Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breaking Bad - Predictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

Paully D wrote: »
    By the way, Vince Gilligan has said the flashforward at the start of the series and Walt buying the gun etc is because
    he has gone back to ''protect someone''.

the references to jesse james suggest there's a 'robert ford' in the mix, Walt goes to save his family from whoever it may be (?) and ends up ...dead?

Although Ix Deadmau5's spoiler is good ,threw me a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

Walt Jr. crashes car. Skyler blames Walt and threatens to tell Hank about drugs and stuff. Walt goes full Heisenberg and kills her. Goes on the run as we see in the 'flash-forward', though what he needs the shotgun for I can't work out.

Even if it doesn't happen exactly like that it's obvious from the Scarface allusion both in interviews and in the series itself that Walt's actions will end up with the death of a loved one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭latenia

Lydia has got to go (Will Mike get his chance?) - I'm thinking something with Madrigal really screws up supply and it goes downhill from there?

I reckon Lydia has created some kind of 'insurance policy' to keep herself alive, like a dossier to be released to police in the event of her death or disappearance. She was very insistent to Jesse to name Mike in full which makes me think she was recording him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

What do people think about the timeframe of Season 5?
    The length of time between the pilot and 504 is obviously one year, and the flash-forward at the beginning of 501 is another year later.. Is Season 5 going to span an entire year in sixteen episodes, or will we be shown two timelines concurrently, or will there be a gap in the middle (perhaps things coming to a head after the first 8 episodes, and then episode 9 picks up a year later)? Thoughts?

Also, what do people think regarding the smaller details of the flash-forward (i.e. apart from the gun)?
    Walt's hair has grown, so he's obviously not in chemotherapy, although he does still have at least a small cough, and still has medication in his pocket.
    He's assumed a new identity - a Mr. Lambert from New Hampshire, although he has seemingly kept his actual birthday on the ID (why would he do that?) - and is dressed and styled in a rough, unkempt manner; again very unusual, given that he typically dresses very neatly, and keeps his beard neat etc.
    The flash-forward also doesn't affirm that he's in Albuquerque, although I would say that he is - is the man who sells him the gun the same man from 402?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭The Scratcher

I don't think it's necessarily a year forward. It could be any length of time. The only reason he did the birthday thing was so the girl at the counter would remember him. He came in, arranged his food so she'd notice, didn't eat anything, went to the toilet and left a $100 tip before walking out and ignoring her happy birthday remark... I've no idea what's gonna happen, but there must be a reason for doing each of the above.

Well, just to play devil's advocate against the above:
    1) I don't see why he'd want her to remember him, can you elaborate on that?
    2) He arranged his food the way Skyler always did on his birthday; his disposition could suggest (and I would say is supposed to suggest) that he is sad, presumably after losing his family (in whatever way - either way he's alone on his birthday).
    3) He didn't eat anything because he wasn't there to eat - he was there to buy the gun. But he had to order something for appearances. The $100 tip is presumably for the audience's benefit, to show that he's rich.

Not necessarily refuting your theory btw, the writers are definitely fond of red herrings, so it's definitely a possibility..

Sinfonia wrote: »
    2) He arranged his food the way Skyler always did on his birthday; his disposition could suggest (and I would say is supposed to suggest) that he is sad, presumably after losing his family (in whatever way - either way he's alone on his birthday).
    3) He didn't eat anything because he wasn't there to eat - he was there to buy the gun. But he had to order something for appearances. The $100 tip is presumably for the audience's benefit, to show that he's rich.

Not necessarily refuting your theory btw, the writers are definitely fond of red herrings, so it's definitely a possibility..

All distinct possibilities too.

1) I'm only speculating! The fact is I don't know. It does seem odd to tip $100 and I doubt it's for the audience's benefit. It shows more so that he doesn't care about money any more. Not like in the scene where they are dividing up the cash with Mike, he cares about money then!!

2) But he is using Skylars last name!! Witness protection maybe?

He doesn't appear all that sad to me, we only see a spark of the old sciencey Walter White when he remembers the science museum in New Hampshire; perhaps for that brief moment he regrets what he has become and pines for the old Walter the chemistry teacher.

3) But why go to a Denny's to conduct the trasaction when he has previously purchased weapons from this guy in a motel, which is much safer and private.

