Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clamped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

niallo24 wrote: »
    My car is currently clamped. Worth of car is about 200 quid, the price of 2 days clamped. Its been clamped for 4 days now. Gonna ring them tomorrow and inform them that I will never pay the declamp fee as it outprices the actual value of the car, and that if they try and remove my car I will report them to the guards.

My car is an absolute wreck, wonder how long the management company will want it stinking up the estate its clamped in. I can go months without my car, don't really need it. Its basically a stand off, and I reckon they need the parking space/clamp more than I need my car.

Half tempted to draw a huge penis on both sides of my car, the residents of the estate will not like this one bit. Its my property though, and the car doesn't have long left for this world one way or the other.
    Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

car in my estate had a flat tyre for about a month there, i know the girl who owns it and she never bothered with it as public transport meets her needs, she was legally parked and all in order when they clamped her! when she rang APCOA they said the management company SATIS had put pressure on them to clamp it stating it looked undesireable. Cheek of them! she got it removed and pumped her wheel!
    alot of the time the management company are as big a shower of ****es as the clampers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,412 ✭✭✭✭listermint

car in my estate had a flat tyre for about a month there, i know the girl who owns it and she never bothered with it as public transport meets her needs, she was legally parked and all in order when they clamped her! when she rang APCOA they said the management company SATIS had put pressure on them to clamp it stating it looked undesireable. Cheek of them! she got it removed and pumped her wheel!
    alot of the time the management company are as big a shower of ****es as the clampers

Curtain twitchers with power.. there is a few on there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Anan1 wrote: »
    Why?
    Why what?

Tallon wrote: »
    Why what?
    Why go out of his way to upset and inconvenience his girlfriend's neighbours - they've done nothing wrong.

Does a penis inconvenience you?

only if its hanging off the car and i have to step over it.

It's interesting, how to you one person's rights are sacrosanct and another person's are worthy only of derision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Hmmm...

220431.bmp

It's interesting, how to you one person's rights are sacrosanct and another person's are worthy only of derision.

Its interesting you often confuse 'rights' with opinions or grievances.

Works both ways, you're opinion is not sacrosanct :)

listermint wrote: »
    Its interesting you often confuse 'rights' with opinions or grievances.
    You think the residents of that development only have the 'opinion' or 'grievance' to park in their own spaces? Nah, they have the right.

Strange that, because usually you make the point that residents dont own the spaces, they lease them. im intrigued.

Arent they 'owned' by the MC ?

Strange that, because usually you make the point that residents dont own the spaces, they lease them. im intrigued.
    You're clutching at straws now. The residents of that development have the right to free use of their own spaces, whether bought or leased. But their rights don't matter, do they?

No not clutching at any straws, just pointing out as has been done to me in the past that residents dont have ownership of the space.

No more, no less.

You may have referred to this yourself i believe.

Oh sorry i also didnt answer your question, there is nothing in the constitution i believe about the 'right to a parking space'

No not clutching at any straws, just pointing out as has been done to me in the past that residents dont have ownership of the space.

No more, no less.

You may have referred to this yourself i believe.

Oh sorry i also didnt answer your question, there is nothing in the constitution i believe about the 'right to a parking space'
    Just so we're clear, you think that there's absolutely nothing wrong with indefinitely denying the residents of that development the use of one of their spaces by blocking it with a banger with penises on the doors? Honestly?

I was under the assumption the space was his alloted one? may be im wrong il await the poster to confirm. I may have taken it up wrong but is he denying the use of someone elses alloted space ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

I was under the assumption the space was his alloted one? may be im wrong il await the poster to confirm. I may have taken it up wrong but is he denying the use of someone elses alloted space ?

Visitors' space in his girlfriend's complex.
    My car is currently clamped. Worth of car is about 200 quid, the price of 2 days clamped. Its been clamped for 4 days now. Gonna ring them tomorrow and inform them that I will never pay the declamp fee as it outprices the actual value of the car, and that if they try and remove my car I will report them to the guards.

My car is an absolute wreck, wonder how long the management company will want it stinking up the estate its clamped in. I can go months without my car, don't really need it. Its basically a stand off, and I reckon they need the parking space/clamp more than I need my car.

Half tempted to draw a huge penis on both sides of my car, the residents of the estate will not like this one bit. Its my property though, and the car doesn't have long left for this world one way or the other.

Don't live in the estate, was visiting my girlfriend and my visitors pass expired by an hour. Clamped. ****.

Visitors' space in his girlfriend's complex.

oh well then he's just a pisstaker.

And that's being nice about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

If the residents don't own the spaces what difference does it make what space he's in - they either can or they can't legally clamp peoples cars without licence or authority of the state.

The verdict here seems to be they can't.

