Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Defender thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

Fit a bigger intercooler and open up the pump, very common mod :D

If you do a search of Land Rover forums you'll find advice on adjusting the injector pump, supposed to be fairly simple. If it's a late one, dump the egr and consider removing the centre silencer, there's replacement pipes available. Plenty of bigger LR intercoolers but they can be pricey, there are some van ones that be made to fit though that can be had off ebay much cheaper. Some bodgery will be involved though.

Beyond that you are looking at custom turbos and exhausts that are available if your pockets are deep.

Unless you are doing serious off roading stick to OEM rubber bushes or expensive Super-Pro ones, you'll need a press for OEM ones though. Cheap ones don't last but some like them for extra flex and ease of replacement.

Lots of owners swear by Terrafirma shocks etc although I run on Bearmach springs, Old Man Emu shocks on a Gwyn Lewis suspension kit.

My front seats are shot and have to consider replacements, preferably not at Exmoor Trim prices :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭stock>

isolate the ERG, remove the cat, replace the middle box. Then look at getting a larger intercooler.....which will require some pump fiddling..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

I recently imported a 1998 110 station wagon from Northern Ireland. The online revenue VRT calculator put the VRT due on the vehicle at €720. I checked it different times and €720 was the figure. I went to the VRT office during the week and received word today that the amount I will have to pay is €200. The same as for a commercial vehicle.

I was delighted but checked my vehicle VIN number at http://www.clifton.nl/index.html?calvin.html just to make sure it was'nt a converted hard top and that was the reason for its lower than expected VRT. but no, it came out of Solihull as a station wagon and always has been.

I'm not sure but maybe the lower VRT rate is because of the reclassification of 110 station wagons to N1 status. The reclassification came in for vehicles from 1st Jan 2011, but I am now led to believe that the same classification applies when VRTing older vehicles. Not sure but maybe good news for those seeking to import.

Some pics.

110defender007.th.jpg

110defender003.th.jpg

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

That is good news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭O.A.P

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    I recently imported a 1998 110 station wagon from Northern Ireland. The online revenue VRT calculator put the VRT due on the vehicle at €720. I checked it different times and €720 was the figure. I went to the VRT office during the week and received word today that the amount I will have to pay is €200. The same as for a commercial vehicle.

I was delighted but checked my vehicle VIN number at http://www.clifton.nl/index.html?calvin.html just to make sure it was'nt a converted hard top and that was the reason for its lower than expected VRT. but no, it came out of Solihull as a station wagon and always has been.

I'm not sure but maybe the lower VRT rate is because of the reclassification of 110 station wagons to N1 status. The reclassification came in for vehicles from 1st Jan 2011, but I am now led to believe that the same classification applies when VRTing older vehicles. Not sure but maybe good news for those seeking to import.

Some pics.

110defender007.th.jpg

110defender003.th.jpg

It looks like a tidy 110. Well ware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,531 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

looking to get a 110 van myself, bloody hard to find decent looking ones around though, any of ye know of anything in the 3-5000 euro range worth taking a look at it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

looking to get a 110 van myself, bloody hard to find decent looking ones around though, any of ye know of anything in the 3-5000 euro range worth taking a look at it?

I know someone selling a v tidy one, Its not your regular 110 though, it's a 3.5 petrol V8 though :D

it wouldnt be a fela called Andrew by any chance? say im just beaten to the chase by another guy whos going to take a look at it :( if its the same one im thinking its a real beauty

No it must be a different one, this is the one I was thinking of:

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/3851121

was looking at that alright, a beauty as well, any idea what the tax and insurance is like on it?

Not sure about insurance, I suppose that depends on yourself, age/no claims bonus etc, the tax is a killer though.
    If you can get it taxed commercially then it's grand, it's about the €300 mark. If it's private you'd need to sell your left kidney to tax it :rolleyes: it's €1683 per year :eek:

The guy that's selling it bought it prior to the change in law about the commercial tax & was going to drive it himself (at the time commercial tax was €288 per year).
    But as it's gone up so high he can't justify taxing it at that cost :(
    Pity because there's a lovely hum off the V8 :cool:

well theres no way id tax privately, will be using it as farm equipment, not too sure if theres an agri tax is there? as for insurance id be putting it down as agri as well,

If you have a herd number or VAT number you can tax it commercially. You will only get 16-18mpg or so out of a petrol V8 but the sound will be fantastic! Gassing it will reduce running costs close to diesel.

i do have a herd number...oh good god what am i thinking :D a v8 haha jesus im sorely tempted just have to see what id be looking at insurance wise, at 23 even on agri they will probably tear the arse out of my whole plan

Careful now, V8s are addictive and wallet breaking :D

but sure id get a great price on the tax :pac:

what would repairs be like on it? are parts hard to come by?