During season 2 when the flash forward at the start showed the pink teddy in the pool did anyone think it was from a mid air collision of two passenger jets?! I'm just trying to think outside the box a bit, I'm hoping we start getting more clues soon on the start up parts though (can't think what they're called- sleepy!), like in season 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

What do people think about the timeframe of Season 5?
    The length of time between the pilot and 504 is obviously one year, and the flash-forward at the beginning of 501 is another year later.. Is Season 5 going to span an entire year in sixteen episodes, or will we be shown two timelines concurrently, or will there be a gap in the middle (perhaps things coming to a head after the first 8 episodes, and then episode 9 picks up a year later)? Thoughts?

Also, what do people think regarding the smaller details of the flash-forward (i.e. apart from the gun)?
    Walt's hair has grown, so he's obviously not in chemotherapy, although he does still have at least a small cough, and still has medication in his pocket.
    He's assumed a new identity - a Mr. Lambert from New Hampshire, although he has seemingly kept his actual birthday on the ID (why would he do that?) - and is dressed and styled in a rough, unkempt manner; again very unusual, given that he typically dresses very neatly, and keeps his beard neat etc.
    The flash-forward also doesn't affirm that he's in Albuquerque, although I would say that he is - is the man who sells him the gun the same man from 402?

It's been made official that we'll have 8 episodes, a years break and then the next 8 episodes this time next year so it will have actually been a year from now :)

All distinct possibilities too.

1) I'm only speculating! The fact is I don't know. It does seem odd to tip $100 and I doubt it's for the audience's benefit. It shows more so that he doesn't care about money any more. Not like in the scene where they are dividing up the cash with Mike, he cares about money then!!

2) But he is using Skylars last name!! Witness protection maybe?

He doesn't appear all that sad to me, we only see a spark of the old sciencey Walter White when he remembers the science museum in New Hampshire; perhaps for that brief moment he regrets what he has become and pines for the old Walter the chemistry teacher.

3) But why go to a Denny's to conduct the trasaction when he has previously purchased weapons from this guy in a motel, which is much safer and private.

During season 2 when the flash forward at the start showed the pink teddy in the pool did anyone think it was from a mid air collision of two passenger jets?! I'm just trying to think outside the box a bit, I'm hoping we start getting more clues soon on the start up parts though (can't think what they're called- sleepy!), like in season 2.

Didn't realise that was Skyler's name, that's interesting!
    I know what you're saying though, I think the way I put it is how we're 'supposed' to see it, but yeah, much like Season 2, they do have that tendency to misdirect.
    'Cold open' was the term you were looking for :P
    Paully D wrote: »
    It's been made official that we'll have 8 episodes, a years break and then the next 8 episodes this time next year so it will have actually been a year from now :)
    I'm just wondering if the timeframe of the show will sync with that (as the first four seasons only span a year)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

How long would it take for his hair to grow back? A few months? Could be a fake birthday along with the possible fake ID. He is finished with the chemo now, isn't he? Assuming the cancer comes back he could just not go again.

I too think it was all an act so he would be remembered. Likely so that he has a witness who can say he was there in case things go wrong. It'll give him a small window to clear him if needs be. The girl is unlikely to remember the time or name or anything, just that it was his birthday and the big tip he left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

Not so much a prediction as it is an ardent prayer/ropey fan-fiction, but what I would love, like nothing else, after our Scarface moments and wars and the like, is if S5E16 finishes with a cold-ending, set an unspecified numbers of years later, of just a hoard of fresh-faces filing into a lecture-hall on their first day of the year, giggling and bustling nervously as you do, staring forward at an empty podium.

The camera pans back to the anticipating faces as we hear the staff door crane open off-shot, accompanied by clumsy shuffles and a handful of muttered, raspy expletives as the we see the students sat there once more, somewhat stupefied. Then, we get our reveal:

"Hello, I'm Dr. Jesse Pinkman"

With Chemical Sciences written in exaggerated letters on the whiteboard behind him.

I'll just end the embarrassing fan-**** there.

Mr.Saturn wrote: »
    Not so much a prediction as it is an ardent prayer/ropey fan-fiction, but what I would love, like nothing else, after our Scarface moments and wars and the like, is if S5E16 finishes with a cold-ending, of just a hoard of fresh-faces filing into a lecture-hall on their first day of the year, giggling and bustling nervously as you do, staring forward at an empty podium.

The camera pans back to the anticipating faces as we hear the staff door crane open off-shot, accompanied by clumsy shuffles and a handful of muttered, raspy expletives as the we see the students sat there once more, somewhat stupefied. Then, we get our reveal:

"Hello, I'm Dr. Jesse Pinkman"

With Chemical Sciences written in exaggerated letters on the whiteboard behind him.

