Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Sinn Féin's attitude toward Real IRA arrests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

Your little march on Saturday for example was to campaign for the release of specific Republican prisoners, not to highlight a general unfairness in the recall system. I would support you in opening up a debate about the fairness of the recall system but I'm sure that would not suit your agenda which is to rile up the Republicans into feeling discriminated against and feeling that the GFA is failing them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 297 ✭✭SaoriseBiker

Price is in prison because she broke the terms of her license - perhaps one too many times. This guy in military dress was a RIRA member, a group that has claimed responsibility for numerous murders and bombings. And what he read amounted to a death threat. Please stop downplaying it. Holding paper is not illegal. Standing beside men in masks is not illegal. You do not need to do anything 'illegal' to have your release license revoked. It happens to thousandsof people across Britain every year. It can be for failure to turn up at a certain place, failure to stay out of a certain place, failure to stay away from certain people - none of which are illegal.

Your problem is quite clearly with the licensing system and recall. A system that existed before Price and has incarcerated thousands of people who haven't gotten 'republicans' march for their release.

@ Fenian Army
    For an indeterminate sentence, you can only be released on license.
    Price is in prison with the makey uppy excuse she held a piece of paper for a guy in military dress, please stop up playing it. What next, two former IRA prisioners are spotted chatting at a football match or in a pub, therefore they must be some conspiracy and therefore must be chucked into prison !!!!

No. There is a difference between a casual chat down the pub or at a match and a public rally with men in paramilitary dress where death threats are issued from the page you are holding. There is no conspiracy as to what she was doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    I wonder when Dessie Ellis was campaigning and canvassing did he let his constituents know that he would be using their time to campaign for terrorists?
    Does this offend you?

Dessie was elected to the national assembley for national issues. Local councillors are the ones constituents who's time is devoted to local issues, TD's are in the Dáil for a reason and shouldn't be focusing on local issues hence why Dessie is campaigning against internment as it has a broader context. Dessie like all other TD's are on NATIONAL TIME not LOCAL TIME

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

Dotsey wrote: »
    I wonder when Dessie Ellis was campaigning and canvassing did he let his constituents know that he would be using their time to campaign for terrorists?
    Does this offend you?

Dessie was elected to the national assembley for national issues. Local councillors are the ones constituents who's time is devoted to local issues, TD's are in the Dáil for a reason and shouldn't be focusing on local issues hence why Dessie is campaigning against internment as it has a broader context. Dessie like all other TD's are on NATIONAL TIME not LOCAL TIME
    sin e mo chara, everyone knows dessie was prepared to pay the ultimate price on hungerstrike (he'd never compare himself to Bobby sands etc but I would rank him among them tbh ) as well as that as a councillor he was a tireless worker. sound guy as well!

Dotsey wrote: »
    Does this offend you?

Oh, I don't want you to misunderstand my point. He can turn up in the Dail every day with a tri-colour afro if he wants to.

I was wondering if he had put this kind of activity to his constituents while he was canvassing. Or did he fluff them off with some sort of anti-government populism, while keeping his republican intentions hidden.

Oh, I don't want you to misunderstand my point. He can turn up in the Dail every day with a tri-colour afro if he wants to.

I was wondering if he had put this kind of activity to his constituents while he was canvassing. Or did he fluff them off with some sort of anti-government populism, while keeping his republican intentions hidden.

If he did put it to them it was likely in the same slanted dishonest way most Shinners are presenting Prices case, as if it's some special case of anti-republican bullying and not simply the way the recall system works for everybody. They aren't campaigning against the system, they are just complaining when one of their darling terrorist pin-ups gets caught out by the system. Any one of the other thousands reimprisoned through standard recall and there's no Garden of Rememvrance marches... which is worrying because that would make you think they consider her as 'one of their own'. But she's an unapologetic dissident terrorist supporter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭buyer95

buyer95 wrote: »
    There was a degree of anger and surprise that senior garda management had been so naïve. Many observers, including veteran gardaí who had faced down the IRA for many years, say that if the area had been swamped by gardaí from the start, then Alan Ryan's comrades would not have been able to take control of his old neighbourhood.

The point I was making in the other thread which was misinterpreted by many people as a desire to see the outnumbered gardai try and 'crash' the funeral. We needed a show of force from the gardai (and possibly army) in terms of numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Price was arrested after appearing alongside a masked Real IRA member in a cemetery in Derry in 2011. The Real IRA member read a statement, following the killing of Constable Ronan Kerr, which said

"The GAA, Catholic Church and constitutional nationalism will be unable to protect those who turn traitor. They are as liable for execution as anyone else regardless of their religion, cultural background or motivation."

