Off Topic **This Thread Now Closed For Business**

ahh good old Streets of Rage and just like Proust's madeleine so many memories come flooding back.

Sonic the hedgehog cheat = up, down, left, right, A + start together while on the options screen... can't remember for the life of me what it got you though :pac:

I must do this when i get settled into my new gaff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,762 ✭✭✭✭Penn

ahh good old Streets of Rage and just like Proust's madeleine so many memories come flooding back.

Sonic the hedgehog cheat = up, down, left, right, A + start together while on the options screen... can't remember for the life of me what it got you though :pac:

Pretty sure it was a level select. Either that or it brought you straight to the last level, but I always found it to be a bad idea anyway. You need the earlier levels to build up lives for the final levels. Not like today's games where you die and restart from 5 minutes ago. Back then, you spend 3 hours playing a game, you damn well better finish it.

wasn't there also a boss that sent you back a few levels if you picked the wrong option in a question?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Penn wrote: »
    Pretty sure it was a level select. Either that or it brought you straight to the last level, but I always found it to be a bad idea anyway. You need the earlier levels to build up lives for the final levels. Not like today's games where you die and restart from 5 minutes ago. Back then, you spend 3 hours playing a game, you damn well better finish it.

yes that was it, level select! not too bad a cheat which makes sense as back then I never saw the point in the infinate ammo/life type cheats in some games as to me they kinda made the game pointless. Yeah I remember how massive making it to the next level or save point was back then. Who knows maybe its like PW and a nostalgia thing but damn those older games seemed to have much more replay value too.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

wasn't there also a boss that sent you back a few levels if you picked the wrong option in a question?

HAHA, yeah! In Streets of Rage 2, right? You got the option to join the evil orginisation. If you opted to join, he just laughed and booted you back to the Bridge level. Oh God, the boss on that level was a nightmare iirc; a big fat dude who could maul you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Penn wrote: »

I remember a football game on PS1 that you couldnt even save. You had to start fresh every time. No transfers or anything like that, you picked your team and off you went. I'd play the thing for hours and never get sick of it because you got to start again from nothing the next day. Players never aged either so you still had the same players after 20 seasons. There was hardly any difference between the players so it was purely down to how good you were. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Ah here lads now you all got me in the mood to play my Mega Drive all day. I love how you can go several years without playing a game, and then remember the exact music note by note when you play again.

I haven't played any console released after Playstation 2. After I bought Championship Manager for the PC around 2002, I just kinda lost interest in every other game. So here is finally a video games conversation I can appreciate. biggrin.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Did anyone do anything interesting last night for Culture Night?

I was in the Dublin 2 area myself. Started off at the Lord Mayor's house. We were waiting in the entrance room for the tour to start, when the Lord Mayor walked in and he took the tour himself! Very impressed, really nice guy.

The headed to the The Royal College of Physicians, and then finished at the Number 29 Georgian House, really interesting buildings.

United vs Liverpool less than an hour away. A game that always makes me excited and fearful in equal messures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

United vs Liverpool less than an hour away. A game that always makes me excited and fearful in equal messures.

Think your a Utd fan TSC and it kills me to say I wouldn't worry about playing us these days we are blunt as fu<k up top and dodgy at the back(thank god Rodgers has dropped Enrique).

I know. Being brutally honest, ye have devolved into a mid-table team.

BUT Liverpool always seem to kick it up ten notches against United.

LOL Suarez and Evra shake hands and they make a balls of the camera work. Btw Ian Rush should be forced to regrow his moustache for ALL public appearances as should Aldo.

Red card, LOL.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 24,164 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Well bugger, looks like my PS3 may be fecked.

Red card, LOL.

What a Helmet he was. Would Rodgers take off Borini and bring on Sahin or Suso just not Henderson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Denny M wrote: »
    Well bugger, looks like my PS3 may be fecked.

Blinking yellow light or stopped reading discs?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 24,164 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Blinking yellow light or stopped reading discs?
    Turning off for no apparent reason, and then won't turn back on.

We Are Staying up, we are staying up. We Are Staying up, we are staying up. We Are Staying up, we are staying up. We Are Staying up, we are staying up.
    No we're not fu*ktards

Saw it coming. United have been dire.

OH BEAUTY!

WTF is Rodgers at? Sterling's our best player you big nose twat

Its a f*cking dive. Jesus Juve didn't get the amount of decisions Utd do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Its sad to say I haven't got excited about a Liverpool goal in years cause you know their is a very high possibility the other team will score again. Its just all too familiar. Worst part is, before the match I said Jonjo Shelvey is a liability. If I can see that everytime he plays in the Prem he costs us, how can the manager not. The first 5 times he got the ball, United had it straight after. Then I stopped counting.

Liverpool are going further back every year it seems.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Hard to believe they nearly won the league back in 09! Probably should have also.

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Liverpool are going further back every year it seems.

I think we are no worse than last year its just that when we got rid of the likes of Bellamy, Kuyt, Carroll and Adam we didn't get improved replacements in and rubbish like Downing and Cole are still around leeching off us. Thank god for the likes of Sterling and Suso who are getting a chance. We BADLY need a goalscorer its blatant for all to see that despite controlling games we need 6,7 or 8 chances to score 1.

In fairness, they've also played City, United and Arsenal in their opening five games. Any team would struggle with that early run.

Fun site: http://blindasabatman.com/
    Draw Batman Blind.

My attempt:
    mSANWmZlHP.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Congrats to Chordtype and all other Donegal posters

Do you not have to take x amount of driving lessons before you can do the main test? I thought I heard that but there is no mention of it on citizen information, just you need a provisional. Did I imagine it?

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Do you not have to take x amount of driving lessons before you can do the main test? I thought I heard that but there is no mention of it on citizen information, just you need a provisional. Did I imagine it?

Yeah, you need to do a minimum of 12 lessons. There's a booklet you need to get filled out where your instructor says you've covered everything to an acceptable standard, and it takes a minimum of 12 lessons.