RIRA Man shot dead in broad daylight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

No disrespect, but there's a lot of rhetoric there that does not address the question - how do you satisfy the hardline republicans and the hardline loyalists at the same time?
    Neither will ever be satisfied as both are at extreme different ends. Most IRA volunteers I know supported the GFA and generally it was the ones who didn't understand how politics work that either walked away or became involved with groups like the RIRA. The aims of groups like the RIRA, 32CSM and Eirigi are always limited because first and foremost they're anti-Sinn Fein and they're blinded by what they see as Adams and McGuinness working in the NI Assembley as them supporting British rule which is not the case. These groups have absolutely no support apart from a handful, they are reduced to fighting drug dealers because there is no need for them on a national scale because the war is over and time has moved on.

Groups like the RIRA etc are hardcore fanatical nationalists and there is not one shred of Republican ideals running through them. We need to get back to true Irish Republicanism and look back to the values of the United Irishmen like Wolfe Tone and Emmet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

If the fella was making a normal living from it id say fair enough he was true to his beliefs. Whether they were right or wrong they were his beliefs . But the chap thought it was more important to have two fancy cars than to have one normal car and give the rest to his cause .
    But he needed two fancy cars .

cloptrop wrote: »
    If the fella was making a normal living from it id say fair enough he was true to his beliefs. Whether they were right or wrong they were his beliefs . But the chap thought it was more important to have two fancy cars than to have one normal car and give the rest to his cause .
    But he needed two fancy cars .
    it's all image with these lads nowadays, big cars, nice clothes and muscles pumped up. I honestly think most of them think they're Tony Soprano, it's all part of the "image" they want to portray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭freddiek

ROI soccer international Anthony Stokes posted this message on Twitter the other day

@stoksey10

Thinking of you Alan...

https://twitter.com/stoksey10/status/244364090171072512

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

Dotsey wrote: »
    it's all image with these lads nowadays, big cars, nice clothes and muscles pumped up. I honestly think most of them think they're Tony Soprano, it's all part of the "image" they want to portray

I agree with that 100%

To be honest I always thought of these RIRA fellas in Dublin as being a mirror image of the loyalist brigadeers in Belfast. Brutal, flashy with money and a very simplistic grasp of politics and history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

freddiek wrote: »
    ROI soccer international Anthony Stokes posted this message on Twitter the other day

@stoksey10

Thinking of you Alan...

As if my opinion of that clown could get any lower...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

@stoksey10

Thinking of you Alan...

The apple doesn't fall far from the tree does it? Hopefully that clown never puts on an Ireland jersey again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,203 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

There are black flags hanging outside the burnt out players lounge in Fairview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭StaunchyDJ

It's all goin down on FM104 again...!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

The RIRA are a farce that shoulda been put down like that other abomination, the IPLO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

It's ridiculous that people like this consider themselves to be "republicans" when they dedicate their lives to tearing apart communities through extortion, drug dealing, violence, fear and bullying. They claim they want a "united Ireland" but they seem determined to destroy the republic that we currently have. These people are the absolute dregs of the earth and it's no loss to Ireland when they're murdered.

The real republicans (although not in the traditional sense of the word) are the people who commit themselves to reversing the damage that thugs like these do, the people who work in the most disadvantaged, drug-riddled areas trying to get people back on their feet. They're the real republicans.

EDIT: I'm not suggesting Ryan was involved with drug-dealing as he and a lot of the RIRA are very vocally against it, my point about drug dealing is more in relation to wider gangland violence in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭OnTheCounter

@stoksey10

Thinking of you Alan...

his father is associated and seemingly a major scumbag. Ran the players lounge in fairview that had the anti queen banner when she came over.

Does that qualify Stokes' father as being a "major scumbag" though?
    John Stokes is a self confessed member of the 32CSM, he was arrested for having two stun guns and €200 worth of cocaine on him at the Players Lounge in Ballybough last year, but he regularly seized cocaine off customers and handed it into Clontarf Garda station so whether it his or not could be argued. I don't know him personally to say he's a "scumbag" same as I wouldn't call Alan Ryan a scumbag. I'd question Ryan and his gangs merits on republicanism because to me they're essentially mafioso who will feed on cash at any source, take their cut and pass the rest upstairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

I know Stokes's Dad, he isn't a scumbag. Stokes himself is a bit of a fool but not as bad as he used to be, has matured a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

SocSocPol wrote: »
    You are the very one who introduced wild and wholly unsubstansiated allegations about collusion in the first place. Prior to that this was a thread about a lowlife crim who got what he deserved.

Wild and unsubstantiated? Have a read of Stone's book about Milltown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭DublinC

I know Stokes's Dad, he isn't a scumbag. Stokes himself is a bit of a fool but not as bad as he used to be, has matured a bit.

