Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

hi5 wrote: »
    They were everywhere back in the 80's. My neighbour had one, petrol engine, column change, "I shot JR" sun visor strip and a "dv27" cb antenna, sure what more could you want? :)

There was a later one at Mosney with wider wheels - prefer 'bonneted' p/ups myself but nice to see people trying to keep them intact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

The "Hiachy" van was the one that caught my eye as well. I used to drive one from time to time filling in for the owner of a milk round.

Without a load they were a dangerous yoke and had to be driven with care especially in the wet, I'd say manys the one ended it's life backwards in a ditch.

And if you were going to have an accident in one, backwards was definitely the best option as to the front your legs were pretty much the crumple zone. :eek:

invest4deepvalue.com

Do-more wrote: »
    The "Hiachy" van was the one that caught my eye as well. I used to drive one from time to time filling in for the owner of a milk round.

Without a load they were a dangerous yoke and had to be driven with care especially in the wet, I'd say manys the one ended it's life backwards in a ditch.

And if you were going to have an accident in one, backwards was definitely the best option as to the front your legs were pretty much the crumple zone. :eek:

A lot of nordic HiAces seem to be 4WD - no spinarounds in the ice :D

(Yes- I know there's little ice lately in the Nordic countries ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Capri wrote: »
    A lot of nordic HiAces seem to be 4WD - no spinarounds in the ice :D

Not as many as you think actually. But probably the ones that survived.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Snapped in Ennis a bit ago

IMAG0207.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Double post

Left hooker, Polish ? They seem to like the ol Bambino over there - must be better rustproofed that the yolks Turin sent us :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

Jaysus, he never drove that from Poland to here surely? Probably brought it as hand luggage with Wizzair!! :D

Sure the still drive Trabby's on ze autobahn so why not a 126p, twice as quick as a Trabby :p:p

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

Re Fiat 126P

Great use of a parking space and demonstrative of how ridiculously huge cars have got these days.

Left hooker, Polish ? They seem to like the ol Bambino over there - must be better rustproofed that the yolks Turin sent us :mad:

I thought the 126's we got in Ireland were produced in Poland? Certainly at the later end of their sales life.

invest4deepvalue.com

Do-more wrote: »
    I thought the 126's we got in Ireland were produced in Poland? Certainly at the later end of their sales life.

You could indeed be right, alls I know is that in some parts of EU , they were badged 126p to distinguish them from the rust heaps :eek: so MAYBE ours ( the hatchback 126's ) were produced in Poland but got ordinary 126 badging :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

macplaxton wrote: »
    Re Fiat 126P

Great use of a parking space and demonstrative of how ridiculously huge cars have got these days.

Well, Bambino does mean baby :D, but two parking spaces?

It IS parked in the 'Mama' space, maybe the pram takes up the other bit :p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭_ptashek_

That was pretty much the only car a Polish mid-class family could afford back when these were still available new. And the average mid-class family had to wait for years to be allowed to buy one. Later there was so many of them, and they were so cheap to run, that people just stuck to their 126s. There's still many of them used as daily drivers.

_ptashek_ wrote: »
    That was pretty much the only car a Polish mid-class family could afford back when these were still available new. And the average mid-class family had to wait for years to be allowed to buy one. Later there was so many of them, and they were so cheap to run, that people just stuck to their 126s. There's still many of them used as daily drivers.

And that's why the Poles are richer than us. We were duped into scrapping perfectly good cars by the Govt / SIMI cartel. "Your old banger WILL fail the NCT, buy a nice shiny new car now and you won't have to worry" ( except about the repayments/depreciation :eek: )

We got into a bad habit of upgrading to avoid an NCT / NCT testing 'suspect' to increase revenue:cool: and that's why a lot have shiny newish cars in the driveways but no oil in the central heating :mad:

Back to the 70s/80s lads :p

About time I uploaded some pics-

RR 6WD
    Volvo 1800ES
    TR6
    Discovery FXi (Saudi V8i converted to Tdi here :mad: )

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

And that's why the Poles are richer than us. We were duped into scrapping perfectly good cars by the Govt / SIMI cartel. "Your old banger WILL fail the NCT, buy a nice shiny new car now and you won't have to worry" ( except about the repayments/depreciation :eek: )

We got into a bad habit of upgrading to avoid an NCT / NCT testing 'suspect' to increase revenue:cool: and that's why a lot have shiny newish cars in the driveways but no oil in the central heating :mad:

Back to the 70s/80s lads :p

It is worse than that. We have people buying new cars before their current 'new' car reaches four years old to avoid going for an NCT. Then we have people getting rid of their 9 year od car to avoid going for an annual NCT. The thinking is to get new cars sold to get VRT, and then getting rid of 'old' cars to provide a market for all those four year old cars that are traded in for those shiny new cars. The fact that we all have too many cars that we cannot afford is lost on those that makes these decisions. Instead we scrap perfectly viable cars.

