Persistent nuisance calls

• 25-09-2012 11:52PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭

Anyone else getting calls from people saying they work for Microsoft Windows and they need to talk about your computer problems? It sounds like they're straight out of Fonejacker. I'm getting a call every single day from them. I don't let them continue but I'd imagine they'll end up asking for my bank account details or some other personal info. I've started to scream down the phone at them to leave me alone and that I know it's a scam but they still keep ringing me back. It's driving me mental:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Ann22 wrote: »
    Anyone else getting calls from people saying they work for Microsoft Windows and they need to talk about your computer problems? It sounds like they're straight out of Fonejacker. I'm getting a call every single day from them. I don't let them continue but I'd imagine they'll end up asking for my bank account details or some other personal info. I've started to scream down the phone at them to leave me alone and that I know it's a scam but they still keep ringing me back. It's driving me mental:(

Hi, I have detected some problems on your end of things. Please PM your phone number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Tell them you have a mac, probably wont ring back after that, seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Simple.

No matter how much they walk about windows, youy simply insist that your windows are clean and that you ahve a very good cleaner.

If they persist, just tell them all the things you can see. Montains, sea, hoards of wildebeast sweepmg majesically over the plains, volcanic eruptions from Mount vesuvius on Mars - the more surreal the better.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

What are you wearing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

It's a scam that's been ongoing for nearly 2 years. Hang up or have some profanity laced fun with the bastards :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭Ann22

Yiz are all a pack of smart árses:D

I nearly lost the plot this morning with one of them, amongst my splutterings I threatened to call the Guards. Fcuk sake, sure they prob hadn't a clue who 'the guards' are. I'll have to think of a better threat.

No seriously, I'm not joking, tell them you have an apple mac, they will lose interest in you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

When they ring say 'hold on il ask my computer'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

I asked one of them why is he interested in my computer? What's it got to do with him? He then unleashed a beautiful expletive-laden rant at me in broken english. I was stunned. Then completely broke my bollocks laughing. He then said 'Don't laugh at me' and other such things. This made it worse and I was on the ground laughing. They still ring now and again and I'm always disappointed that the same fella hasn't rang again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

No seriously, I'm not joking, tell them you have an apple mac, they will lose interest in you
    It's true. I know when anyone tells me that they're an Apple user, I immediately ignore them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Play this down the line to them on a loop.

Really? i must try that but sure I keep abusing them on the phone and the next day another pain in the árse rings me again. I don't think they inform each other of unlikely victims. A woman on the phone on Friday came out with the same shíte and I said to her 'Listen here, I know this is a scam, so stop ringing me'..she says 'how do you know that?' I was incandescent with rage:(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭gronemeyer

I nearly lost the plot this morning with one of them, amongst my splutterings I threatened to call the Guards. Fcuk sake, sure they prob hadn't a clue who 'the guards' are. I'll have to think of a better threat.

Gardai probably wouldn't do a thing, most of the scams apparently operate out of India.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/jul/18/phone-scam-india-call-centres

gronemeyer wrote: »
    Gardai probably wouldn't do a thing, most of the scams apparently operate out of India.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/jul/18/phone-scam-india-call-centres

Thanks for that...this is exactly what they say to me. I'm just being totally harassed by them. I might well go ex directory next year.

Really? i must try that but sure I keep abusing them on the phone and the next day another pain in the árse rings me again. I don't think they inform each other of unlikely victims. A woman on the phone on Friday came out with the same shíte and I said to her 'Listen here, I know this is a scam, so stop ringing me'..she says 'how do you know that?' I was incandescent with rage:(.

Nah, only kidding, what did you say you were wearing?

They only seem to be interested in windows users, worth a shot, know of people who told them they were mac users and that was the end of it.

Nah, only kidding, what did you say you were wearing?

They only seem to be interested in windows users, worth a shot, know of people who told them they were mac users and that was the end of it.

Haha! I'm so gullible...explains why they persist:o. Actually after reading the Guardian article it would make sense why they wouldn't be interested in Mac users.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Light Switch

Managed to keep one on the phone one day, preteded i was an OAP and told him hold while i got my glasses and left him there for 5mins on hold

Then he wanted me to press windows button, couldnt find it and told him my computer was Apple made.

Kept him on for about 15mins. :)

Another time, i answered and told him **** off and hung up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭gronemeyer

Thanks for that...this is exactly what they say to me. I'm just being totally harassed by them. I might well go ex directory next year.

Probably best or just buy a whistle and leave it next to the phone... Everytime they ring pretend to care and when they let you speak blow it into the phone :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Huuuuuge thread on it here, OP.

I wish the media would publicise the shit out of this scam, so every dog in the street knows... no more customers for these assholes and no more phonecalls.
    Been going on for years and fuck all is done about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Contact your phone company and ask for the number to be blocked. If it's your mobile, some devices allow you to forward all calls from a particular number straight to voicemail

gronemeyer wrote: »
    Probably best or just buy a whistle and leave it next to the phone... Everytime they ring pretend to care and when they let you speak blow it into the phone :D

I'd actually really, really like to do that:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Can you get the number blocked at all?

Huuuuuge thread on it here, OP.

I wish the media would publicise the shit out of this scam, so every dog in the street knows... no more customers for these assholes and no more phonecalls.
    Been going on for years and fuck all is done about it.

I searched for 'nuisance phone calls' to see if there was a thread already but it didn't show up. I'd be livid if I thought someone actually fell for this. Among all the callers I've had that woman pist me off the most, the cheek of her!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

delete system32, this stops it

dont do this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

They used to ring our house a lot. It got to the point that my dad answered and said yea he does have a problem.

Cue them talking him through a "fix" for his computer for about 10 minutes. He then stops and says " ah hold on, I don't have a computer, sure this is a microwave..."

They just hung up and we have never heard from them since.

KKkitty wrote: »
    Can you get the number blocked at all?

I forget the number, I think it starts with a 019 though. I'll write it down tomorrow. Doubtless I'll get another one in the morning. Sometimes I treat myself to a nap mid morn and the cnuts keep waking me up:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

delete system32, this stops it

dont do this

What's system 32?