Things you notice about Ireland when you return from abroad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I was looking forward to coming back to here and all yet I've discovered that it was people I was escaping from and not the country!

Fawking Dump

Same as that. I returned here after a few years in NY. Worst mistake I ever made coming back to this kip.

Boom my feckin arse.

Now im stuck with a house and cant sell it.
    Thank you Bertie for your great advise. Wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Coming back to people incessantly moaning about this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

How comfortable my own bed is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

girls in miniskirts when it's cold...not always a bad thing.
    the amount of taxis......it's deadly.
    the availability of Guinness in every single pub.......magic, only 2 pubs in the city I live in have it and it's overpriced ta fup
    Cheddar cheese in every shop..........a think of beauty
    fish and chips!

junkies, tracksuits, nasty bouncers......not good (duh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Chauncey

Squ wrote: »
    I was going to post what i thought of the place after coming home from a couple of years away.. But after the reaction cjc got,

Id better just say, its lovely to be back among folk who are tolerant of differing opinions :(

If you have something to say then be a (wo)man and say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Kraftwerk91

The roads are terrible (especially if I've just returned from a trip to the States).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

gsxr1 wrote: »
    Same as that. I returned here after a few years in NY. Worst mistake I ever made coming back to this kip.

Boom my feckin arse.

So you came back in the hope that the 'boom' would last longer than it did or indeed never end, and because it did the place is a kip? You should have looked up the definition of a boom before committing yourself.

You made your own bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭bijapos

gsxr1 wrote: »

Boom my feckin arse.

Sorry, but if you trusted Bertie you've only yourself to blame. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

Chauncey wrote: »
    If you have something to say then be a (wo)man and say it.

What's wrong with being a woman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I noticed in Ireland that shopkeepers are far more likely to suspect you of being a thief than any other country I have visited.
    Going into some shops in Ireland reminds me of that insurance add where the young fella pulls up in a car outside a shop and goes in to buy a bottle of mineral.
    The two shop keepers are watching him like a hawk while the elderly scumbag steals the till!
    FYP. :D

Feck. How long were you away dude?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

The over reliance on alcohol when it comes to approaching members of the opposite sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

If you can get over the self-flagellating ****wits who moan at every opportunity about the place it's nice to come home from out foreign.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The damp. It's a very damp climate. However out of that we get the green we're rightly famous for.

On the climate, while it rarely gets too hot, it rarely gets too cold too.

The cities are human sized. No huge hi rises and sky scrapers. Feels cosier, more village like.

It's not nearly as crowded as some places, England springs readily to mind. Though this does mean less amenities than some places because of the low pop density.

It doesn't have too many heavy industry type places. In many ways I'm glad the worst of the industrial revolution passed us by.

Its less frenetic than many places, which for me is a good thing. For others maybe not.

One bad one are the non motorway roads and footpaths. They're in a terrible state. Ditto for a lot of public transport.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Rashers are way better.
    Red lemonade
    Farmers tans
    Travellers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 265 ✭✭unclejunior

I hate everything about this country, only thing good about it is its culture and music. Ill be getting the fcuk out of here as soon as I can! There's nothing in Ireland

Although it is Home.

Are you related to Chuck Feeney?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭The Idyll Race

Gee Bag wrote: »
    Having to get on a sh1tty Dublin bus in the rain at the airport. No new fangled rail systems for the likes of us.

My advice to anyone bringing anything like this to Commuting &Transport on boards: don't. You'll be lectured on exactly why buses are good enough for the likes of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Irish girls are approachable and good fun. Try chatting up an American bird in a bar and she'll look at you like you're scum or she'll start psycho-analysing you then banging on about where she "is in her life" right now or some such drivel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭gara

I know this is a bit tragic but I always love coming home and getting a decent cup of (Lyons) tea :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Paddycrumlinman

I remember flying home from Florida several years back to Dublin. Flight was arriving to Dublin from New York. My seat was right at the back of the plane, the steward, a real New Yorker, buckled herself into her fold out chair.

She is gazing out the window admiring the green green grass and said several times that Ireland and its green grass was beautiful over and over. At her 6 time of mentioning how beautiful Ireland is, some guy a couple of seats up, a Dub, says to her " Will ya shut up for fcuks sakes, you don't have to bleeding live here love" Laughter ensued all over the back of the Plane.

Back on topic, the one thing for me is the weather, 10 years of Florida living for me, I could never go back to living in that climate. It would depress the life out of me.

I Love going home, been 3 years since my last visit. I love the Mammy's cooking, Irish Breakfast, Guinness, hitting the Chipper after a belly full of the black stuff. After 10 days, I'm ready to get out of there because its just to cold.

One more thing I miss, is the crack of some of the Irish Folks. I've been around the world and one thing is for sure, Irish folks have a peculiar way of viewing the world and the best sense of humor I have ever found anywhere in the world.

Just the fcuking rain , clouds and wind that's a killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

the availability of milk, i mean good quality milk, not like that ****e UHT milk you get on the continent.

Jaysus i love milk

Irish girls are approachable and good fun. Try chatting up an American bird in a bar and she'll look at you like you're scum or she'll start psycho-analysing you then banging on about where she "is in her life" right now or some such drivel.

Ahh it depends on what part you are in. People are much more approachable and laid back in the south.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    How people are more defensive here and are not as open to been approached by strangers.

Jaysus you would want to take a trip in this direction if you want to see real "not as open to being approached by strangers".

I was going to post how friendly and open to being approached by strangers most people are.

I really miss the "yes love / howerya love / what can i do for you love" in shops. Here its more like "What?!? Quickly! You're interrupting my staring into space time".

syklops wrote: »
    Jaysus you would want to take a trip in this direction if you want to see real "not as open to being approached by strangers".

I was going to post how friendly and open to being approached by strangers most people are.

I really miss the "yes love / howerya love / what can i do for you love" in shops. Here its more like "What?!? Quickly! You're interrupting my staring into space time".

And where is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭podgemonster

The crisp taste of a pint of a Guinness, the community spirit, the silence in the pub during a song, the stopping of cars on a country road for a chat, Sharon Ni Bheolán, the courtousy we show to our fellow man, our ability to see through bullshít, a lock in, our extremely dark humour, Tayto, the long stretch in the evening, the 24 hr availablilty of a cup of tea in any household, the Ocean crashing against the western shore, the unforgetten cruel history & the craic.

The roads arent that bad just take it handy on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Chauncey

nbar12 wrote: »
    What's wrong with being a woman?

I don't know whether Squ is a man or a woman, hence the brackets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

The Ocean, the beautiful powerful Ocean, how I miss you.

I notice the banter and love it. The weather is wet and damp.

When I read threads like these I often think I used to live in a different Ireland then a lot of people. I prefer my version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

The leprechauns seem to be getting taller, it must be the roids in the burgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    And where is that?

See my location.