No wonder things are the way they are. Instead of creating jobs for mechanics in Ireland, we create jobs for German, Japanese and Korean autoworkers and the odd Frenchman, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭ianofitz

About time I uploaded some pics-

RR 6WD
    Volvo 1800ES
    TR6
    Discovery FXi (Saudi V8i converted to Tdi here :mad: )

Where was that TR6? irish reg and all, hard to come by now

ianofitz wrote: »
    Where was that TR6? irish reg and all, hard to come by now

Say it's known to some Boards members here - it was on Drury St that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

It is worse than that. We have people buying new cars before their current 'new' car reaches four years old to avoid going for an NCT. Then we have people getting rid of their 9 year od car to avoid going for an annual NCT. The thinking is to get new cars sold to get VRT, and then getting rid of 'old' cars to provide a market for all those four year old cars that are traded in for those shiny new cars. The fact that we all have too many cars that we cannot afford is lost on those that makes these decisions. Instead we scrap perfectly viable cars.

No wonder things are the way they are. Instead of creating jobs for mechanics in Ireland, we create jobs for German, Japanese and Korean autoworkers and the odd Frenchman, of course.

Yes, and every new car thats sold is money leaving Ireland, money we dont have, we're borrowing billions just to keep the country afloat.
    There should be a reduction in road tax for every year older a car gets :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

There should be a reduction in road tax for every year older a car gets :)

Before they abolished road tax in France back in 2000, they had a similar system... When a car was 10 years old or over, the road tax was cut in half. The problem with that was that they ended up with europe's oldest cars (on average), which meant reduced income for the state.

Ireland should do what France did: abolish road tax. We pay enough through the VAT and duty on the fuel :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Daxklynsmith

Saw 7 or 8 Triumph TR's heading down the M7 today. They weren't holding back either.

Yeah, they were coming down to County Clare for a run, about 16 Triumphs in all, spitfires, Tr4/6/7/8

009_zps53f9e3e2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭okistag

Say it's known to some Boards members here - it was on Drury St that day.

That TR6 went through a full rebuild a few years back.

Its owner is a member of the TR Register Ireland for years and lives in Dublin.

You would be very surprised as to how many Irish TR6's are still around and in very good condition. The rarity is that allot are only dry weather use and hence hardly seen out and about.

Yeah, they were coming down to County Clare for a run, about 16 Triumphs in all, spitfires, Tr4/6/7/8

009_zps53f9e3e2.jpg

The red TR at front right is a TR250 / in Europe known as TR5. Main difference was Injection / Carbs.. the one in the photo is running triple webers and is some machine.

The red TR at front right is a TR250 / in Europe known as TR5. Main difference was Injection / Carbs.. the one in the photo is running triple webers and is some machine

I think the Yank distributors thought the TR250 would make punters that it had a 250cu.in. ( 4.0L ) engine instead of a 2.5L :D:D

70's , golden age of British Leyland in the US

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,910 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

okistag wrote: »
    The red TR at front right is a TR250 / in Europe known as TR5. Main difference was Injection / Carbs.. the one in the photo is running triple webers and is some machine.
    Just wondering - has anyone seen the need to retrofit carbs (2 or 3) to the standard TR5?

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    Just wondering - has anyone seen the need to retrofit carbs (2 or 3) to the standard TR5?

In the UK there are a few running on Webers alright, but not many. As long as you or you have someone who is able to tune the PI system its reliable and a quick fun machine. So I dont think there is a need to retro fit carbs.

Also TR5's are a high value car, so PI is original and hence its nice to keep it that way.

TR250's are nearly on power value wise these days. In the past there was 10k difference at least now they is hardly much between them of course condition dependent.

WP_000597.jpg

WP_000598.jpg

invest4deepvalue.com

Recent photo ? - I see fuel is cheaper in Sweden.

My cousins 'collection' -