I don't follow Provo threads these days as the contents are usually just irrelevant trench warfare between people who'd argue over the exact air temperature in a room because some are Catholic and others are Protestant, and whatabout....

However, I do have to note that this is a truly murderous and and contemptible viewpoint. Any person sympathetic to it (Marian Price for one) or any group supportive of it (those campaigning on Marian Price's behalf) will never comprehend why. On one level, I pity them.

Price should serve every single minute of her sentence. Ronan Kerr will never come home to his family again.

Sand wrote: »
    I don't follow Provo threads these days as the contents are usually just irrelevant trench warfare between people who'd argue over the exact air temperature in a room because some are Catholic and others are Protestant, and whatabout....

I agree. The problem is if you don't engage in these threads you give them an open forum to spread emotive republican propaganda like 'Price is a victim of British internment' which is completely untrue. Price has been subject to standard recall of her release license just like what happens to thousands in Britain every year. Also it needs to be pointed out, just like you've done, that viewpoints like Price's and RIRAs are wholly unacceptable, especially now in a time of a fully political and democratic solution to partition.

Yet again you wont address the fact that her release had no such terms, even if she was on license, otherwise she would have been returned to jail DECADES ago! If she was on license (we can all acknowledge that she thought she wasn't even if we differ on whether we think she was on license or not) she didn't know of any terms as she wasnt told of any. How is that fair?

As it stands she committed no crime, she held a piece of paper, the contents of which she was unaware of.

Martin Corey deserves more than your fob off - he is in jail, had his license revoked and hasnt been told why. This means it is impossible for him to challenge his imprisonment. A judge said this was in breach of his human rights, but he was overruled by an unelected overlord, the secretary of state. And so in jail he remains.

(Although I reckon you will accept whatever Brit justification to keep him jailed)

And I had hoped I wouldnt need to point out the obvious, but your much heralded paper is about England and Wales.

Yet again you wont address the fact that her release had no such terms, even if she was on license, otherwise she would have been returned to jail DECADES ago! If she was on license (we can all acknowledge that she thought she wasn't even if we differ on whether we think she was on license or not) she didn't know of any terms as she wasnt told of any. How is that fair?

As it stands she committed no crime, she held a piece of paper, the contents of which she was unaware of.

Martin Corey deserves more than your fob off - he is in jail, had his license revoked and hasnt been told why. This means it is impossible for him to challenge his imprisonment. A judge said this was in breach of his human rights, but he was overruled by an unelected overlord, the secretary of state. And so in jail he remains.

(Although I reckon you will accept whatever Brit justification to keep him jailed)

And I had hoped I wouldnt need to point out the obvious, but your much heralded paper is about England and Wales.

So, you agree with Marian here then?

"The GAA, Catholic Church and constitutional nationalism will be unable to protect those who turn traitor. They are as liable for execution as anyone else regardless of their religion, cultural background or motivation."

So, you agree with Marian here then?

Firstly, she didn't say that.

And no, I obviously dont agree with the RIRA, neither do the majority of those calling for her release, FF, SF, ULA, SP etc etc

Firstly, she didn't say that.

And no, I obviously dont agree with the RIRA, neither do the majority of those calling for her release, FF, SF, ULA, SP etc etc

I never said that she said it, she was standing beside a masked man who read it out. Or are you going to argue that she got lost looking for her car and accidentally ended up there? She believes in it, and obviously believed that by not directly reading the statement herself that she would "outsmart" the authorities...guess that one didn't work out too well.

So, you don't agree with her violent position, but can't wait for her to be back out on the streets with this hate-filled propaganda?

Sounds like you support her to me, much like SF. Just like Marian getting the masked man to read the statement, you think that the wool is going to be pulled over our eyes by claiming you aren't one and the same. And again, like Marian, you are wrong.

I never said that she said it, she was standing beside a masked man who read it out. Or are you going to argue that she got lost looking for her car and accidentally ended up there? She believes in it, and obviously believed that by not directly reading the statement herself that she would "outsmart" the authorities...guess that one didn't work out too well.

So, you don't agree with her violent position, but can't wait for her to be back out on the streets with this hate-filled propaganda?