I'll just end the embarrassing fan-**** there.
    I like Jesse and all, but he ain't gettin' no PhD in a year :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

I think that's the purpose of a cold-ending, so an unspecified amount of time is allowed to pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

Walt's too smart to do any of these things by chance...he arranged the bacon so that the waitress would notice it was his birthday and ask for his id for his free meal, and just to make sure she remembered him he left the $100 tip. He was establishing his false identity and his whereabouts at the time ...as an alibi? ...Or because he's going to do something terrible with that big gun and wants it squarely pinned on Mr Lambert from New Hampshire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

I read a theory that in one of the last episodes there will be a flashback to Walt at Grey Matter. We find out what happened there and why he left. Prediction is that it's an embryonic Heisenberg moment. He always had that side to him. They did hint before that he walked away because of his famous pride/ego.

I thought it was an awesome idea when I read it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Mocha Joe wrote: »
    I read a theory that in one of the last episodes there will be a flashback to Walt at Grey Matter. We find out what happened there and why he left. Prediction is that it's an embryonic Heisenberg moment. He always had that side to him. They did hint before that he walked away because of his famous pride/ego.

I thought it was an awesome idea when I read it.

Ya definitely I always thought the Grey Matter issue will be back in some form, it seemed a little unfinished with all the flash backs of him and yer wan from grey matter. Walt always thought that he was shortchanged by them. If he wants to build an empire then the grey matter avenue might be a good route to it... Maybe they find themselves in financial difficulty and Walt has an interesting proposal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

I have a feeling episode 8 of this years portion will end with 1 of 2 scenarios;
    Hank figuring it all out or Marie being killed. I know some are saying skyler but I think it's too predictable for this show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

Here's a thought....we first met Mike in the show after Jane died he came to the gaf to clear up all the evidence of drugs and sort Jessie out...I wonder did Jessie call Saul or did Walt give him the heads up? If it was Walt then Saul, and possibly Mike, have the goods on Walt fcuking Jessie over by letting Jane die and poisoning Brock...I really hope the conclusion involves Jessie being made aware of these facts and opening his eyes to how badly Walt has been playing him.

I'm not 100% sure on this one, I'll have to watch the episode again, but when Walt is suiting up to go cooking in the most recent episode he starts whistling what I think is an old christian song called Lily of the Valley, I think Jessie picks up on this that's why he freezes and just stares into the cook house before he takes a call from Mike. It doesn't make sense that Walt would whistle this song though as he doesn't strike me as the bible thumping kind, man of science and all that he is! However he could just be totally fúcking with Jessie's head. I would imagine Walt had no trouble sleeping unlike what he told Jessie!

Edit: I think I might be way off the mark here and it's more likely Jesse is just getting more and more disgusted at Walt's lack of morals and compassion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

I'm not 100% sure on this one, I'll have to watch the episode again, but when Walt is suiting up to go cooking in the most recent episode he starts whistling what I think is an old christian song called Lily of the Valley, I think Jessie picks up on this that's why he freezes and just stares into the cook house before he takes a call from Mike. It doesn't make sense that Walt would whistle this song though as he doesn't strike me as the bible thumping kind, man of science and all that he is! However he could just be totally fúcking with Jessie's head. I would imagine Walt had no trouble sleeping unlike what he told Jessie!

Edit: I think I might be way off the mark here and it's more likely Jesse is just getting more and more disgusted at Walt's lack of morals and compassion.

Well of course, thats
    why he wanted out of the business.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,676 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

At this stage I would be surprised if this all doesn't end with Skylar killing Walt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

The other way around I think.

Anyone hear the police sirens when they are at their HQ most of the way through last episode?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Cant stop watching this show, back to watching season 1 2day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,689 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Anyone hear the police sirens when they are at their HQ most of the way through last episode?

They said in a previous episode that the pest control place is right down the road from a police station. Mike said it when they were looking for places to cook, and said it'd be a bad idea. That's when Walt came up with the idea of only storing their stuff their and cooking in the tented houses instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,721 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Feeling the heat from Hank, Walt relocates his business to Miami. The police here are concentrating on a series of murders which gives Walt free reign to expand his business.

Hanks obsession has not diminished, and when he finds that blue crystal meth is being sold in Miami he goes there looking for Walt.

In an attempt to find his brother in law he beats up and kills an unsuspecting member of the public whom he thought was a drug dealer.

This is witnessed by a local cop going by the name of Dexter. Dexter believes in justice, but has his own way of giving out justice.

Dexter finds a house abandoned and covered in a tent as it is being fumigated, this is we're he intend to perform the kill. Here he meets Walter White, and Walter White once again comes face to face with Hank.