Lionel Richie Attacked!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Where To wrote: »
    Some of the puns are terrible folks. I've been working All Night Long but can do better

On the Nightshift?

[SIZE="1"]Was that even Lionels song?[/SIZE]
    Commodores I think.

But hey, say you, say me, it's all good. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

kneemos wrote: »
    Try Scandinavia op everything seems to be better up there.

Yes, because there's absolutely no vandalism, graffiti or public urination in Oslo or Stockholm ...

Dublin's a bit rough on a Saturday night (as are most of the towns and cities in these islands) but you pretty much get vandalism everywhere. There are a few small, really dull towns in most countries where you could leave something like that and it wouldn't get touched, but in general this kind of stuff happens. In cities with relatively wild nightlife, it happens even more frequently.

The only way that would have been safe is if the phonebox had been locked over night and I don't think you'd be able to do that without eircom's permission.
    That or install it somewhere high enough up that it wouldn't be in reach.

Given how little money eircom make out of payphones these days, I would say they'd have been delighted with a bit of publicity and would have helped you out. Perhaps get in touch with eircom's PR department and see if they can help with a bit of security on the box or something.

Their corporate affairs people are all listed on their website : http://pressroom.eircom.net/

A lock on the door after 10pm would probably have avoided this.

Alternatively the whole installation would have to be vandal-proofed i.e. put behind perspex or something.

Even without artwork, pay-phones have always been subject to vandalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭granturismo

'Installations' are not art. They are more akin to DIY or 'Arts and Craft'. They deserved to be trashed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

It's sad what happened to the artit's piece, i'd be p*ssed too. That being said, it was pretty risky just leaving it in a phonebox unprotected. Would be like leaving a new phone on a bench in the park and expecting to find it there the next day. Lot's of people out there who would take advantage.

Also, he's being pretty harsh to Dublin I have to say. You get scum anywhere, any place. Doesn't matter where he made the piece, it's no less safer in Galway or Cork, hell London or Paris etc, it could have been destoryed in any place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,609 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

'Installations' are not art. They are more akin to DIY or 'Arts and Craft'. They deserved to be trashed.

Anything that brightens up the dreary hole that is Dublin deserves credit and encouragement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭granturismo

Anything that brightens up the dreary hole that is Dublin deserves credit and encouragement.

I was a bit harsh - anything that brightens any location is welcome and deserves to be enjoyed by those that appreciate it nut in my opinion 'installations' are generally pretentious crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

It was a pretty silly concept . Totally uninspiring . And the joke has been done a million times before.
    Itd be the artistic equivalant to them fish you hang on a wall press a button and they sing a motown song .
    Bric a brac . To think they have to import someone to do this is the real crime here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Phone boxes still exist? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭emo72

ah Jaysus lads. the thing got wrecked. if my work was destroyed for fun i would be dejected. the scum are breeding rapidly and theres too many of them now. so the guy was sounding off about Dublin, let him let off steam. wouldn't expect it to last either, this is Dublin! i am sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Hello, yes this is dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Jaysus lads, are we really that cynical that people are actually giving out to the dude for wanting to liven things up?

Things are bloody depressing at the minute, and he just did something that he thought people might stop, have a look at and go "ah, that's pretty cool" and go on their merry way. That's all he wanted.

What's so thick about that?

I do think he was very naive to think it'd be left in one piece after a weekend in the city, but he's still right to be pissed off. I doubt I'll ever understand the thought process of the average Dublin knackbag, why they feel the need to wreck something so harmless and nice. As the artist said, he'd almost be ok with it if someone just nicked it cos they thought it was so cool. But no, these fools can't stand to see anything nice make other people happy and must destroy it "for the craic".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

He should have did one in the jax of oasis that " sing go let it out" when you sit down .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Jaysus lads, are we really that cynical that people are actually giving out to the dude for wanting to liven things up?

Things are bloody depressing at the minute, and he just did something that he thought people might stop, have a look at and go "ah, that's pretty cool" and go on their merry way. That's all he wanted.

What's so thick about that?

I do think he was very naive to think it'd be left in one piece after a weekend in the city, but he's still right to be pissed off. I doubt I'll ever understand the thought process of the average Dublin knackbag, why they feel the need to wreck something so harmless and nice. As the artist said, he'd almost be ok with it if someone just nicked it cos they thought it was so cool. But no, these fools can't stand to see anything nice make other people happy and must destroy it "for the craic".
    I don't think anyone's giving out to him for trying. I'm giving out about him unfairly insulting a city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

The attitude in this thread is depressing.