In fact surely it's better he's not in "someones space". €90 PER DAY for going one hour over, for a visitor that parks in the allocated visitors space, is racketeering in my book. It's not his fault the thing has been there four days, it's theirs for trying to extort from him. I believe that's the whole point here.

nm wrote: »
    If the residents don't own the spaces what difference does it make what space he's in
    In fact surely it's better he's not in "someones space".
    Whatever way you look at it, he's blocking the residents from using one of their spaces.
    they either can or they can't legally clamp peoples cars without licence or authority of the state.

The verdict here seems to be they can't.
    The verdict here seems to be divided. The verdict out in the real world seems to be that it's a grey area.
    €90 PER DAY for going one hour over, for a visitor that parks in the allocated visitors space, is racketeering in my book. It's not his fault the thing has been there four days, it's theirs for trying to extort from him. I believe that's the whole point here.
    It is 100% his fault the thing's been there for four days. Had he not overstayed his welcome he wouldn't have been clamped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Whatever way you look at it, he's blocking the residents from using one of their spaces.

The verdict here seems to be divided. The verdict out in the real world seems to be that it's a grey area.
    It is 100% his fault the thing's been there for four days. Had he not overstayed his welcome he wouldn't have been clamped.

And if he hadn't been clamped he wouldn't be there for four days, blocking the residents from using the spaces.

The result of him staying an hour over in a visitors space, resulted in the illegal clamping of the car. Everything else (4 days, blocked space, residents put out, etc) is 100% a result of the illegal clamp.

Obviously this is a circular argument so we'll agree to differ on that one.

Out of interest though, do you think the clamping and management company clamped his car for the good of the residents? Or as a profiteering exercise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

He had a vistors permit which expired by one hour by the time they clamped him. In a visitors parking space, in a complex that his girlfriend lives in.

While the permit is expired, it's a bit cute to go clamping an hour later, when it's clear, that he normally is allowed to park there and the replacement permit maybe is on the way.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Dr.Winston O'Boogie

Perfectly happy to move my car, once the clamp is gone.

I am using a visitors spot right now, I have an absolute rake load of visitors permits I can use also if they really want me to put them in the windscreen. Almost literally an infinite amount. So I will be valid, yet clamped. So it will just go on and on and on.

There is no way in hell though that I am paying the declamping fee. I can see the management getting annoyed but going so far as to actually remove the car? I don't see it happening. For starters where would they move it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Re the legality (or otherwise) of clamping isn't there a poster here who's going to the highest court he can to challenge private clamping?

Can understand if s/he doesn't want to give specifics if the case hasn't been heard but anyone any (non predudicial) info on how it's going and/or if s/he has a court date?

And if he hadn't been clamped he wouldn't be there for four days, blocking the residents from using the spaces.

The result of him staying an hour over in a visitors space, resulted in the illegal clamping of the car. Everything else (4 days, blocked space, residents put out, etc) is 100% a result of the illegal clamp.

Obviously this is a circular argument so we'll agree to differ on that one.
    It's not circular, there's a clear starting pointed. It started when niallo overstayed his welcome.
    Out of interest though, do you think the clamping and management company clamped his car for the good of the residents? Or as a profiteering exercise?
    The management company employed the clampers for the good of the residents, the clamping company are a business, in it for for profit.
    Marlow wrote: »
    He had a vistors permit which expired by one hour by the time they clamped him. In a visitors parking space, in a complex that his girlfriend lives in.

While the permit is expired, it's a bit cute to go clamping an hour later, when it's clear, that he normally is allowed to park there and the replacement permit maybe is on the way.

/M
    What would be the point of having visitor permits enforced by clamping if they didn't clamp when the permit was out by an hour? niallo24 got himself clamped, and now he's being petty and vindictive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

^^^What he said.^^^

[/end thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Dionysius2

Re the legality (or otherwise) of clamping isn't there a poster here who's going to the highest court he can to challenge private clamping?

Can understand if s/he doesn't want to give specifics if the case hasn't been heard but anyone any (non predudicial) info on how it's going and/or if s/he has a court date?

High time that this happened. There is far too much leeway allowed to clampers when they act arbitrarily both public and private in this country and the only way to dent them meaningfully is to bring a legal challenge. I see where the residents along the 19 Bus route are bringing a legal challenge, judicial review or whatever it's called in response to the removal of that bus route. If there is a fund set up to bring a challenge against clampers, then that, imo, should be supported to the hilt and I think it would. If someone is in a position to keep us abreast of the progress of these case, that would be appreciated so that we can exploit any progress made. 'Exploit' is what they do to us, isn't it ?.....so what can be wrong with giving a little of it back ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Dr.Winston O'Boogie

How am I vindictive? So if I wasn't clamped yet left my car there for weeks while displaying the visitors passes would that be the same?

I had legitimate passes to park there, still do, one had just expired and they clamped me. Now if I pay the declamp fee and then sent in proof that I had valid passes for the spot do you think I would get my money back? No chance.

I was tongue in cheek about drawing on my car but no way I am paying the declamp fee. The clampers themselves are not reasonable once they get their money so I feel no guilt whatsoever about the course of action I have taken.