Sounds like you support her to me, much like SF. Just like Marian getting the masked man to read the statement, you think that the wool is going to be pulled over our eyes by claiming you aren't one and the same. And again, like Marian, you are wrong.
    what rubbish... are you actually saying that all the people calling for her release, from all walks of life, support the RIRA?

and can you not see that because of her imprisonment her views are getting aired more and that her imprisonment in itself is far better propaganda than any speech she could ever give/ be at?

what rubbish... are you actually saying that all the people calling for her release, from all walks of life, support the RIRA?

and can you not see that because of her imprisonment her views are getting aired more and that her imprisonment in itself is far better propaganda than any speech she could ever give/ be at?

Good! Let the people hear her views and then they can see from whom she draws support and make the decision themselves.

Let the people see that she's calling for the execution of GAA members, Catholic Church goers, and people who enjoy having a constitution! And that SF fully condone this.

Good! Let the people hear her views and then they can see from whom she draws support and make the decision themselves.

Let the people see that she's calling for the execution of GAA members, Catholic Church goers, and people who enjoy having a constitution! And that SF fully condone this.

Thats not what she called for --- and SF don't condone that or indeed what the RIRA man actually said.

Why single out SF?

Dublin City Council almost unanimously passed a motion calling for her release - one person voted against it.

Lots of parties have called for her release. Not just SF.

The fact that you don't ridiculously accuse them of condoning "the execution of GAA members, Catholic Church goers, and people who enjoy having a constitution!" tells us a lot.

This hyperbolic nonsense reveals that you don't know what on earth you are on about, and that you are simply looing for an excuse to bash SF.

Thats not what she called for --- and SF don't condone that or indeed what the RIRA man actually said.

Why single out SF?

Dublin City Council almost unanimously passed a motion calling for her release - one person voted against it.

Lots of parties have called for her release. Not just SF.

The fact that you don't ridiculously accuse them of condoning "the execution of GAA members, Catholic Church goers, and people who enjoy having a constitution!" tells us a lot.

This hyperbolic nonsense reveals that you don't know what on earth you are on about, and that you are simply looing for an excuse to bash SF.

From what I can find, it's all Eirigi, SF, and other assorted dirtbags who are calling for her release. Can you point me to the press releases etc of any other party that you claim, FF etc, are supporting her relief.

The Dublin City Council motion means nothing. It was put forward by SF and sponsored by the aforementioned bags of dirt.

I also see that a whopping 40 people turned up to a demonstration for her in Dublin - i.e. she has no support. In fact, I'm sure more people could have been mobilized to march so that she stays in jail!

This country has moved on. Why can't you, or Marian for that matter?

Other people are calling for her release probably because it's been put to them dishonestly that she's been a victim of internment.Tthat's why I said originally that support is misguided.

As for her blatant breach of license, has she since apologised for the presence at the rally? Has she distanced herself from the remarks that she claims she didn't know were on the paper? Has she condemned the issuing of death threats to Irish and British citizens?

Price being ignorant of the terms of license is no excuse. All releases from indeterminate sentences which include life sentences for murder are on condition of license. It was in the papers at the time that she was released on license. As to why she wasn't arrested years ago (not that thats a defence) maybe her actions weren't such a blatant breach of license as her recent attendance at this rally where death threats were read from the paper she held?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Taking humanitarian responsibility, the lesson the British never learn. They nurtured the IRA by their actions and they will do the same again. Depressing.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/letters/2012/0717/1224320253375.html
    Sir, – We wish to draw your attention to the continued detention of Marian Price, which we feel constitutes an alarming breach of human and civil rights.
    Ms Price had previously served a long jail sentence in England and in the North and was released and pardoned in 1980 due to ill-health resulting from force-feeding over many months in 1973 and 1974.
    Ms Price was arrested in May 2011 on the basis of charges, which have since been dismissed. At the time she was granted bail for those charges and has also been granted bail on subsequent charges brought against her, yet she remains imprisoned by order of Owen Paterson, British Secretary of State, who claimed to revoke her licence.
    Ms Price’s health and welfare are at the forefront of this campaign and she has been declared too ill to attend court after spending more than a year in isolation. Ms Price is the victim of psychological torture and internment without trial, and as a result of this her mental health and physical health has deteriorated rapidly. Given concerns about her very poor health, we are calling for her immediate release based on humanitarian grounds. – Yours, etc,
    Msgr RAYMOND MURRAY, Human Rights Activist; Fr PETER MCVERRY SJ, Centre for Faith and Justice; Fr SEÁN MCMANUS, President of the Irish National Caucus, US; MARGARETTA D’ARCY, Aosdána/Women In Media Entertainment; ÉAMON Ó CUÍV TD; MAUREEN O’SULLIVAN TD; THOMAS PRINGLE TD; JOAN COLLINS TD; RICHARD BOYD BARRETT TD; JOHN BROWNE TD; GERRY ADAMS TD; MARTIN FERRIS TD; DESSIE ELLIS TD; SÉAN CROWE TD; MICHAEL COLREAVY TD; JONATHAN O’BRIEN TD; MARY LOU MCDONALD TD; PEARSE DOHERTY TD; SANDRA McLELLAN TD; BRIAN STANLEY TD; PADRAIG MACLOCHLAINN TD; AENGUS O’SNODAIGH TD; CAOIMHGHÍN Ó CAOLÁIN TD; PEADAR TOIBÍN TD; JOE HIGGINS TD; CLARE DALY TD; Councillors: LOUISE MINIHAN; MANNIX FLYNN; Cllr CHRISTY BURKE; CIERAN PERRY; MELISA HALPIN; BRID SMITH; HUGH LEWIS; NIALL RING; ANNA QUIGLEY; PAT DUNNE; VINCENT JACKSON; DAMIEN O’FARRELL; Senators: LABHRÁS Ó MURCHÚ; JIM WALSH; KATHRYN REILLY; DAVID CULLINANE; TREVOR O’CLOCHARTAIGH; DARRAGH O’BRIEN; BRIAN Ó DOMHNAILL; and Dr FÉILIM Ó hADHMAILL, School of Applied Social Studies, UCC; Dr CIARÁN DAWSON, Centre for Oral Irish, UCC; Dr ÓRLA O’DONOVAN, School of Applied Social Studies, UCC Dr KIERAN ALLEN, School of Sociology, UCD,

