Killer Drug?

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    The auld speckled "E" mixed with heroin myth raises its head again I see.

If it's brown it has to be heroin. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"They put the heroin in the E to get you hooked!"

Yup, that makes sense.

I get what you're saying, I do, but what part are you not getting that whatever a person's drug of choice, when they want it, they want it, and they're not going to listen to any health warnings because they know their behaviour is risky, but the urge is too strong for some to resist, and some don't care where they get it, and some think "ah that won't happen to me", and then more again simply just don't care!

Bit of a fallacy there. The vast majority of users aren't homeless and constantly chasing the next fix. The reason people ignore the over-arching "health warnings" is because experience has shown them that they're bull****. When a specific issue presents then police forces and charities usually do put out warnings.

"They put the heroin in the E to get you hooked!"

Yup, that makes sense.

I knew it was heroin when I saw my friends bouncing off the walls like junkies. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Strawberry Fields

The auld speckled "E" mixed with heroin myth raises its head again I see.

Copious amounts of alcohol mixed with coke is much more dangerous than people think because they react to form a third substance - cocaethylene which is highly toxic and can cause heart attacks in young people.

Realistically though someone coked off their head isn't going to be in a rush to the bar to drink copious amounts of alcohol more looking for another line or a joint.

Conversely excessive E speckled with whatever can lead to overdose, one more tab.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

Buttonftw wrote: »
    Bit of a fallacy there. The vast majority of users aren't homeless and constantly chasing the next fix. The reason people ignore the over-arching "health warnings" is because experience has shown them that they're bull****. When a specific issue presents then police forces and charities usually do put out warnings.

Well lah dee dah, thinly veiled "I still have a house" post!

*closes flaps on cardboard box* :mad:

godeas16 wrote: »
    Realistically though someone coked off their head isn't going to be in a rush to the bar to drink copious amounts of alcohol more looking for another line or a joint.
    Most people, certain, ahem, personality types seem to think that coke and alcohol complement each other very well, they're the ones everyone notices.
    Conversely excessive E speckled with whatever can lead to overdose, one more tab.....
    If you've never taken heroin and accidently take a tiny amount, so small that it produces no noticeable effects then taking the same tiny amount isn't going to cause an OD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,385 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

MagicSean wrote: »
    A health warning? They're illegal because they're dangerous in the first place. What kind of warning would you want. "Make sure your dealer of illegal narcotics is trustworthy"
    yup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,385 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Generally it's when they mix heroin into either E or Coke.
    Katy French died that way there was large amounts of heroin mixed into the coke causing od. The same thing can happen with E usually speckled brown or else too pure and strong causing od.
    Did you make that up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭#Smokey#

Red bull and double or triple vodka = speedball effect = heart attack

Alcohol is the worst drug i have known and ive known heroin addicts,coke heads,meph heads,crack heads,E users,MDPV addicts,ket heads, "Mket aka Methoxetamine" which id say was rampant at swedish house mafia by the looks of people i seen.
    Cant forget the doctors friend "valium" either which withdrawl brings benzo fits which can kill you even more that going cold turkey on heroin.

Use dont abuse as every drug is a killer. 4-6 500mg paracetemol tablets can cause liver failure yet we still sell it in nearly every shop same with alcohol its just socially accepted and the drug dealers..sorry government need their tax revenue.

Ive recently lost a friend over drugs and i dont blame the drug i blame the abuse of it. He wasnt addicted to it he was healthy and just didnt respect what he took and sadly his family and friends have to deal with the loss

Just my opinion

Most people, certain, ahem, personality types seem to think that coke and alcohol complement each other very well, they're the ones everyone notices.

If you've never taken heroin and accidently take a tiny amount, so small that it produces no noticeable effects then taking the same tiny amount isn't going to cause an OD.

It's not the heroin it's the MDMA can die from pre existing heart conditions, Hyponatremia, Hyperthermia. It's unusual but can happen.

Anything can trigger a pre-existing condition. It generally takes a very large amount or a steep increase in dose to cause anything like that with MDMA, the dodgy subs are the ones that are more likely to do it and that warnings will be put out about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Love is a battlefield.
    Love is the drug im thinking of .
    Ye have to be delicate like your holding a flower but firm like your shoeing a horse.

No killer drugs just idiots taking more than they can handle.
    Aww swedish house mafia coming up Im gonna do ten e .
    It sometimes doesnt end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Rigol wrote: »
    youre unlikely to die from a single round of drinks though.
    i dont think ive ever heard of someone dying after 1 pint
    1 gram though...hear it every so often.

Dunno...I was dying the other night after two pints, maybe I'm getting old :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Generally it's when they mix heroin into either E or Coke.
    Katy French died that way there was large amounts of heroin mixed into the coke causing od. The same thing can happen with E usually speckled brown or else too pure and strong causing od.

My arse that happened. There have been a few cases where dealers polluted a rival dealers coke with heroin in order to cause them to give themself a major OD, but commercially, not a chance.

Heroin sells at a higher price than cocaine and ecstasy. Why would it be used to dilute the cheaper product? (not to mention its effects are entirely different to the energetic effect someone taking coke/ e is seeking). Passing off heroin as cocaine and selling it at coke price is like premium imperial czarist vodka being mixed into a bottle of Tesco own brand and sold for a tenner. Financially it makes no sense.

My arse that happened. There have been a few cases where dealers polluted a rival dealers coke with heroin in order to cause them to give themself a major OD, but commercially, not a chance.

Heroin sells at a higher price than cocaine and ecstasy. Why would it be used to dilute the cheaper product? (not to mention its effects are entirely different to the energetic effect someone taking coke/ e is seeking). Passing off heroin as cocaine and selling it at coke price is like premium imperial czarist vodka being mixed into a bottle of Tesco own brand and sold for a tenner. Financially it makes no sense.

