over the money without saying thank you?

Do you pay for a meal at a restaurant without saying thank you?

Do you buy a ticket from a cashier at a train station without saying thank you?

Manners cost you nothing.

And, since you asked, bus drivers do generally acknowlege when they're thanked, with a "Cheers" or a "No worries" or a "You're welcome" or whatever. A bit of normal everyday human interaction. They're only doing their job - same as you.

It's nice to be civil and friendly and mannerly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

delad wrote: »

As for bus drivers, I never thank them. 99% of bus drivers are absolute bastards of the highest order, I'd rather walk than have to thank any of them. There are one or two decent human beings who are bus drivers but the vast vast majority of them are scum.

:pac: Wht an odd group of people to dislike. Quality rage though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

No
    Slurryface wrote: »
    When they stop charging I will say thanks, until then he/she is only doing what I paid them to do.
    When was the last time a bus driver said thanks to you?

Yesterday morning the bus driver said thanks as I leapt off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Do you get a taxi and hand over the money without saying thank you?

Do you pay for a meal at a restaurant without saying thank you?

Do you buy a ticket from a cashier at a train station without saying thank you?

Manners cost you nothing.

And, since you asked, bus drivers do generally acknowlege when they're thanked, with a "Cheers" or a "No worries" or a "You're welcome" or whatever. A bit of normal everyday human interaction. They're only doing their job - same as you.

It's nice to be civil and friendly and mannerly.

Actually a lot of people DON'T thank taxi drivers, says more for their upbringing than my driving though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,328 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

No
    If they're rude or whatever that doesn't mean you have to be too..be better than them in that situation and say thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

No
    I always say thanks. I'd say 95% of Dublin Bus passengers say thanks.

Bus drivers almost always acknowledge the thanks and are polite and friendly in return.

I don't get the "I'm paying for a service" brigade - the very same people usually have no problem saying thanks to a shop assistant or a waitress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Always number 1

No
    I always say thanks getting off the bus. My husband and I were in Liverpool last week and said thanks to the bus driver getting off the bus at the airport and he looked at us like we were crazy but said you're welcome (think he thought it would be safer that way :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

There was a good one on the overheard in dublin book

passenger getting off bus - "Thanks very much "

bus driver -" you're grand, sure I was going this way anyway "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭jsd1004

I get the bus every day and always say thank you. I think the only time I didn't was to an asshole driver who refused to let me off at my stop and kept going despite me pressing the bell and standing beside him before my stop. He was a knob jockey of the highest order who tried to give out to me as I disembarked. I told him to get fúcked a lodged a complaint after.

But other than that I always say thanks, having worked with the general public i know how far stuff like that can go.

Do people get annoyed when the op thanks every single post to their question. It bugs me to sh!t. You asked a q..you will get answers..do not thank everyone..bit like a bus driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

Do you say thanks to the driver upon disembarkation? Maybe it's me, but I find it absolutely cringe worthy when people alight from the bus and walk past the driver without acknowledging the driver. I make it my mission to say it every time I pass him.

No , I don't......don't think I ever have.
    Only replying to this thread because I'am genuinely surprised at the numbers who said they do.
    I always use please and thank you, when buying stuff in a shop , and automatically thank the bus driver (the odd time I use a bus) after I receive my ticket...but getting off the bus the bus I've never thanked the driver....can't see the point of it.

Just wondering if this is something from childhood , and all those who thank the driver used a bus to get to school....and got into the habit of thanking that driver.
    I always walked to school , and when I got the bus into town you could get on at the back of the bus (or later..middle doors) and never had any interaction with the driver because you had bus conductors at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

No
    jsd1004 wrote: »
    I get the bus every day and always say thank you. I think the only time I didn't was to an asshole driver who refused to let me off at my stop and kept going despite me pressing the bell and standing beside him before my stop. He was a knob jockey of the highest order who tried to give out to me as I disembarked. I told him to get fúcked a lodged a complaint after.

But other than that I always say thanks, having worked with the general public i know how far stuff like that can go.

Do people get annoyed when the op thanks every single post to their question. It bugs me to sh!t. You asked a q..you will get answers..do not thank everyone..bit like a bus driver
    Thank you for your contribution to this thread :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

No
    Yes, even if it's a completely trite thing to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Light Switch

No

Bus drivers almost always acknowledge the thanks and are polite and friendly in return.

I don't get the "I'm paying for a service" brigade - the very same people usually have no problem saying thanks to a shop assistant or a waitress.

Off Topic but are you the teacher Chris fell in love with in Family Guy or is the name a coincidence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭Sar_Bear

No
    delad wrote: »
    Lukebray wrote: »

Thats why I don't say hello to the receptionist at work, I think it must be so annoying to be distracted from your work hundreds of times a day to acknowledge people who say hello and goodbye to you.

And if anything, they should be thanking me when I get off for using the bus and therefore keeping them in a job.

That is so ignorant and offensive. I regularly take busess and I can count on 1 hand the amount of "bastards" I've come across.

I always thank the bus driver, it's just basic manners. It doesn't cost anything.

The ignorance in the above post is shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thunderdog

Judging by the poll you might just be right on this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,925 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

No
    Yes, I have always said thanks to bus drivers. Some of them say nice responses like 'take care' or 'All the best' which I feel is very positive and reassuring.

Although a number of years ago; I saw one incident which was rare in itself. I had seen a 9 or 10 year old kid slagging off a Dublin Bus driver who drove the former 45 bus to Bray. He had a mate with him as they were both going fishing together while getting off in Blackrock. Those lads may have gotten a DART to Dun Laoghaire as soon as they got off it.

They exited the bus at Bus Stop 3032 near the Junction of Mount Merrion, next thing I heard the young lad coming down with his shirt off saying the words, to the driver in a strong dublin accent, 'Your a Mentaler' about twice or three times.

The driver in terms of his weight was really huge (No Offence). Everyone in the bus, especially in the lower deck were in stunned silence. I thought those comments were unheard of, which happened during the boom years, and I felt sorry for him as they were really hurtful. The driver felt pretty offended. Afterwards, he drove the bus down to the next stop while keeping a short eye on him and then he continued on his driving.

I have to say that lads was such miserable little pricks, and probably still to this day miserable little pricks.

I think I was aged 16 years old at the time when that incident took place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,964 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

No
    They exited the bus at Bus Stop 3032 near the Junction of Mount Merrion, next thing I heard the young lad coming down with his shirt off saying the words, to the driver in a strong dublin accent, 'Your a Mentaler' about twice or three times.

What's a mentaler?