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Taking humanitarian responsibility, the lesson the British never learn. They nurtured the IRA by their actions and they will do the same again. Depressing.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/letters/2012/0717/1224320253375.html
    The following is the text of the speech made by éirígí’s Louise Minihan, when proposing the motion in Dublin City Council:

“As we sit in the comfort of this chamber tonight, a sick frail woman is in hospital, under arrest after enduring solitary confinement for over a year, with 9 months of it spent in an all male prison.

“This woman has committed no crime and has been convicted of no charge. Marian Price is in gaol on the whim of a British Secretary of state, and is being interned without trial.

Marian Price is a 58-year-old mother. The question here is not whether you agree with Marian’s political beliefs or with the aims of the organisation she is a member of. The question is will you stand up against human rights abuses committed in this country by the British Government.

“Marian’s case is a gross miscarriage of justice and as severe a violation of a person’s human rights that has ever been discussed by this council

“Fourteen months ago Marian was arrested for her part in a 1916 commemoration in Derry. Marian appeared before a court and was released on bail. However the British secretary of state disagreed with this decision and stepped in and had her arrested and committed to prison. Since then all charges against Marian has been dropped.

“For the next 9 months Marian was held in complete isolation on a wing in an all male prison. This we must remember was without crime or trial.

“Due to the deterioration of Marian’s health, she was transferred to a so called medical facility at Hydebank Prison were she continued to be held in complete isolation, unable to get the proper medical care she needed.

“Expert medical opinion has recommended her immediate release, along with a number of prominent civil and human rights campaigners such as Monsignor Raymond Murray, who is running the Free Marian Price Campaign, Bernadette McAliskey and Eamonn McCann, TDs, trade unionists and academics including Maureen O Sullivan, Thomas Pringle, Éamon Ó Cuív, Frank Keoghan, and actress Margaretta D’Arcy, Juan Mendez, UN Special Rapporteur on Torture, the SDLP and many, many more.

“As I said, this case is not about whether you agree with Marian or not. It is about, whether you are willing to stand up against human rights abuses. Internment under any other name is still internment. Internment was wrong in the 70s and it is still wrong today.

“This council has a great record for standing up for people’s civil and human rights around the world. This motion allows us to send a clear message on behalf of the people of Dublin that human rights abuses will not be tolerated anywhere on this island, and that the elected representatives of the people of Dublin will stand up against any infringement of the civil and human rights of Irish Citizens.

“I am asking councillors to support this motion in calling for the release of Marian Price on humanitarian grounds.”

I've bolded the emotive one-sided points (frail and sick mother) and the many untruths littered throughout the speech which preceded the motion in DCC. Where was the rights of the victims to speak? where was the rights to portray her in the full light, yes as a mother but also as an unapologetic terrorist who was party to issuing death threats?