Land Rover spares are cheap and widely available from UK online suppliers and a few places here. The V8 is a very tough and reliable engine if looked after with oodles of power and a fantastic soundtrack, absolutely guzzles petrol though.

V8 Defenders were mainly used by utilities before the Td5 came along which has similar power and torque. In 1988 the diesel alternative was the 2.5NA or the 2.5TD, neither of which were up to what some utilities needed. It's unusual to find one with the V8 still in it, most were converted to diesel :rolleyes:

well i think im sold so long as i can get half decent insurance, out of interest what would the top speed in these things be? cant be massive right? if so why would insurance be high on it? just have to figure out how much petrol the thing will guzzle going from killkeny to kerry :pac: must go about getting in touch with the guy who owns it i suppose

The fuel bill will be high! TBH, the engine shouldn't affect the insurance that much in a Land Rover. The engine shouldn't be restricted so it'll top 80mph easily which is what current models do anyway, comfortable cruising will be 55-70mph.

I know it sounds nice but seriously, the fuel bill could be crippling. Converting it to LPG would save money (around €600 for a DIY kit, 79-99p/litre for lpg) but filling points are thin on the ground here.

My 101 is a V8 and is only a weekend toy, everyday I drive a Td5 110 which does 26-28mpg and I'm finding hard to even justify that! :(

Not trying to put you off, just letting you know what to expect ;)

101sean wrote: »
    V8 Defenders were mainly used by utilities before the Td5 came along which has similar power and torque. In 1988 the diesel alternative was the 2.5NA or the 2.5TD, neither of which were up to what some utilities needed. It's unusual to find one with the V8 still in it, most were converted to diesel :rolleyes:

That's exactly what it was, a utility vehicle. It was owned by the fire brigade although all the fire brigade stuff was stripped from it.
    That's why it has 'Carmichael' badges on the interior, that was the coach builders in the UK that fitted it out with the fire brigade stuff.

The mileage on it (under 34k) is 100% original too.

As it was a service vehicle, no expense at all was spared on servicing it with parts (ie carburettor) replaced with new instead of repaired.

It's not me selling it but I know the owner well & as a Landy fan myself it's one I have a particular interest in :D

well i wont be using it for massive milage, and the car nut in me is going "V8 buy it for feck sake" :pac: regardless of nutty petrol costs, sure i can always just not drive it and sit there admiring it all day haha, il see if the other guy im in touch with sells his one sunday until i make any decison though

Being really sad now, those vents over the rear door were only fitted 86-89ish, LR then realised putting more holes in a vehicle that leaked like a sieve was a mistake plus they sucked fumes back in.

I'll fetch my anorak, where's the door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Caddyvanman

Is this the one that was for sale 6 to 8 months ago(maybe more) with some damage ? It had a different back body then with roller shutter doors each side.
    Was it an Irish fire engine from new ? It would be worth more as a fire engine to a collector.

To OP you have no idea how fast €50 goes through that thing, had one for a while and f##k me the orange fuel light would be on in no time, and i mean it !!!

why cant everyone just say go on twil be great sure :D waste that money, this is the other one im looking at but wont know if i can even buy it til sunday :(

He he, like your attitude, rare these days. Makes a change from the usual "I fancy a feck off big jeep, will it do 40mpg" :D

i have a tiny little fiesta lying around for my everyday travels, and tbh the most il use it for is farm work and maybe a bit of off roading if i can find anything, at least i can say il have owned a proper machine before everything goes super greepeace :pac:

one or two more questions about these old beauties, power steering? radio? should i even ask? :pac:

You know what your getting in to by the sounds of it, many don't hence the caution! ;)

There's usually a bit of off roading going on somewhere, much of what goes on here is at the extreme end of things but some of the clubs organise stuff suitable for those who don't want to wreck their bodywork! Very few places you can just wander off on your own though. Anything interesting gets cross posted on the 4xforum and I'll put in the sticky event thread if it's an open event.

ive a fair idea, sure i could always sell the house