John is far from an angel. He was with Alan and two others when they ordered another publican to cease trading.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

He's a total scumbag. It was he who got Alan Ryan to force the closure of a rival's pub within 24 hours.

Guns and coke were found on the premises of the Players lounge, which was essentially used as a base for these scumbags.

He was complicit in the burning of his own pub.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

Dotsey wrote: »
    Does that qualify Stokes' father as being a "major scumbag" though?
    John Stokes is a self confessed member of the 32CSM, he was arrested for having two stun guns and €200 worth of cocaine on him at the Players Lounge in Ballybough last year, but he regularly seized cocaine off customers and handed it into Clontarf Garda station so whether it his or not could be argued. I don't know him personally to say he's a "scumbag" same as I wouldn't call Alan Ryan a scumbag. I'd question Ryan and his gangs merits on republicanism because to me they're essentially mafioso who will feed on cash at any source, take their cut and pass the rest upstairs.

I think the two sentences in bold pretty much qualify them as scumbags.

I still stand by my sentiment, that the only way somebody can not see the likes of Stokes or Alan Ryan as scumbags, is if they are themselves scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

I think the two sentences in bold pretty much qualify them as scumbags.

I still stand by my sentiment, that the only way somebody can not see the likes of Stokes or Alan Ryan as scumbags, is if they are themselves scumbags.
    Hopefully he will soon be in Portlaoise for his activities, another lowlife crim wrapping himself in the flag of republicanism.

If one can ignore the sentiment of the video there's some decent pics in there so people can get an idea of what the aggro is about
    Directed my Mel Gibson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

On a human level, I wonder at any point during the funeral did any member of ryans family and extended family wonder if the funeral of their beloved was hijacked? Did they enjoy playing second fiddle to the RIRA?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 297 ✭✭SaoriseBiker

While not a supporter by any means of the RIRA one thing that I couldn't help noticing is the sympathy his local community had for him. Clearly as can be seen from the news and youtube, most of his neighbours had time for the man. I don't buy much into discussions like this, a lot of those denouncing the funeral are often unionists disguising themselves as nationalists giving their location as Dublin, Cork etc And then we have the cranks, the Sunday Independent ' nationalists ' :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

If one can ignore the sentiment of the video there's some decent pics in there so people can get an idea of what the aggro is about
    Directed my Mel Gibson.
    I think Mel would play him perfectly . Like braveheart but in modern times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

While not a supporter by any means of the RIRA one thing that I couldn't help noticing is the sympathy his local community had for him. Clearly as can be seen from the news and youtube, most of his neighbours had time for the man. I don't buy much into discussions like this, a lot of those denouncing the funeral are often unionists disguising themselves as nationalists giving their location as Dublin, Cork etc And then we have the cranks, the Sunday Independent ' nationalists ' :)
    Unionists? Get a grip man. Sure why not call anybody who doesn't like murderous thugs who make a living from the sale of drugs 'West Brits' and be done with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

While not a supporter by any means of the RIRA one thing that I couldn't help noticing is the sympathy his local community had for him. Clearly as can be seen from the news and youtube, most of his neighbours had time for the man.
    Most of his supporters are deluded kids who were told what a great man he was. Speak to those who actually had to deal with him (i.e. publicans and Gardai) and you'll get a much less flattering picture.
    a lot of those denouncing the funeral are often unionists disguising themselves as nationalists giving their location as Dublin, Cork etc
    I'm truly flabbergasted that people like you still exist.

Criticising someone who happens to have republican links, doesn't make any poster a "unionist". The vast majority of Irish people have little respect or condolences to offer for the death of this man. The majority of the population in the republic consider the current nationalist factions to be nothing but criminals and scumbags.
    They have tiny pockets of support where ignorance and violence triumph over reason.

He's a total scumbag. It was he who got Alan Ryan to force the closure of a rival's pub within 24 hours.

Guns and coke were found on the premises of the Players lounge, which was essentially used as a base for these scumbags.

He was complicit in the burning of his own pub.

Stun guns you mean... He used to confiscate drugs from people in the pub and hand them into the garda, he went to great lengths to have a drug free pub, a rarity in that community.

You have any evidence for what you say?

People just slate him because of the queen banner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Plenty of his community had no time for him. You can see that by comments online. I wouldn't fancy saying the same thing into an rte camera unless I wanted a visit from a few of his mates, or I had fire insurance on my home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Stun guns you mean... He used to confiscate drugs from people in the pub and hand them into the garda, he went to great lengths to have a drug free pub, a rarity in that community.

You have any evidence for what you say?

People just slate him because of the queen banner

:pac: And yet when raided, there were drugs in the pub:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Boombastic wrote: »
    sombody did mention that the drugs could have been confiscated from a punter, €200 is feck all coke really.

Boombastic wrote: »
    Yes, which he had confiscated.