Internment is mentioned a number of times which is incorrect and emotive. Also Louise misrepresents the necessity for a crime to be committed in order for standard recall to take place. There is no relevance that charges were dropped or that trials were not undertaken; it shows a complete lack of understanding of the release license and recall system. Louise is also at pains to try and avoid people thinking about what Marian did to end up in prison, to avoid people questioning Marian's beliefs. There is no mention or call for discussion of the behaviour at the RIRA rally or of Marian's attitude towards Irish and British citizens - which is odd considering it is this bloodyminded attitude that found her back in prison in breach of license. The fact that part of DCCs motion was calling for an explanation for her incarceration shows me that they haven't actually researched the case themselves.

They were misled. And when something is framed as a 'humanitarian' issue very few people will vote against it

As a student of UCD for one more year, I am going to make sure that Dr Kieran Allen is held to account for his extremist and violent views.

I've bolded the emotive one-sided points (frail and sick mother) and the many untruths littered throughout the speech which preceded the motion in DCC. Where was the rights of the victims to speak? where was the rights to portray her in the full light, yes as a mother but also as an unapologetic terrorist who was party to issuing death threats?

Internment is mentioned a number of times which is incorrect and emotive. Also Louise misrepresents the necessity for a crime to be committed in order for standard recall to take place. There is no relevance that charges were dropped or that trials were not undertaken; it shows a complete lack of understanding of the release license and recall system. Louise is also at pains to try and avoid people thinking about what Marian did to end up in prison, to avoid people questioning Marian's beliefs. There is no mention or call for discussion of the behaviour at the RIRA rally or of Marian's attitude towards Irish and British citizens - which is odd considering it is this bloodyminded attitude that found her back in prison in breach of license. The fact that part of DCCs motion was calling for an explanation for her incarceration shows me that they haven't actually researched the case themselves.

They were misled. And when something is framed as a 'humanitarian' issue very few people will vote against it

I quote a letter from a cross section of Irish public figures and you counter with a statement from Eirigi?????? :confused::confused:

Cross section?! Its nearly entirely signed by sf with a few swp members.

I quote a letter from a cross section of Irish public figures and you counter with a statement from Eirigi?????? :confused::confused:

I'm suggesting that this 'cross section' were misled just like DCC. Support is misguided. That letter also misrepresents the case and necessity for some charge to be brought in order for her to end up in prison, but it is more focused on her ill health.

Price got a reprieve in the 1980s due to a health and is looking for same again. I'd be happy to see her released, ankle tagged and put under house arrest while she recovers. She should also be subject to counselling to address her mental health issues and her bloody minded vengeance

I'm suggesting that this 'cross section' were misled just like DCC. Support is misguided.

I'm suggesting the British should have more sense than to allow situations like this to occur and through bloodyminded actions like this they foster the growth of resentment.
    The signatories of this letter are not standing on high moral ground but have a real concern that actions like this are precisely what led to the lid coming off before?
    If this woman dies in prison under these circumstances the membership of RIRA will double or prehaps treble.

Cross section?! Its nearly entirely signed by sf with a few swp members.

Your comments about holding Allen to 'account' and your one above clearly indicate that you favour the suppression of any political thought other than your own. Why shouldn't SF and the SWP sign this letter with a lot of others? They have a democratic mandate just like FF, FG and Labour.
    Dispute it's contents by all means.
    Despite people like you, we still live in a democracy where political thought is not suppressed... allegedly.:rolleyes:

I'm suggesting the British should have more sense than to allow situations like this to occur and through bloodyminded actions like this they foster the growth of resentment.
    The signatories of this letter are not standing on high moral ground but have a real concern that actions like this are precisely what led to the lid coming off before?
    If this woman dies in prison under these circumstances the membership of RIRA will double or prehaps treble.

So the terms of release licenses and standard recall should apply to everyone, except people who have a bloody minded terrorist group to enact revenge if they are treated the same way as everyone else? The fight for equality of treatment under the law is important, when that treatment starts to negatively impact you then you shouldn't begin a fight for inequality of the system and specialist treatment.

I really hope we don't start governing based on your threats of 'do this, or else'

Your comments about holding Allen to 'account' and your one above clearly indicate that you favour the suppression of any political thought other than your own. Why shouldn't SF and the SWP sign this letter with a lot of others? They have a democratic mandate just like FF, FG and Labour.
    Dispute it's contents by all means.
    Despite people like you, we still live in a democracy where political thought is not suppressed... allegedly.:rolleyes:

But certain 'political' actions are, and rightly so. Like paramilitary displays and the issuing of death threats. Being party to those things is the type of behaviour that could see your release license being revoked...imagine that!