So because something was accessible to the public, it's expected to be damaged?

Would you be happier if our cities were made up entirely of concrete bunkers surrounded by barbed wire and armed guards?

Blame the people who damaged it, not the artist, for trying to provide something for the public to enjoy for free.

This kind of attitude will just make these knackers think that damaging people's property is ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Sounds like the artist has got a bit precious about his work, very unfair to hammer a whole city just because of this, met him many years ago and he was sound enough, just hope he isn't disappearing up his own arsehole.

In other news, I know someone who owns a few of his pictures so hope he goes on to be incredibly famous, then he can sell the pictures and buy a rocket car, which I can get a lift to the shops in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,014 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

he got it back or so I hear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,609 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Blisterman wrote: »
    The attitude in this thread is depressing.

So because something was accessible to the public, it's expected to be damaged?

Would you be happier if our cities were made up entirely of concrete bunkers surrounded by barbed wire and armed guards?

Blame the people who damaged it, not the artist, for trying to provide something for the public to enjoy for free.

This kind of attitude will just make these knackers think that damaging people's property is ok.

If everyone expects things to be damaged it's acceptable when they are.

The thing is that it's not something that's unique to Dublin or anywhere else.
    If something's fragile, damageable and accessible, it's quite likely to get damaged.

It's a city centre street, not a well-monitored museum and it's also not something robust that can resist minor abuse e.g. a statue or a sculpture.

Nor is it high up.

This is the main reason why not many art galleries hang the paintings on the exterior walls.

Nobody's attacking the artist for trying something interesting and different, but just saying that unless you protect your artwork, signage or anything else like that you can't just leave it on the street.

I'm not saying that damaging things and vandalism don't happen elsewhere. They do, but generally the reaction is "This is a discgrace, the person who did it should get in trouble", not "As sure what did he expect, leaving public art in public?"

Blisterman wrote: »
    I'm not saying that damaging things and vandalism don't happen elsewhere. They do, but generally the reaction is "This is a discgrace, the person who did it should get in trouble", not "As sure what did he expect, leaving public art in public?"

Boardsies are a bit more realistic, pragmatic and logical than that.

I think you'd get that reaction if it were something that the vandal had gone out of their way to destroy. Like maybe cutting a limb off a statue, spray painting some major installation on a plinth or whatever.

Putting something in a phone box without making it robust enough to withstand basic vandalism is asking for trouble. There's a reason why the phone in the box is built to withstand the average scumbag assault.

It's out of public view, in a closed box where someone can go and tamper with it undisturbed!

Even the instructions for the pay-phone are behind a piece of perspex to prevent vandalism!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

That's what you get for not asking Eircom's permission. Their tachs left the head as a warning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

You leave something in a Dublin street and expect it to be intact/still there when you get back?

I'm sorry, but I wouln't leave my bike unattended (even when locked!) for 5 mins there.

Wishful thinking as it would be "gone in 60 seconds".:P

Solair wrote: »
    Boardsies are a bit more realistic, pragmatic and logical than that.

I would say cynical.

By taking this attitude, the scumbag vandals have won. Result: No public art gets commissioned, everything is locked up, a paranoid atmosphere prevails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

If everyone expects things to be damaged it's acceptable when they are.

The artist himself expected it to get damaged. The reaction from people here is the attitude that this proves that 'Dublin' doesn't get art (hmm) and that it proves that the majority of people in Dublin are scumbags. It was an act by one or two people which, bad as it is, does not justify his comments (which he himself seems to have rolled back on).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Odd People wrote:
    How dare someone attempt to create something nice and then be p*ssed off when it gets wrecked?

HOW F*CKING DARE HE!!!!!!??????

Jaysus Christ. The guy made something decent and it got wrecked. He's allowed vent a bit.

The reaction in this thread it almost seems like people are glad it got destroyed.

This is why we can't have nice things (as the overused expression goes)

This just in...... (from Facebook)

Lionel Ritchie has been recovered and will be back on the streets soon.

There's a report about it on the news this evening on RTE apparently.

Can't wait for the "shure that's not news - what's my tv licence paying for them to report on that for?" posts

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Jaysus Christ. The guy made something decent and it got wrecked. He's allowed vent a bit.

The reaction in this thread it almost seems like people are glad it got destroyed.

This is why we can't have nice things (as the overused expression goes)
    I think you'll find two people were and most people weren't.

humanji wrote: »
    I think you'll find two people were and most people weren't.

Yeah, they're the people what I were talkin' about innit?

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Yeah, they're the people what I were talkin' about innit?
    Yeah, so there's no "almost" about it. :P