Motive was not financial, nothing to do with money. Polluted for a massive od. 2 lads were charged with murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

There has never been a recorded case of ecstacy been cut with heroin or LSD. I think the cut with LSD myth usually comes from people who have taken 2c-b tablets thinking there were e's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The majority of people on cocaine would mix it with alcohol. Cocaethylene builds up in the body. It's far more dangerous that any imagined heroin that people put in E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

1210m5g wrote: »
    There has never been a recorded case of ecstacy been cut with heroin or LSD. I think the cut with LSD myth usually comes from people who have taken 2c-b tablets thinking there were e's.

what is the average yoke cut with? does anyone here know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Katy French died that way

That case is still before th courts. If you have information i suggest you go to the Gardaí instead of risk defamation case against boards and yourself.

Rigol wrote: »
    what is the average yoke cut with? does anyone here know?
    most commonly cut with amphetamines,caffeine & ephedrine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

More deaths are caused by alcohol related incidents than MDMA. If you stay hydrated and the stuff you're taking is clean, MDMA is a relatively safe drug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

#Smokey# wrote: »
    Red bull and double or triple vodka = speedball effect = heart attack

Alcohol is the worst drug i have known and ive known heroin addicts,coke heads,meph heads,crack heads,E users,MDPV addicts,ket heads, "Mket aka Methoxetamine" which id say was rampant at swedish house mafia by the looks of people i seen.
    Cant forget the doctors friend "valium" either which withdrawl brings benzo fits which can kill you even more that going cold turkey on heroin.

Use dont abuse as every drug is a killer. 4-6 500mg paracetemol tablets can cause liver failure yet we still sell it in nearly every shop same with alcohol its just socially accepted and the drug dealers..sorry government need their tax revenue.

Ive recently lost a friend over drugs and i dont blame the drug i blame the abuse of it. He wasnt addicted to it he was healthy and just didnt respect what he took and sadly his family and friends have to deal with the loss

Just my opinion

Just in relation to this I remember listening to an interview with a doctor who was talking about how cocaine was a much more dangerous drug than many others because of the fact that overdoses are not necessarily linked to the amount or if its the first time taking it etc his point was that its inherently dangerous in a way that heroin or alcohol is not (even though both these have a potential for lethal overdose).
    Sorry don;t have any links apart from half remembered interview

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

A health warning? They're illegal because they're dangerous in the first place. What kind of warning would you want. "Make sure your dealer of illegal narcotics is trustworthy"

134 people died from dangerous drugs in last week alone.
    I hope the government had no part in this.
    7,000 people die from the effects of tobacco each year in Ireland

"A terrifying new “legal high” has hit our streets. Methyl-carbonol, known by the street name “wiz,” is a clear liquid that causes cancers, liver problems, and brain disease, and is more toxic than ecstasy and cocaine. Addiction can occur after just one drink, and addicts will go to any lengths to get their next fix – even letting their kids go hungry or beating up their partners to obtain money. Casual users can go into blind rages when they’re high, and police have reported a huge increase in crime where the drug is being used. Worst of all, drinks companies are adding “wiz” to fizzy drinks and advertising them to kids like they’re plain Coca-Cola. Two or three teenagers die from it every week overdosing on a binge, and another 10 from having accidents caused by reckless driving. “Wiz” is a public menace – when will the Home Secretary think of the children and make this dangerous substance Class A?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭#Smokey#

Just in relation to this I remember listening to an interview with a doctor who was talking about how cocaine was a much more dangerous drug than many others because of the fact that overdoses are not necessarily linked to the amount or if its the first time taking it etc his point was that its inherently dangerous in a way that heroin or alcohol is not (even though both these have a potential for lethal overdose).
    Sorry don;t have any links apart from half remembered interview

Well i can believe that as i watched the documentary on how its produced and whatever the dealer,wholesaler cuts it with you dont know what your getting at the end of the day. "Cocaine" in this country is probably speed/caffeine or a research chemical and lidocaine or benzocaine and left in a airtight container with an open bottle of acetone and vinegar for a while then air it and bag it to give it that "pure coke" smell that people pay 100-120euro for while it probably cost the dealer 20-30euro

I wouldnt play russian roulette with my life like that as MDPV was sold mixed with a numbing agent and i seen many a silly lad lose his mind or end up with a heart condition.

As far as weed is concerned ive never seen someone OD or go crazy or even so much as start a fight.

Just my opinion as always

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

1210m5g wrote: »
    "A terrifying new “legal high” has hit our streets. Methyl-carbonol, known by the street name “wiz,” is a clear liquid that causes cancers, liver problems, and brain disease, and is more toxic than ecstasy and cocaine. Addiction can occur after just one drink, and addicts will go to any lengths to get their next fix – even letting their kids go hungry or beating up their partners to obtain money. Casual users can go into blind rages when they’re high, and police have reported a huge increase in crime where the drug is being used. Worst of all, drinks companies are adding “wiz” to fizzy drinks and advertising them to kids like they’re plain Coca-Cola. Two or three teenagers die from it every week overdosing on a binge, and another 10 from having accidents caused by reckless driving. “Wiz” is a public menace – when will the Home Secretary think of the children and make this dangerous substance Class A?"

Is this another of those Dihydrogen monoxide things (I'm not really getting it though as are these even issues theoretically associated with Acetoin which is what made Dihydrogen monoxide funny).

Edit. Saw your next post I'm feeling very silly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭kingtiger

They're illegal because they're dangerous in the first place

nope its

They are dangerous because they are illegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

That might seem ridiculous to you but that is actually the case a lot of the time.